Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2004/0210167) in view of Honeycutt et al. (US 5,885,907).
Regarding claim 1, Webster discloses an apparatus comprising a substrate and a plurality of male-type engaging elements protruding from the surface of the substrate (Paragraph 50, lines 7-10 describe a water-soluble hook material fastener), wherein the substrate and the male-type engaging elements both contain a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin (Paragraph 21, line 5 includes PVA as water soluble component), and the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are both soluble in hot water at a water temperature of 45 to 90°C but are not soluble in water at a water temperature of lower than 45°C (Paragraph 85, lines 7-10 describe wherein an aqueous bath sufficiently hot in the claimed ranges allows for the material to become soluble. Further description is provided wherein the solubility begins at 50°, 75° and 60°),
Webster fails to explicitly specify wherein both the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are made of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin having a polymerization degree in a range of 300 to 700 and a saponification degree in a range of 80 to 99 mol%.
Honeycutt et al. teaches a degree of polymerization between 300-700 (Column 6, Lines 61-64) and a saponification in a range of 80-99 mol% (Column 7, lines 1-6).
From this teaching of Honeycutt et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to select the soluble thread of Webster with polymerization between 300-700 and saponification in a range of 80-99% to achieve the desired solubility, maximized strength, and degree of intermolecular bonds.
Regarding claims 5, 7 and 8, Webster discloses the invention except for wherein the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are made of a resin composition in which a polyhydric alcohol or an ethylene oxide- based polymer is added to the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin in an amount of 5 to 45 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin; wherein the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are made of a resin composition in which layered inorganic particles are added to the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin in an amount of 4 to 25 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin; wherein the polyhydric alcohol or the ethylene oxide-based polymer is polyethylene glycol, and has a number-average molecular weight in a range of 300 to 700; wherein the layered inorganic particles are talc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ranges of values since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Webster further discloses a hot water-soluble loop type hook-and-loop fastener composed of a loop fiber (Paragraph 50, line 9) containing a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin that is soluble in hot water at a water temperature of 45 to 90°C but is not soluble in water at a water temperature of lower than 45°C (Paragraph 85, lines 7-10 describe wherein an aqueous bath sufficiently hot in the claimed ranges allows for the material to become soluble).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Honeycutt et al. further teach wherein both the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are made of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin having a polymerization degree in a range of 330 to 600 and 340 to 550 (Column 6, Lines 61-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ranges of values since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, wherein both the substrate and the male-type engaging elements are made of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin having a saponification degree of 90 to 98.5 mol% and 93 to mol% (Column 7, lines 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ranges of values since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Webster and Honeycutt et al. as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Takizawa et al. (US 5,985,406).
Regarding claim 2, Webster discloses the invention except for wherein the plurality of male-type engaging elements are arranged in a row, and each of the male-type engaging elements has a shape rising from the surface of the substrate, bending in the row direction from the middle thereof, and having a tip end portion facing a direction approaching the surface of the substrate, or a shape rising from the surface of the substrate, bending in the row direction by being divided into front and back in the row direction in the middle, thereof and having divided tip end portions facing a direction approaching the surface of the substrate.
Takizawa et al. teach the arrangement and structure of the hooks (Fig. 1 as shown).
From this teaching of Takizawa et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the hook elements in the claimed manner and shape to maximize engagement with loop elements.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Webster and Takizawa et al. fail to disclose wherein the height from the surface of the substrate to the top portion of each of the male-type engaging elements is 1.2 mm or less when each of the male-type engaging elements has a shape rising from the surface of the substrate, bending in the row direction from a middle portion thereof, and having a tip end portion facing a direction approaching the surface of the substrate, and wherein the height from the surface of the substrate to the top portion of each of the male-type engaging elements is 0.6 mm or less when each of the male-type engaging elements has a shape rising from the surface of the substrate, bending in the row direction by being divided into front and back in the row direction, and having divided tip end portions facing a direction approaching the surface of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ranges of values since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Webster discloses the invention except for wherein the hot water-soluble loop type hook-and-loop fastener has a nonwoven fabric or a woven or knitted fabric as a base fabric, and loop fibers are present on the surfaces of the base fabric.
Takizawa et al. teach woven fabric with loop fibers (Fig. 5 as shown).
From this teaching of Takizawa et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the loop fibers in the claimed manner since the claimed arrangement maximizes the integrity of the loop elements with the base material to prevent damage of the loop elements or tear out during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant suggests Webster fails to describe water insolubility in water below the claimed temperatures. However, this appears to be a mischaracterization of the language used in Webster. Instead, several times Webster suggests solubility beginning at the threshold temperatures. Paragraph 9 describes dissolving at a temperature greater than about 37°. Paragraph 20 further defines “water-soluble” as “components having a degree of solubility in water”. The additional range thresholds are repeated throughout the disclosure. Applicant’s reading of lack of insolubility below these thresholds does not appear to align with the logic and language as used.
Applicant’s remarks regarding reuse in Webster are also not persuasive. Webster includes temperature thresholds inclusive of Applicant’s 45°C threshold as well as listing a variety of materials to achieve these thresholds. Applicant’s new claim language and arguments regarding saponification and polymerization have been addressed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677