DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the amendment filed on 05/26/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 3 and 5-6 were canceled; Claims 1, 7, 10 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1 and 10 are independent claims. Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-12 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The objections to claims 1 and 10-11 are withdrawn as the abstract has been amended.
While Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive, in attempt to accelerate the process of prosecution, the Examiner applies new ground(s) of rejections to reject claims 1-2, 4 and 7-12. The Examiner reserves the right to re-apply previous recited reference (i.e., Ferguson et al., US 2016/0057154) in next ground(s) of prosecution when needed.
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be further amended and details in the specification be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record. Should the Applicant desire an interview to further clarify the claim interpretation/rejections, please contact the Examiner at (571) 270 3230 to schedule an interview.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first receiving module, configured to receive;” and “display module configured to display;” recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xi et al. (“Xi,” US 2018/0077542), published on Mar. 15, 2018.
Regarding claim 1, Xi discloses an interface displaying method (Fig. 4-8, 9A-9B and 10A-10B), comprising:
receiving a first preset operation triggered based on a showing interface, wherein the showing interface comprises at least one target content associated with a preset theme, and the at least one target content is a content posted by target users, wherein the showing interface is a non-instant messaging interface (pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 4-8 and 9A; “required groups” and “my groups” are displayed on the GUI 401; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100); and
displaying a related interface of a group in response to the first preset operation, wherein the related interface of the group comprises a session interface of the group, the session interface of the group is an instant chat interface, users in the group engage an instant group chat (pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; displaying instant group chats 914, 915 and 916; users may also post messages themselves by entering their message in text box 917, and submitting it to the group by selecting the “Send” button 918),
wherein users in the group are associated with the target users (pars. 0139-0141; Fig. 9A; chat messages of within the group are displayed on the GUI 401).
Regarding claim 2, Xi discloses the interface displaying method according to claim 1, wherein the users in the group are all or a portion of the target users (pars. 0139-0141; Fig. 9A; member’s names are displayed on the group chats).
Regarding claim 4, Xi discloses the interface displaying method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset operation includes:
a first operation of triggering a first control displayed on the showing interface (pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; displaying instant group chats 914, 915 and 916); or
a second operation of sliding the showing interface along a first direction.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to an interface displaying apparatus corresponding to the interface displaying method recited in claim 1. Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the interface displaying method recited in claim 1. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a computer-readable storage medium corresponding to the interface displaying method recited in claim 1. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al. (“Xi,” US 2018/0077542), published on Mar. 15, 2018, in view of Thall et al., (US 2021/0136025), published on May 06, 2021.
Regarding claim 7, Xi discloses the interface displaying method according to claim 4, wherein the related interface of the group is the session interface of the group; and the displaying the related interface of a group in response to the first preset operation (pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; displaying instant group chats 914, 915 and 916) comprises:
Xi does not explicitly disclose displaying the session interface of the group in response to the second operation of sliding the showing interface along the first direction.
However, Thall disclose a digital content sharing method including the steps of displaying the session interface of the group in response to the second operation of sliding the showing interface along the first direction (Thall: 0115-0119, 0243-0247 and 0296-0297; Figs. 13-16; user is able to view next/previous post using swipe forward/backward).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Thall with the system/method of Xi. One would have been motivated to enable user to view next posts or previous posts using swipe forward or swipe backward operation (Thall: pars. 0115-0119).
Regarding claim 8, Xi and Thall disclose the interface displaying method according to claim 7.
The combination of Xi and Thall further discloses:
receiving a second preset operation triggered based on the session interface of the group (Xi: pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; Thall: 0115-0119, 0243-0247 and 0296-0297; Figs. 13-16; viewing next/previous posts); and
switching the session interface of the group to the showing interface in response to the second preset operation (Xi: pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; Thall: 0115-0119, 0243-0247 and 0296-0297; Figs. 13-16; viewing next/previous posts).
The motivation is the same that of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Xi and Thall disclose the interface displaying method according to claim 8.
The combination of Xi and Thall further discloses:
a third operation of triggering a second control displayed on the session interface (Xi: pars. 0136-0141; Fig. 9A; selecting the first tab 911 labeled “Chat” accesses the messaging area of the exemplary group CS 2100; Thall: 0115-0119, 0243-0247 and 0296-0297; Figs. 13-16; viewing next/previous posts); or
a fourth operation of sliding the session interface in a second direction (Thall: 0115-0119, 0243-0247 and 0296-0297; Figs. 13-16; viewing next/previous posts).
The motivation is the same that of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174