DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to claims filed on 04/07/26.
Claims 24-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 24, 34 & 38 are currently amended.
Claims 1-23 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 04/07/26 regarding a 103 rejection (Claims 24-40) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as set forth below.
7. Regarding to claim 24: The Applicant’s argue, (See Pages 1-2) states, “…Without conceding the propriety of the present rejection, and solely in an effort to advance prosecution, Applicant has amended the independent claims. For example, independent claim 24 now recites inter alia "wherein if an operation code is "selective read parameter," perform reading of a value of a parameter subset identified by a selected sub-parameter of a parameter at the DS- TT port" and "transmitting a deletion operation comprising an operation code set to 'delete parameter-entry' to delete a specific port management parameter entry."
Support for the amendment may be found, for example, at paragraph [0035] of Applicant's published application, which is reproduced below for the Examiner's convenience.
[0035] Embodiments herein enable deletion of values of port management parameters a DS-TT port to enable time sensitive transmissions with smaller data structures to enable faster
transmissions. (Emphasis added).
Applicant respectfully submits that neither 3GPP et al. (3GPP) nor Fuencisla et al. (Fuencisla) teaches or suggests, either alone or in combination with each other, at least the above- quoted features of Applicant's amended independent claim 24”
8. Regarding support in the specification: the support for the claim in the specification should at least include paragraphs 0042, 0198 & 0200 that disclose the “selective read parameter” perform reading a value parameter. Paragraph 0035 ONLY disclose deletion of values of port management parameters a DS-TT port.
9. Regarding claim 24: The examiner respectfully disagrees with arguments since 3GPP discloses wherein if an operation code is “selective read parameter”, perform reading a value of a parameter subset identified by a selected sub-parameter of a parameter at the DS-TT port (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “read parameter”, attempt to read a value of the parameter at the DS-TT port) and an operation code to set to “delete parameter-entry” (corresponding to unsubscribed for parameter) to delete a specific of a plurality of port management a plurality of port management parameter entries at the one or more ports located in the DS-TT and the NW-TT (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “unsubscribed for parameter”, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes. Deleting the request reduce the size of the data structure).
10. Accordingly, amended claim 24 is rejected under 35 USC 103 rejection (3GPP in view of Fuencisla) for at least the above rejection.
11. Independent claims 34 and 38 recite similar elements as independent claim 24, claims 34 & 38 are rejected under 35 USC 103 rejection (3GPP in view of Fuencisla).
12. Since the dependent claims (25-33, 35-37 & 39-40) depend, either directly or indirectly, from applicant’s amended independent claims 24, 34 & 38 are rejected under 35 USC 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 24-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP et al. (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) NPL Document, “Network to TSN translator (TT) protocol aspects; stage 3 (Release 17)” 2021-06 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Fuencisla et al. (hereinafter referred as Fuencisla) International Publication No. WO 2021/094236 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 24: 3GPP discloses a network node (See Section 4; a TSN application function (TSN AF)) supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (See Section 4; a TSN AF for a time sensitive communication (TSC) and AF-requested time synchronization service) comprising:
initiate a network port management procedure for time synchronization services by exchanging user plane node information including port management information and user plane node management information with a centralized network configuration (CNC) (See Section 4; a TSN AF for a time sensitive communication (TSC) and AF-requested time synchronization service). the TSN AF exchange user plane node information (i.e., TSN bridge information) with centralized network configuration (CNC). The user plane node information includes port management information and user plane node management information. Port management information is related to ports located in the DS-TT and NW-TT. User plane node information is exchanged between the TSN AF and CNC), the port management information related to one or more ports located in a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) in a user equipment and a network-side TNS translator (NW-TT) in a network node (See Section 4; Port management information is related to ports located in the DS-TT and NW-TT. The device-side TSN translator (DS-TT) is deployed at the UE-side edge and the network-side TSN translator (NW-TT) is deployed at the network-side edge) ;
encode information related to port management parameter values to be read, set and deleted by the DS-TT and the NW-TT in the network node (See Section 5.2.1.2; The TSN AF encoded the information about the port management parameters value to be read, the port management parameters values to be set, the port management parameters changes to (un)subscribe to and whether the TSN AF requests the list of port management supported by the DS-TT), wherein if an operation code is “selective read parameter”, perform reading a value of a parameter subset identified by a selected sub-parameter of a parameter at the DS-TT port (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “read parameter”, attempt to read a value of the parameter at the DS-TT port);
a transceiver configured to receive time synchronization services (See Section 4; a 5GS support AF-requested time synchronization services); and
the transceiver configured to transmit a deletion operation comprising an operation code set to “delete parameter-entry” to delete a specific of a plurality of port management parameter entries (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “unsubscribed for parameter”, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes) at the one or more ports located in the DS-TT and the NW-TT, the deletion operation associated with reducing data structure size and supporting deterministic time sensitive communication (See Section 5.2.1.3; upon receipt of the MANGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the DS-TT shall: “if the operation code is ‘unsubscribe for parameter, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter. Deleting the request reduce the size of the data structure)”.
3GPP does not explicitly discloses a network node comprising:
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to: and
a transceiver coupled to the processor,
However, Fuencisla from the same field of endeavor discloses a network node (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF)) comprising:
a memory (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF) includes a memory) configured to store computer-executable instructions; and
a processor (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF) includes a processing circuitry) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to: and
a transceiver coupled to the processor (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF) includes communication interface circuitry).
initiate a network port management procedure (See Page 31; initiate a port management information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a network node comprising: a memory, a processor and a transceiver as taught by Fuencisla in the system of 3GPP to configure a Policy Control Function (PCF) to notify an Application Function (AF) about predetermined events to which the AF has subscribed (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 25: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein an application function (AF) is configured to initiate the network port management procedure by encoding information related to port management parameter values to be read, set and deleted in a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message to a user equipment using a policy control function (PCF) and a session management function (SMF) (See Section 5.2.1.2; the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message include encoded the information about the port management parameters value to be read, the port management parameters values to be set, the port management parameters changes to (un)subscribe to and whether the TSN AF requests the list of port management supported by the DS-TT. The encoded information in included a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message. The MANAGE PORT COMMAND message is send to the UE via the PCF and SMF).
Regarding claim 26: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the AF is configured to: transmit a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message to the user equipment DS-TT with one or more instructions including: if an operation code is “selective read parameter,” attempt to read a value of a selected sub-parameter of a parameter at the DS-TT port (See Section 5.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the DS-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port is read successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port was not read successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 27: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the AF is configured to: transmit a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message to the user equipment DS-TT with one or more instructions including: if an operation code is “subscribe-notify for parameter,” store the network request from the AF to be notified of changes in the parameter value identified by a corresponding selected sub-parameter of the parameter(See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is "subscribe-notify for parameter", store the request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter).
Regarding claim 28: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the transmitting the deletion operation includes transmitting one or more instructions configured to: delete a port management parameter entry at a NW-TT port; and encode the port management information about port management parameters values to be read, port management parameters to be set, port management parameter changes to subscribe or unsubscribe to, port management parameter-entry to be deleted and whether a list of port management parameters supported by the NW-TT has been requested in a port management list information element and include the list in a MANAGE PORT COMMAND (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: e) if the operation code is "unsubscribe for parameter", delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter).
Regarding claim 29: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, encoding, information related to user plane node management parameters values to be read, user plane node management parameters values to be set, user plane node management parameters changes to subscribe to, and unsubscribe from, user plane node management parameter-entry to be deleted, whether a list of user plane node management parameters supported by the NW-TT has been requested in a user plane node management list information element, and includes the list in a MANAGE USER PLANE NODE COMMAND message; sending the MANAGE USER PLANE NODE COMMAND message to the NW-TT; and starting a timer (See Section 6.2.1.2; in order to initiate the TSN AG-requested port management procedure, the TSN AF shall: a) encoded the information about the port management parameters values to read, the port management parameters values to be set, the port management parameters changes to (un)subscribe to an whether the TSN AF requests the list of port management parameters…b) sending the MANGE PORT COMMAND message to the NW-TT and c) start timer T100).
Regarding claim 30: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the NW-TT responds to the initiating the network port management procedure with one or more instructions to: if the operation code is “selective read parameter,” attempt to read the value of the selected sub-parameter of a parameter at a NW-TT port, (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port is read successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 31: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the NW-TT responds to the initiating the network port management procedure with one or more instructions to: if an operation code is “subscribe-notify for parameter,” store a request to be notified of changes in the value of a corresponding parameter (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: if the operation code is "subscribe-notify for parameter", store the request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter; e) if the operation code is "unsubscribe for parameter", delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter).
Regarding claim 32: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the NW-TT responds to the initiating the network port management procedure with one or more instructions to: respond to each operation included in a user plane node management list information element MANAGE USER PLANE NODE COMMAND message by: if the operation code is “selective read parameter,” attempt to read the value of the selected sub-parameter of a user plane node management parameter at a NW-TT port (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port).
Regarding claim 33: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein a port management information list information element includes operation code octets in bits identifying selective read parameter as 00000110, selective subscribe-notify for parameter 00000111, selective unsubscribe for parameter 00001000, and delete parameter-entry 00001001 (See Section 9.2; “value part of the port management list information element (octets 4 to z)”, “00000010 Read parameter”,”0000100 Subscribe-notify for parameter”, and “00000101 Unsubscribe for parameter”).
Regarding claim 34: 3GPP discloses a user equipment (UE) (See Section 4; a User Equipment (UE)/CNC) comprising:
receiving at a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) user plane node information including a network request to initiate a port management procedure and port management information and user plane node management information from an application function (AF) (See Section 4; the TSN AF exchange user plane node information (i.e., TSN bridge information) with centralized network configuration (CNC). The user plane node information includes port management information and user plane node management information. Port management information is related to ports located in the DS-TT and NW-TT. User plane node information is exchanged between the TSN AF and CNC); and
deleting a specific port management parameter entries at one or more ports located in the DS-TT via an operation code set to “delete parameter-entry” (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “unsubscribed for parameter”, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes), the deleted port management parameter entries to reduce a data structure size and enable deterministic time sensitive communication (See Section 5.2.1.3; upon receipt of the MANGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the DS-TT shall: “if the operation code is ‘unsubscribe for parameter, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter. Deleting the request reduce the size of the data structure)”.
3GPP does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one processor coupled to memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor.
However, Fuencisla from the same field of endeavor discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 5; UE/DS-TT) comprising:
at least one processor (See FIG. 11A & Para. 0076; UE/DS-TT includes a processing circuitry) coupled to memory (See FIG. 11A & Para. 0076; UE/DS-TT includes a processor includes a registration unit )storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor.
receiving at a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) user plane node information including a network request to initiate a port management procedure and port management information and user plane node management information from an application function (AF) (See Para. 0042; the PCF receiving, from the SMF, information associated with a predetermined event that has been detected, and that is to be reported to an AF. The PCF also receives bridge information including a Bridge ID and respective port numbers for a Device-Side TSN Translator (DSN-TT) and a Network-Side TSN Translator (NS-TT)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor coupled to memory as taught by Fuencisla in the system of 3GPP to configure a Policy Control Function (PCF) to notify an Application Function (AF) about predetermined events to which the AF has subscribed (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 35: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a User Equipment (UE)).
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses the UE, receiving a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message at the user equipment from the AF to initiate the port management procedure, the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message including encoded information related to port management parameter values to be read, set and deleted; and responding to the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message by the DS-TT by: if an operation code is “selective read parameter,” attempt to read a value of a selected sub-parameter of a parameter at a DS-TT port, and if the value of the selected sub-parameter at the DS-TT port is read successfully, include the value of the selected sub-parameter and a current value in a port status information element of a MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and if the selected sub-parameter at the DS-TT port was not read successfully, include the parameter and an associated port management service cause value in the port status information element of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message (See Section 5.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the DS-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port is read successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the DS-TT port was not read successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 36: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a User Equipment (UE)).
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses the UE, receiving a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message at the user equipment from the AF to initiate the port management procedure, the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message including encoded information related to port management parameter values to be read, set and deleted; and responding to the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message by the DS-TT by: if the operation code is “selective-subscribe-notify for parameter,” store the network request from the AF to be notified of changes in the parameter value identified by corresponding sub-parameters of the parameter; if the operation code is “selective unsubscribe for parameter,” delete the stored request from the AF to be notified of changes in value of a corresponding selected sub-parameter of the parameter; and if the operation code is “selective unsubscribe for parameter,” delete the stored request from the AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding selected sub-parameter of the parameter (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is "subscribe-notify for parameter", store the request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter; e) if the operation code is "unsubscribe for parameter", delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter).
Regarding claim 37: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a User Equipment (UE)).
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses the UE, receiving a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message at the user equipment from the AF to initiate the port management procedure, the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message including encoded information related to port management parameter values to be read, set and deleted; and responding to the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message by the DS-TT by: if an operation code is “delete parameter-entry,” attempt to delete the parameter-entry of the parameter at the DS-TT port; and if the parameter-entry of the parameter at the DS-TT port is deleted successfully, include the parameter and a current value in a port update result information element of a MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and if the parameter-entry of the parameter at the DS-TT port was not set successfully, include the parameter and an associated port management service cause value in a port update result information element of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port is read successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port was not read successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; c) if the operation code is "set parameter", attempt to set the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port to the value specified in the operation, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port is set successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port update result IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port was not set successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port update result IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 38: 3GPP discloses a network node (See Section 5.2.1.2; PCF/SMF) supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (See Section 4; a TSN AF for a time sensitive communication (TSC) and AF-requested time synchronization service) comprising:
receive an encoded message from an application function (AF) (See Section 5.2.1.2; the PCF/SMF receive a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message from TSN AF) information related to user plane node management parameters values to be read, user plane node management parameters values to be set, user plane node management parameters changes to subscribe to, and unsubscribe from, a selective user plane node management parameter-entry to be deleted via a “delete parameter-entry” operation code (See Section 5.2.1.3; if the operation code is “unsubscribed for parameter”, delete the stored request from the TSN AF to be notified of changes) and whether the AF requests a list of user plane node management parameters supported by a network-side TNS translator (NW-TT) in a user plane node management list information element and includes the list in a MANAGE USER PLANE NODE COMMAND message (See Section 5.2.1.2 & 6.2.1.2; the MANAGEMENT PORT COMMAND message include encoded the information about the port management parameters value to be read, the port management parameters values to be set, the port management parameters changes to (un)subscribe to and whether the TSN AF requests the list of port management supported by the DS-TT. The encoded information in included a MANAGE PORT COMMAND message); and
receive the MANAGE USER PLANE NODE COMMAND message at the NW-TT (See Section 6.2.1.2; receive the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message at the NW-TT).
3GPP does not explicitly discloses a network node comprising: a transceiver.
However, Fuencisla from the same field of endeavor discloses a network node (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF)) comprising a transceiver (See FIG 10 & Para. 0072; a network node (i.e., TSN AF) includes communication interface circuitry).
initiate a network port management procedure (See Page 31; initiate a port management information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a network node comprising: a transceiver as taught by Fuencisla in the system of 3GPP to configure a Policy Control Function (PCF) to notify an Application Function (AF) about predetermined events to which the AF has subscribed (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 39: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, a memory coupled to the transceiver, the memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to start a timer (See Section 6.2.1.2; start timer T100).
Regarding claim 40: The combination of 3GPP and Fuencisla disclose a network node.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a network node, wherein the NW-TT responds to the AF initiating a network port management procedure with one or more instructions to: if an operation code is “selective read parameter,” attempt to read the value of the selected sub-parameter of a parameter at a NW-TT port (See Section 6.2.1.3; Upon receipt of the MANAGE PORT COMMAND message, for each operation included in the port management list IE, the NW-TT shall: b) if the operation code is "read parameter", attempt to read the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port is read successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port was not read successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port status IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; c) if the operation code is "set parameter", attempt to set the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port to the value specified in the operation, and: 1) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port is set successfully, include the parameter and its current value in the port update result IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message; and 2) if the value of the parameter at the NW-TT port was not set successfully, include the parameter and associated port management service cause value in the port update result IE of the MANAGE PORT COMPLETE message).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Moon et al. 2024/0214098 A1 (Title: Apparatus and method for transmitting synchronization information in communication system) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Joseph et al. 2023/0319743 A1 (Title: wireless communication enhancements for transparent..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Qu et al. 2023/0092723 A1 (Title: Communication and method, apparatus and computer..) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
16. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469