DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, “sate” should be “state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites “a communication circuit”; “an updating circuit”; and a “control circuit”. Applicant specification discloses in paragraph 0104, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), but fails to disclose an updating circuit; a control circuit or a communication circuit. Applicant’s figure 8 discloses communication module, 802; updating module, 804; and a control module, 806, not circuits as currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Assouline et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0130115 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Assouline discloses a method for controlling a moving object to move, wherein the moving object is moving relative to a plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0145, rely on tracking indicia that include features of an environment or active light sources in proximity to annotated virtual objects within the environment (e.g., the ground's plane, or the horizon); figures 10 and 11), and the method comprises: obtaining first motion state information, wherein the first motion state information is motion state information of a user, and the moving object has second motion state information (paragraph 0017, movement of the person is tracked in 3D; person in the video moves closer to the camera; paragraph 0121, motion of the person detected in the video is captured and tracked in real time and that same motion is applied to one or more virtual objects); updating the second motion state information of the moving object according to the first motion state information (paragraph 0017, as the person moves around the video in 3D the reference point is updated and consequently the placement and positioning of the augmented reality item also moves closer to the camera by the same degree and amount that the person has moved; paragraph 0122, indicates that the object moves in a particular direction and at a particular speed, the augmentation system immediately and automatically updates the position and movement of the virtual object in the same direction and speed); and controlling the moving object to move according to updated second motion state information (paragraph 0063, determining the entire-state-space of options for the model animation; paragraph 0122, automatically updates the position and movement of the virtual object in the same direction and speed).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1. Assouline further discloses an apparatus for controlling a moving object to move (FIG. 13) and the apparatus comprises: a communication circuit; an updating circuit; and a control circuit (paragraph 0159, an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1. Assouline further discloses an electronic device, comprising: a storage device in which a computer program is stored (paragraph 0159, the machine may include processors, memory memory/storage); and a processing device configured to execute the computer program in the storage device to implement a method (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1. Assouline further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in which a computer program is stored, wherein the method according to claim 1 is implemented when the computer program is executed by a processing unit (paragraph 0169).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 13-19, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Assouline as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Goodrich et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0202632 A1, in view of Holzer et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0116322 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Assouline discloses controlling the moving object to move according to updated second motion information (paragraph 0017, as the person moves around the video in 3D the reference point is updated and consequently the placement and positioning of the augmented reality item also moves closer to the camera by the same degree and amount that the person has moved); a plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0062, a background of the modified object can be changed or distorted as well by tracking and modifying the background; paragraph 0125, it can be desirable to provide firm consistency for the positions of these virtual objects within a video of a real-world scene; can involve the recognition and use of a specific, fixed reference point (e.g., a fixed surface or object) in the real-world scene; paragraph 0145, tracking indicia that includes features of an environment; (e.g., the ground’s plane, or the horizon).
However, Assouline fails to specifically disclose controlling the plane where the moving object is located to move according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object such that the moving object moves relative to the plane where the moving object is located.
Goodrich discloses controlling the plane where the moving object is located to move (paragraph 0111, the rendering component may associate each subset of point with a corresponding plane in the 3D space based on a determined geometry of the 3D space; determining a location and orientation of the camera with respect to the plane; and mapping pixels location in the images to location in the 3D space; paragraph 0073, each tracking sub-system tracks the position of a virtual modification to a 3D space; paragraph 0083, identifies and references a real-world surface (e.g., the ground); paragraph 0087, identifying a fixed surface; paragraph 0082, tracking items move around in the environment; paragraph 0083, Once the reference surface has been determined, then virtual modifications can be accomplished with respect to that reference surface. In an example, the reference surface in the 3D space is a ground surface. The virtual rendering system 210 may modify the ground surface as depicted in a live camera feed by applying a visual effect to the ground surface).
It is noted that Assouline discloses controlling the moving object to move according to updated second motion information (paragraph 0017, as the person moves around the video in 3D the reference point is updated and consequently the placement and positioning of the augmented reality item also moves closer to the camera by the same degree and amount that the person has moved); a plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0125, it can be desirable to provide firm consistency for the positions of these virtual objects within a video of a real-world scene; can involve the recognition and use of a specific, fixed reference point (e.g., a fixed surface or object) in the real-world scene; paragraph 0145, tracking indicia that includes features of an environment; (e.g., the ground’s plane, or the horizon). Goodrich discloses controlling the plane where the moving object is located to move (paragraph 0073, each tracking sub-system tracks the position of a virtual modification to a 3D space; paragraph 0083, identifies and references a real-world surface (e.g., the ground); paragraph 0087, identifying a fixed surface; paragraph 0082, tracking items move around in the environment; paragraph 0083, Once the reference surface has been determined, then virtual modifications can be accomplished with respect to that reference surface).
However, it is noted that Assouline in view of Goodrich fail to disclose the plane moving according to updated second motion state information.
Holzer discloses controlling the plane where the moving object is located to move according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object such that the moving object moves relative to the plane where the moving object is located (Paragraph 0039, determine a ground plane; paragraph 0109, angle changes can be projected into a particular plane; paragraph 0111, body segmentation can allow image effects to extend into a background surrounding the person; effects can be based upon a determined pose of the person).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include in the user movement controlling a moving object as disclosed by Assouline, the visual effects as disclosed by Goodrich to create engaging and entertaining augmented reality experiences in which virtual objects and visual effects are rendered in a real-world environment. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the motion as detected by Assouline, as the information for applying plane effects as disclosed by Goodrich, in that Holzer discloses the visual effects can be determined based on a pose of the person where it can be desirable to augment the skeleton with an effect that is parallel to the ground plane.
Regarding claim 3, Assouline 20220130115 paragraph 0131, once the object is placed at a selected position, a 3D offset is computed reality to a 3D reference position of a given real-world object; to be tracked and computed in order to continuously adjust a 3D position of the virtual object based on movement of the real-world object.
However, it is noted that Assouline fails to disclose wherein the controlling the plane where the moving object is located to move according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object comprises: determining a texture coordinate offset of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object; updating a texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located according to the texture coordinate offset of the each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located; and rendering a motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located by a shader according to the updated texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located.
Goodrich discloses determining a texture coordinate offset of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0018, visual effects applied to real-world surfaces may be any of a wide range of visual effects including, for example, changing a color of the surface, changing a texture of the surface); updating a texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located according to the texture coordinate offset of the each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0099, classifying pixels in the image based on whether there are inside or outside of the boundaries of the reference surface; such a pixel classification process may be based on a determined geometry of the 3D space, determined regions of color within an image, or determined regions of photometric consistency within an image; paragraph 0114, identifying of the regions of similar color may include associating groupings of pixels based on pixels within the groupings having pixel color values that do not exceed a threshold standard deviation); and rendering a motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0018, applying an animation effect to the surface (e.g., flowing water), blurring the surface, rendering a moving virtual object whose movement is bounded by the boundaries of the surface).
However it is noted that Assouline in view of Goodrich fail to disclose according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object.
Holzer discloses according to the updated second motion state information of the moving object (paragraph 0127, each of the pixels in a region can be similar with respect to some characteristic or computed property, such as color, intensity, or texture; paragraph 0128, distinguish one or more object in an image from other image portions; render an effect, the floor, a person, or objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the updated motion as disclosed by Holzer as the update for the control plane given by the motion of the user as disclosed by Assouline, to segment regions for update of one or more of the objects in the image to render effects in the floor or surface or plane in accordance with a person and/or objects.
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that Assouline discloses paragraph 00600, using transformation and animated textures of the model within the video to achieve the transformation; tracking points on an object may be used to place an image or texture (which may be two dimensional or three dimensional) at the tracked position; augmented reality content items thus refer both to the images, models, and textures used to create transformations in content; paragraph 0062, modification may involve changing the color of areas; removing at least some part of areas from the frames of the video stream; modifying or distorting.
However, it is noted that Assouline fails to disclose wherein the rendering a motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located by a shader according to the texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located comprises: obtaining a normalized value of the texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located; determining a color value of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located according to the normalized value of the texture coordinate and a correspondence between a texture and a color; and rendering a color of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located by the shader according to the color value to render the motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located.
Goodrich discloses wherein the rendering a motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located by a shader according to the texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located comprises: obtaining a normalized value of the texture coordinate of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0110, rendering component obtains a set of points; paragraph 0111, rendering component associates a first subset of point within a first plane; associating the set of points with a corresponding plane may include determining a location and orientation; and mapping pixel locations in the image to location in the 3D space; paragraph 0114, rendering component identifies region of similar color in an image; rendering component may associate groupings of pixels based on pixels within the groupings having pixel color values that do not exceed a threshold standard deviation, which Examiner interprets a normalized value); determining a color value of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located according to the normalized value of the texture coordinate and a correspondence between a texture and a color (paragraph 0099, pixel classification process may be based on a determined geometry of the 3D space, determined regions of color within an image); and rendering a color of each pixel in the plane where the moving object is located by the shader according to the color value to render the motion effect of the plane where the moving object is located (paragraph 0101, rendering component applies a visual effect to the image mask correspond to the reference surface; causes a modified surface to be rendered; visual effects including, for example, changing a color of the surface, changing a texture of the surface, applying an animation effect to the surface (e.g., flowing water), blurring the surface, rendering a moving virtual object whose movement is bounded by the boundaries of the surface, replacing the surface with other visual content; Examiner notes that Goodrich discloses changing a texture of the surface, and changing a color of the surface, therefore Examiner interprets the above steps of pixel classification and threshold standard deviation as applied to texture as well as color).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the augmented reality content items thus refer both to the images, models, and textures used to create transformations in content; paragraph 0062, modification may involve changing the color of areas, as disclosed by Assouline, changing effects of the plane as disclosed by Goodrich, in that Assouline discloses augmented reality content items thus refer both to the images, models, and textures used to create transformations in content.
Regarding claim 5, Assouline discloses wherein the first motion state information comprises a pitch angle, a yaw angle, and a roll angle of the user; and the second motion state information comprises a pitch angle, a yaw angle, a roll angle, and a moving velocity of the moving object (paragraph 0017, movement of the person is tracked in 3D; paragraph 0122, indicates that the object moves in a particular direction and at a particular speed; paragraph 0111, augmented system gathers and stores tracking indicia within a tracking metric that includes translation indicia (e.g., up, down, left, right) and rotation indicia (e.g., pitch, yaw, roll)).
Regarding claim 6, Assouline discloses wherein the obtaining first motion state information comprises: identifying a key point of the user to obtain position information of the key point (paragraph 0114, tracks three-dimensional (3D) movement of the person within the video using a 3D reference point; the augmentation system selects a 3D reference point on the skeletal joint or joints of the person depicted in the video and tracks movement of the selected 3D reference point); and obtaining the first motion state information by matrix transformation according to the position information of the key point and position information of a camera for photographing the user (paragraph 0116, the augmentation system compute a set of 3D transforms of a person’s joints relative to the 3D reference point;
paragraph 0111, translation indicia gathered by an NFT system may thereby be extracted from the tracking matrix and utilized when future translation indicia gathered by the NFT system become inaccurate or unavailable).
It is noted that Assouline discloses reference points on the person, which may be interpreted as reference points.
Holzer specifically discloses identifying a key point of the user to obtain position information of the key point (paragraph 0155, a sparse matrix of key points can be determined); and obtaining the first motion state information by matrix transformation according to the position information of the key point and position information of a camera for photographing the user (paragraph 0156, the key point can be tracked from a first frame to a second frame in a sequence of video images; position of key points in the first frame can be used to define a first triangular-based mesh; paragraph 0157, the first triangular-based mesh associated with the first frame and the second triangular-based mesh associated with the second frame can be used to define a transformation between the first frame and the second frame).
Regarding claim 7, Assouline discloses wherein the obtaining the first motion state information by matrix transformation according to the position information of the key point and position information of a camera for photographing the user comprises: constructing a coordinate transformation matrix according to the position information of the camera, wherein the coordinate transformation matrix is a matrix of transformation from a three-dimensional world coordinate to a two-dimensional camera clip coordinate; determining a rotation vector according to the position information of the key point, a standard tiled human face key point array, and the coordinate transformation matrix; and establishing a rotation matrix according to the rotation vector, and obtaining the first motion state information through the rotation matrix (paragraph 0064, Active Shape Model (ASM) algorithm is applied to the face region of an image to detect facial feature reference points; paragraph 0065, features are located using a landmark, which represents a distinguishable point present in most of the images; for facial landmarks, for example, the location of the left eye pupil may be used; secondary landmarks may be used; shapes can be represented as vectors using the coordinates of the points in the shape; shape is aligned to another with a similarity transform (allowing translation, scaling, and rotation) that minimizes the average Euclidean distance between shape points).
Holzer discloses paragraph 0155, a sparse matrix of key points can be determined for each frame; the key points can be used to develop a triangular mesh for each frame; paragraph 0157, can be used to define a transformation between the first frame and the second frame; paragraph 0166, a library of 3-D poses can be projected into 2-D; then the 2-D projection of the 3-D poses can be compared to a current 2-D pose of the person as determined via the skeleton detection.
Regarding claim 8, Assouline discloses wherein the updating the second motion state information of the moving object according to the first motion state information comprises: determining a change rate and changing information of the user to the moving object to update the second motion state information of the moving object (paragraph 0121, augmentation system 208 computes a set of 3D transforms of the 3D skeleton joints relative to the 3D reference point. The 3D transforms are used to adjust the virtual object (character) in the same way as the 3D skeleton joints move in real time. In some cases, each 3D skeleton joint is mapped to a corresponding 3D skeleton rig portion (joint) of an avatar. The 3D transform indicates how the corresponding 3D skeleton rig joint of the avatar should move to reflect movement of the associated person's joint in 3D. In some cases, the augmentation system 208 calculates the 3D pose of the person in the video and applies the 3D pose to one or more virtual objects so that the virtual objects mirror a pose and movement of the person in 3D. As an example, motion of the person detected in the video is captured and tracked in real time and that same motion is applied to one or more virtual objects so that the one or more virtual objects move in 3D in a same or similar manner as the person).
However it is noted that Assouline fails to disclose the change rate of the pitch angle, a change rate of the yaw angle, and a change rate of the roll angle wherein the change rate is used for characterizing a rotation angle change per frame; and transferring the change rate of the pitch angle, the change rate of the yaw angle, and the change rate of the roll angle.
Holzer discloses change rate of the pitch angle, a change rate of the yaw angle, and a change rate of the roll angle wherein the change rate is used for characterizing a rotation angle change per frame; and transferring the change rate of the pitch angle, the change rate of the yaw angle, and the change rate of the roll angle (paragraph 0093, gyroscopic data can be used to provide changes to the pitch, roll and yaw angles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the pitch, roll and yaw as disclosed by Assouline and the motion of the user as applied to the moving object, using changes to the pitch, roll and yaw angles as disclosed by Holzer, to describe the movement changes relative to a reference coordinate system with three angles and orientation as a function of time.
Regarding claims 13-15 and 16-10, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 2-8.
Regarding claim 21, Assouline discloses paragraph 0122, automatically updates the position and movement of the virtual object in the same direction and speed.
it is noted that Assouline in view of Goodrich fail to disclose wherein the updating the second motion state information of the moving object according to the first motion state information comprises: superposing the first motion state information to the second motion state information of the moving object to obtain the updated second motion state information.
Holzer discloses superposing the first motion state information to the second motion state information of the moving object to obtain the updated second motion state information (paragraph 0123, new information received from the server may be combined with information propagated from frame to frame; old information may be replaced with new information; old information may be combined with new information in a weighted fashion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the updated motion information as disclosed by Assouline, combining the information of the motion state as disclosed by Holzer to propagate information from frame to frame.
Regarding claim 22, Assouline discloses wherein the updating the second motion state information of the moving object according to the first motion state information (paragraph 0062, modifying or distorting the elements of an area or object; paragraph 0149, the pose of the virtual object 1020 mirrors the pose of the real-world object 1010 (e.g., the arms and legs of the virtual object 1020 are in a same 3D position relative to the corresponding arms and legs of the real-world person 1010 but are offset based on the reference point).
However, it is noted that Assouline fails to discloses inverting the first motion state information and superposing inverted first motion state information to the second motion state information of the moving object to obtain the updated second motion state information.
Holzer discloses inverting the first motion state information and superposing inverted first motion state information to the second motion state information of the moving object to obtain the updated second motion state information (paragraph 0108, total change in angle can be sued to estimate an angular view of an object captured by the camera; likewise, a rotation direction that is needed along the path to keep the object in view of the camera can be determined, i.e., clockwise or counter clockwise, which Examiner interprets as inverted motion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the motion information for a moving object, the inverted motion information, i.e., clockwise or counter clockwise, as disclosed by Holzer, to keep objects within a view of the camera, while mirroring the movement of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claims 1 and 9-11, Assouline and claims 2-8, 13-19, 21 and 22, Assouline, Goodrich in view of Holzer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Richardson et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0119575 A1
Richardson discloses paragraph 0011, sensing apparatus may be configured to sense the position of one or more sensed locations on a sensed object (e.g., features on a user's body, such as reflectors positioned at desired locations on the user's head); paragraph 0012, multiple sensors and sensed locations may be employed, on the moving object and/or at the reference location(s); paragraph 0014, receives and acts upon position signals or positional data 42 received from sensing apparatus 32. Engine software 40 receives these signals and, in turn, generates control signals 44 which are applied to effect control over controlled software/hardware 46 (e.g., a flight simulation program), which may also be referred to as the "object" or "objective of control"; paragraph 0022 X axis would then represent horizontal movement of the head relative to the reference, and the Y axis would correspond to vertical movement. Rotation of the head about the X axis is referred to as "pitch" or P rotation; rotation about the Y axis is referred to as "yaw" or A rotation; and rotation about the Z axis is referred to as "roll" or R rotation.
Forsblom et al., U.S. Patent Number 9,983,687 B1
Forsblom discloses a method for controlling a moving object to move, wherein the moving object is moving relative to a plane where the moving object is located, and the method comprises: obtaining first motion state information, wherein the first motion state information is motion state information of a user (col. 7, lines 58-61, receiving motion sensor input), and the moving object has second motion state information (col. 12, lines 44-45, as the user changes walking direction and speed, the virtual flower path follows along in the three-dimensional environment); (col. 12, lines 48-50, adjustable according to parameter values controlled by the user’s walking gesture or other input); (col. 9, lines 24-32, controlling the augmented reality object within the three-dimensional virtual environment may include, for example, placing the augmented reality object, removing the augmented reality object, moving the objected reality object).
Hare et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,030,813 B2
Hare discloses col. 19, lines 64-67, graphical user interface may enable a user to drag a given virtual object and pin or anchor the virtual object to a stationary or moving real-world object (e.g., a moving person or the ground).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619