Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16,19-20 and 23-24 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16,19-20 and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, 14, 15, 19, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0407546) in view of Liberg et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0352971 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishio teaches “[a] polarization indicating method, performed by a base station, and comprising: sending first indication to a terminal” (see ¶ [0193]; base station indicates (i.e., sending) to terminal, polarization information for each kind of data of terminal by control information (i.e., first indication) (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) that indicates an assignment of data to terminal);
Nishio further teaches “wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target polarization mode for the terminal to communicate with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network” (see ¶¶ [0123], [0193], and [0296]; the base station and the terminal are part of an NTN environment satellite communication system; base station indicates to terminal, polarization information for each kind of data of terminal by control information (the first indication); terminal acquires the polarization information from the DCI and determines the polarization (i.e., the polarization information in the DCI (the first indication) indicates a target polarization mode) indicated in the acquired polarization information as polarization to be used in communication; communication may include exchanging data through, for example, a cellular system, a wireless LAN system, a satellite system (i.e., satellite in a non-terrestrial network); thus, the first indication information is configured to indicate a target polarization mode for the terminal to communicate with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network).
Nishio does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first indication information is further configured for the terminal to determine a downlink polarization mode for receiving a downlink transmission from the satellite according to the first indication information, and determine an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission to the satellite according to an association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective date of the claimed invention.
For example, Liberg teaches “wherein the first indication information is further configured for the terminal to determine a downlink polarization mode for receiving a downlink transmission from the satellite according to the first indication information, and determine an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission to the satellite according to an association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0137] and [0138]; the one or more determined polarization modes can include a first polarization mode used for transmitting or receiving a first signal or channel in the first cell (i.e., downlink transmission from the satellite); since the first polarization mode can be for receiving the first signal or channel, it can be a downlink polarization mode; and a second polarization mode used for transmitting or receiving a second signal or channel in the first cell (i.e., an uplink transmission to the satellite); since the second polarization mode can be for transmitting the first signal or channel, it can be an uplink polarization mode; the UE can determine the second polarization mode (i.e., uplink polarization mode) based on one of the following: receiving an explicit indication of the second polarization mode, or receiving the second signal or channel in the first cell according to the second polarization mode; the UE can determine the first polarization mode (i.e., polarization mode corresponding to the downlink transmission) based on (i.e., an association relationship between) the second polarization mode (i.e., polarization mode corresponding to the uplink transmission); therefore, determine an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission to the satellite according to an association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio to incorporate the teachings of Liberg to determine polarization modes for downlink and uplink transmission based on a relationship between the polarization modes. The suggestion to do so would have been to help improve Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) (see ¶¶ [0018] and [0019] of Liberg).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal comprises: sending the first indication information to the terminal in at least one of an explicit manner or an implicit manner” (see ¶¶ [0193], [0200], and [0234] of Nishio; indicating polarization (the first indication) by the DCI includes a method for indicating by adding a bit indicating the polarization (i.e., in an explicit manner) in the DCI; additionally, polarization may be indicated by a value of a[n] “Antenna port (s)” field (i.e., in an implicit manner) to be indicated by the DCI; transmitting polarization information using an antenna port field of DCI is sending that information in an implicit manner since the antenna port field by itself does not indicate polarization information; thus, the first indication information is sent to the terminal in an explicit manner and/or an implicit manner).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 2 and further teaches “wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal in the explicit manner comprises: sending downlink control information to the terminal, wherein the first indication information is carried in the downlink control information” (see ¶ [0200] of Nishio; indicating polarization (the first indication) by the DCI includes a method for indicating by adding a bit indicating the polarization (i.e., in an explicit manner) in the DCI (i.e., carried in the downlink control information); thus, sending downlink control information to the terminal, wherein the first indication information is carried in the downlink control information).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 3 and further teaches “wherein the first indication information is contained in one of: an information field newly added in the downlink control information dedicated to indicating the target polarization mode, or an existing information field of the downlink control information for indicating other information, wherein the other information is not sent at least during a part of a communication process between the base station and the terminal” (see ¶ [0200] of Nishio; indicating polarization (the first indication) by the DCI includes a method for indicating by adding a bit indicating the polarization in the DCI; thus, the first indication information is contained in an information field newly added in the downlink control information dedicated to indicating the target polarization mode).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the base station is a base station in the non-terrestrial network, and the terminal is a terminal in the non-terrestrial network” (see ¶ [0123] of Nishio; the base station and the terminal are part of an NTN (i.e., non-terrestrial network) environment satellite communication system).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the target polarization mode comprises at least one of: a linear polarization, a circular polarization, a left-hand circular polarization, or a right-hand circular polarization” (see ¶ [0231], and claims 12, 24, and 25 of Nishio; polarization information includes linear polarization, a circular polarization, a left-hand circular polarization (LHCP), or a right-hand circular polarization (RHCP)).
Regarding claim 10, Nishio teaches “[a] polarization determining method, performed by a terminal, and comprising: determining a target polarization mode for communication with a base station according to first indication information sent by the base station” (see ¶ [0193] of Nishio; base station indicates to terminal (i.e., base station sends to terminal) receives polarization , polarization information for each kind of data of terminal by control information (the first indication); terminal acquires the polarization information (i.e., determining a target polarization mode) from the DCI and determines the polarization (i.e., the polarization information in the DCI (the first indication) indicates a target polarization mode) indicated in the acquired polarization information as polarization to be used in communication).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein determining the target polarization mode for communication with the base station according to the first indication information sent by the base station comprises: receiving downlink control information sent by the base station; and acquiring the first indication information from the downlink control information” (see ¶ [0193] of Nishio; base station sends the polarization information in the DCI, and the terminal acquires the polarization information (i.e., determining a target polarization mode) from the DCI and determines the polarization (i.e., the polarization information in the DCI (the first indication) indicates a target polarization mode) indicated in the acquired polarization information as polarization to be used in communication).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches “wherein acquiring the first indication information from the downlink control information comprises one of: acquiring the first indication information from an information field newly added in the downlink control information dedicated to indicating the target polarization mode; or acquiring the first indication information from an existing information field of the downlink control information for indicating other information, wherein the other information is not sent at least during a part of a communication process between the base station and the terminal” (see ¶ [0200] of Nishio; indicating polarization (the first indication) by the DCI includes a method for indicating by adding a bit indicating the polarization in the DCI; thus, acquiring the first indication information from an information field newly added in the downlink control information dedicated to indicating the target polarization mode).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “further comprising: continuing to communicate with the base station through the target polarization mode, in response to not receiving other indication information for indicating a polarization mode sent by the base station within a preset time period after receiving the first indication information” (see ¶ [0193] of Nishio; terminal acquires the polarization information (the polarization mode) from the DCI and determines the polarization indicated in the acquired polarization information as polarization to be used in communication; under BRI, the claim’s limitation of in response to not receiving other indication information for indicating a polarization mode sent by the base station within a preset time period after receiving the first indication information is equivalent to the terminal not receiving another indication information after the first indication, and in such a scenario the terminal can continue to communicate using the acquired polarization information (polarization mode); thus, the terminal continues to communicate with the base station through the target polarization mode).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein determining the target polarization mode for communication with the base station according to the first indication information sent by the base station comprises one of : determining an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission to a satellite according to the first indication information sent by the base station; and determining a downlink polarization mode for receiving a downlink transmission from the satellite according to a first association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission” (see ¶¶ [0239] and [0296] of Nishio; polarization information (i.e., the target polarization mode for communication with the base station) indicated by the DCI may also be valid information for PDSCH (downlink transmission) or PUSCH (uplink transmission) to be assigned by the DCI (i.e., an association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission); therefore, the polarization information indicates an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission and a downlink polarization mode for receiving a downlink transmission; communication may include exchanging data through, for example, a cellular system, a wireless LAN system, a satellite system (i.e., satellite in a non-terrestrial network); therefore, an uplink transmission is to a satellite and a downlink transmission is from a satellite; thus, an uplink polarization mode for an uplink transmission to a satellite is determined according to the first indication information sent by the base station; and a downlink polarization mode for receiving a downlink transmission from the satellite is determined according to a first association relationship between polarization modes corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission).
Regarding claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 10 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 23, it is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 24, it is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to claim 10 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio in view of Koivisto et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0195275).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 2 and further teaches that “polarization may be indicated by a value of a[n] “Antenna port (s)” field to be indicated by the DCI.” (See ¶ [0234] of Nishio). Therefore, as explained in the rejection of claim 2, Nishio does teach “sending the first indication information to the terminal in the implicit manner” of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal in the implicit manner comprises: determining at least one of a scrambling sequence or a radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the target polarization mode; and sending a signaling to the terminal, wherein the signaling is scrambled by at least one of the scrambling sequence or the radio network temporary identifier” of claim 5. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Koivisto teaches “wherein sending the first indication information to the terminal in the implicit manner comprises: determining a scrambling sequence and/or a radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the target polarization mode; and sending a signaling to the terminal, wherein the signaling is scrambled by the scrambling sequence and/or the radio network temporary identifier” (see ¶ [0035]; antenna port-specific encoding/detection schemes for the downlink control information can be used where antenna port dependent variable (i.e., signal) is added in the E-PDCCH scrambling sequence initialization value; thus, when sending the antenna port, the base station determines a scrambling sequence and sends it via control channel, where the antenna port dependent variable (signal) is scrambled by the scrambling sequence). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio in view of Liberg to incorporate the teachings of Koivisto to implicitly send indication information using a scrambling sequence. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve port misdetection by UEs (see ¶¶ [0006] and [0007] of Koivisto).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 10, and further teaches that “polarization may be indicated by a value of a[n] “Antenna port (s)” field to be indicated by the DCI.” (See ¶ [0234]). The combination does not explicitly disclose “wherein determining the target polarization mode for communication with the base station according to the first indication information sent by the base station comprises: descrambling a signaling sent by the base station by using at least one of a descrambling sequence or a radio network temporary identifier; and determining a polarization mode corresponding to at least one of the descrambling sequence or the radio network temporary identifier that successfully descrambles the signaling as the target polarization mode” of claim 13. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Koivisto teaches “wherein determining the target polarization mode for communication with the base station according to the first indication information sent by the base station comprises: descrambling a signaling sent by the base station by using at least one of a descrambling sequence or a radio network temporary identifier; and determining a polarization mode corresponding to at least one of the descrambling sequence or the radio network temporary identifier that successfully descrambles the signaling as the target polarization mode” (see ¶¶ [0035] and [0045]; antenna port-specific encoding/detection schemes for the downlink control information can be used where antenna port dependent variable (i.e., signal) is added in the E-PDCCH scrambling sequence initialization value; UE will descramble the received bits (i.e., bits indicating the antenna port (the signal)) with the antenna-port specific scrambling sequence; thus, a received antenna port (signal), which can indicate a polarization mode, as taught by Nishio (see ¶ [0234]), sent by the base station is descrambled using a descrambling sequence; and since the descrambled antenna port indicates a polarization mode and the value of the descrambled antenna port (i.e., the polarization mode) depends on the descrambling sequence used, a polarization mode is determined corresponding to the descrambling sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio in view of Liberg to incorporate the teachings of Koivisto to descramble a received polarization information using a particular descrambling sequence and determine the polarization mode corresponding to the descrambling sequence. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve port misdetection by UEs (see ¶¶ [0006] and [0007] of Koivisto).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio in view of Liberg et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0337308; Liberg ‘308).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “further comprising: receiving capability information sent by the terminal, determining polarization modes supported by the terminal according to the capability information; and determining the target polarization mode from the polarization modes supported by the terminal” of claim 6. However, the foregoing were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Liberg ‘308 teaches “further comprising: receiving capability information sent by the terminal” (see ¶ [0125]; network node (i.e., base station) receives from a UE (i.e., sent by the terminal) an indication of one or more polarization capabilities of the UE (i.e., capability information)),
Liberg ‘308 further teaches “determining polarization modes supported by the terminal according to the capability information; and determining the target polarization mode from the polarization modes supported by the terminal” (see ¶¶ [0125] and [0131]; network node (base station) can transmit and/or receive one or more signals or channels in the first cell according to the indicated polarization capabilities of the UE; by transmitting/receiving signals/channel according to the indicated polarizations, the network node has determined polarization modes supported by the terminal according to the capability information, and also determined the target polarization mode, which can be one of the polarization modes indicated by the UE; thus, the base station determines polarization modes supported by the terminal according to the capability information, and determines the target polarization mode from the polarization modes supported by the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio in view of Liberg to incorporate the teachings of Liberg ‘308 to receive capability information from the UE and determine a target polarization mode of the UE based on the capability information. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve communications in non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) (see ¶ [0021] of Liberg ‘308).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose “further comprising: sending capability information to the base station, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate polarization modes supported by the terminal” of claim 16. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Liberg ‘308 teaches “further comprising: sending capability information to the base station, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate polarization modes supported by the terminal” (see ¶¶ [0105]; UE (terminal) can send, to a network node (the base station), an indication of one or more polarization capabilities of the UE (i.e., polarization modes supported by the terminal); thus, the terminal sends capability information to the base station, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate polarization modes supported by the terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio in view of Liberg to incorporate the teachings of Liberg ‘308 to send capability information from the UE indicating polarization modes supported by the UE. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve communications in non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) (see ¶ [0021] of Liberg ‘308).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio in view of Wang (EP4266087).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nishio and Liberg teaches the method of claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose “further comprising: sending second indication information to the satellite in the non-terrestrial network, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the satellite to communicate with the terminal using the target polarization mode” of claim 8. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
For example, Wang teaches “further comprising: sending second indication information to the satellite in the non-terrestrial network, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the satellite to communicate with the terminal using the target polarization mode” (see ¶¶ [0067], [0074], and [0079]; first satellite (i.e. base station) sends positioning assistance information (i.e., second indication information) to at least one second satellite; the positioning assistance information (the second indication information) includes a polarization mode information, and the second satellite determines a sending polarization mode based on the polarization mode information, and the second positioning signal is sent in the polarization mode to the terminal (i.e., the second indication information is configured to indicate the satellite to communicate with the terminal using the target polarization mode)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nishio in view of Liberg to incorporate the teachings of Wang to explicitly disclose sending second indication information to the satellite to indicate the satellite to communicate with the terminal using the target polarization mode. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve communications with satellites in non-terrestrial networks (see ¶ [0004] of Wang).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheema et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0031000) teaches configuring polarization types.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475