DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 16-27, in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 28-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16-27, claim 16 recites the limitation "the strand drop height" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the specification does not provide clear guidance on how “strand drop height” is calculated, and the claim does not specify this, i.e. where does one measure the start and end of “strand drop height” is not clearly defined.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 17-18 and 21-27 each recite a broad recitation, and the claims also recite the language “preferably” / “most preferably” followed by the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berti et al (US 7,087,139), with/without evidence from Corleto et al (US 2007/0120285) or Yokoyama et al (US 2008/0260979).
Regarding claim 16, Berti teaches a devolatilization system for removing volatiles from polymer melt feed (title, abstract), Berti teaches the system comprises devolatilization nozzle 240/270 with inlet part headers 205, outlet part comprising a number of apertures that form polymer strands 250/275, collector 220/225 in chambers 210/215, polymer outlets 265/290 and gas outlets 260/280 (see Fig 2/3, C3:L31-C5:L5), Berti teaches a range of total number of nozzles with a range of total number of apertures that is changed whether or not the unit is plant scale or smaller scale (C4:L9-61, aperture diameters taught are substantially overlapping with instantly claimed aperture ranges), Berti teaches the polymer passes through nozzles 240/270 through apertures and then falls into collectors 220/225 (See C4:L30-38, C4:L62-67).
However Berti is silent to the average distance between apertures and the strand drop height in the ranges as claimed.
However Berti as set forth above teaches the general conditions of selecting a number of apertures, and therefore this would necessarily set the spacing between apertures, as well as there existing a strand drop height, because Berti has taught the polymers falls, however has not specifically optimized these ranges, however “ "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” see MPEP 2144.05, therefore the skilled artisan would be expected to find through routine constructional design choice, and scaling up or down the system of Berti the optimum ranges without unexpected results.
Regarding claims 17-18, the ranges taught are expected to be found through routine optimization through the general conditions of the prior art as set forth above, “ "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, a triangular grid layout was one of several notoriously well-known layouts of nozzles in a nozzle system, see Corleto Fig 3, [0025].
Regarding claim 20, selecting tapered nozzles was a well known choice for holes/apertures (see Yokoyama [0164]).
Regarding claims 21-27, the ranges taught are expected to be found through routine optimization through the general conditions of the prior art as set forth above, “ "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” see MPEP 2144.05 and are related to material acted upon by the apparatus which is not given significant weight, see MPEP 2115.
Double Patenting
Claim 16-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 30 of copending Application No. 18/572,456 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to devolatilization apparatus with features of dependent claims of the instant application incorporated into independent form for sizing of the system which are obvious modifications to PHOSITA motivated to find optimum workable conditions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gordon (US 3,853,672) teaches a polymer devolatilization system. Hagberg (US 3,966,538) teaches a polymer devolatilization system. Tomlinson (US 10,085,794) teaches a polymer devolatilization system.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772