DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Non-elected claim 6 remains withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “an extension direction of each the auxiliary resilient members”. This recitation is grammatically vague.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10-14, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US2308315) in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the base including a slide rail and a fixing portion slidably disposed on the slide rail.
In the primary reference, note a safety seat including a base (1) including a fixing portion (8, 10, 12, 14), wherein the base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion; a body (3) assembled on the base; and a supporting foot (26, 29) slidably and pivotably connected to the base, wherein the supporting foot and the fixing portion are arranged (see Figure 2) on opposite sides of the base, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, note the safety seat further comprises a sliding member (31, 32), wherein the sliding member is slidably disposed on the base, and the supporting foot is pivotally connected (at 33) to the sliding member.
Regarding claim 3, note the safety seat further comprises latching member (35, 36, 37), wherein the latching member is pivotally connected to or slidably disposed on the base, the sliding member includes a positioning portion (31), and the latching member is selectively latched to the positioning portion.
Regarding claim 4, note the sliding member is slidable in respect to the base along a longitudinal direction (fore-aft), the supporting foot is pivotally connected (at 33) to a front end of the sliding member in the longitudinal direction, and the latching member and the positioning portion are arranged (see Figure 4) at a rear end of the sliding member in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 8, note the base includes at least one limiting member (35), the sliding member is formed with at least one sliding slot (34), and the limiting member is slidably disposed in the sliding slot.
Regarding claim 10, note the base further includes a bracket (laterally located, reversed C shape portion of 1), and the sliding member is slidably disposed on the bracket. See Figures 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 11, note the safety seat further comprises auxiliary resilient members (37), the auxiliary resilient members are connected to the base and the sliding member, and an extension direction of each of the auxiliary resilient members is parallel to an extension direction (lateral extension of the top wall) of the bracket. See Figure 5.
Regarding claim 12, note the safety seat further comprises a stopping member, and the stopping member (35) is slidably disposed on the sliding member and selectively abuts against the bracket. See Figure 5.
Regarding claim 13, note the safety seat further comprises a resilient member (37) for stopping, wherein the resilient member for stopping is connected to the sliding member and the stopping member (35). See Figure 5.
Regarding claim 14, note the safety seat further comprises a reinforcement member, and the reinforcement member (37) is arranged between the bracket and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 22, note the base is formed with an accommodating space (between 16 and 17, as shown in Figure 1), and at least one part of the supporting foot is selectively received in the accommodating space.
The secondary reference teaches configuring a safety seat with a base (2) including a slide rail (4 or 5) and a fixing portion (6) slidably disposed on the slide rail. See lines 2 to 3 in column 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by adding a slide rail to and substituting for the fixing portion of the primary reference, a fixing portion that is slidably disposed on the slide rail. This modification provides a modernized, easily adjustable, fixing assembly for use with a typically provided ISOFIX type bracketing assembly, thereby enhancing user safety.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, 14, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2001239868A in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the base including a slide rail and a fixing portion slidably disposed on the slide rail.
In the primary reference, note a safety seat including a base (16) including a fixing portion (92), wherein the base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion; a body (14) assembled on the base; and a supporting foot (56, 54) slidably and pivotably connected to the base, wherein the supporting foot and the fixing portion are arranged on opposite sides of the base, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, note the safety seat further comprises in that it further comprises a sliding member (52, 82), wherein the sliding member is slidably disposed on the base, and the supporting foot is pivotally connected to the sliding member.
Regarding claim 3, note the safety seat further comprises a latching member (81), wherein the latching member is pivotally connected to or slidably disposed on the base, the sliding member includes a positioning portion (74), and the latching member is selectively latched (spring forced forwardly) to the positioning portion.
Regarding claim 5, note the supporting foot includes an unlatching portion (56A), and the latching member is arranged on a pivoting path (path from 60 to 62) of the unlatching portion.
Regarding claim 8, note the base includes at least one limiting member (102), the sliding member is formed with at least one sliding slot (interior of 104), and the limiting member is slidably disposed in the sliding slot.
Regarding claim 9, note the sliding member is formed with an opening (space between 52A and 52A) and a part (portion of 56A immediately adjacent to and below 62; see Figure 3) of the supporting foot is selectively accommodated in the sliding member through the opening.
Regarding claim 10, note the base further includes a bracket (102), and the sliding member is slidably disposed on the bracket. See Figure 6.
Regarding claim 11, note the safety seat further comprises auxiliary resilient members (88), the auxiliary resilient members are connected to (by way of the sliding member) the base and the sliding member, and an extension direction (fore-aft) of each of the auxiliary resilient members is parallel to an extension direction (lateral extension of the top wall) of the bracket. See Figures 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 14, note the safety seat further comprises a reinforcement member (104), and the reinforcement member is arranged between the bracket and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 22, note the base is formed with an accommodating space (102), and at least one part of the supporting foot is selectively received in the accommodating space.
Regarding claim 23, note the supporting foot includes a sleeve (56) and an extending portion (54), and a least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion.
The secondary reference teaches configuring a safety seat with a base (2) including a slide rail (4 or 5) and a fixing portion (6) slidably disposed on the slide rail. See lines 2 to 3 in column 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by adding a slide rail and configuring the fixing portion as slidably disposed on the slide rail. This modification improves selective adjustability of the fixing portion, thereby enhancing user safety.
Claim(s) 1, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (US20140327281) in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the base including a slide rail and a fixing portion slidably disposed on the slide rail.
In the primary reference, note a safety seat including a base (1) including a fixing portion (12), wherein the base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion; a body (20) assembled on the base; and a supporting foot (2) slidably and pivotably connected to the base, wherein the supporting foot and the fixing portion are arranged (see Figure 2) on opposite sides of the base, respectively.
Regarding claim 22, note the base is formed with an accommodating space (underside), and at least one part of the supporting foot is selectively received in the accommodating space. See Figure 2.
Regarding claim 23, note the supporting foot includes a sleeve (upper portion) and an extending portion (lower portion), and a least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion. See Figures 5 and 6.
The secondary reference teaches configuring a safety seat with a base (2) including a slide rail (4 or 5) and a fixing portion (6) slidably disposed on the slide rail. See lines 2 to 3 in column 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by adding a slide rail and configuring the fixing portion as slidably disposed on the slide rail. This modification improves selective adjustability of the fixing portion, thereby enhancing user safety.
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20170001118U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the base including a slide rail and a fixing portion slidably disposed on the slide rail.
In the primary reference, note a safety seat including a base (200) including a fixing portion (see line 2 of the abstract in the translation), wherein the base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion; a body (30) assembled on the base; and a supporting foot (350, or 350 and 330) slidably and pivotably connected to the base, wherein the supporting foot and the fixing portion are arranged on opposite sides of the base, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, note the safety seat further comprises a sliding member (330), wherein the sliding member is slidably disposed on the base, and the supporting foot is pivotally connected to the sliding member.
Regarding claim 8, note the base includes at least one limiting member (pin in the elongated, longitudinal slot; see Figure 7), the sliding member is formed with at least one sliding slot (elongated, longitudinal slot), and the limiting member is slidably disposed in the sliding slot.
Regarding claim 9, note the sliding member is formed with an opening (formed by the H shaped member; see Figure 3), and a part of the supporting foot is selectively accommodated int eh sliding member through the opening.
Regarding claim 15, note a positioning lock (275), wherein the safety seat further comprises a positioning lock arranged on the base and includes a locking portion, the supporting foot has a locked portion (381), and the locking portion and the locked portion are selectively latched to each other.
Regarding claim 16, note at least one of the locking portion and the locked portion is formed with a guiding portion (380), and the locking portion and the locked portion are abutted against and latched to each other through the guiding portion.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the safety seat further comprises a positioning portion (333), wherein the position portion is arranged on the sliding member, wherein, when the sliding member slides in respect to the base to an unfolded position, a gap (at 337) is formed between the sliding member and the base, and the positioning portion is selectively latched in the gap and abuts against the sliding member and/or the base.
Regarding claim 20, note a resilient member (spring connected to 331; see Figure 7) for positioning, and the resilient member for positioning is arranged between the positioning portion and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 21, note a resilient member (315) for pivoting, and the resilient member for pivoting is arranged between the supporting foot and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 22, note the base is formed with an accommodating space (270), and at least one part of the supporting foot is selectively received in the accommodating space.
The secondary reference teaches configuring a safety seat with a base (2) including a slide rail (4 or 5) and a fixing portion (6) slidably disposed on the slide rail. See lines 2 to 3 in column 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by adding a slide rail and configuring the fixing portion as slidably disposed on the slide rail. This modification improves selective adjustability of the fixing portion, thereby enhancing user safety.
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10, 14, and 22, as best understood with the above cited indefiniteness, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN211892932U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of a fixing portion, wherein the base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion; wherein the fixing portion is arranged on a opposite side of the base from the supporting foot; wherein base includes a slide rail and a fixing portion slidably disposed on the slide rail.
In the primary reference, note a safety seat including a base, a body (safety seat as referred to in line 1 of the “Technical Field” on page 1 of the translation) assembled on the base; and a supporting foot (21) slidably and pivotably connected to the base.
Regarding claim 2, note in that it further comprises a sliding member (8), wherein the sliding member is slidably disposed on the base, and the supporting foot is pivotally connected to the sliding member.
Regarding claim 7, note a protective member (22), and the protective member is pivotally connected to the sliding member and arranged between the supporting foot and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 8, note the base includes at least one limiting member (5), the sliding member is formed with at least one sliding slot (83), and the limiting member is slidably disposed in the sliding slot.
Regarding claim 10, note the base further includes a bracket (5, 6), and the sliding member is slidably disposed on the bracket.
Regarding claim 14, note a reinforcement member (51 or 52), and the reinforcement member is arranged between the bracket and the sliding member.
Regarding claim 22, note the base is formed with an accommodating space (12), and at least one part of the supporting foot is selectively received in the accommodating space.
The secondary reference teaches configuring a safety seat with a base (2) including a slide rail (4 or 5) and a fixing portion (6) slidably disposed on the slide rail. See lines 2 to 3 in column 2. Note that the fixing portion is located at the rear end, wherein a base is adapted to be selectively fixed to a car seat through the fixing portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by adding a fixing portion at the rear end of the assembly, adding a slide rail to the base, and configuring the fixing portion as slidably disposed on the slide rail. Note that adding the fixing portion to the rear end necessitates that it is arranged on a opposite side of the base from a supporting foot. These modification improves securability of the base, and selective adjustability of the fixing portion, thereby enhancing user safety.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20170001118U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barker (US20060055218).
The primary reference shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot including a sleeve and an extending portion, and a least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion.
The secondary reference conventionally teaches providing a child safety seat assembly with a supporting foot including a sleeve and an extending portion, and at least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of the secondary reference by configuring the supporting foot as including a sleeve and an extending portion, wherein at least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion. This modification enhances selectively adjustment of the assembly to fit a user’s needs.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN211892932U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barker (US20060055218).
The primary reference, as modified above, shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot including a sleeve and an extending portion, and at least one part of the extending portion being inserted into the sleeve portion.
Barker conventionally teaches providing a safety seat assembly with a supporting foot that includes a sleeve and an extending portion, wherein at least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion. See Figures 1 and 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date to further modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of Barker by configuring the supporting foot as including a sleeve and an extending portion, wherein at least one part of the extending portion is inserted into the sleeve portion. This modification conventionally enhances selectively adjustability of the assembly to fit a user’s needs.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN211892932U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN210792893U.
The primary reference, as modified above, shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot being detachably connected to the base.
CN210792893U teaches configuring a safety seat with a supporting foot (3) that is detachably connected to the seat base (1). Note by way of the assembly shown in Figures 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of CN21079893U by configuring the supporting foot as detachably connected to the base. This modification enhances selective detachment of the supporting foot from the base for replacement, repairs, etc.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2001239868A in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN210792893U.
The primary reference, as modified above, shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot being detachably connected to the base.
CN210792893U teaches configuring a safety seat with a supporting foot (3) that is detachably connected to the seat base (1). Note by way of the assembly shown in Figures 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of CN21079893U by configuring the supporting foot as detachably connected to the base. This modification enhances selective detachment of the supporting foot from the base for replacement, repairs, etc.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al (US20140327281) in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN210792893U.
The primary reference, as modified above, shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot being detachably connected to the base.
CN210792893U teaches configuring a safety seat with a supporting foot (3) that is detachably connected to the seat base (1). Note by way of the assembly shown in Figures 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of CN21079893U by configuring the supporting foot as detachably connected to the base. This modification enhances selective detachment of the supporting foot from the base for replacement, repairs, etc.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20170001118U in view of Jane Santamaria (US7726737), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN210792893U.
The primary reference, as modified above, shows all claimed features of the instant invention with the exception of the supporting foot being detachably connected to the base.
CN210792893U teaches configuring a safety seat with a supporting foot (3) that is detachably connected to the seat base (1). Note by way of the assembly shown in Figures 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the primary reference in view of the teachings of CN21079893U by configuring the supporting foot as detachably connected to the base. This modification enhances selective detachment of the supporting foot from the base for replacement, repairs, etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant’s response filed July 28, 2026 has been fully considered. Remaining issues are described above.
Regarding application of Smith (US2308315) to claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art reference “fails to disclose a supporting foot”. See page 8 of the REMARKS. The Examiner disagrees. Smith shows a support structure (26, 29) that extends away from the base in the configuration of a foot. The support structure is capable of bracing against the front of the supporting car seat when installed thereon. The supporting structure is also capable of supporting any object placed thereon. The support structure (26, 29) is a supporting foot.
Regarding the remaining prior art, Applicant argues that the fixing portion slidably connected to slide rails is not shown. This new limitation has necessitated new grounds of rejection as outlined above.
All rejections are proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A safety seat having a fixing portion that is slidably connected to a base of the assembly is shown by each of GB2604865A and Clement et al (US8366192).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
mn /MILTON NELSON JR/August 13, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636