DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23, 25-26, 29, 57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9, 11-12, 21, 32-35, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staples [WO 02/32230A1] in view of Hayashi [JP 2000304900A] and Currie et al [US 2021/0022374A1].
Staples teaches the production of radiation sterilized seed bait (title) comprising seeds and/or grains (page 3, lines 1-7), emitting 5-50 kGy radiation to seed/grain passing by an emitter in the form of an x-ray tube or particle accelerator for an electron beam (page 3, lines 18-24), the radiation sterilizing the seed/grain and preventing subsequent germination (page 2, line 30 to page 3, line 1; page 5, Example 3), applying a pest control agent to the irradiated seed/grain (page 2, lines 8-27), and spreading irradiated seed/grain as bait for pests (page 3, lines 26-31).
Staples does not explicitly recite agitating, an agitator with a holder/carrier (claim 2), a mechanical agitator using vibration or oscillations (claim 21), an input (claim 32), an output (claim 33), a pathway (claim 35), shielding (claim 41).
Hayashi teaches an electron beam device and particle sterilizing method (title) comprising an agitator (Figure 1, #6), an irradiator (Figure 1, #1), disinfecting grains and seeds such as wheat, rice, beans, buckwheat, and pepper (paragraph 0001), sterilizing irradiation with low penetration over the entire surface of the rotating particles (page 5, 6th paragraph), the mechanical agitator providing vibratory movement along a path of a holder/carrier(Figure 1, #6; page 5, 1st paragraph), an input (Figure 1, #11), an output (Figure 1, #12), and radiation shielding (Figure 1, #3).
Currie et al teach a method for sterilizing particulate material (title) by providing particulate material such as cereal and seeds (paragraph 0084), agitation via vibrating surfaces to induce rotation during a freefall (Figure 2, #11, 14), the agitated material falling down a pathway past a pair of electron beams (Figure 2, #19-20), an input (Figure 2, #43), an output (Figure 2, #44), and shielding (Figure 2, #51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed agitating and other physical features into the invention of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Currie et al, since all are directed to methods of irradiating grain/seeds, since Staples already included emitting 5-50 kGy radiation to seed/grain passing by an emitter in the form of an x-ray tube or particle accelerator for an electron beam (page 3, lines 18-24) but simply did not mention what other physical components were used, since seed/grain irradiation systems commonly included an agitator (Figure 1, #6), an irradiator (Figure 1, #1), the mechanical agitator providing vibratory movement along a path of a holder/carrier (Figure 1, #6; page 5, 1st paragraph), an input (Figure 1, #11), an output (Figure 1, #12), and radiation shielding (Figure 1, #3) as shown by Hayashi; since sterilization systems for cereal and seeds commonly included agitation via vibrating surfaces (Figure 2, #11, 14), the agitated material falling down a pathway past a pair of electron beams (Figure 2, #19-20), an input (Figure 2, #43), an output (Figure 2, #44), and shielding (Figure 2, #51-52) as shown by Currie et al; since agitation during the irradiation of Staples would have better ensured that the seed/grain received a sufficient amount of energy in a smaller time period from different sides without an excessive amount impacting any one individual side, since shielding would have prevented the escape of potentially harmful radiation into the surrounding environment, since an input and output would have provided a simple and efficient means for supplying and collecting the seed/grain of Staples, and since the claimed physical elements would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the type, size, and quantity of seed/grain, the desired time and intensity of the irradiation, and/or the desired amount of energy to be absorbed by the seed/grain of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Currie et al.
In conclusion, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staples, in view of Hayashi and Currie et al, as applied above, and further in view of Miekka et al [US 2003/0031581A1].
Staples, Currie et al, and Hayashi teach the above mentioned concepts. Staples does not explicitly recite at 55 kGray (claim 59). Miekka et al teach a method for sterilizing biological material (title) by use of at least 75 kGy (paragraph 0079) from e-beam radiation (paragraph 0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed electron radiation dose into the invention of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Miekka et al, since all are directed to methods of sterilizing food particles, since Staples already included a particle accelerator for making an electron beam and a general dose of 5-50 kGy (page 3, line 23), since food sterilization systems commonly used a dose of at least 75 kGy (paragraph 0079) as shown by Miekka et al, since the claimed higher dose amount would have ensured total and complete sterilization of the passing seed/grain of Staples and thus ensured that the bait product would not inadvertently germinate/sprout/grow in undesired locations, and since the claimed dose amount would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the type of seed/grain, the size of the seed/grain, and/or the amount of seed/grain used in the method of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Miekka et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant argues that Staples does no disclose rotation during irradiation. However, Hayashi teaches an electron beam device and particle sterilizing method (title) comprising an agitator (Figure 1, #6), an irradiator (Figure 1, #1), disinfecting grains and seeds such as wheat, rice, beans, buckwheat, and pepper (paragraph 0001), sterilizing irradiation with low penetration over the entire surface of the rotating particles (page 5, 6th paragraph), the mechanical agitator providing vibratory movement along a path of a holder/carrier(Figure 1, #6; page 5, 1st paragraph), an input (Figure 1, #11), an output (Figure 1, #12), and radiation shielding (Figure 1, #3). Currie et al teach a method for sterilizing particulate material (title) by providing particulate material such as cereal and seeds (paragraph 0084), agitation via vibrating surfaces (Figure 2, #11, 14), the agitated material falling down a pathway past a pair of electron beams (Figure 2, #19-20), an input (Figure 2, #43), an output (Figure 2, #44), and shielding (Figure 2, #51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed agitating and other physical features into the invention of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Currie et al, since all are directed to methods of irradiating grain/seeds, since Staples already included emitting 5-50 kGy radiation to seed/grain passing by an emitter in the form of an x-ray tube or particle accelerator for an electron beam (page 3, lines 18-24) but simply did not mention what other physical components were used, since seed/grain irradiation systems commonly included an agitator (Figure 1, #6), an irradiator (Figure 1, #1), the mechanical agitator providing vibratory movement along a path of a holder/carrier (Figure 1, #6; page 5, 1st paragraph), an input (Figure 1, #11), an output (Figure 1, #12), and radiation shielding (Figure 1, #3) as shown by Hayashi; since sterilization systems for cereal and seeds commonly included agitation via vibrating surfaces (Figure 2, #11, 14), the agitated material falling down a pathway past a pair of electron beams (Figure 2, #19-20), an input (Figure 2, #43), an output (Figure 2, #44), and shielding (Figure 2, #51-52) as shown by Currie et al; since agitation during the irradiation of Staples would have better ensured that the seed/grain received a sufficient amount of energy from different sides, since shielding would have prevented the escape of potentially harmful radiation into the surrounding environment, since an input and output would have provided a simple and efficient means for supplying and collecting the seed/grain of Staples, and since the claimed physical elements would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the type, size, and quantity of seed/grain, the desired time and intensity of the irradiation, and/or the desired amount of energy to be absorbed by the seed/grain of Staples, in view of Hayashi and Currie et al.
Applicant appears to argue that Staples was limited to gamma radiation. However, Staples clearly disclosed an x-ray tube or particle accelerator for an electron beam (page 3, lines 18-24).
Applicant appears to argue that agitation during irradiation was unknown. However, both Hayashi and Currie et al disclose this stated concept for the purpose of ensuring complete coverage of the particles by irradiation energy and thus ensuring complete sterilization of the surface and/or entirety of the particles.
Applicant has failed to disclose any unexpected or unpredicted results which would be attributed to the claimed combination of irradiation and agitation.
Applicant argues that Hayashi was limited to surface sterilization rather than complete sterilization of the particles. However, the new reference of Currie et al positively disclosed complete sterilization of moving particles by combined irradiation and agitation. In addition, Staples (ie the primary reference) desired complete sterilization of the seed/grain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that particle rotation during irradiation would have better ensured complete sterilization of the seed/grain of Staples in a shorter period of time and with a lower radiation intensity. This situation is analogous to cooking a piece of meat on a grill wherein flipping the meat halfway through ensures that the meat is thoroughly cooked in a shorter time period, as compared to a stationary meat piece which would experience overcooking of a single side and a much longer cooking period during grilling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792