DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uno et al. (2009/0188696).
Uno et al. discloses a bonding wire for semiconductor devices, the bonding wire (Table 7, Ex. 46) comprising: a core material of Cu or Cu alloy; and a coating layer (surface covering layer) containing conductive metal other than Cu formed on a surface of the core material, wherein the coating layer has a region (concentration of intermediate layer) containing Ni as a main component on a core material side, and has a region containing Au and Ni on a wire surface side, in a thickness direction of the coating layer, a thickness of the coating layer is 10 nm or more and 130 nm or less (0.02 µm = 20 nm), a ratio CAu/CNi of a concentration CAu (mass%) of Au to a concentration CNi (mass%) of Ni relative to the entire wire is 0.02 or more and 0.7 or less (Ex. 46, at most surface Au:85 & Ni:15; at near surface Au:32 & Ni:68; and at intermediate layer Au:0 & Ni:100 => for entire wire, total Au=85+32=117 and total Ni=15+68+100=173 => 117/173 = 0.17), and a concentration of Au at the surface of the wire is 10 atomic% or more and 90 atomic% or less (85%) (re-claim 1).
Re-claims 2 and 6-7, it has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Re-claim 3, Uno et al. discloses the coating layer further contains Pd as conductive metal other than Cu ([0063]).
Re-claim 5, Uno et al. discloses the maximum concentration of Ni being 80 atomic% or more in a concentration profile in a depth direction of the wire (Table 7, Ex. 46, 100%).
Re-claim 9, Uno et al. discloses the thickness of the coating layer being 18 nm or more (Ex. 46, 20 nm).
Re-claim 13, Uno et al. discloses a semiconductor device comprising the bonding wire according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno et al. in view of Yamada et al. (2017/0200689).
Re-claim 8, Yamada et al. discloses a bonding wire, wherein the proportion of the crystal orientation <100> angled at 15° or less to the compression-bonding direction is 50% or more ([0016]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teaching of Yamada et al. in the bonding wire of Uno et al. to meet the required strength of the wire.
Re-claim 11, Yamada et al. discloses the bonding wire containing one or more of Te, As, and Sb with a total concentration of 1 ppm by mass or more and 100 ppm by mass or less relative to the entire wire ([0032]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add Te, As, or Sb in the bonding wire of Uno et al. to improve the bonding longevity of the ball bonded part as taught by Yamada et al.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno et al. in view of KR-100702662 (KR’662).
Claims 10 and 12 additionally recite the bonding wire containing 1 ppm by mass or more and 100 ppm by mass or less of P; and 0.011% by mass or more and 1.5% by mass or less of Ga. KR’662 discloses a bonding wire (page 2 of the machine English translation, first aspect) containing P in an amount of 1 ppm by mass or more and 100 ppm by mass or less and 0.011% by mass or more and 1.5% by mass or less of Ga. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add element P or Ga, as taught by KR’662, in the bonding wire of Uno et al. to improve the bonding reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841