DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims need to be on a clean sheet of paper without other writings or instructions. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim(s) 1-9 are directed to a composition comprising natural products. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
Step 2A, Prong One, asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims lemongrass oil, lavender oil, and ylang ylang oil, which are from the plants lemongrass, lavender, and ylang ylang, respectively. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, in claims 1-9, the oils form the ingredients mixed together would still be a product of nature because as long as there are nature-based molecules found in the composition, the composition contains a mixture of products that are found in nature (the individual natural molecules) and thus must be evaluated as per the described analysis. Mixing together various natural molecules doesn’t change those molecules per se; they are simply mixed together and thus would have the same characteristics as the same molecules prior to being mixed together.
Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
The oil composition of the different plants together are non-natural. However, a composition can be used in many different ways and thus not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
The analysis must then move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the amounts of Claims 2-5 are amounts of weight ratios of oils from the plants. The mixing of oils from plants are well understood, routine, and conventional method of making a product (see Claims 1, 2, Roostaee et al., KR 20210145122 A). Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Therefore, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roostaee et al. (KR 20210145122 A).
Roostaee et al. teaches a formulation comprising from about 0.05-55 weight percent of an oil, wherein the antibacterial oil is any combination from lavender oil, lemongrass oil, and ylang ylang (Claims 1, 2), for use as a disinfectant, pesticide or fungicides (Claim 30), which can be used on skin of Claim 8 and have the effects of Claim 6 because the same composition would inherently have the same functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roostaee et al. (KR 20210145122 A).
Roostaee et al. teaches a formulation comprising from about 0.05-55 weight percent of an oil, wherein the antibacterial oil is any combination from lavender oil, lemongrass oil, and ylang ylang (Claims 1, 2), for use as a disinfectant, pesticide or fungicides (Claim 30), which can be used on skin of Claim 8 and have the effects of Claim 6 because the same composition would inherently have the same functions.
However, Roostaee et al. does not teach the weight ratios of ylang ylang oil, lavender oil, and lemongrass oil as 1:1.5-4.5:4-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make a composition comprising weight ratios of ylang ylang oil, lavender oil, and lemongrass oil as 1:1.5-4.5:4-8 of the active agent combination for the following reasons. The reference does teach the composition for antibacterial use. Roostaee et al. teaches a formulation comprising from about 0.05-55 weight percent of an oil, wherein the antibacterial oil is any combination from lavender oil, lemongrass oil, and ylang ylang (Claims 1, 2), for use as a disinfectant, pesticide or fungicides (Claim 30). Thus, it would have been obvious to make a concentrated composition containing ylang ylang oil, lavender oil, and lemongrass oil for use as antibacterial. Additionally, the amount of a specific ingredient in a composition that is used for a particular purpose (the composition itself or that particular ingredient) is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, optimization of general conditions is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, especially within the ranges taught by the reference. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
Catheryne Chen Examiner Art Unit 1655
/TERRY A MCKELVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655