DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 13-14 have been amended, claim 12 has been previously canceled, and no claims have been added.
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending with claims 1, 13, and 14 as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0264053, filed 10/30/2019, hereinafter as Wang) in view of Deng (US 2023/0224545, filed 6/10/2020) in view of Wong et al. (US 2021/0375320, filed 1/13/2021, hereinafter as Wong) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0418445, filed 11/30/2020, hereinafter as Li).
Claim 1. A resource playing method, comprising:
in response to a triggering for a first draft resource identification, displaying a first draft resource on a playing interface; and switching the first draft resource to a second draft resource on the playing interface in response to a first triggering on the playing interface, Wang discloses in [0029] “A picture taken by the first camera forms the first video stream, and a picture taken by the second camera forms the second video stream. During video recording, the two video files may be independent, that is, they do not interfere with each other.” And in [0036-0039] “the terminal simultaneously displays the first video stream and the second video stream in a preset mode (for example, picture in picture or split screen). In some embodiments, the terminal simultaneously displaying the first video stream and the second video stream may include: determining display area information of the first video stream and the second video stream, and then displaying the first video stream in a first area and the second video stream in a second area according to the display area information… The timeline 23 may also show a switching time point of the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22, that is, show the time point at which the video streams are switched in the second area. For example, in the display area where the first video stream 21 of FIG. 2 is located, the first video stream 21 is displayed in a first time period, the second video stream 22 is displayed in a second time period, and the first video stream 21 is displayed in a third time period. As the display areas are switched, the timeline 23 may record time periods during which the first video stream 21 is displayed in the area, and time periods during which the second video stream 22 is displayed.” And in [0040-0043] “the time periods corresponding to different video streams may be distinguished by color, for example, one time period is in red, another time period is in yellow, etc.… if displayed in a picture-in-picture manner, a smaller picture may be adsorbed onto four corners of a larger picture, for example, as shown in FIG. 2. In some embodiments, a position of the smaller picture is realized by intelligent recognition, that is, the smaller picture is adsorbed onto a position that has little influence on the display of the larger picture, for example, a position where people and scenery are scarce in the larger picture or a blank location… during video recording, the display areas of the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 may be switched in response to a preset operation. For example, the preset operation may include a click trigger, a slide trigger, a voice command, etc., on the display areas of the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22. FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 respectively show the display areas of the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 corresponding to FIGS. 2 and 3 after switching.” (emphasis added) examiner note: video stream 21 and video stream 22 may be the first resource draft and the second resource draft because the two video streams are being in the creation stage or during video recording, for example, by front and back cameras of a terminal. The switching module 602 is configured to receive a switching command and perform a preset switching operation on the first video stream and the second video stream according to the switching command. The color assigned to each video stream may identify the video stream, time period with red color identifies the first video stream segment as shown in fig. 2. Click trigger or slide trigger may cause switching the first video stream segment indicated in display area 21, shown in fig. 2, to the second video stream segment indicated in display area 21 as shown in fig. 4.
wherein the first draft resource and the second draft resource are acquired based on resource files, [code files], and configuration files which are stored. Wang discloses in [0035] “During video recording, one audio file and two video files are obtained in the same time period, wherein the audio file and two video files may be independent, that is, they do not interfere with each other.” And in [0054-0055] “the output state may include, for example, whether playing is performed, the playing effect (for example, whether background music is added, etc.), whether the volume changes, etc. For example, the visual elements may be kept unchanged when the video stream is played, and may dynamically change when the video stream is paused… a video processing device 600, which includes a camera enabling module 601, a switching module 602, a recording module 603 and a timeline generation module 604. The camera enabling module 601 is configured to turn on a first camera located at a first side of a terminal and turn on a second camera located at a second side of the terminal, so as to obtain a first video stream through the first camera and a second video stream through the second camera. The switching module 602 is configured to receive a switching command and perform a preset switching operation on the first video stream and the second video stream according to the switching command. The recording module 603 is configured to record receiving time of the switching command.” And in [0059] “the timeline information includes time periods divided by time points, and the time points include the receiving time of the switching operation. Editing the video to be edited includes: modifying a playing effect identifier associated with the time period to obtain a video stream corresponding to a playing effect. For example, if a certain playing effect identifier is moved from a first time period to a second time period, if the video stream is output, the video stream corresponding to the second time period is output according to the playing effect.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the two video streams may be acquired based on two video (resource) files being recorded from front and back cameras of the terminal. The configuration files may be the switching module 602, which implements switching from the first video stream to the second video stream. Added background music may be interpreted as code file because, to customize the obtained video, one or more music files may be added to the timeline information.
the first draft resource and the second draft resource are [video clips stored in a collection of drafts] of a video application, and a draft resource in the collection is draft to be posted. Wang teaches in [0035] “It should be understood that not only may the audio file obtained during video recording be synthesized with the corresponding video file, but also other audio files and the captured video file may be synthesized and edited… other audio files include audio streams obtained by audio recording equipment, other audio files stored locally or audio files obtained from the network, etc.” And in [0048] “after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22. That is, the exported video may be either a single video stream or a combined video of two video streams. In addition, these videos may be combined with audios in corresponding time periods. In the synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22, the same video recording time point may include only one video stream, may also include two video streams, or a synthetic video corresponding to an audio stream obtained by synthesizing the first video stream 21 or the second video stream 22 with an audio file in the corresponding time period.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the first video file (first video clip) and the second video file (second video clip) can be streamed from storage local at the client device. Also, the term “during video recording” may indicate that the video recorded content has to be captured first before it can be edited such that the video stream 21 and video stream 22 have be recorded before editing to combine selected portions from the captured video streams (draft video files), which result in synthetic video that to be exported or shared,
Wang does not explicitly disclose
files corresponding to the first draft resource are partial non-video format files rather than complete video files, and files corresponding to the second draft resource are partial non-video format files rather than complete video files. However, Li, in an analogous art, teaches in [0031 and 0058] “the user can perform various operation processing such as adding and editing on the to-be-processed video at the web front end, for example, adding, deleting or modifying (cutting and moving the position) on an audio or a video, adding, deleting or modifying of a sticker, adding, deleting or modifying of a character, a special effect or the like, to obtain the operation information. In an implementation, the operation information includes video acquisition information and video editing information, etc. Specifically, the video acquisition information includes a link address of the to-be-processed video, and the video editing information includes parameters about adding, deleting, modifying, etc. Various video processing parameters in a processing process are recorded into a draft. In an implementation, the draft is in an object notation (JavaScript Object Notation, JSON for short) string format.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the draft may be draft resource that is in partial non-video format files comprising link to the to-be-processed video, video editing information, as configuration information, and added special effect and/or sticker, as code file. The draft is in a JavaScript object notation or JSON string format. Li modifies Wang by packaging the generated timeline information according to the receiving time and preset switching operation as draft file to generate a synthetic video.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Li “In order to improve a user's experience of watching a video, video editing software is usually used to perform multiple kinds of edit processing on the video, such as adding an audio, an image, a special effect, and synthesis processing is performed on the video before uploading the video, so that the effect of edit processing on the video can be reproduced when playing.” Li [Background].
Wang does not explicitly disclose
video clips stored in a collection of drafts. However, Wong, in an analogous art, teaches in [0015 and 0028] “The video content item may comprise a first video clip captured by a computing device, and may comprise multiple video clips stitched together to create one continuous video clip… the social network application 112 may comprise video content creation functionality, such as accessing a camera of the computing device 104(1) to generate video clips, accessing storage of the computing device 104(1) and/or cloud storage (not explicitly pictured) to select video clips, adding visual customizations to video clips, adding audio customizations to video clips, and the like as described herein.” And in [0048] “the draft may be saved in a “Draft Library,” which may be stored by the draft component 122, the computing device 104(1), or elsewhere. In some examples, the user 102(1) may save multiple drafts in the “Draft Library” to be accessed at a later time.” (emphasis added) examiner note: as can be seen, captured video streams become pre-recorded items (video clips) or collection of drafts such that the director selects desired views the recorded items to generate final resulting video that can be broadcasted.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Wong because “Social networking platforms allow users to share content with one another. Users may share content such as images, audio, video, text, and other content types. Often times, functionality is limited within a social media platform for how to customize items that a user desires to share. Additionally, a user may desire to save content before sharing with other users, and further edit the content without losing customization.” Wong [Background].
Wang does not explicitly disclose
code files. Deng, also, teaches in [0033] “a video playing request is received, where the video playing request includes first video information. The video playing request indicates to play video data corresponding to the first video information through a target page.” And in [0058] “the preview video frames are played in the video preview page. The video frames of the parsed video data may be played through the video view, so that video data is played. The video preview page may be a hypertext markup language (HTML) page, and each node of the page is represented by a tree-like page structure.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the video playing request may trigger the first video stream to be displayed in the larger area such as the first video stream 21 in fig. 2, as taught by Wang. The code files may be video data configured in HTML video file format for display in a video preview page.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Deng because “for the same video, the playing progress of the video preview page is consecutive with that of the target page, effectively solving the problem of video discontinuity when switching from the preview page to the play page in the conventional technology, and improving the user experience.” Deng [0017].
Wang does not explicitly disclose
draft resource acquired based on resource files, code files, and configuration files which are stored. However, Li, in an analogous art, teaches in [0055 and 0060] “One display element corresponds to one display component, and each display component may run independently. The display element is a display unit in the display interface of the application, and includes a view control, a picture, a video, a text, or the like. The display component is a page package of the corresponding display element, and is a minimum display component-class component that has an interface… The page package of the display component includes a resource file, a code file, and a configuration file. The resource file is a picture, an audio/video resource, a network link, or the like required for displaying the display component. For example, the resource file is stored in a res directory. The code file executes page code of control logic of the display component. For example, the code file is stored in a code.so directory. The configuration file includes a package name and a version number that are of the display component, and information about another display component on which the home page depends.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the display component may be draft resource that nay be acquired based on resource file, code file, and configuration file.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Li because “when designing and developing an application, a developer separately packs an entry program and a program of each page of the application into different installation packages… the method in this application also helps an application developer focus on development of an independent single application function, so that development difficulty of the developer is greatly reduced and development workload is also reduced.” Li [0056 and 0146].
Claim 2. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein, in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification, displaying the first draft resource on the playing interface, comprises:
Wang does not explicitly disclose acquiring the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files corresponding to the first draft resource in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification; generating a video file corresponding to the first draft resource based on the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files; loading the video file to a memory. However, Deng, in an analogous art, teaches in [0033-0037] “The first video information in the video playing request may be the first video identifier. Based on the first video identifier, the video data corresponding to the first video identifier may be acquired… When the user clicks on a live streaming interface to select and enter a live room for watching, the first video information in the triggered video playing request may be the live room number of the live room clicked by the user. In another possible embodiment, the video address may be a uniform resource locator (URL) address… a video is played in the target page based on video playing progress information corresponding to the video preview page and video data loaded on the video preview page, in response to the first video information being the same as the second video information.” (emphasis added) examiner note: video data may be acquired utilizing video address and video data may be loaded to display memory of the video preview page, and
Further, Deng teaches creating a player instance to play the first draft resource on the playing page interface based on the video file by the player instance; in [0055] “The video playing component may include a video player and a video view. For example, the video player may be LivePlayer, and the video view may be TextureView. The TextureView may be bound to any parent view. For example, the video data corresponding to the video preview page may be acquired based on the video player and the second video information.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Deng because “for the same video, the playing progress of the video preview page is consecutive with that of the target page, effectively solving the problem of video discontinuity when switching from the preview page to the play page in the conventional technology, and improving the user experience.” Deng [0017].
Claim 3. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein, in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification, displaying the first draft resource on the playing interface, comprises:
Wang does not explicitly disclose acquiring the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files corresponding to the first draft resource in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification; However, Deng, in an analogous art, teaches in [0033-0037] “The first video information in the video playing request may be the first video identifier. Based on the first video identifier, the video data corresponding to the first video identifier may be acquired… When the user clicks on a live streaming interface to select and enter a live room for watching, the first video information in the triggered video playing request may be the live room number of the live room clicked by the user. In another possible embodiment, the video address may be a uniform resource locator (URL) address… a video is played in the target page based on video playing progress information corresponding to the video preview page and video data loaded on the video preview page, in response to the first video information being the same as the second video information.” (emphasis added) examiner note: video data may be acquired utilizing video address and video data may be loaded to display memory of the video preview page,
creating a player instance, and transmitting the first associated parameter to the player instance; Deng also teaches in [0055] “The video playing component may include a video player and a video view. For example, the video player may be LivePlayer, and the video view may be TextureView. The TextureView may be bound to any parent view. For example, the video data corresponding to the video preview page may be acquired based on the video player and the second video information.” (emphasis added), and
playing, by the player instance, the first draft resource that is configured on the playing interface based on the first associated parameter. Deng also teaches in [0057-0058] “the preview video may be played in the video preview page, which facilitates subsequent continuous playing of the video data in the target page, and improves the reusability of the video data. In addition, the data may be acquired and parsed with the video player in the video playing component based on the video address, so that the video is played based on the position of the video view in the page.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Deng because “for the same video, the playing progress of the video preview page is consecutive with that of the target page, effectively solving the problem of video discontinuity when switching from the preview page to the play page in the conventional technology, and improving the user experience.” Deng [0017].
Wang further teaches loading the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files to a first editor instance; in [0059] “Editing the video to be edited includes: modifying a playing effect identifier associated with the time period to obtain a video stream corresponding to a playing effect. For example, if a certain playing effect identifier is moved from a first time period to a second time period, if the video stream is output, the video stream corresponding to the second time period is output according to the playing effect.” (emphasis added).
based on the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files, configuring the first draft resource to generate a first associated parameter of the first editor instance; Wang discloses in [0059] “Editing the video to be edited includes: modifying a playing effect identifier associated with the time period to obtain a video stream corresponding to a playing effect. For example, if a certain playing effect identifier is moved from a first time period to a second time period, if the video stream is output, the video stream corresponding to the second time period is output according to the playing effect.” (emphasis added) examiner note: modifying playing effect may be the first associated parameter,
Claim 4. The rejection of the method of claim 3 is incorporated, wherein before loading the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files to the first editor instance, the method further comprises:
loading the first editor instance to a memory, and initializing the first editor instance; Wang discloses in [0058-0059] “a video editing method is further provided, and includes: receiving a video to be edited, wherein the video to be edited includes at least two video streams and timeline information, and the timeline information indicates a corresponding relationship between receiving time of a switching operation on the at least two video streams and the switching operation.” (emphasis added) examiner note: a video editing method is provided may indicate loading and initializing a video editor instance, or
acquiring the first editor instance from an instance pool in the memory, wherein the instance pool comprises at least two editor instances that are initialized.
Claim 5. The rejection of the method of claim 4 is incorporated, wherein, while acquiring the first editor instance, the method further comprises:
acquiring at least one second editor instance, and setting a sequence relationship between the at least one second editor instance and the first editor instance. Wang discloses in [0058-0059] “a video editing method is further provided, and includes: receiving a video to be edited, wherein the video to be edited includes at least two video streams and timeline information, and the timeline information indicates a corresponding relationship between receiving time of a switching operation on the at least two video streams and the switching operation… editing the video to be edited includes: resetting presentation modes of the at least two video streams. For example, a synthetic video may be changed to a picture-in-picture video and vice versa. In some embodiments, editing the video to be edited includes: adjusting the timeline to obtain another timeline. For example, the switching time point of the display area may be changed to obtain a new timeline, so as to allow the video to be presented in a different way.” (emphasis added) examiner note: a video editing method is provided may indicate loading and initializing a video editor instance.
Claim 6. The rejection of the method of claim 5 is incorporated, switching the first draft resource to the second draft resource on the playing interface in response to the first triggering on the playing interface comprises:
loading the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files corresponding to the second draft resource to the second editor instance; configuring the second draft resource based on the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files corresponding to the second draft resource, so as to generate a second associated parameter of the second editor instance; Wang discloses in [0058-0059] “a video editing method is further provided, and includes: receiving a video to be edited, wherein the video to be edited includes at least two video streams and timeline information, and the timeline information indicates a corresponding relationship between receiving time of a switching operation on the at least two video streams and the switching operation… editing the video to be edited includes: resetting presentation modes of the at least two video streams. For example, a synthetic video may be changed to a picture-in-picture video and vice versa. In some embodiments, editing the video to be edited includes: adjusting the timeline to obtain another timeline. For example, the switching time point of the display area may be changed to obtain a new timeline, so as to allow the video to be presented in a different way.” (emphasis added) examiner note: a video editing method is provided may indicate loading and initializing a video editor instance. .
transmitting the second association parameter to the player instance; Wang discloses in [0058-0059] “editing the video to be edited includes: resetting presentation modes of the at least two video streams. For example, a synthetic video may be changed to a picture-in-picture video and vice versa. In some embodiments, editing the video to be edited includes: adjusting the timeline to obtain another timeline. For example, the switching time point of the display area may be changed to obtain a new timeline, so as to allow the video to be presented in a different way.” (emphasis added) examiner note: a video editing method is provided may indicate loading and initializing a video editor instance. Changing the timeline to obtain new timeline may be a second parameter, and
Wang does not explicitly disclose playing, by the player instance, the second draft resource that is configured on the playing interface based on the second associated parameter. Deng also teaches in [0057-0058] “the preview video may be played in the video preview page, which facilitates subsequent continuous playing of the video data in the target page, and improves the reusability of the video data. In addition, the data may be acquired and parsed with the video player in the video playing component based on the video address, so that the video is played based on the position of the video view in the page.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Deng because “for the same video, the playing progress of the video preview page is consecutive with that of the target page, effectively solving the problem of video discontinuity when switching from the preview page to the play page in the conventional technology, and improving the user experience.” Deng [0017].
Claim 7. The rejection of the method of claim 6 is incorporated, wherein, before switching the first draft resource to the second draft resource on the playing interface, the method further comprises:
displaying a picture on the playing interface in response to the first triggering on the playing interface, wherein the picture comprises a predetermined frame image of the second draft resource. Wang discloses in [0029-0033] “A picture taken by the first camera forms the first video stream, and a picture taken by the second camera forms the second video stream. During video recording, the two video files may be independent, that is, they do not interfere with each other… by displaying two videos through the timelines, users may know which video is displayed in a more direct manner, or know which area is for displaying a video corresponding to a timeline in a more direct manner”. (emphasis added).
Claim 8. The rejection of the method of claim 3 is incorporated, wherein the resource files comprise video resource files and special effects resource files, and playing the first draft resource on the playing interface comprises:
playing an original video and special effects added in the original video, wherein the original video is acquired through the video resource files, the special effects in the original video are acquired through the special effects resource files, and the special effect resource files and the video resource files are stored independently of each other. Wang discloses in [0009] “provided a video editing method, comprising: receiving a video to be edited, wherein the video to be edited comprises at least two video streams and timeline information, and the timeline information indicates a corresponding relationship between receiving time of a switching operation on the at least two video streams and the switching operation; and editing the video to be edited based on the timeline information and the at least two video streams.” And in [0059] “Editing the video to be edited includes: modifying a playing effect identifier associated with the time period to obtain a video stream corresponding to a playing effect… if a certain playing effect identifier is moved from a first time period to a second time period, if the video stream is output, the video stream corresponding to the second time period is output according to the playing effect.” (emphasis added).
Claim 9. The rejection of the method of claim 3 is incorporated, wherein loading the code files and the configuration files to the first editor instance comprises:
Wang does not explicitly disclose parsing the code files and the configuration files and transforming data structures, respectively, so as to obtain data adapted to the first editor instance, and loading the data to a memory. However, Deng, in an analogous art, teaches in [0056] “the video data corresponding to the video preview page is parsed to obtain preview video frames… the video data of the video preview page may be parsed based on the video player to obtain the preview video frames.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Deng because “for the same video, the playing progress of the video preview page is consecutive with that of the target page, effectively solving the problem of video discontinuity when switching from the preview page to the play page in the conventional technology, and improving the user experience.” Deng [0017].
Deng further discloses acquiring the data from memory based on the first editor instance. Wang discloses in [0052] “performing preset processing on the first video stream and the second video stream includes: performing editing on the first video stream and the second video stream. In some embodiments, editing a video to be edited includes: resetting presentation modes of the at least two video streams.” (emphasis added).
Claims 10 and 15. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein an edit control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises:
displaying an editing interface matched with the editing control in response to a triggering on the editing control; and editing a draft resource played on the playing interface in response to a triggering on the editing interface. Wang discloses in [0029] “the video recording method is improved by using the cameras on two sides of the terminal for video recording, so that more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing. By obtaining two video streams, more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing in the later stage, so that users can implement various editing ideas.” And in [0051] “when users watch (e.g., play or preview) the synthetic video and picture-in-picture video, since the timeline is displayed in a manner of segments, the current video progress may be controlled by operating (e.g., clicking, dragging, etc.) the timeline, and the effect of quickly adjusting and selecting the watched video progress may also be achieved by previous-segment and next-segment options. For example, the user may click the position of the corresponding timeline to make the video quickly jump to be in the video progress at the corresponding time point.” (emphasis added).
Claim 11. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein a posting control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: in response to a triggering on the posting control, posting a draft resource played on the playing interface or switching to a video posting interface. Wang discloses in [0048] “after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22.” And in [0090] “performing preset processing on the first video stream and the second video stream comprises: exporting the first video stream and/or the second video stream and the timeline information to obtain an exported video.” (emphasis added).
Claim 13. The claim is directed toward an electronic device for implementing the method of claim 1, therefore, is similarly rejected as claim 1. Wang further teaches one or more processors; and a storage apparatus for storing one or more programs, in [0010] “provided a terminal, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor; wherein the memory is used for storing program codes, and the processor is used for calling the program codes stored in the memory to execute the video processing method above.” (emphasis added).
Claim 14. The claim is directed toward a computer-readable storage medium for implementing the method of claim 1, therefore, the claim is similarly rejected as claim 1.
Claim 15. The rejection of the method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein an edit control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: displaying an editing interface matched with the editing control in response to a triggering on the editing control; and editing a draft resource played on the playing interface in response to a triggering on the editing interface. Wang discloses in [0029] “the video recording method is improved by using the cameras on two sides of the terminal for video recording, so that more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing. By obtaining two video streams, more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing in the later stage, so that users can implement various editing ideas.” And in [0051] “when users watch (e.g., play or preview) the synthetic video and picture-in-picture video, since the timeline is displayed in a manner of segments, the current video progress may be controlled by operating (e.g., clicking, dragging, etc.) the timeline, and the effect of quickly adjusting and selecting the watched video progress may also be achieved by previous-segment and next-segment options. For example, the user may click the position of the corresponding timeline to make the video quickly jump to be in the video progress at the corresponding time point.” (emphasis added).
Claim 16. The rejection of the method of claim 3 is incorporated, wherein an edit control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: displaying an editing interface matched with the editing control in response to a triggering on the editing control; and editing a draft resource played on the playing interface in response to a triggering on the editing interface. Wang discloses in [0029] “the video recording method is improved by using the cameras on two sides of the terminal for video recording, so that more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing. By obtaining two video streams, more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing in the later stage, so that users can implement various editing ideas.” And in [0051] “when users watch (e.g., play or preview) the synthetic video and picture-in-picture video, since the timeline is displayed in a manner of segments, the current video progress may be controlled by operating (e.g., clicking, dragging, etc.) the timeline, and the effect of quickly adjusting and selecting the watched video progress may also be achieved by previous-segment and next-segment options. For example, the user may click the position of the corresponding timeline to make the video quickly jump to be in the video progress at the corresponding time point.” (emphasis added).
Claim 17. The rejection of the method of claim 4 is incorporated, wherein an edit control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: displaying an editing interface matched with the editing control in response to a triggering on the editing control; and editing a draft resource played on the playing interface in response to a triggering on the editing interface. Wang discloses in [0029] “the video recording method is improved by using the cameras on two sides of the terminal for video recording, so that more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing. By obtaining two video streams, more flexible choices may be provided for video presentation and editing in the later stage, so that users can implement various editing ideas.” And in [0051] “when users watch (e.g., play or preview) the synthetic video and picture-in-picture video, since the timeline is displayed in a manner of segments, the current video progress may be controlled by operating (e.g., clicking, dragging, etc.) the timeline, and the effect of quickly adjusting and selecting the watched video progress may also be achieved by previous-segment and next-segment options. For example, the user may click the position of the corresponding timeline to make the video quickly jump to be in the video progress at the corresponding time point.” (emphasis added).
Claim 18. The rejection of the method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein a posting control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: in response to a triggering on the posting control, posting a draft resource played on the playing interface or switching to a video posting interface. [0048] “after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22.” And in [0090] “performing preset processing on the first video stream and the second video stream comprises: exporting the first video stream and/or the second video stream and the timeline information to obtain an exported video.” (emphasis added).
Claim 19. The rejection of the method of claim 3 is incorporated, wherein a posting control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: in response to a triggering on the posting control, posting a draft resource played on the playing interface or switching to a video posting interface. [0048] “after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22.” And in [0090] “performing preset processing on the first video stream and the second video stream comprises: exporting the first video stream and/or the second video stream and the timeline information to obtain an exported video.” (emphasis added).
Claim 20. The rejection of the method of claim 4 is incorporated, wherein a posting control is displayed on the playing interface, and the method further comprises: in response to a triggering on the posting control, posting a draft resource played on the playing interface or switching to a video posting interface. [0048] “after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22.” And in [0090] “performing preset processing on the first video stream and the second video stream comprises: exporting the first video stream and/or the second video stream and the timeline information to obtain an exported video.” (emphasis added).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Deng, Wong, and Li as applied to claims 1 and 12 above and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20240087608, filed 1/29/2021).
Claim 21. The rejection of the electronic device of claim 13 is incorporated, wherein,
in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification, displaying the first draft resource on the playing interface, comprises:
Wang does not explicitly disclose
acquiring the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files corresponding to the first draft resource in response to the triggering for the first draft resource identification. However, Zhou, in an analogous art, teaches in [0031] “the user can perform various operation processing such as adding and editing on the to-be-processed video at the web front end, for example, adding, deleting or modifying (cutting and moving the position) on an audio or a video, adding, deleting or modifying of a sticker, adding, deleting or modifying of a character, a special effect or the like, to obtain the operation information… the operation information includes video acquisition information and video editing information, etc. Specifically, the video acquisition information includes a link address of the to-be-processed video, and the video editing information includes parameters about adding, deleting, modifying, etc. Various video processing parameters in a processing process are recorded into a draft. In an implementation, the draft is in an object notation (JavaScript Object Notation, JSON for short) string format.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the user editing operation on the video to-be-processed may be triggering event. The resource file may be the video to-be-processed, the code file may be the draft in form of JSON file, and the configuration may be adding, deleting, or modifying of a character, special effect or the like that a background server obtains as operation information.
generating a video file corresponding to the first draft resource based on the resource files, the code files, and the configuration files; Zhou further teaches in [0039-0040] “after the draft is acquired, the server will perform processing on the to-be-processed video according to the draft, and perform video synthesis on the to-be-processed video subject to the processing to obtain a video file… the server will generate a link address of the video file and send the link address to the web front end… the web front end receives the link address returned by the server which is an address of the video file obtained after the video synthesis, receives a download request of a user for the link address, and downloads the video file according to the download request.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the server performs (generates) processing on the video to-be-processed, utilizing the operation information, to obtain a video file,
loading the video file to a memory; and creating a player instance to play the first draft resource on the playing interface based on the video file by the player instance. Zhou further teaches in [0041] “after the video file subject to the video synthesis is obtained, the server will generate the corresponding link address, and send the link address to the web front end. After the link address is received, the web front end will display it at the web front end. When a user clicks the link address for downloading, the user will get the corresponding synthesized video.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the web front end (client side) receives a link from the server for the video generated file and the user download (load the video file to a memory) by clicking on the link to display the edited video file as obtained video file so that the user may share the obtained video file with other users if desired to.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Zhou “In order to improve a user's experience of watching a video, video editing software is usually used to perform multiple kinds of edit processing on the video, such as adding an audio, an image, a special effect, and synthesis processing is performed on the video before uploading the video, so that the effect of edit processing on the video can be reproduced when playing.” Zhou [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: Applicant argues “The Office Action cites Wang as disclosing, in the associated text (referring to, for example, pars. [0035] and [0048]) in the specification, "It should be understood that not only may the audio file obtained during video recording be synthesized with the corresponding video file, but also other audio files and the captured video file may be synthesized and edited, etc." and "after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22." It can be seen that "the first video stream" and "the second video stream" in Wang are complete video files, and the two are used for synthesizing a video. Therefore, Wang at least fails to teach or suggest "files corresponding to the first draft resource are partial non-video format files rather than complete video files, and files corresponding to the second draft resource are partial non-video format files rather than complete video files," as defined in amended claim 1 of the present application.” (emphasis added).
Response: Wang teaches in [0035, 0038-0040, 0048, and 0051] “It should be understood that not only may the audio file obtained during video recording be synthesized with the corresponding video file, but also other audio files and the captured video file may be synthesized and edited, etc. For example, other audio files include audio streams obtained by audio recording equipment, other audio files stored locally or audio files obtained from the network, etc. Therefore, more flexible choices may be further provided for video presentation and editing in the later stage, so that users can implement various editing ideas… As shown in FIG. 2, a timeline 23 is shown. The timeline 23 shows the corresponding time periods when the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 are displayed in one area (the second area corresponding to the first video stream 21 in FIG. 2). The timeline 23 may also show a switching time point of the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22, that is, show the time point at which the video streams are switched in the second area… after video recording is completed, the obtained first video stream 21 and/or second video stream 22 may be exported or shared to obtain an exported video which may include the first video stream 21, the second video stream 22, a synthetic video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22 or a picture-in-picture video with the first video stream 21 and the second video stream 22… when users watch (e.g., play or preview) the synthetic video and picture-in-picture video, since the timeline is displayed in a manner of segments, the current video progress may be controlled by operating (e.g., clicking, dragging, etc.) the timeline, and the effect of quickly adjusting and selecting the watched video progress may also be achieved by previous-segment and next-segment options.”
With regard to Applicant argument “It can be seen that "the first video stream" and "the second video stream" in Wang are complete video files, and the two are used for synthesizing a video.” The generated synthetic video does not appear to be generated from complete video files. On the contrary, the user generates the output timeline information 23, as shown in figs. 2 and 4 from selected segments, using switching commands, from the two video streams. Thus, the synthetic video may be generated from partial video or selected segments from the two video streams.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/AHAMED I NAZAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9/3/2026
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178