DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 4/15/2026.
Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11 of amendment, filed 4/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kim in view of Wilson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kurosawa et al. (US 2012/0159398), hereinafter Kurosawa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 10-14, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0164991), hereinafter Kim, in view of Kurosawa.
As per claim 1, Kim teaches the following:
an interface displaying method, wherein a first movable control is displayed in a first display interface, (see Fig. 8A with movable control 811 being displayed on a first interface), and the method comprises:
acquiring a first dragging for the first movable control. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0158], and corresponding Figs. 8B and 8C, a user may touch icon 811 and drag the icon to menu screen 817;
determining first display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging. As Kim further teaches in paragraph [0158], and corresponding Fig. 8C, a ghost view is shown which refers to a preview of the size and shape of a window in which the first application A will be executed; and
displaying first target display content in a second display interface for replacing the displaying of the first display interface. As Kim shows in Fig. 8D, an interface of application A replaces the first interface.
However, Kim does not explicitly teach of displaying N sub-category regions and selecting a category based upon a relation of a dragging of the control. Kurosawa teaches the following:
wherein the first display content comprises N sub-categories, the first display interface is divided into at least N sub-regions, and the N sub-categories of the first display content correspond to the N sub-regions in the first display interface respectively, wherein N is an integer greater than 1. As Kurosawa shows in Fig. 6, and corresponding paragraph [0024], upon a user right clicking at a first position, a menu 1 is displayed, where the menu is interpreted as comprising N sub-categories and divided into N sub-regions (each selectable option), and
wherein the sub-category of the first display content to be displayed in the second display interface is determined according to a corresponding relation between the first dragging for the first movable control and the N sub-regions in the first display interface. As Kurosawa shows in Fig. 4, a value of Y-movement of the display pointer determines selection of a menu item (sub-region), and
wherein displaying the first display content in a second display interface comprises:
displaying the first display content of a first sub-category, wherein the first sub-category is determined according to a corresponding relation between the first dragging and N dragging angle ranges, and wherein the first display interface is divided into the N sub-regions by the N dragging angle ranges associated with the first movable control. As Kurosawa teaches in paragraph [0025], the size of a target menu is determined based upon a distance of dragging and an item to be selected is determined based upon the angle of the dragging movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the screen selection of Kim with the selection method of Kurosawa. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Kurosawa teaches in paragraph [0004], such techniques benefit users in selecting a desired option.
The examiner would like to further note the similarity in function of Kurosawa compared to Applicant’s specification. For example, as Applicant shows in Fig. 9 (represented below) an initial point is selected by a user and dragging angles are presented. Kurosawa similarly shows in Fig. 8a (also reproduced below) that a series of subsections 1 are presented in response to a user selection, where a subsection is selected based upon the angle of a drag input.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
wherein the determining first display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging comprises:
in response to the first dragging corresponding to dragging the first movable control to a first area in the first display interface, determining to perform an interface switching action and determining the first display content. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0158], the display is “switched” to an execution screen of an user selected icon. As the icon corresponds to a specific application, this is interpreted as encompassing determining to switch to the selected icon and determining the content as corresponding with the selected icon.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 2 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
further comprising: displaying transitional content in the first display interface after the first dragging for the first movable control is detected, wherein the transitional content comprises the first movable control, the first movable control being displayed in a mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging. As Kim shows in Figs. 6A – 6C, and corresponding paragraphs [0150] and [0151], a touch and dragged icon follows the user’s touch coordinates. This is interpreted as encompassing Applicant’s “transitional content” as Applicant describes “transitional content” as including the control being displayed in a mobile manner along with the touch coordinates in paragraph [0022] of the specification.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 3 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
the transitional content further comprises a background image obtained based on a second display content picture in the first display interface; and/or the transitional content further comprises a foreground image obtained based on an interface color attribute of the second display interface. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0158], and corresponding Fig. 8C, as the icon 811 is dragged over an interface, a ghost view 818 is presented. This is interpreted as encompassing applicant’s limitation as the ghost view appears as a shading of the currently displayed interface, where the currently displayed interface is seen as that of a “background image” to said shading and the shaded background is interpreted as being obtained based on second display content.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 3 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
the displaying transitional content in the first display interface comprises: displaying a shape of the first area in the first display interface; and determining to perform the interface switching action in response to the touch coordinates of the first dragging being within the shape of the first area. As Kim shows in Fig. 6A, target area 620 has a “shape” of a rectangle. Kim further teaches in paragraph [0150] that the display is switched based upon a selected icon being dragged into the “shape” of said rectangular interface.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. However, Kim does not explicitly teach of dragging angles. Kurosawa further teaches the following:
wherein the first display interface is divided into N dragging angle ranges with a position of the first movable control displayed in the first display interface as a dragging starting position, and the N dragging angle ranges respectively correspond to the N sub-regions. As Kurosawa shows in Fig. 1A, and corresponding column 3, lines 46-67, upon a user touching a selected object, action identifiers 122A-122D are presented at different angles from the selection.
the determining first display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging comprises:
determining a dragging angle range to which a dragging angle of the first dragging belongs among the N dragging angle ranges, and determining the sub-category of the first display content to be displayed in the second display interface based on the dragging angle range to which the dragging angle belongs. As Kurosawa teaches in column 3, line 60 – column 4, line 18, the user may select an object through sliding their finger from the original selection to a desired action identifier. As the finger is slid to the identifier, this is interpreted as encompassing the dragging “belonging to the dragging angle range” of the dragging identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the dragging icons to targets of Kim with the contextual angle dragging of Kurosawa. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the in place menus of Kurosawa benefit users in decreasing the distance required in dragging an object for a desired action.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 10 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
displaying transitional content in the first display interface after the first dragging for the first movable control is detected, wherein the transitional content is associated with the dragging angle range to which the dragging angle of the first dragging belongs among the N dragging angle ranges. As Kim shows in Figs. 6A – 6C, and corresponding paragraphs [0150] and [0151], a touch and dragged icon follows the user’s touch coordinates. This is interpreted as encompassing Applicant’s “transitional content” as Applicant describes “transitional content” as including the control being displayed in a mobile manner along with the touch coordinates in paragraph [0022] of the specification. As the icon would be dragged to the contextually angled options of Kurosawa, this is interpreted as encompassing being “associated with the dragging angle”.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. However, Kim does not explicitly teach of N dragging areas as recited in claim 12. Kurosawa further teaches the following:
the first display interface is divided into N dragging areas, and the N dragging areas respectively correspond to the N sub-regions. As Kurosawa shows in Fig. 1A, and corresponding column 3, lines 46-67, upon a user touching a selected object, action identifiers 122A-122D are presented at different angles from the selection,
the determining first display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging comprises:
determining a dragging area to which a dragging arrival position of the first dragging in the first display interface belongs among the N dragging areas, and determining the sub-category of the first display content to be displayed in the second display interface based on the dragging area to which the dragging arrival position belongs. As Kurosawa teaches in column 3, line 60 – column 4, line 18, the user may select an object through sliding their finger from the original selection to a desired action identifier and removing the finger while over the identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the dragging icons to targets of Kim with the contextual dragging areas of Kurosawa. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the in place menus of Kurosawa benefit users in decreasing the distance required in dragging an object for a desired action.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 12 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
displaying transitional content in the first display interface after the first dragging for the first movable control is detected, wherein the transitional content is associated with the dragging area to which the dragging arrival position of the first dragging in the first display interface belongs among the N dragging areas. As Kim shows in Figs. 6A – 6C, and corresponding paragraphs [0150] and [0151], a touch and dragged icon follows the user’s touch coordinates. This is interpreted as encompassing Applicant’s “transitional content” as Applicant describes “transitional content” as including the control being displayed in a mobile manner along with the touch coordinates in paragraph [0022] of the specification. As the icon would be dragged to the contextually angled options of Kurosawa, this is interpreted as encompassing being “associated with the dragging angle”.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
wherein before switching to the second display interface is performed, second display content is displayed in the first display interface, and the method further comprises:
acquiring a second dragging for a second movable control in the second display interface after displaying the first display content in the second display interface; and
in response to the second dragging corresponding to dragging the second movable control to a predetermined area, switching to the first display interface and displaying the second display content in the first display interface. As Kim shows in Figs. 10A -10D and 11A-11D, selected display areas may replace previously selected display areas. Therefore, given the examples in Figs. 10 and 11, the user has set the bottom display area to F (first display interface) and subsequently replaced F with E (second display interface). The user may then select to replace E with F, thus resulting in switching to the first display interface.
As per claim 16, Kim teaches the following:
an interface displaying apparatus, comprising:
a display unit configured to: display a first movable control in a first display interface. See Fig. 8A with movable control 811 being displayed on a first interface;
a touch response unit configured to: acquire a first dragging for the first movable control. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0158], and corresponding Figs. 8B and 8C, a user may touch icon 811 and drag the icon to menu screen 817; and
a processing unit configured to: determine target display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging and control the display unit to display the target display content in the second display interface for replacing the displaying of the first display interface. As Kim further teaches in paragraph [0158], and corresponding Fig. 8C, a ghost view is shown which refers to a preview of the size and shape of a window in which the first application A will be executed. As Kim shows in Fig. 8D, an interface of application A replaces the first interface.
See Fig. 1 for different “units”.
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 16 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
the determining target display content to be displayed in response to the first dragging by the processing unit comprises:
in response to the first dragging corresponding to dragging the first movable control to a target area in the first display interface, determining to perform an interface switching action and determining the target display content. As Kim teaches in paragraph [0158], the display is “switched” to an execution screen of an user selected icon. As the icon corresponds to a specific application, this is interpreted as encompassing determining to switch to the selected icon and determining the content as corresponding with the selected icon.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 17 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
the processing unit is further configured to: control the display unit to display transitional content in the first display interface after the first dragging for the first movable control is detected, wherein the transitional content comprises the first movable control, and the first movable control is displayed in a mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging. As Kim shows in Figs. 6A – 6C, and corresponding paragraphs [0150] and [0151], a touch and dragged icon follows the user’s touch coordinates. This is interpreted as encompassing Applicant’s “transitional content” as Applicant describes “transitional content” as including the control being displayed in a mobile manner along with the touch coordinates in paragraph [0022] of the specification.
As per claim 19, Kim teaches the following:
an electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory, (see Fig. 1).
The remaining limitations of claim 19 are substantially similar to those of claim 1 as described above, and are rejected using the same reasoning.
As per claim 20, Kim teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
a nonvolatile computer-readable storage medium. See Fig. 1.
The remaining limitations of claim 20 are substantially similar to those of claim 1 as described above, and are rejected using the same reasoning.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, modified Kim teaches the medium of claim 20 as described above. The remaining limitations of claims 21 and 22 are substantially similar to those of claims 2 and 3 respectively, and are rejected using the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurosawa as applied to claims 1-3, and further in view of Lee (US 2013/0174069).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 3 as described above. However, Kim does not explicitly teach of changing the control when the control is dragged. In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches of a method of managing icons (see abstract). Lee further teaches the following:
the first movable control being displayed in a mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging comprises: when the first movable control is displayed in the mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging, the first movable control changes. As Lee teaches in paragraph [0043], while a user touches and drags a specific icon, an animation effect is applied to show that the icon is in a management mode. Further see Figs. 3A-3D where the icon is displayed “along with the touch coordinates of the first dragging”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the icon dragging of Kim with the animation effect of Lee. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Lee teaches in paragraph [0043], such effects benefit a user in allowing the user to manage icons more intuitively.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurosawa as applied to claims 1-3 and 6, and further in view of He (US 2019/0222632).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 6 as described above. While Kim teaches of dragging an icon onto a target interface (see Fig. 6), Kim does not explicitly teach of displaying text information within the shape of the target area. He teaches the following:
displaying text information associated with the first dragging within the shape of the first area. As He teaches in paragraphs [0158] – [0161], and corresponding Figs. 12 and 13, upon a user dragging an icon, a pop-up window 450 (shape) is displayed with text describing an action taken. He further teaches in paragraph [0162] and corresponding Fig. 14, that this pop-up window acts as a target area for a drag operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the target interface of Kim with the text of He. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the text of He would benefit a user of Kim in allowing a user to better understand an action to be taken based upon an icon drop location.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurosawa as applied to claims 1-3, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2012/0026189), hereinafter Yokoyama.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 3 as described above. However, Kim does not explicitly teach of two shaped being associated. In a similar field of endeavor, Yokoyama teaches of dragging icons to display windows (see Fig. 8). Yokoyama further teaches the following:
the first movable control is displayed in a first predetermined shape, the first area is displayed in a second predetermined shape, and the first predetermined shape is associated with the second predetermined shape. Yokoyama teaches in paragraph [0044], and corresponding Fig. 8, icons may have the same shape as target display areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the icons of Kim to have the same shape as display areas of Yokoyama. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the same shapes would benefit users in visually relaying to the user where a specific target for a specific icon may be.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurosawa in view of Yokoyama as applied to claims 1-3 and 8, and further in view of Pallakoff et al. (US 2013/0125016), hereinafter Pallakoff.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teaches the method of claim 8 as described above. However, neither Kim nor Lee explicitly teach of changing a display effect of a shape in association with a dragging reaching a target. In a similar field of endeavor, Pallakoff teaches of dragging visual objects across a display (see abstract). Pallakoff further teaches the following:
the first movable control being displayed in a mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging comprises: changing a display effect of the first predetermined shape in a process when the first movable control is displayed in a mobile manner along with touch coordinates of the first dragging, and associating the display effect of the first predetermined shape with the second predetermined shape in a case that the touch coordinates of the first dragging reach the first area. As Pallakoff teaches in paragraph [0026], and corresponding Fig. 5, upon an item 230 being dragged to a target display, the size of the icon is altered in an animated fashion after a user’s fingers are lifted in the target area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have further modified the icons of Kim in view of Yokoyama with the animated resizing of Pallakoff. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the animations would benefit users in visually confirming that a target has been reached.
Claim(s) 15 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurosawa as applied to claims 1, 14, and 20, and further in view of Amir et al. (US 2002/0140719), hereinafter Amir.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the method of claim 14 as described above. However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the switched to contents are that of visual content and auditory content. Amir teaches the following:
the second display content is one of a data stream corresponding to visual content and a data stream corresponding to auditory content, and the first display content is the other one of the data stream corresponding to the visual content and the data stream corresponding to the auditory content. As Amir teaches in the abstract, a user may switch from a first media stream to a second media stream. Amir teaches in paragraph [0020] that different media streams switched between may be directed to different senses, such as an audio stream and a video stream.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the switching content of Kim with the video and audio streams of Amir. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because such content would benefit a user of Kim in allowing quick selection in a desired playback context. Such as, for example, when the user may pay full attention to a display, a video may be desired, where when the user’s attention is elsewhere, audio may be preferable.
Regarding claim 23, modified Kim teaches the medium of claim 20 as described above. Kim further teaches the following:
wherein before switching to the second display interface is performed, second display content is displayed in the first display interface, and the processor is further configured to:
acquire a second dragging for a second movable control in the second display interface after displaying the first display content in the second display interface; and
in response to the second dragging corresponding to dragging the second movable control to a predetermined area, switching to the first display interface and displaying the second display content in the first display interface. As Kim shows in Figs. 10A -10D and 11A-11D, selected display areas may replace previously selected display areas. Therefore, given the examples in Figs. 10 and 11, the user has set the bottom display area to F (first display interface) and subsequently replaced F with E (second display interface). The user may then select to replace E with F, thus resulting in switching to the first display interface,
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the switched to contents are that of visual content and auditory content. Amir teaches the following:
wherein the second display content is one of a data stream corresponding to visual content and a data stream corresponding to auditory content, and the first display content is the other one of the data stream corresponding to the visual content and the data stream corresponding to the auditory content. As Amir teaches in the abstract, a user may switch from a first media stream to a second media stream. Amir teaches in paragraph [0020] that different media streams switched between may be directed to different senses, such as an audio stream and a video stream.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the switching content of Kim with the video and audio streams of Amir. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because such content would benefit a user of Kim in allowing quick selection in a desired playback context. Such as, for example, when the user may pay full attention to a display, a video may be desired, where when the user’s attention is elsewhere, audio may be preferable.
Conclusion
/GREGORY A. DISTEFANO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174