DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12-20-2023 and 11-21-2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second living body must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1 and 8, the phrase “causing each of the N receivers to receive a second reception signal in advance…” makes the claim indefinite. It is unclear what this second reception signal is in advance of. Further clarification is required.
As per claims 1 and 18, the second living body makes the claim indefinite. It is unclear where this second body is located as the claim makes clear the receivers surround a first body. Further clarification on the second body and its purpose is required.
Claims 2-7 are rejection as per their dependency on the claims above.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 as best understood by examiner is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0055437, published March 1, 2018.
As per claims 1 and 8, Nakayama discloses an estimation device comprising:
M transmitting antenna elements arranged around a predetermined range that includes a first living body, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, the M transmitting antenna elements each transmitting a first transmission signal to the predetermined range; N receivers arranged around the predetermined range and each including a receiving antenna element, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 3, the N receivers each receiving a first reception signal for a predetermined period of time by using the receiving antenna element, the first reception signal including a reflected signal obtained by the first transmission signal reflecting off the first living body (Nakayama, Fig. 1);
memory that stores a teaching signal that corresponds to M x N second reception signals obtained by causing each of the N receivers to receive a second reception signal in advance, the second reception signal including a reflected signal obtained by a second transmission signal reflecting off a second living body, the second transmission signal being transmitted from the M transmitting antenna elements to the second living body (Nakayama, Fig. 2, 41 and 42);
a first vector calculator that calculates a teaching first vector from the teaching signal and a test first vector from M x N first reception signals obtained by causing each of the N receivers to receive the first reception signal (Nakayama, ¶58, teacher and observed);
and an estimator that calculates a plurality of features from the teaching first vector and the test first vector and estimates identification information on the first living body by a predetermined method using the plurality of features calculated (Nakayama, ¶112).
As per claim 5, Nakayama further discloses the estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the estimator identifies the first living body by using a total sum of a predetermined number of features among the plurality of features (Nakayama, ¶102 where multiple features are identified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama in view of Iizuka, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0195997, published June 27, 2019.
As per claim 2, Nakayama discloses the vector calculator of claim 1 but fails to disclose calculating the matrix through decomposition.
Iizuka teaches living body detection through decomposition of return signals (¶109).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use decomposition, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. The examiner submits there are many ways one of ordinary skill in the art may choose to analyze data.
As per claims 3 and 4, Nakayama as modified by Iizuka discloses the estimation device according to The estimation device according to wherein the first vector calculator: calculates the teaching first vector that includes an infinite sequence as a component, the infinite sequence including a plurality of eigenvalues sorted in descending order, the plurality of eigenvalues being obtained by eigenvalue decomposition of the sorted elements of the teaching second matrix; and calculates the test first vector that includes an infinite sequence as a component, the infinite sequence including a plurality of eigenvalues sorted in descending order, the plurality of eigenvalues being obtained by eigenvalue decomposition of the sorted elements of the received second matrix (Iizuka, ¶28-29).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use eigenvalues or singular values, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Nakayama in providing the required living body analysis. Examiner notes that the applicant also suggests various variables for the calculations.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama in view of Matuszak, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0326367, filed October 20, 2020.
As per claims 6 and 7, Nakayama discloses the device of claim 1 including estimating position of the living body (¶31) but fails to disclose vertical and horizontal beam control.
Matuszak teaches beam steering (¶43).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize beam steering in order to gain the obvious benefit of not having to physically reposition antennas.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646