Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on September 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II-III are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant reserved the right to file a divisional or continuation application to the non-elected subject matter.
An action on the merits on claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 (Group I) is contained herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Pavela Therapeutics Reports (“PTR”).
Applicant claims the following methods for treating Gorlin Syndrome:
This reference discloses Applicant’s method of claims on page 2, paragraph 1. (See Abstract and entire document). The methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Pavela PTX- 367(QTORIN rapamycin).
Applicant claims the following methods for treating Gorlin Syndrome:
This reference discloses Applicant’s method of claims on page 2, paragraph 1, page 3, paragraph 1, and page 3, paragraph 3. (See Abstract and entire document). The methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavela Therapeutics Reports (“PTR”).
Applicants claim methods for treating a subject with Gorlin Syndrome according to the following:
PTR teaches methods for treating Gorlin Syndrome comprising administering a topical anhydrous rapamycin gel (PTX-367). Additionally, this reference teaches that treatment prevents or decreases the number of new basal cell carcinomas (BCCs) that develop on the skin. (See page 2 paragraph 1).
PTR does not explicitly disclose treating Gorlin Syndrome wherein the method comprises administering the rapamycin gel to the affected areas .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to administer to the affected areas of the subject once daily by routine experimentation to optimize the dosing regimen. Moreover, the method of applying the topical gel to the affected area to find the most effective dosing regimen by routine experimentation in order to quantify the threshold to treat Gorlin Syndrome in a subject. Thus, one skilled in the art looking for an alternative method for Gorlin Syndrome would be motivated to modity the method of PTR. Thus, Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR.
Regarding claim 2, PTR teaches the method of treating Gorlin Syndrome in claim 1. But, PTR does not explicitly teach wherein following administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition the subject does not develop a new BCC on the skin in a 6 month period once treatment as started; the subject develops no more than 2 new BCCs on the skin in about a 6 month period once treatment has started; the size of a BCC on the skin lesion has decreased; the sum diameter of a BCC lesion on the skin has decreased, or a combination thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to observe administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition to the subject decreases the sum diameter of a BCC lesion on the skin by routine experimentation because PTR teaches reducing BCC tumorigenesis on page 3, paragraphs 1 and 3 (i.e., “the PTX-367 is a topical gel designed to inhibit mTOR, a landmark study confirmed that the mTOR pathway is involved in BCC tumorigenesis in Gorlin Syndrome”). Thus, Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR.
Regarding claim 3, PTR teaches the method of treating Gorlin Syndrome in claim 1. But, PTR does not explicitly teach wherein following administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition the subject does not develop a new BCC on the skin in a 12 month period once treatment has started; the subject develops no more than 2 new BCCs on the skin in about 12 month period once treatment has started; the subject develops no more than 1 new BCC on the skin in about a 12 month period once treatment has started; or a combination thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the therapeutic amount and observe after administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition so that the subject does not develop a new BCC on the skin in a 12 month period once treatment has started by routine experimentation because PTR teaches reducing BCC tumorigenesis on page 3, paragraph 1 and page 3, paragraph 3. Thus, Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR.
Regarding claim 7, PTR teaches the method of treating Gorlin Syndrome in claim 1. However, PTR does not teach wherein the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition is administered once daily for at least 24 weeks. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition once daily for at least 24 weeks aby routine experimentation to optimize the dosing regimen, and to quantify the threshold to treat Gorlin Syndrome. Thus, Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR.
Regarding claim 10, PTR teaches the method of treating Gorlin Syndrome in claim 1. However, PTR does not explicitly teach wherein the BCC is selected from the group consisting of: Superficial, Nodular , Micronodular, Infiltrative, Fibroepithelial, Basal cell carcinoma with adnexal differentiation, Basosquamous carcinoma, Keratotic or combinations thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat various forms of BCC such as Superficial, Nodular , Micronodular, Infiltrative, Fibroepithelial, Basal cell carcinoma with adnexal differentiation, Basosquamous carcinoma, Keratotic or combinations thereof since BCC can broadly be divided into three groups based on the growth patterns (i.e., Superficial BBC, Nodular BCC etc.). Thus, Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR.
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of PTR, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are pending in this application. Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622