DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 03/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 03/16/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Prior Art
U. S. Patent Pub No. 20210103392 A1 issued to Murray (hereinafter Murray).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023091664 A1 to Ranganath et al., (hereinafter Ranganathan) in view of US 20210312077 A1 to Jain et al., (hereinafter Jain) and in further view of US 20210103392 A1 to Murray (hereinafter Murray).
Claim 1. A method for policy-based data management in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) Cloud (O-Cloud) infrastructure, (Ranganathan: see Fig. 8 & 9, O-RAN/ O-Cloud infrastructure) the method comprising:
storing, by the O-Cloud infrastructure, (i.e., storing by the “O-RAN Network Function (NF)” of the O-Cloud) a data policy (i.e., AI policy) for managing a network function (NF) (i.e., the “O-RAN Network Function (NF)”) deployed on the O-Cloud infrastructure, and performing, by the O-Cloud infrastructure, (i.e., by the “O-RAN Network Function”) the at least one action based on the data policy (i.e., executing according to the received A1 policy).
(Ranganathan: See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 4, #441, Fig. 8, #804, “O-RAN Network Function (NF)” (i.e., the O-Cloud infrastructure), that is deployed on O-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” component, which obtains or receives “A1 policies” (i.e., a data policy), from “Non-RT RIC” component of SMO of the O-Cloud, and stores the received A1 policies (i.e., stores data policy) and also executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events)
or a notification action for notifying the NF of a security threat; (Ranganathan: See para[0078] any observation stats (i.e., malicious threats / security threats, see para[0450]) may be reported to HW (i.e., NF). See para[0179] the security function is to prevent malicious xApps from abusing radio network information. ))
Although Ranganathan teaches policies that allows access to a particular set of stored data, as well as to read, update add, modify, delete, as well as getting subscribed to notifications of relevant changes to data (see para[0220]), however it does not seem to explicitly disclose that such policy or rules can restricts or un-restricts the data as understood alternatively by:
the data policy comprising definitions for at least one action with respect to a data volume, wherein the at least one action corresponds to at least one of: an unmount action for detaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to NF, a remount action for re-attaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to the NF,
However, in a similar field, Jain in Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others. (Jain: See para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan and Jain, do not explicitly disclose mounting or unmounting actions or commands that can be applied to a database volume, as understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Murray, in para[0114]-[0120] teaches mount/unmount commands that can be sent causing a data volume associated with a database to be mounted and/or unmounted. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Murray teaches encrypted container storage wherein a mount or unmount command can be sent for mounting and/or unmounting data volumes. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included volume mounting or mounting, as taught by Murray, with the teachings of Ranganathan in view of Jain, in order to benefit from mount and unmount commands that allows data volumes associated with a database, to be mounted or unmounted. ((Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Claim 2. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the data volume is a sensitive NF-specific bootstrapping data volume.
(Jain: See para[0033]-[0034] the user data is sensitive data (i.e., NF-specific bootstrapping))
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 3. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the O-Cloud infrastructure stores a plurality of data policies on a per-NF basis. (Ranganathan: See Fig. 8, each Near-RT RIC that has xAPP as its engine applying polices it receives and stores, is associated with one Network Function, and as such, the data policies are understood as per-NF basis.)
Claim 4. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the performing the at least one action is performed by an O-Cloud NF runtime engine.
(Ranganath: Fig. 8, #804, each O-RAN Network Function(s), that sits on top of o-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” (i.e., O-Cloud Network Function (NF) runtime engine) associated with it that receives and stores policies. See para[0252] the “Near-RT RIC” includes “xApp manager analytic engine”. See para[0053] “Near-RT RIC” obtains “AI policies” from non-RT RIC, over “A1”, and stores the A1 policies in the policy store, and further, enables optimized RAN actions through execution of deployed AI/ML models and xApps.)
Claim 5. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the unmount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
a time-based unmount rule defining a time to perform the unmount action; (Jain: see para[0043] access controls are set for user data access (i.e., unmount action) that are set to allow one-time access ) an interactive shell rule defining whether the unmount action is to be performed before an interactive shell request to the NF is honored; an NF state rule indicating whether a state of the NF is to be considered to perform the unmount action; and an NF request rule indicating whether the unmount action is requestable by the NF.
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 6. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the remount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
an allow rule defining whether the remount action is permitted for a previously unmounted data volume; and an NF request rule indicating whether the remount action is requestable by the NF.
(Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] that teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others.)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 7. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the definitions comprise a definition for the notification action, the definition indicating whether a security notification for the data volume is enabled, and the security notification indicating a perceived dynamic threat level from the O-Cloud infrastructure to the NF. (Jain: See para [0034] once data is restricted (unmounted data), then the user of data is notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others. See Fig. 4, and para[0040], the risk exposure is a numerical representation of the threat posed by the disclosure of sensitive data, wherein a user of data is prompted to take one or more of the identified corrective actions based on the risk exposure value)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 8. A system for policy-based data management in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) Cloud (O-Cloud) infrastructure, (Ranganathan: see Fig. 8 & 9) the system comprising:
the O-Cloud infrastructure configured to: store a data policy (i.e., AI policy) for managing a network function (NF) (i.e., the “O-RAN Network Function (NF)”) deployed on the O-Cloud infrastructure, and perform (i.e., by the “O-RAN Network Function”) the at least one action based on the data policy. (i.e., executing according to the received AI policy).
(Ranganathan: See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8, #804, “O-RAN Network Function (NF)” (i.e., the O-Cloud infrastructure), that is deployed on O-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” component, which obtains or receives “AI policies” (i.e., a data policy), from “Non-RT RIC” component of SMO of the O-Cloud, and stores the received A1 policies (i.e., stores data policy) and also executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events)
Or a notification action for notifying the NF of a security threat;
(Ranganath: See para[0078] any observation stats (i.e., malicious threats / security threats) may be reported to HW (i.e., NF))
Although Ranganathan teaches policies that allows access to a particular set of stored data, as well as to read, update add, modify, delete, as well as getting subscribed to notifications of relevant changes to data (see para[0220]), however it does not seem to explicitly disclose that such policy or rules can restricts or un-restricts the data as understood alternatively by:
the data policy comprising definitions for at least one action with respect to a data volume, wherein the at least one action corresponds to at least one of: an unmount action for detaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to NF, a remount action for re-attaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to the NF,
However, in a similar field, Jain in Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others. (Jain: See para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan and Jain, do not explicitly disclose mounting or unmounting actions or commands that can be applied to a database volume, as understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Murray, in para[0114]-[0120] teaches mount/unmount commands that can be sent causing a data volume associated with a database to be mounted and/or unmounted. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Murray teaches encrypted container storage wherein a mount or unmount command can be sent for mounting and/or unmounting data volumes. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included volume mounting or mounting, as taught by Murray, with the teachings of Ranganathan in view of Jain, in order to benefit from mount and unmount commands that allows data volumes associated with a database, to be mounted or unmounted. ((Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Claim 9. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the data volume is a sensitive NF-specific bootstrapping data volume.
(Jain: See para[0033]-[0034] the user data is sensitive data (i.e., NF-specific bootstrapping))
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 10. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the O-Cloud infrastructure is configured to store a plurality of data policies on a per-NF basis.
(Ranganathan: See Fig. 8, each Near-RT RIC that has xAPP as its engine applying polices it receives and stores, is associated with one Network Function, and as such, the data policies are understood as per-NF basis.)
Claim 11. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the O-Cloud infrastructure comprises an O-Cloud NF runtime engine configured to perform the at least one action.
(Ranganath: Fig. 8, #804, each O-RAN Network Function(s), that sits on top of o-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” (i.e., O-Cloud Network Function (NF) runtime engine) associated with it that receives and stores policies. See para[0252] the “Near-RT RIC” includes “xApp manager analytic engine”. See para[0053] “Near-RT RIC” obtains “AI policies” from non-RT RIC, over “A1”, and stores the A1 policies in the policy store, and further, enables optimized RAN actions through execution of deployed AI/ML models and xApps.)
Claim 12. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the unmount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
a time-based unmount rule defining a time to perform the unmount action; (Jain: see para[0043] access controls are set for user data access (i.e., unmount action) that are set to allow one-time access ) an interactive shell rule defining whether the unmount action is to be performed before an interactive shell request to the NF is honored; an NF state rule indicating whether a state of the NF is to be considered to perform the unmount action; and an NF request rule indicating whether the unmount action is requestable by the NF.
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 13. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the remount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
an allow rule defining whether the remount action is permitted for a previously unmounted data volume; and an NF request rule indicating whether the remount action is requestable by the NF.
(Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] that teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others.)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 14. The system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the definitions comprise a definition for the notification action, the definition indicating whether a security notification for the data volume is enabled, and the security notification indicating a perceived dynamic threat level from the O-Cloud infrastructure to the NF. (Jain: See para [0034] once data is restricted (unmounted data), then the user of data is notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others. See Fig. 4, and para[0040], the risk exposure is a numerical representation of the threat posed by the disclosure of sensitive data, wherein a user of data is prompted to take one or more of the identified corrective actions based on the risk exposure value)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 15. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon instructions executable by at least one computer to perform a method for policy-based data management in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) Cloud (O-Cloud) infrastructure, the method comprising:
storing, by the O-Cloud infrastructure, (i.e., storing by the “O-RAN Network Function (NF)” of the O-Cloud) a data policy (i.e., AI policy) for managing a network function (NF) (i.e., the “O-RAN Network Function (NF)”) deployed on the O-Cloud infrastructure, and performing, by the O-Cloud infrastructure, (i.e., by the “O-RAN Network Function”) the at least one action based on the data policy. (i.e., executing according to the received AI policy).
(Ranganathan: See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8, #804, “O-RAN Network Function (NF)” (i.e., the O-Cloud infrastructure), that is deployed on O-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” component, which obtains or receives “AI policies” (i.e., a data policy), from “Non-RT RIC” component of SMO of the O-Cloud, and stores the received A1 policies (i.e., stores data policy) and also executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events)
or a notification action for notifying the NF of a security threat;
(Ranganath: See para[0078] any observation stats (i.e., malicious threats / security threats) may be reported to HW (i.e., NF))
Although Ranganathan teaches policies that allows access to a particular set of stored data, as well as to read, update add, modify, delete, as well as getting subscribed to notifications of relevant changes to data (see para[0220]), however it does not seem to explicitly disclose that such policy or rules can restricts or un-restricts the data as understood alternatively by:
the data policy comprising definitions for at least one action with respect to a data volume, wherein the at least one action corresponds to at least one of: an unmount action for detaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to NF, a remount action for re-attaching the data volume as a virtual storage drive to the NF,
However, in a similar field, Jain in Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others. (Jain: See para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Ranganathan and Jain, do not explicitly disclose mounting or unmounting actions or commands that can be applied to a database volume, as understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Murray, in para[0114]-[0120] teaches mount/unmount commands that can be sent causing a data volume associated with a database to be mounted and/or unmounted. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Murray teaches encrypted container storage wherein a mount or unmount command can be sent for mounting and/or unmounting data volumes. (Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included volume mounting or mounting, as taught by Murray, with the teachings of Ranganathan in view of Jain, in order to benefit from mount and unmount commands that allows data volumes associated with a database, to be mounted or unmounted. ((Murray: See para[0114]-[0120])
Claim 16. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium as claimed in claim 15, wherein the data volume is a sensitive data volume. (Jain: See para[0033]-[0034] the user data is sensitive data)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 17. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium as claimed in claim 15, wherein the O-Cloud infrastructure stores a plurality of data policies on a per-NF basis.
(Ranganathan: See Fig. 8, each Near-RT RIC that has xAPP as its engine applying polices it receives and stores, is associated with one Network Function, and as such, the data policies are understood as per-NF basis.)
Claim 18. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium as claimed in claim 15, wherein the performing the at least one action is performed by an O-Cloud NF runtime engine.
(Ranganath: Fig. 8, #804, each O-RAN Network Function(s), that sits on top of o-Cloud #806, has a “Near-RT RIC” (i.e., O-Cloud Network Function (NF) runtime engine) associated with it that receives and stores policies. See para[0252] the “Near-RT RIC” includes “xApp manager analytic engine”. See para[0053] “Near-RT RIC” obtains “AI policies” from non-RT RIC, over “A1”, and stores the A1 policies in the policy store, and further, enables optimized RAN actions through execution of deployed AI/ML models and xApps.)
Claim 19. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium as claimed in claim 15, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the unmount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
a time-based unmount rule defining a time to perform the unmount action; (Jain: see para[0043] access controls are set for user data access (i.e., unmount action) that are set to allow one-time access )an interactive shell rule defining whether the unmount action is to be performed before an interactive shell request to the NF is honored; an NF state rule indicating whether a state of the NF is to be considered to perform the unmount action; and an NF request rule indicating whether the unmount action is requestable by the NF.
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Claim 20. The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium as claimed in claim 15, wherein the definitions comprise at least one definition for the remount action, the at least one definition comprising at least one of:
an allow rule defining whether the remount action is permitted for a previously unmounted data volume; and an NF request rule indicating whether the remount action is requestable by the NF.
(Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034] that teaches a security policy that restricts access to data (e.g., unmount data) by encrypting the data, and wherein access to encrypted data is restricted further by using access protection controls that can block all access (e.g., read, write, and read-write), however, the user of data can be notified, and access can be granted, (i.e., mount data) if the user of data permits access to the encrypted data, and wherein the data is further decrypted after being granted to be accessed by others.)
Ranganathan teaches cloud computing techniques including O-RAN system architecture wherein “Near-RT RIC” of a Network Function (NF), receives AI policies (i.e., data policies) and then executes those policies and report certain metrics related to its own execution or observed RAN events. (See para[0053]-[0054], para[0161], and Fig. 8 )
Jain teaches techniques related to securing user data by applying a security policy that can restrict all access to a user data, and if user allows access to be granted, then the security policy permits access to the previously restricted data to be access by others. (Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included security policy, as taught by Jain, with the policy teachings of Ranganathan, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a security policy that can restrict or allow access to a user data, for others to access it. ((Jain: See Fig. 2, #212, and para[0033]-[0034])
Conclusion
6. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477