DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 12/20/2023 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 26 and 41 is directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 26 and 41 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward an apparatus and an apparatus.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 26. A passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising:
first circuitry configured to perform one or more first-circuitry operations including identifying an assistance type of a passenger of the vehicle;
second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type;
third circuitry configured to perform one or more third-circuitry operations including generating a modified route for a ride for the passenger at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the identified assistance type;
and fourth circuitry configured to perform one or more fourth-circuitry operations including one or both of conducting a pre-ride safety check based on the identified assistance type and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the identified assistance type.
The method in claim 26, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of performing operations including: identifying an assistance type, controlling passenger-comfort controls, generating a modified route, and conducting pre-ride and pre-exit safety checks. This is equivalent to a person mentally viewing the environment and passenger, determining passenger assistance type, adjusting passenger-comfort controls, determining a modified route, and performing pre-ride and pre-exit safety checks.
Claim 41. At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving booking information for a ride for a passenger of a vehicle;
conducting a pre-ride safety check for the ride based at least on the booking information;
determining that the passenger is an assistance passenger of at least one identified assistance type from among a plurality of assistance types;
customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type;
generating a modified route for the ride at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the at least one identified assistance type;
and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the at least one identified assistance type.
The method in claim 41, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of identifying an assistance type and performing operations including: conducting a pre-ride safety check, determining the passenger is an assistance passenger, customizing an in-vehicle experience, generating a modified route, and conducting a pre-exit safety check. This is equivalent to a person mentally viewing the environment and passenger, performing a pre-ride safety check, deciding the passenger is an assistance passenger, adjusting passenger in-vehicle experience, determining a modified route, and performing a pre-exit safety check.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the abstract “idea”).
Claim 26. A passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising:
first circuitry configured to perform one or more first-circuitry operations including identifying an assistance type of a passenger of the vehicle;
second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type;
third circuitry configured to perform one or more third-circuitry operations including generating a modified route for a ride for the passenger at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the identified assistance type;
and fourth circuitry configured to perform one or more fourth-circuitry operations including one or both of conducting a pre-ride safety check based on the identified assistance type and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the identified assistance type.
Claim 26 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The limitations “A passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising: first circuitry configured to”, “second circuitry configured to”, “third circuitry configured to”, and “and fourth circuitry configured to” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising: first circuitry, second circuitry, third circuitry, and fourth circuitry merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising: first circuitry, second circuitry, third circuitry, and fourth circuitry are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the performing steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 41. At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving booking information for a ride for a passenger of a vehicle;
conducting a pre-ride safety check for the ride based at least on the booking information;
determining that the passenger is an assistance passenger of at least one identified assistance type from among a plurality of assistance types;
customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type;
generating a modified route for the ride at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the at least one identified assistance type;
and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the at least one identified assistance type.
Claim 41 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “receiving booking information” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the receiving, conducting, determining, customizing, and generating steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claims 26 and 41 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitation(s) of “A passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising: first circuitry configured to”, “second circuitry configured to”, “third circuitry configured to”, “and fourth circuitry configured to”, and “At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising” is/are merely means to apply the exception and do not amount to “significantly more”, as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “receiving booking information” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because the specification does not provide any indication that the receiving, conducting, determining, customizing, and generating steps are performed using anything other than a conventional computer. See also MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures |, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TL! Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and O/P Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Thus, since claims 26 and 41 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 26 and 41 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 27-40 and 42-45 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more, such as the limitations in claim 32 that amount to insignificant extra solution activity using a similar analysis applied to claim 26 above.
As such, claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 27, 37, 39-41, 44, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIN (KR 20210078071 A) in view of BERND (EP 3718797 A1).
Regarding Claim 26, JIN teaches A passenger-assistance system for a vehicle, the passenger-assistance system comprising: first circuitry configured to perform one or more first-circuitry operations including identifying an assistance type of a passenger of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0038], “The transport service system 10 may provide a specific passenger-only transport service for transporting a specific passenger” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”); third circuitry configured to perform one or more third-circuitry operations including generating a modified route for a ride for the passenger at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0029], “The processor is configured to: a first route from the current location to the specific passenger boarding point, a second route from the specific passenger boarding point to the specific passenger boarding point, and from the specific passenger boarding point to the destination location. A third route may be provided.” The system generates routes for transporting a specific passenger, including routes between boarding and disembarking points selected to safely accommodate the specific passenger, which corresponds to modifying an initial route for a ride based on the identified assistance type.); and fourth circuitry configured to perform one or more fourth-circuitry operations including one or both of conducting a pre-ride safety check based on the identified assistance type and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.”).
JIN does not explicitly disclose, however, BERND, in the same field of endeavor, teaches second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0035], “According to a yet further preferred embodiment, the control device may be configured to initiate individual and/or automatic climatization and/or seat heating and/or cooling for at least one or a plurality of passengers within the cabin. These vehicle functions may preferably be provided dependent on a detected seat occupation and/or seat position of the respective passenger and/or dependent on a detected passenger condition. This allows an efficient control of vehicle functions, and may increase the passenger comfort. The risk of discomfort due to temperatures being too high or too low may be avoided.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].).
Regarding Claim 27, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches wherein: the one or more first-circuitry operations further include obtaining a passenger profile associated with the passenger; and the identifying of the assistance type of the passenger is performed based at least in part on assistance-type data in the passenger profile, the assistance-type data indicating the assistance type of the passenger (See at least paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”).
Regarding Claim 37, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches wherein: the initial route for the ride was generated from a first set of mapping data (See at least paragraph [0029], “The processor is configured to: a first route from the current location to the specific passenger boarding point, a second route from the specific passenger boarding point to the specific passenger boarding point, and from the specific passenger boarding point to the destination location. A third route may be provided.”); and generating the modified route comprises generating the modified route based at least in part on a second set of mapping data, the second set of mapping data being an accessibility- informed set of mapping data (See at least paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.” The system generates routes associated with a ride, including routes between passenger locations, boarding points, and destinations, and further determines passenger-specific boarding and disembarking points where safe access can be provided, which corresponds to generating an initial route from mapping data and modifying the route based on accessibility-informed mapping data.).
With respect to claim 44, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 37, which is commensurate in scope to claim 44, with claim 37 being drawn to a passenger-assistance system and claim 44 being drawn to a corresponding computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 39, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches wherein: the first circuitry identifies that a respective passenger is associated with multiple assistance types (See at least paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”); the controlling of the one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle is based on the multiple assistance types (See at least paragraph [0048], “The navigation device 500 may be a navigation device installed (or built-in) in a mobile vehicle. For example, the navigation device 500 may include a transmission/reception system unit, a memory unit, a navigation unit, an input/output unit, a control unit, and a battery. The transmission/reception system unit may include a GPS module and a wireless modem to determine the location and speed of the moving vehicle, and collect various information about the moving vehicle. The memory unit may store map and guidance voice data. The navigation unit may set various routes from the origin to the destination and search for an optimal route. The input/output unit may output the determined path through a screen and a voice and recognize a user's input. The controller may control various software embedded in the navigation device 500 . A battery may provide power” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.” The system provides passenger-specific service based on passenger information including multiple assistance-type characteristics, which corresponds to controlling passenger-comfort controls based on multiple assistance types); the generating of the modified route for the ride is based on the multiple assistance types (See at least paragraph [0029], “The processor is configured to: a first route from the current location to the specific passenger boarding point, a second route from the specific passenger boarding point to the specific passenger boarding point, and from the specific passenger boarding point to the destination location. A third route may be provided” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.” The system generates routes for transporting a specific passenger, and the passenger is identified as having multiple assistance-type characteristics, which corresponds to generating the modified route for the ride based on multiple assistance types.); and one or both of the conducting of the pre-ride safety check and the conducting of the pre- exit safety check is based on the multiple assistance types (See at least paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do” and paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.” The system determines safe boarding and disembarking points for a passenger identified as having multiple assistance-type characteristics, which corresponds to conducting pre-ride and pre-exit safety checks based on multiple assistance types.).
With respect to claim 45, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 39, which is commensurate in scope to claim 45, with claim 39 being drawn to a passenger-assistance system and claim 45 being drawn to a corresponding computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 40, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches wherein the modifying of the initial route for the ride based on the identified assistance type comprises selecting a different drop-off location at a destination of the ride based on the identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.” The system determines a specific passenger-only disembarking point where disembarking can be safely performed for the passenger, which corresponds to selecting a different drop-off location at a destination of the ride based on the identified assistance type.).
Regarding Claim 41, JIN teaches At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising: receiving booking information for a ride for a passenger of a vehicle (See at least paragraph [0038], “The transport service system 10 may provide a specific passenger-only transport service for transporting a specific passenger” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”); conducting a pre-ride safety check for the ride based at least on the booking information (See at least paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.”); determining that the passenger is an assistance passenger of at least one identified assistance type from among a plurality of assistance types (See at least paragraph [0038], “The transport service system 10 may provide a specific passenger-only transport service for transporting a specific passenger” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”); generating a modified route for the ride at least in part by modifying an initial route for the ride based on the at least one identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0029], “The processor is configured to: a first route from the current location to the specific passenger boarding point, a second route from the specific passenger boarding point to the specific passenger boarding point, and from the specific passenger boarding point to the destination location. A third route may be provided.” The system generates routes for transporting a specific passenger, including routes between boarding and disembarking points selected to safely accommodate the specific passenger, which corresponds to modifying an initial route for a ride based on the identified assistance type.); and conducting a pre-exit safety check based on the at least one identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0071], “The map management server 370 may determine a specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point at which boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed according to the specific passenger's current location and destination location in response to the request of the dispatch server 310. The specific passenger-only boarding and disembarking point may be a point located around the current location of a specific passenger and around the destination location among a plurality of points stored in the map database, and where boarding and disembarking of a specific passenger can be safely performed.”).
JIN does not explicitly disclose, however, BERND, in the same field of endeavor, teaches customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type (See at least paragraph [0035], “According to a yet further preferred embodiment, the control device may be configured to initiate individual and/or automatic climatization and/or seat heating and/or cooling for at least one or a plurality of passengers within the cabin. These vehicle functions may preferably be provided dependent on a detected seat occupation and/or seat position of the respective passenger and/or dependent on a detected passenger condition. This allows an efficient control of vehicle functions, and may increase the passenger comfort. The risk of discomfort due to temperatures being too high or too low may be avoided.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].).
Claim(s) 28-36, 38, 42, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIN (KR 20210078071 A) in view of BERND (EP 3718797 A1) and KIM (US 20210155262 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising fifth circuitry configured to perform one or more fifth-circuitry operations including collecting passenger feedback from the passenger during at least part of the ride, the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including modifying the controlling of the one or more passenger-comfort controls based on the collected passenger feedback (See at least paragraph [0127], “An electronic apparatus 900 may determine an operation scheme of a car seat 920 in which an infant 920 is seated based on a state of the infant 910. In one example embodiment, the electronic apparatus 900 may determine an inclination angle, a height, or a position of the car seat 920 suitable for taking care of the infant 910 for each state of the infant 910. The electronic apparatus 900 may transmit a control signal to the car seat 920 based on the determined operation scheme and control an operation of the car seat 920. The electronic apparatus 900 may control the car seat 920 through, for example, controller area network (CAN) communication” and paragraph [0128], “For example, when the infant 910 is sleeping or a diaper change is needed, the electronic apparatus 900 may tilt the car seat 920 backward by adjusting an inclination of the car seat 920 in which the infant 920 is seated by 90 degrees (°). When the infant 910 needs to burp, the electronic apparatus 900 may control the car seat 920 to operate in a vibration mode for burping the infant 910. When the infant 910 is eating, the electronic apparatus 900 may tilt the car seat 920 backward by adjusting the inclination of the car seat 920 by an angle of 30° to 45° for ease of the eating of the infant 910. When the infant 910 is nervous, the electronic apparatus 900 may control the inclination of the car seat 920 to be repetitively changed within a predetermined degree of angle to comfort the infant 910.” The system determines a passenger state during operation and controls in-vehicle comfort elements, including seat inclination and vibration, based on the determined state, which corresponds to collecting passenger feedback during part of the ride and modifying the controlling of passenger-comfort controls based on the collected feedback.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), and fifth circuitry configured to perform one or more fifth-circuitry operations including collecting passenger feedback from the passenger during at least part of the ride, the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including modifying the controlling of the one or more passenger-comfort controls based on the collected passenger feedback, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [00127], [0128].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
With respect to claim 42, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 28, which is commensurate in scope to claim 42, with claim 28 being drawn to a passenger-assistance system and claim 42 being drawn to a corresponding computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 29, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 28, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including collecting assistance-type-detection feedback from the passenger regarding an accuracy of the identified assistance type of the passenger, the one or more first- circuitry operations further including conducting an identification of an assistance type of at least one subsequent passenger of the vehicle based at least in part on the collected assistance-type- detection feedback (See at least paragraph [0062], “The processor 180 may collect history information including, for example, the content of an operation of the AI device 100 or feedback of the user with respect to an operation, and may store the collected information in the memory 170 or the learning processor 130, or may transmit the collected information to an external device such as the AI server 200. The collected history information may be used to update a learning model” and paragraph [0071], “The processor 260 may deduce a result value for newly input data using the learning model, and may generate a response or a control instruction based on the deduced result value.” The system collects user feedback regarding system operation and uses such feedback to update a learning model that is applied to newly input data corresponds to collecting assistance-type-detection feedback regarding accuracy and identifying an assistance type of at least one subsequent passenger based at least in part on the collected feedback.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), fifth circuitry configured to perform one or more fifth-circuitry operations including collecting passenger feedback from the passenger during at least part of the ride, the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including modifying the controlling of the one or more passenger-comfort controls based on the collected passenger feedback and including collecting assistance-type-detection feedback from the passenger regarding an accuracy of the identified assistance type of the passenger, the one or more first- circuitry operations further including conducting an identification of an assistance type of at least one subsequent passenger of the vehicle based at least in part on the collected assistance-type- detection feedback, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0062], [0071], [00127], [0128].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 30, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 28, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including collecting trip-planning feedback from the passenger regarding the generated modified route for the ride, the one or more third-circuitry operations further including generating a modified route for at least one subsequent ride for at least one subsequent passenger based on the collected trip-planning feedback (See at least paragraph [0134], “In one example embodiment, the electronic apparatus 400 may generate a model representing a preference of an infant with respect to a driving environment of a vehicle. The electronic apparatus 400 may acquire first information associated with at least one of a driving route, a road condition around the vehicle, and a driving speed of the vehicle as input information, and then acquire second information associated with a state of the infant as target information of the first information. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may acquire the first information from a sensor or a navigator in the vehicle and acquire the second information from a camera or a microphone in the vehicle. Thereafter, the electronic apparatus 400 may train an AI model based on the acquired input information and target information. Through this, the electronic apparatus 400 may generate a trained AI model” and paragraph [0135], “For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may train an AI model based on information associated with the driving speed of the vehicle, which is the first information, and information associated with a reaction of the infant for each speed level of the vehicle, which is the second information. Through this, the electronic apparatus 400 may generate a model representing a preference of the infant with respect to the driving speed of the vehicle. Also, the electronic apparatus 400 may train an AI model based on information associated with the driving route of the vehicle, which is the first information, and information associated with a reaction of the infant for each driving route of the vehicle. Through this, the electronic apparatus 400 may generate a model representing a preference of the infant with respect to the driving route of the vehicle.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize customizing an in-vehicle experience for the assistance passenger, including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the at least one identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), fifth circuitry configured to perform one or more fifth-circuitry operations including collecting passenger feedback from the passenger during at least part of the ride, the one or more fifth-circuitry operations further including modifying the controlling of the one or more passenger-comfort controls based on the collected passenger feedback and including collecting trip-planning feedback from the passenger regarding the generated modified route for the ride, the one or more third-circuitry operations further including generating a modified route for at least one subsequent ride for at least one subsequent passenger based on the collected trip-planning feedback, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [00127], [0128], [0134], [0135].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 31, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches configured to identify an assistance type of the respective passenger (See at least paragraph [0038], “The transport service system 10 may provide a specific passenger-only transport service for transporting a specific passenger” and paragraph [0055], “The dispatch server 310 may receive a dispatch request of a specific passenger transmitted from the user device 100 . The dispatch request may include at least one of information about a specific passenger, a current location, and a destination location. Information about a specific passenger includes various information about a specific passenger and the user device 100, such as information on whether the specific passenger is one of the disabled, the elderly, pregnant women, and female passengers, and a unique number of the user device 100 can do.”).
JIN does not explicitly disclose, however, BERND, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0073], “The vehicle 10 shown in fig. 1 may further comprise a sensor device 18 device installed within the passenger cabin 12. The sensor device 18 may, for example, be installed at or close to a roof of the passenger cabin 12. Furthermore, the sensor device 18 may comprise at least one optical sensor unit for sensing wavelength in the visible spectrum and/or at least one temperature sensor unit for sensing wavelengths in the long-wave infrared spectrum. The different sensor units of the sensor device 18 are not shown here in detail. The sensor device 18 may be a condition sensor device for measuring a passenger condition and/or a vehicle cabin condition” and paragraph [0074], “As will become more apparent with reference to fig. 2 and 3 , the sensor device 18 may be configured for simultaneous and/or sequential detection of at least a plurality of vehicle passengers 14a to 14c within the passenger cabin 12. The sensor device 18 may particularly be configured for detection of vehicle passengers 14a to 14c on all or at least a majority of passenger accommodation places within the passenger cabin 12, such as on the seats 16a to 16c.”).
JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types (See at least paragraph [0087], “The autonomous vehicle 100b may perform the above-described operations using a learning model configured with at least one artificial neural network. For example, the autonomous vehicle 100b may recognize the surrounding environment and the object using the learning model, and may determine a driving line using the recognized surrounding environment information or object information. Here, the learning model may be directly learned in the autonomous vehicle 100b, or may be learned in an external device such as the AI server 200” and paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.” The system teaches using trained deep-learning/artificial neural network models to infer a passenger state from sensor information across multiple possible states, which corresponds to trained neural networks outputting likelihoods/probabilities for different assistance types based on the sensor data.); and a class-fusion circuit (See at least paragraph [0087], “The autonomous vehicle 100b may perform the above-described operations using a learning model configured with at least one artificial neural network. For example, the autonomous vehicle 100b may recognize the surrounding environment and the object using the learning model, and may determine a driving line using the recognized surrounding environment information or object information. Here, the learning model may be directly learned in the autonomous vehicle 100b, or may be learned in an external device such as the AI server 200” and paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.” The system teaches using trained deep-learning/artificial neural network models to process passenger sensor data and infer passenger states based on outputs of the neural network models, which corresponds to combining outputs of neural networks to support identification of an assistance type based on probabilities calculated by a plurality of neural networks.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type and the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035], [0073], [0074].), and one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types and a class-fusion circuit based on the probabilities calculated by the neural networks in the plurality of neural networks, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0087], [0101].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
With respect to claim 43, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 31, which is commensurate in scope to claim 43, with claim 31 being drawn to a passenger-assistance system and claim 43 being drawn to a corresponding computer-readable storage medium.
Regarding Claim 32, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 31, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN teaches the plurality of assistance types including an assistance type associated with not needing assistance (See at least paragraph [0038], “The transport service system 10 may provide a specific passenger-only transport service for transporting a specific passenger” and paragraph [0042], “The user device 100 may transmit a request for dispatch of a specific passenger to the transport service server 300 . The specific passenger may be a specific person who uses a mobility aid when moving due to an unhealthy body, such as a passenger with a disability, an elderly person, a pregnant woman, or a female passenger. The mobility assistance device is a device for assisting the movement of a specific passenger, and may be a foldable mobility aid device and a non-foldable mobility aid device. The folding mobility assistance device may be various devices in which the size of the mobility assistance device such as a light wheelchair can be reduced. The non-foldable mobility assistance device may be various devices in which the size of the mobility assistance device, such as an electric wheelchair, cannot be reduced.”).
Regarding Claim 33, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 31, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the plurality of neural networks includes a first neural network configured to calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on an assistance-prompt subset of the sensor data (See at least paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.”); and the assistance-prompt subset of the sensor data indicates a response or lack of response from the respective passenger to at least one assistance prompt presented to the respective passenger via a user interface in the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.” The system teaches inferring a passenger state using an AI model based on sensor data including appearance, sound, and gesture, which corresponds to using sensor data indicating a response or lack or response from a passenger to an assistance prompt presented via user interface as input to the probability-calculating neural network.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type and the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035], [0073], [0074].), one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types and a class-fusion circuit based on the probabilities calculated by the neural networks in the plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks includes a first neural network configured to calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on an assistance-prompt subset of the sensor data, and the assistance-prompt subset of the sensor data indicates a response or lack of response from the respective passenger to at least one assistance prompt presented to the respective passenger via a user interface in the vehicle, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0087], [0101].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 34, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 31, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the plurality of neural networks includes a second neural network configured to calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on a stimulated-response subset of the sensor data (See at least paragraph [0117], “The electronic apparatus 400 may determine a validity of the acquired sensing information. Specifically, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine a validity of the sensing information acquired in operation S620 based on the model acquired in S610. When the sensing information acquired in operation S620 is a different type of information from information for training the model acquired in operation S610, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine that the acquired sensing information is invalid. For example, when the sensing information is sensing information associated with a reaction of the infant in a special circumstance, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine that the sensing information is invalid.”); and the stimulated-response subset of the sensor data indicates a reaction or a lack of reaction by the respective passenger to one or more sensory stimuli presented in a defined area around the respective passenger (See at least paragraph [0117], “The electronic apparatus 400 may determine a validity of the acquired sensing information. Specifically, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine a validity of the sensing information acquired in operation S620 based on the model acquired in S610. When the sensing information acquired in operation S620 is a different type of information from information for training the model acquired in operation S610, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine that the acquired sensing information is invalid. For example, when the sensing information is sensing information associated with a reaction of the infant in a special circumstance, the electronic apparatus 400 may determine that the sensing information is invalid.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type and the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035], [0073], [0074].), one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types and a class-fusion circuit based on the probabilities calculated by the neural networks in the plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks includes a second neural network configured to calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on a stimulated-response subset of the sensor data, and the stimulated-response subset of the sensor data indicates a reaction or a lack of reaction by the respective passenger to one or more sensory stimuli presented in a defined area around the respective passenger, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0087], [0101], [0117].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 35, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 31, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of neural networks includes a third neural network configured to use the sensor data to: calculate an estimated age of the respective passenger (See at least paragraph [0097], “In operation S510, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of an infant in a vehicle based on sensing information associated with the infant. Specifically, the electronic apparatus 400 may acquire sensing information associated with the infant and recognize a state of the infant based on the acquired sensing information. The term “infant” may refer to a small and/or little child. In one example, the infant may be a baby who is not yet able to speak. In another example, the infant may be a toddler able to stand and walk with help or alone. In another example, the infant may be a preschooler 1 to 6 years old after birth” and paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.”); and calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on the calculated estimated age of the respective passenger (See at least paragraph [0097], “In operation S510, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of an infant in a vehicle based on sensing information associated with the infant. Specifically, the electronic apparatus 400 may acquire sensing information associated with the infant and recognize a state of the infant based on the acquired sensing information. The term “infant” may refer to a small and/or little child. In one example, the infant may be a baby who is not yet able to speak. In another example, the infant may be a toddler able to stand and walk with help or alone. In another example, the infant may be a preschooler 1 to 6 years old after birth” and paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type and the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035], [0073], [0074].), one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types and a class-fusion circuit based on the probabilities calculated by the neural networks in the plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks includes a third neural network configured to use the sensor data to: calculate an estimated age of the respective passenger, and calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on the calculated estimated age of the respective passenger, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0097], [0087], [0101].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 36, JIN, BERND, and KIM teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 31, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN does not explicitly disclose, however, BERND, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of neural networks includes a fourth neural network configured to use the sensor data to: identify whether the respective passenger has one or more assistance objects from among a plurality of assistance objects (See at least paragraph [0042], “According to a yet further preferred embodiment, the sensor device and/or the control device may form a safety and/or comfort system for the detection of a disabled passenger, for example by detecting a wheelchair, walking frame and/or walking stick, and/or for initiating a service function for disabled passengers. By detecting a disabled passenger, particularly in the door area of the cabin, a service signal may be provided to a service personnel, which may then provide personal assistance to the detected disabled person. The same may apply to service assistance in the seating requirements of a disabled passenger.”); and calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on a lack of or presence of any identified assistance objects from among the plurality of assistance objects (See at least paragraph [0042], “According to a yet further preferred embodiment, the sensor device and/or the control device may form a safety and/or comfort system for the detection of a disabled passenger, for example by detecting a wheelchair, walking frame and/or walking stick, and/or for initiating a service function for disabled passengers. By detecting a disabled passenger, particularly in the door area of the cabin, a service signal may be provided to a service personnel, which may then provide personal assistance to the detected disabled person. The same may apply to service assistance in the seating requirements of a disabled passenger.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND and KIM such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type and the first circuitry comprising: a sensor array comprising at least one sensor configured to collect sensor data corresponding to a respective passenger of the vehicle, and the plurality of neural networks includes a fourth neural network configured to use the sensor data to: identify whether the respective passenger has one or more assistance objects from among a plurality of assistance objects; and calculate the plurality of probabilities based at least in part on a lack of or presence of any identified assistance objects from among the plurality of assistance objects, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035], [0042], [0073], [0074].), one or more circuits that implement a plurality of neural networks that have each been trained to calculate, based on the sensor data, a plurality of probabilities that each correspond to the respective passenger having a different particular assistance type in a plurality of assistance types and a class-fusion circuit based on the probabilities calculated by the neural networks in the plurality of neural networks, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0087], [0101].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 38, JIN and BERND teach The passenger-assistance system of claim 26, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. JIN and BERND do not explicitly disclose, however, KIM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the first circuitry identifies that the assistance type of a respective passenger of the vehicle is that the respective passenger is an infant (See at least paragraph [0097], “In operation S510, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of an infant in a vehicle based on sensing information associated with the infant. Specifically, the electronic apparatus 400 may acquire sensing information associated with the infant and recognize a state of the infant based on the acquired sensing information. The term “infant” may refer to a small and/or little child. In one example, the infant may be a baby who is not yet able to speak. In another example, the infant may be a toddler able to stand and walk with help or alone. In another example, the infant may be a preschooler 1 to 6 years old after birth.”); and the second circuitry uses reinforcement learning and analysis of non-verbal indications of a comfort level of the infant in controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls with respect to the comfort level of the infant (See at least paragraph [0094], “The electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of an infant 410 in a vehicle. In one example embodiment, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant 410 based on sensing information associated with the infant 410. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state, a sleeping state, or an eating state of the infant 410 based on sensing information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture of the infant 410. In another example embodiment, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant 410 based on information associated with an environment around the infant 410. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a sleeping state of the infant 410 based on current time information” and paragraph [0101], “In one example embodiment, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a model representing a correlation between first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant, the second information corresponding to the first information. The model for predicting a state of the infant may be an AI model. For example, the model for predicting a state of the infant may be a deep-learning model trained based on first information associated with at least one of an appearance, a sound, and a gesture and second information associated with a state of the infant. In this example, the second information may be target information of the first information. Thus, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting the sensing information associated with the infant to the AI model for predicting a state of the infant. For example, the electronic apparatus 400 may recognize a hungry state of the infant based on information inferred as a result of inputting sensing information associated with a sound of the infant to the AI model.” The system teaches using sensor data indicating non-verbal infant behaviors as input to an artificial intelligence model to adaptively control vehicle comfort functions over time, and further teaches utilizing centrally stored data in a server-based system to improve such control across multiple vehicles, which corresponds to reinforcement learning based control using aggregated infant-comfort-related data.); wherein the second circuitry also uses, in controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls with respect to the comfort level of the infant, aggregated infant-comfort-related data from a cloud-based management system of a plurality of vehicles that includes the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0073], “Referring to FIG. 3, in the AI system 1, at least one of the AI server 200, a robot 100a, an autonomous vehicle 100b, an XR device 100c, a smartphone 100d, and a home appliance 100e is connected to a cloud network 10. Here, the robot 100a, the autonomous vehicle 100b, the XR device 100c, the smartphone 100d, and the home appliance 100e, to which AI technologies are applied, may be referred to as AI devices 100a to 100e.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of JIN with the teachings of BERND such that the transportation service system of JIN is further configured to utilize second circuitry configured to perform one or more second-circuitry operations including controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls of the vehicle based on the identified assistance type, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0035].), the first circuitry identifies that the assistance type of a respective passenger of the vehicle is that the respective passenger is an infant; and the second circuitry uses reinforcement learning and analysis of non-verbal indications of a comfort level of the infant in controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls with respect to the comfort level of the infant, and wherein the second circuitry also uses, in controlling one or more passenger-comfort controls with respect to the comfort level of the infant, aggregated infant-comfort-related data from a cloud-based management system of a plurality of vehicles that includes the vehicle, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0073], [0094], [0097], [0101].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving individualized vehicle functionality and accuracy of vehicle functions, as taught by BERND (See paragraph [0015].). The motivation for doing so would be increasing a user’s convenience using services, as taught by KIM (See paragraph [0004].).
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666