DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 03/24/2026 except for the ones that are repeated in this office action.
Specification
The amended title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
delivery device in claim 1, interpreted as pump as described “the delivery device 23 may comprise a liquid delivery device 24 (Fig. 3) and a gas delivery device 26 (Fig. 2). The liquid delivery device 24 may include a pump” in page 14, lines 15-21 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof,
injection element in claim 1, interpreted as tube as described “the first injection element 14 and the second injection element 16 may substantially have a rectilinear shape. The first injection element 14 and the second injection element 16 may include respective hollow needles or canulae” in page 12, lines 20-25 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof,
discharge element in claim 1, interpreted as tube as described “The discharge element 20 may substantially have a rectilinear shape. The discharge element 20 may include a hollow needle or canula” in page 13, lines 5-10 of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al., US 9968216 (Smith), and further in view of Smith et al., US 20210289982 (hereafter Smith-982).
Regarding claim 1,
Beverage preparation machine comprising: (Fig. 1)
a chamber for receiving a capsule carrying a beverage component, (cartridge holder 3 in Fig. 1)
Fig. 1 in Smith
a beverage preparation device having: a delivery device for delivering a fluid to the chamber, (pump 112 in Fig. 12)
Fig. 12 in Smith
a first injection element and a second injection element, the first and second injection elements being selectively fluidly connectable to the delivery device for injecting a fluid into the chamber, respectively, (Column 20, lines 48-55 teaches “To introduce liquid into the cartridge, for example, as shown in FIG. 14, a portion of the lid 38 generally circumscribed by the periphery 32 may be pierced by an inlet piercing element 46 (e.g., a needle) so that water or other liquid may be injected into the cartridge 1. Other inlet piercing arrangements are possible, such as multiple needles”.)
Figs. 14 and 15 in Smith
a discharge device having a discharge element for discharging the delivered fluid out of the chamber, (Column 21, lines 5-13 teaches “The cartridge 1 may also be penetrated by an outlet piercing element 45 (e.g., a needle) at a second portion of the lid 38 outside of the periphery 32 and apart from the inlet opening. As with the inlet piercing arrangement, the outlet piercing arrangement may be varied in any suitable way. Thus, the outlet piercing element 45 may include one or more hollow or solid needles, knives, blades, tubes, and so on.”)
…and the first injection element protrudes farther into the chamber than the discharge element, (Fig. 15 in Smith teaches injection element 54 farther protruded into the chamber than discharge element 45.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to position first injection element farther into the chamber than the discharge element as taught in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would allow better drainage of beverage from cartridge due to gravity.)
wherein the second injection element comprises an outlet opening which is directed towards the discharge element and configured to jet or spray the fluid onto the discharge element, (The limitation is interpreted as Fig. 7 of the original disclosure wherein second injection element 16 and discharge element 20 protrude from the same side of capsule such that water injected from element 16 sprays discharge element 20.
Fig. 7 of the original disclosure
Smith teaches in Fig. 15 that second injection element 54 and discharge element 45 protrude from the same side of capsule, and thus water injected from inlet 54 into the area 14b is configured to spray or jet on discharge element 45.)
and a region at which the second injection element protrudes into the chamber is located higher than a region at which the discharge element protrudes into the chamber. (Fig. 15 in Smith teaches inlet ports 46, 54 are located higher than outlet port 45.)
Smith is silent about the first injection element protrudes farther into the chamber than the second injection element.
Smith-982 teaches the first injection element protrudes farther into the chamber than the second injection element (Fig. 8 in Smith-982 teaches a central inlet port that protrudes farther than the peripheral ports.)
Fig. 8 in Smith-982
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to protrude the first injection element farther compared to 2nd injection element as taught in Smith-982 to the device in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In some embodiments, the beverage machine is able to selectively dispense from each inlet port individually and independently of one another. Having the ability to selectively dispense from subsets of inlet ports may permit adjustability of various characteristics of the formed beverage” as taught in paragraphs [52-53] in Smith-982.
Regarding claim 3,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1,wherein a region at which the first injection element protrudes into the chamber is located higher than the region at which the discharge element protrudes into the chamber. ( Fig. 15 in Smith.)
Regarding claim 4,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1,wherein the second injection element protrude(s) into the chamber at an upper or uppermost region thereof. ( Fig. 15 in Smith.)
Regarding claim 5,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1,wherein the first injection element, the second injection element and the discharge element all protrude from the same side of the beverage preparation device into the chamber. (Fig. 15 in Smith.)
Regarding claim 6,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1,further comprising a capsule holder for holding the capsule. (cartridge holder 3 in Fig. 1 in Smith)
Regarding claim 7,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1, wherein the fluid is a liquid, (Column 4, lines 10-13 in Smith teaches “introducing liquid to the cartridge to form a beverage”)
wherein the delivery device comprises a liquid delivery device for delivering the liquid to the chamber, (pump 112 in Fig. 12)
and valves are provided to selectively deliver the liquid to at least one of the first injection element and the second injection element. (Smith is silent about this.
Smith-982 teaches “Each delivery line may have its own designated valve that may be independently controllable” in paragraph [64].)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the valves in delivery lines for injection elements as taught in Smith-982 to the device in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In some embodiments, the beverage machine is able to selectively dispense from each inlet port individually and independently of one another. Having the ability to selectively dispense from subsets of inlet ports may permit adjustability of various characteristics of the formed beverage” as taught in paragraphs [52-53] in Smith-982.
Regarding claim 9,
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 7,wherein the valves comprise: a first valve for selectively connecting the first injection element either to the gas delivery device or to the liquid delivery device, and a second valve for selectively connecting the second injection element either to the gas delivery device or to the liquid delivery device. (Smith is silent about this.
Smith-982 teaches “a central delivery line 70 that delivers liquid to the central inlet port 30, and a peripheral delivery line 80 that delivers liquid to the peripheral inlet ports 41 and 42. Each delivery line may have its own designated valve that may be independently controllable” in paragraph [64].)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the valves in delivery lines for injection elements as taught in Smith-982 to the device in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In some embodiments, the beverage machine is able to selectively dispense from each inlet port individually and independently of one another. Having the ability to selectively dispense from subsets of inlet ports may permit adjustability of various characteristics of the formed beverage” as taught in paragraphs [52-53] in Smith-982.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, Smith-982 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Godfrey et al., US 20200253414 (hereafter Godfrey).
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 1,wherein the delivery device comprises a gas delivery device for delivering a gas to the chamber, (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Godfrey teaches air purging the brew chamber in paragraph [26]. Paragraph [27] teaches “the conduit 113 may provide air to the pump 112 to allow the pump 112 to pump air through the conduit 115 and to the heater tank 118, e.g., to purge the conduit 115, heater tank 118 and/or other conduits downstream of the heater tank 118.”)
the gas delivery device being fluidly connectable selectively to the first injection element and to the second injection element via conduits. (Godfrey teaches “In such a case, the conduit 113 may include a valve that can be opened to permit air flow to the pump 112” in paragraph [27]. Here the valve connects the gas delivery device to injection elements via conduits.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the gas delivery device to injection elements via valve as taught in Godfrey to the device in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In embodiments where a user can adjust an amount of air or steam delivered to purge the brew chamber, the beverage machine may cause an air pump or liquid heater to operate or not depending on whether a user indicates whether a purge should occur” as taught in paragraph [26] in Godfrey.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, Smith-982 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Godfrey et al., US 20200253414 (hereafter Godfrey).
Beverage preparation machine according to claim 7,wherein the valves comprise: a third valve configured to selectively connect the second injection element to a gas exhaust port, (Smith teaches in column 22, lines 18-27 “The cartridge 1 may be provided with a vent that is separate from the beverage outlet that permits the release of gas from the cartridge as it is filled with liquid. The vent may be provided by a one-way valve (e.g., a septum, duck bill valve, or other) that is attached to the lid 38 or container 12 and opens in response to increased pressure in the cartridge 1, may be provided by a piercing element 54 that pierces the lid 38 (as shown in FIG. 15) or container 12 to allow gas and/or liquid to escape, and other arrangements.” It is implied that injection element 54 is connected to a gas exhaust port to permit release of gas via valve.)
and a fourth valve configured to selectively connect the discharge element to either a dispense conduit or to a liquid exhaust port. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Godfrey teaches in paragraph [20] “the beverage machine 10 may include an outlet valve that can stop dispensing to a user's cup when an adjusted volume of beverage has been dispensed. In cases where additional beverage is produced, but not desired based on the user's changed beverage volume, the outlet valve may divert additional unwanted beverage to a drip tray or waste tank rather than delivering the beverage to the user's cup.”
Paragraph [33] teaches “The cover 4, cartridge holder 3 or other portion of the system 100 may also include one or more outlet needles 45 or other elements to puncture or pierce the cartridge 1 at an outlet side to permit the formed beverage to exit the cartridge 1.” It is implied that the outlet valve connects outlet port 45 to dispense conduit or drip tray.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the valve to connect discharge element to dispense conduit or exhaust port as taught in Godfrey to the device in Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In other embodiments, the beverage machine 10 may include an outlet valve that can stop dispensing to a user's cup when an adjusted volume of beverage has been dispensed. In cases where additional beverage is produced, but not desired based on the user's changed beverage volume, the outlet valve may divert additional unwanted beverage to a drip tray or waste tank rather than delivering the beverage to the user's cup” as taught in paragraph [20] in Godfrey.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/28/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-10 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant amended the claim 1 to recite that wherein the second injection element comprises an outlet opening which is directed towards the discharge element and configured to jet or spray the fluid onto the discharge element, and argued on pages 9-10 that this makes the claimed invention distinguishable from prior art. The limitation is interpreted as Fig. 7 of the original disclosure wherein second injection element 16 and discharge element 20 protrude from the same side of capsule such that water injected from element 16 sprays discharge element 20.
Fig. 7 of the original disclosure
Smith teaches in Fig. 15 that second injection element 54 and discharge element 45 protrude from the same side of capsule, and thus water injected from inlet 54 into the area 14b is configured to spray or jet on discharge element 45.
Fig. 15 in Smith
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761