DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112, 6th except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112, 6th except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
The limitation of claim 28 that recites “means for receiving” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (sixth paragraph) because it uses a generic placeholder "means for" couple with the functional language “receiving” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structure modifier. A review of the specification shows that transmit antenna (see [0044] USPN 20240314750) is associated with this feature.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 17-21, 23, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) as being anticipated by Pan et al (WO2019099661A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pan discloses
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: (WTRU, FIG. 1B #102, comprising [0044-0047]
a memory; one or more processors coupled to the memory, configured to: (memory, FIG. 1B #130 132, coupled to processor, FIG. 1B #118, and configured to [0044-0047], FIG. 11
receive a first signal in a first slot, wherein the first slot corresponds to a physical downlink control channel monitoring in a second slot with a defined characteristic (WTRU receives SSB in first slot corresponding to paging CORESET/PO indicating when to wake up for PDCCH monitoring/paging CORESET in another slot/second slot/cross slot scheduling with CORESET configuration predefined [0091, 0093, 0100, 0095, 0097, 0140], Abstract, FIGs. 5, 11, 14-17
receive a second signal in a third slot, wherein the third slot is based at least in part on the second slot, the defined characteristic, and a shift value (NR-PDSCH slot where paging CORESET/PDCCH monitoring occasion in same/different slot based on information in second slot, time offset, and CORESET configuration [0093, 0097, 0140, 0144, 0155], FIGs. 5, 14-17.
Claim 10 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Pan discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: (memory, FIG. 1B #130 #132, comprising computer program executed by processor, FIG. 1B #118, to perform [0215, 0044, 0045]
receive a first signal in a first slot, wherein the first slot corresponds to a physical downlink control channel monitoring in a second slot with a defined characteristic (WTRU receives SSB in first slot corresponding to paging CORESET/PO indicating when to wake up for PDCCH monitoring/paging CORESET in another slot/second slot/cross slot scheduling with CORESET configuration predefined [0091, 0093, 0100, 0095, 0097, 0140], Abstract, FIGs. 5, 11, 14-17
receive a second signal in a third slot, wherein the third slot is based at least in part on the second slot, the defined characteristic, and a shift value (NR-PDSCH slot where paging CORESET/PDCCH monitoring occasion in same/different slot based on information in second slot, time offset, and CORESET configuration [0093, 0097, 0140, 0144, 0155], FIGs. 5, 14-17.
Regarding claim 28, Pan discloses
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: (WTRU, FIG. 1B #102, comprising [0044-0047]
means for (transceiver, FIG. 1B #120,) receiving a first signal in a first slot, wherein the first slot corresponds to a physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in a second slot with a defined characteristic; and (receives SSB in first slot corresponding to paging CORESET/PO indicating when to wake up for PDCCH monitoring/paging CORESET in another slot/second slot/cross slot scheduling with CORESET configuration predefined [0091, 0093, 0100, 0095, 0097, 0140], Abstract, FIGs. 5, 11, 14-17
means for (transceiver, FIG. 1B #120,) receiving a second signal in a third slot, wherein the third slot is based at least in part on the second slot, the defined characteristic, and a shift value (NR-PDSCH slot where paging CORESET/PDCCH monitoring occasion in same/different slot based on information in second slot, time offset, and CORESET configuration [0093, 0097, 0140, 0144, 0155], FIGs. 5, 14-17.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, 29, Pan discloses “wherein the first slot is associated with a synchronization signal block beam and the physical downlink control channel monitoring occasion in the second slot corresponds to the synchronization signal block beam” first slot associated with SSB beam/paging CORESET are QCL-linked [0090, 0091], Abstract, FIGs. 5, 14-17.
Regarding claims 3, 12, 21, 30, Pan discloses “wherein the first signal is associated with a synchronization signal block beam and the second signal is a page associated with the synchronization signal block beam” first signal being SSB and second signal being paging CORESET/PDCCH [0140-0144], Abstract, FIGs. 11, 14-17.
Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, Pan discloses “wherein the third slot is not associated with the defined characteristic” cross slot scheduling for third slot/PDSCH not associated with CORESET configuration [0093].
Regarding claims 8, 17, 26, Pan discloses “wherein the defined characteristic includes a downlink decoding resource characteristic” CORESET configuration used to decode downlink channels (Abstract).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 27, Pan discloses “wherein the third slot is based at least in part on a serving beam index” WTRU determines beam, time, frequency relationship based on SSB index which determines CORESET slot and PDSCH slot [0109, 0093, 0094], FIGs. 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 13, 22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Li et al (USPN 20200287678).
Regarding claims 4, 13, 22 Pan does not expressly disclose “wherein the defined characteristic includes at least one of a quantity of downlink symbols”
Li discloses number of OFDM symbols occupied by CORESET/downlink symbols used to schedule downlink resources [0059-0061, 0003], FIGs. 2A-2E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the defined characteristic includes at least one of a quantity of downlink symbols” as taught by Li into Pan’s system with the motivation to use number of downlink symbols in CORESET for scheduling resources such as a slot (Li, paragraph [0059-0061, 0003], FIGs. 2A-2E).
Claims 6, 15, 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Tenny et al (USPN 20180077680).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 24, Pan does not expressly disclose “wherein the defined characteristic includes a signal to noise ratio characteristic”
Tenny discloses UE’s measurement of most favorable beam using signal to noise ratio to receive paging in slot [0039, 0051-0054], FIG. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the defined characteristic includes a signal to noise ratio characteristic” as taught by Tenny into Pan’s system with the motivation to use SNR to select which beam/slot UE monitors (Tenny, paragraph [0039, 0051-0054], FIG. 6).
Claims 7, 16, 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Kong et al (USPN 10,979,979).
Regarding claims 7, 16, 25, Pan does not expressly disclose “wherein the third slot is based at least in part on a signal to noise ratio of a synchronization signal block beam”
Kong discloses UE performs measurement of SSB using SNR/SNIR to identify paging timing/occasion and eventual PDSCH slot (column 2 lines 13-20, column 7 lines 10-24, column 12 lines 19-35, column 10 line 33- column 11 line 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the third slot is based at least in part on a signal to noise ratio of a synchronization signal block beam” as taught by Kong into Pan’s system with the motivation to measure SSBs for paging occasion and PDSCH decoding (Kong, (column 2 lines 13-20, column 7 lines 10-24, column 12 lines 19-35, column 10 line 33- column 11 line 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liao et al (WO2021185269A1) FIG. 5
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469