DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 8/25/2026. Claims 4-9 and 11 are amended; and claims 1-14 are currently pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, drawn to claims 1, 7, 9 and 11-13, in the reply filed on 8/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 2-6, 8, 10 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al (WO 2020/162245 A1).
It is noted that WO 2020/162245 A1 is in Japanese. A copy of the machine translation into English is provided with this Office action. All line/paragraph citations in the body of rejection below are to the English translation unless explicitly stated.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al teach in example 3-5, a polymer formed from monomer mixture comprising BA (i.e., butyl acrylate), 2-EHA (i.e., 2-ethylhexyl acrylate) (i.e., both read on alkyl (meth)acrylate in present claim 1), AA (i.e., acrylic acid and reads on polar monomer in present claim 1) and monomer B-1 obtained in production example 2-1 (paragraph 0105). See example 2-1, wherein the monomer B-1 is a reaction product of 2-acryloyloxyethyl isocyanate and monool (paragraph 099). The monomer B-1 is a compound 3 obtained by reacting compound 3a with compound 3b (paragraph 030). Compound 3 is represented by formula:
(see original document as published) wherein R11 is a hydrogen atom or methyl group, R12 is an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms, R13 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, “b” is preferably an integer of 1 to 4; and “c” is preferably an integer of 20 to 600 (paragraph 031) which reads on the polyether macromer of formula I, wherein R1 is hydrogen or methyl, R2 = alkylene having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, X1 = -O- and Q1 is a polyether group in present claim 1. The curable composition preferably contains a crosslinking agent (paragraph 071) which reads on the crosslinking agent in present claim 1. Adhesive layer is made of the cured product (paragraph 083). The composition, of Nakamura et al, is an adhesive is implicit in the formation of an adhesive layer when cured (i.e., reads on adhesive composition in present claim 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 11-12, Nakamura et al teach that pressure sensitive adhesive sheet can be obtained by applying the curable composition on a first release film (paragraph 083) which reads on composition is a pressure-sensitive adhesive in present claim 9, and article comprising a substrate and an adhesive composition positioned adjacent to the substrate in present claim 11; and a one-sided adhesive in present claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura et al teach that laminate includes an adhesive layer and is used as a flexible member in a flexible display panel (paragraph 085) which reads on article is an electronic device incorporating the adhesive composition in present claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (WO 2020/162245 A1).
The discussion with respect to Nakamura et al in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference.
Nakamura et al fail to disclose in a single embodiment a polymer comprising polyether macromer having the presently claimed weight average molecular weight.
However, Nakamura et al in the general disclosure teach that monomer B-1 can be represented by formula:
(see original document as published) wherein R11 is a hydrogen atom or methyl group, R12 is an alkylene group having 2 to 4 carbon atoms, R13 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, “b” is preferably an integer of 1 to 4; and “c” is preferably an integer of 20 to 600 (paragraph 031). It is noted that when b = 1, c = 20 to 600, molecular weight of the monomer B-1 is calculated to about 760 to about 18,000 Daltons (i.e., overlaps with the weight average molecular weight of polyether macromer in present claim 7. Case law holds that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, see also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946), See MPEP § 2144.04. Therefore, in light of the teachings in general disclosure of Nakamura et al and case law, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application, to have used monomer B-1 (i.e., polyether macromer) having molecular weight in overlapping ranges in preparing the polymer, in Nakamura et al, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KARUNA P REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764