Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims of 08/06/226 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For independent claim 19, applicant argues, on page 12, that Johnson does not disclose the limitation “at least one of the first and second sealing flanges and its corresponding sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees measured clockwise or counterclockwise relative to a transverse plane of the sela element.” Johnson discloses the first and second sealing flanges (48,48) and its corresponding sealing surfaces (52, 52) extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees measured clockwise or counterclockwise relative to a transverse plane of the sela element (Figure 2 and as shown below.) Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
It is suggested amending independent claim 19 limitation as “the first and second sealing flanges configured to sealingly engage corresponding sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees measured clockwise or counterclockwise relative to a transverse plane of the sela element.” Paragraph [0056] of US Publication supports the amendment.
Also, check claims 23 and 25.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s) is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Johnson, US 6,450,507).
For claim 19, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-2, a sealing system (32) for sealing a junction between first and second components (10, 20) which when assembled define a pressure containing enclosure (Col.1, L 45-63), the sealing system comprising:
an annular seal element (32) comprising:
first and second axially spaced sealing lips (36, 38) which are configured to sealingly engage respective first and second sealing surfaces (24, 16) on the first and second components (20,10) to thereby seal an external environment from internal pressure in the enclosure (Col.1, L 45-63. Figure 1);
third and fourth axially spaced sealing lips (as shown below) which are located radially outwardly of the first and second sealing lips and are configured to sealingly engage respective third and fourth sealing surfaces (28, 14) on the first and second components (20, 10) to thereby seal the enclosure from external pressure in the external environment (seal is subjected to external and internal pressures. Col.1, L45-63);
a cylindrical seal body (Body of 32); and
first and second spaced-apart sealing flanges (48, 48) which extend
radially outwardly from the seal body;
wherein the first and second axially spaced sealing lips are
located on the seal body and are directed generally radially outwardly (Figure 2 and as shown below); and
wherein the third and fourth sealing lips are located on the first and second sealing flanges (48, 48), respectively;
wherein the first and second sealing flanges (48, 48) define an intervening annular cavity (50) which opens radially outwardly (Figure 2);
wherein each of the third and fourth sealing lips is located on a side of its respective sealing flange located opposite the cavity (50, Figure 2 and as shown below); and
wherein at least one of the first and second sealing flanges (48, 48) and its corresponding sealing surface (52, 52) extends at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees measured clockwise or counterclockwise relative to a transverse plane of the seal element (Figure 2 and as shown below.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Johnson, US 6,450,507) in view of D2 (Janoff et al., US Pub. 2002-0140184).
For claim 23, D1 discloses the sealing system of claim 19, wherein each of the first and second sealing flanges (48, 48) and its corresponding sealing surface (52, 52) extends generally parallel to a transverse plane of the seal element (Figure 2.)
D1 does not disclose the first and second sealing surfaces extends generally parallel to a transverse plane of the seal element. D2 teaches, in Figure 2, a sealing system with seal 10, first and second seal lips (14b, 14b), and first and second sealing surfaces (Surfaces of 26, 26 on which the lips 14b, 14b have contact define the first and second sealing surfaces) to provide effective sealing environment. The surfaces of lips and sealing surfaces extend generally parallel to a transverse plane of the seal element 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the first and second sealing surfaces extend generally parallel to a transverse plane of the seal element, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an effective sealing system.
For claim 25, D1 discloses the sealing system of claim19, wherein both of the first and second sealing flanges (48, 48) and their corresponding sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees relative to the transverse plane of the seal element, wherein one of the first and second sealing flanges extends in a direction measured clockwise relative to the transverse plane and the other of the first and second sealing flanges extends in a direction measured counterclockwise relative to the transverse plane (First and second sealing flanges 48, 48 extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees relative to the transverse plane of the seal element. Figure 2.)
D1 does not disclose corresponding sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees relative to the transverse plane of the seal element. D2 teaches, in Figure 4, a sealing system with seal 90, first and second seal lips (Lip between 102 and 114, and 104 and 114), and first and second sealing surfaces (Surfaces of 110 on which the lips have contact define the first and second sealing surfaces) to provide effective sealing environment. The surfaces of lips and sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees relative to the transverse plane of the seal element 90. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the first and second sealing surfaces extend at an angle greater than zero degrees but less than or equal to ninety degrees relative to the transverse plane of the seal element, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an effective sealing system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, and 14-15 are allowed.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied include Haeber (US 4,550,936); Gariepy (US Pub. 2007-0013146); and Mcintosh (US 6,612,371).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675