DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Double Patenting Rejection
As applicant has deferred addressing double patenting until an indication of allowability. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Prior Art Rejection
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 26, 28, 32, 34, 39 & 41 and the cancellation of claims 27, 33 & 40 filed 04/13/2026. After carefully reviewing applicant arguments, prior art references and claim limitations, examiner respectively disagrees.
Applicant Argument 1
Applicant submits reference combination Yao et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) in view of Xie et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0370656) does not appear to describe for example, the combination, as cited, does not appear to at least describe "wherein the plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure comprises, for each layer (k), a normalization layer for the layer (k) coupled to and following a normalization layer for a preceding layer (k-1)." Applicant submits Office Action cites Yao and the generation of "a hidden state and a cell state" where the "previous hidden/cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer." However, this does not appear to describe that normalization layers are coupled. Xie is not cited to cure this deficiency.
After reviewing applicant arguments, prior art references and claim limitations, examiner respectfully disagrees. In response, examiner submits dynamic normalization and relay in a neural network. See Yao [0368]. Yao also discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state for a cell state for hyper-normalization layer based on previous hidden state and previous cell states. See Yao [0369] discloses hidden state and cell state are generated for the hyper normalization layer based on the input feature map and previous hidden/cell states. Yao [0371] discloses the previous hidden state and previous cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer. Examiner submits under BRI Yao discloses a current normalization layer coupled to a previous normalization layer through relayed hidden/cell state information. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Applicant Argument 2
Applicant submits Yao is silent to memory storing a neural network comprising a plurality of convolution layers; wherein each normalization layer is coupled to and following a respective one of the plurality of convolution layers. Specifically, applicant submits Xie’s background discloses batch normalization layers are put right before or after convolution layers. ([0004, 0015]). Applicant concludes that reference combination is improper as there is no motivation to combine these references without the use of impermissible hindsight.
In response, examiner submits applicant arguments approach Xie individually. Examiner rejection and modification is based on the combination of Yao in view of Xie. Examiner submits Yao discloses dynamic normalization and relay (Yao [0368-0375]). Xie is relied upon only conventional placement of batch normalization layers before or after convolution layers ([0004] & [0015]). Therefore, Xie need not independently discloses the relay structure. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Applicant Argument 3
Applicant submits to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, there must be a reason or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the primary reference with the teachings of the secondary reference. Applicant concludes that a combination is impermissible if the secondary reference teaches away from the proposed combination or if combining the references would destroy the intended function of either reference. In response, examiner submits rejection provides a reason to combine. Yao discloses dynamic normalization and relay in a neural network (Yao [0368-0375]). Xie discloses batch normalization layers are conventionally positioned before or after convolution layers (Xie [0004, 0015, 0025 & 0030]). It would have been obvious to apply Yao’s relay based dynamic normalization to known convolution normalization arrangements in order to provide dynamic normalization in a CNN architecture. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Applicant Argument 4
Applicant submits Office action modifies Yao to include normalization layers coupled to convolution layers based on Xie’s disclosure. However, Xie’s objective is to completely remove or prune these very normalization layers from its neural network. Secondary reference Xie discloses in its background that while batch normalization layers are usually put right before or after convolution layers, during the model inference stage, applicant submits Xie discloses these batch normalization layers consume considerable time, computation and cause extra latency (Xie [0004]). Xie’s invention proposes batch normalization layer pruning technology which losslessly compresses the DNN model by pruning any batch normalization layer which connects with a linear layer including but not limited to convolution layers (Xie, [0011]). Xie further discloses pruning the candidate model by removing the at least one batch normalization layer and adjusting weights of the corresponding linear operation layer to compensate for the removal (Xie, Abstract, [0005 and 0024])
In response, Xie does not teach away from using normalization layers in neural networks. Xie states that batch normalization layers are commonly placed before or after convolution layers to help training converge (Xie [0004]). Xie’s [0005, 0011] discloses pruning technique is directed to inference stage optimization of a pretrained model. A reference may be relied upon for all that it teaches, including its disclosure of conventional layer placement.
In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Applicant Argument 5
Applicant submits a person of ordinary skill in the art reading Xie would be taught to delete normalization layers connected to convolution layers to reduce latency, not retain them and add a complex relay structure between them as recited in Applicant’s claim. Modifying Yao to include normalization layers coupled to convolution layers based on Xie contradicts the teachings of Xie and destroys the intended operation of Xie’s invention.
In response, examiner submits applicant argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not incorporate Xie’s pruning solution into Yao. Xie is cited as evidence that normalization layers were conventionally placed before or after convolution layers (Xie [0004]). Yao, not Xie supplies the relay based dynamic normalization architecture (Yao [0368-0375]). Thus, the proposed combination does not destroy Xie’s intended operation because Xie is not being bodily incorporated. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Applicant Argument 6
Applicant submits examiner combination relies on impermissible hindsight bias, using Applicant own disclosure as a roadmap to pick and choose isolated statements from Xie’s background while ignoring the actual invention taught by the reference. As Xie teaches away from maintaining normalization layers after convolution layers, a skilled artisan would not be motivated to combine Yao and Xie to arrive at the claimed invention.
In response, examiner submits rejection is not based on hindsight. Yao [0368-0375] discloses dynamic normalization and relay. Xie’s [0004, 0015, 0025, 0030] discloses conventional placement of batch normalization layers before or after convolution layers. The combination merely applies a known relay based normalization technique to known convolution normalization layer arrangements. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
Overall Conclusion
As applicant has deferred addressing double patenting until an indication of allowability. In view of above arguments, examiner submits rejection is sufficient and respectfully maintained.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 26, 28-32, 34-39 & 41-50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over co pending application 17/485,406 (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) in view of Xie et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0370656). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
As to claims 26, 32, 39 & 45, instant application discloses a computing system for image sequence or video analysis, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing a neural network, the neural network comprising: a plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure (Claim 2 – the previous hidden state and previous cell state are received from a previous hyper normalization layer included in the neural network), (Claim 6 – the hidden and the cell state are generated by relay logic in the hyper normalization layer).
17/485,406 (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) is silent to a plurality of convolution layers; wherein each normalization layer is coupled to and following a respective one of the plurality of convolution layers. wherein the plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure comprises, for each layer (k), a normalization layer for the layer (k) coupled to and following a normalization layer for a preceding layer (k-1).
However, Xie’s [0011-0015] discloses BR PRUNE, Batch normalization layer right before or right after convolution layers, modern DNNs contain multiple batch normalization layers, Right before or right after convolution layers, multiple batch normalization layers.
wherein the plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure comprises, for each layer (k), a normalization layer for the layer (k) coupled to and following a normalization layer for a preceding layer (k-1). (Fig. 32 & [0369-0374] discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state as well as a previous hidden state and a previous cell state. The previous hidden/cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer. The input feature map may be normalized, standardized and performing an affine transformation using the hidden/cell state.)(3204, Fig. 32 & [0370-0374] discloses structure of normalized then standardizing then affine transformation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify copending Application No. 17/485,406 (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) to include the above limitations in order to normalize each convolution output while preserving the anchor’s relay of hidden/cell states across the normalization layers.
As to claims 28-31, 34-38, 41-44 & 46-50, these claims are rejected due to their dependence on claims 26, 32, 39 & 45 and are rejected for the same reasons.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 28, 32, 34, 39, 41 & 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) in view of Xie et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0370656)
As to claims 26, 32, 39 & 45, Yao discloses a computing system for image sequence or video analysis, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor (3200, Fig. 32 & [0368] discloses the method 3200 may be performed by a compute engine, a graphics processing unit, a central processing unit during training or inference of the neural network.), the memory storing a neural network, the neural network (3200, Fig. 32 & [0368] discloses during training or inference of the neural network)(140, Fig. 1 & [0015]); and a plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure (3202, Fig. 32 & [0369-0371] discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state as well as a previous hidden state and a previous cell state received from a previous layer. [0375] discloses relay logic in the hyper normalization layer)
wherein each normalization layer is coupled to and following a respective one of the plurality of convolution layers (3204, Fig. 32 & [0370, 0373-0374] discloses normalizing standardizing and affine transform using hidden/cell state).
wherein the plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure comprises, for each layer (k), a normalization layer for the layer (k) coupled to and following a normalization layer for a preceding layer (k-1). (Fig. 32 & [0369-0374] discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state as well as a previous hidden state and a previous cell state. The previous hidden/cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer. The input feature map may be normalized, standardized and performing an affine transformation using the hidden/cell state.)(3204, Fig. 32 & [0370-0374] discloses structure of normalized then standardizing then affine transformation.)
Yao is silent to the memory storing a neural network, the neural network comprising: a plurality of convolution layers; wherein each normalization layer is coupled to and following a respective one of the plurality of convolution layers.
However, Xie discloses the memory storing a neural network, the neural network (a device may comprise a processor and a non-transitory memory electronically coupled to the processor, the memory comprising computer code for a deep neural network model. (Fig. 1 & [0007]). comprising: a plurality of convolution layers; wherein each normalization layer is coupled to and following a respective one of the plurality of convolution layers. (Fig. 1 & [0004]) discloses these batch normalization layers are usually put right before or after convolution layers. [0015] discloses prune the BN layer when this layer connects to (is right before or right after) any linear operation layer including convolution layers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Yao’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to normalize each convolutions output and feed stabilized, layer local statistics into the relay mechanism improving CNN accuracy and stability.
As to claims 28, 34 & 47, Yao in view of Xie discloses everything as disclosed in claims 32, 39 & 45. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the normalization layer for the layer (k) is coupled to the normalization layer for the preceding layer (k-1) via a hidden state signal and a cell state signal, each of the hidden state signal and a cell state signal generated by the normalization layer for the preceding layer (k-1). (Fig. 32 & [0369-0374] discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state as well as a previous hidden state and a previous cell state. The previous hidden/cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer. The input feature map may be normalized, standardized and performing an affine transformation using the hidden/cell state.)
As to claim 46, Yao in view of Xie discloses everything as disclosed in claim 45. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the plurality of normalization layers arranged as a relay structure comprises, for each layer (k), a normalization layer for the layer (k) coupled to and following a normalization layer for a preceding layer (k-1). (3202, Fig. 32 & [0371, 0375] discloses the previous hidden state and the previous cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer included in the neural network.)
As to claim 41, Yao in view of Xie discloses everything as disclosed in claim 40. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the normalization layer for the layer (k) is to be coupled to the normalization layer for the preceding layer (k-1) via a hidden state signal and a cell state signal, each of the hidden state signal and a cell state signal to be generated by the normalization layer for the preceding layer (k- 1). (3202-3204, Fig. 32 & [0369-0374] discloses generating a hidden state and a cell state as well as a previous hidden state and a previous cell state. [0371] the previous hidden/cell state may be received from a previous hyper normalization layer. Also see input feature map may be normalized using the hidden state and the cell state.)
Claim 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0207359) in view of Xie et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0370656) as applied in claim 32 above, further in view of DOORNBOS et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0200302)
As to claim 38, Yao in view of Xie discloses everything as disclosed in claim 32. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the logic coupled to the one or more substrates includes transistor channel regions that are positioned within the one or more substrates.
However, DOORNBOS discloses wherein the logic coupled to the one or more substrates includes transistor channel regions that are positioned within the one or more substrates.
(100, Fig. 1 & [0003, 0024] discloses the gate region is formed on a top surface and sidewalls of the fin such that it wraps and around the fin. The portion of the fin extending under the gate between the source region and the drain region is the channel region. The fin may further comprise a source and a drain separated by a channel region, the channel region of the fin being surrounded by a gate region on three sides. [0025] discloses a p-type punch through stopper below the channel region.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Yao in view of Xie’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to realize predictable CMOS device behavior (electrostatic control, leakage management, drive current) when fabricating the claimed logic in an integrated circuit.
CONCLUSION
No prior art has been found for claims 29-31, 35-37, 42-44 & 48-50 in their current form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Stephen P. Coleman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/STEPHEN P COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675