DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/572,727, dated on 12/20/2023.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/580560 (US 20250089044 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 5, copending Application No. 18/580560 claim 1 or claim 15 discloses a user equipment (UE) (claim 1), comprising:
receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) (eMTC) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)/(MPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises first information to indicate whether Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback is disabled for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises second information to indicate a timing offset for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) and/or corresponding HARQ feedback (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the configuration and/or the second information (claim 1);
transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the HARQ feedback based on the configuration and the first information and the second information (claim 1); and
a processor configured to flush a data buffer of the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the first information (claim 1).
Claims 2, 4, copending Application No. 18/580560 claim 2 or claim 9 discloses wherein the receiving circuitry is configured to receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying a downlink control information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) which is different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI), a Semi-Persistent Scheduling C-RNTI (SPS-C-RNTI), a System Information RNTI (SI-RNTI), a Pre-configured Uplink Resource RNTI (PUR-RNTI), a GERAN RNTI (G-RNTI), a Single Cell RNTI (SC-RNTI), a Paging RNTI (P-RNTI) and a Random Access RNTI (RA-RNTI).
Claim 3, copending Application No. 18/580560 claim 8 discloses limitation of claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/572731 (US 2024/0292411 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 5, copending Application No. 18/572731 claim 1 or claim 5 discloses a user equipment (UE) (claim 1), comprising:
receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)/(MPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises first information to indicate whether Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback is disabled for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive signaling that comprises second information to indicate a timing offset for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) and/or corresponding HARQ feedback (claim 1);
the receiving circuitry configured to receive the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the configuration and/or the second information (claim 1);
transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the HARQ feedback based on the configuration and the first information and the second information (transmitting HARQ on PUSCH or PUCCH; claim 1); and
a processor configured to flush a data buffer of the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the first information (claim 1).
Claims 2, 4, copending Application No. 18/572731 claim 2 or claim 4 discloses wherein the receiving circuitry is configured to receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying a downlink control information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) which is different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI), a Semi-Persistent Scheduling C-RNTI (SPS-C-RNTI), a System Information RNTI (SI-RNTI), a Pre-configured Uplink Resource RNTI (PUR-RNTI), a GERAN RNTI (G-RNTI), a Single Cell RNTI (SC-RNTI), a Paging RNTI (P-RNTI) and a Random Access RNTI (RA-RNTI).
Claim 3, copending Application No. 18/572731 claim 8 discloses limitation of claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0319822 A1).
Claims 1, 5, Park discloses a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 11; Fig. 21, el. 100; According to an embodiment, the first wireless device 100 or a UE may include the processor(s) 102 and the memory(s) 104, connected to the RF transceiver(s). The memory(s) 104 may include at least one program capable of performing operations related to the embodiments described with reference to FIGS. 10 to 19. Specifically, the processor(s) 102 may receive SPS configuration information through the RF transceiver(s) 106, receive first DCI that activates an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information, receive a PDSCH based on the SPS configuration, and determine whether to perform HARQ feedback for a HARQ process for the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration; ¶366-¶367), comprising:
receiving circuitry (RF transceiver(s); Fig. 21, el. 106) configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (UE configured to receive the PDSCH configuration in non-terrestrial network (NTN) for communicating various communications including internet communication, IoT ((NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN); satellite connections may be used for IOT/public safety-related emergency networks/home access, etc. The “Service Scalability” category includes services using wide coverage of satellite networks; ¶147; satellites functioning as the conventional NR BS/gNB and as an extension of the terrestrial NR network; In the scenario based on the regenerative payload, the satellite 410 may perform some or all of the functions of a conventional BS (e.g., gNB), and may thus perform some or all of frequency conversion/demodulation/decoding/modulation. The service link between the UE and a satellite is established using the NR-Uu radio interface, and the feeder link between the NTN gateway and a satellite is established using the satellite radio interface (SRI). The SRI corresponds to a transport link between the NTN gateway and the satellite; ¶151; widening the NR, LTE coverage by using the NR NTN, LTE NTN network; ¶232; Fig. 20 shows providing various services (such as IoT, eMTC, VoIP (¶294)) through the disclosed NR NTN PDSCH, LTE NTN PDSCH network; The wireless devices may include, without being limited to, a robot 100a, vehicles 100b-1 and 100b-2, an eXtended Reality (XR) device 100c, a hand-held device 100d, a home appliance 100e, an Internet of Things (IoT) device 100f, and an Artificial Intelligence (AI) device/server 400. For example, the vehicles may include a vehicle having a wireless communication function, an autonomous driving vehicle, and a vehicle capable of performing communication between vehicles. Herein, the vehicles may include an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) (e.g., a drone). The XR device may include an Augmented Reality (AR)/Virtual Reality (VR)/Mixed Reality (MR) device and may be implemented in the form of a Head-Mounted Device (HMD), a Head-Up Display (HUD) mounted in a vehicle, a television, a smartphone, a computer, a wearable device, a home appliance device, a digital signage, a vehicle, a robot, etc. The hand-held device may include a smartphone, a smartpad, a wearable device (e.g., a smartwatch or a smartglasses), and a computer (e.g., a notebook). The home appliance may include a TV, a refrigerator, and a washing machine. The IoT device may include a sensor and a smartmeter. For example, the BSs and the network may be implemented as wireless devices and a specific wireless device 200a may operate as a BS/network node with respect to other wireless devices; ¶360; Various embodiments provide a method for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) by a terminal in a wireless communication, and a device therefor. Disclosed are a method and a device therefor, the method comprising the steps of: receiving semi-persistent scheduling configuration information; receiving first downlink control information (DCI) for activating an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information; receiving the PDSCH on the basis of the SPS configuration; and determining, on the basis of the SPS configuration, whether to perform hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) feedback of an HARQ process for the PDSCH; abstract; The present disclosure relates to a method for a user equipment (UE) to determine a hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) procedure is performed by receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a wireless communication system and an apparatus therefor; ¶2; ¶18; ¶19; Referring to FIG. 17, the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M205). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to an NTN, configuration information for DL transmission and reception (e.g., PDCCH-config and/or PDSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes), a CSI report-related configuration (e.g., CSI report configuration, CSI report quantity, and/or CSI-RS resource configuration), described in the above proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). For example, the configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer (e.g., RRC or MAC CE) signaling. Alternatively, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured for each cell group. Alternatively, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured through information in the form of a bitmap. Alternatively, the configuration information may include an SPS-related configuration (e.g., SPS-config). Alternatively, the SPS-related configuration may include information about HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled; ¶325; ¶366-¶367; ¶368);
the receiving circuitry (RF transceiver(s); Fig. 21, el. 106) configured to receive signaling that comprises first information to indicate whether Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback is disabled for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) (indicting HARQ disabled/enabled via various signaling such as RRC, DCI, MAC-CE, SPS-Config; The NTN may determine whether HARQ feedback of at least one HARQ process for the SPS configuration is enabled or disabled based on channel information for the PDSCH and quality of service (QoS) of a transport block related to the PDSCH; ¶17; According to various embodiments, both an SPS configuration and HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled for the SPS configuration may be indicated to or configured for the UE through SPS configuration information; ¶22; Indicate HARQ disabling via DCI in new/re-interpreted field; ¶202; The first DCI interpretation method may be a method of interpreting DCI when a configuration related to HARQ feedback-disabled is semi-statically configured through RRC with respect to each HARQ process. For example, when HARQ feedback-disabled is configured through RRC, HARQ feedback-disabled may be configured for each cell group (CG). Alternatively, whether to feed back HARQ for each CG may be configured through RRC (refer to REL-16 multiple CGs); ¶258; For example, a first process (process 1 or HARQ process 1) may be enabled and a second process (process 2 or HARQ process 2) may be disabled. Alternatively, the first process may be configured to enable HARQ feedback through RRC signaling, and the second process may be configured to disable HARQ feedback through RRC signaling. In this case, when the first process 1 is indicated by DCI, information related to a PUCCH may be indicated by a TPC command field for a scheduled PUCCH, a PUCCH resource indicator field, and a HARQ feedback timing indicator (or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator) field, included in the DCI; ¶259; Second DCI Interpretation Method: Case in which HARQ-Enabled/Disabled is Indicated by DCI; ¶266; The second DCI interpretation method relates to a method of interpreting the DCI when HARQ-enabled/disabled is dynamically indicated by the DCI even with respect to the same HARQ process ID. Here, whether HARQ is enabled/disabled may be indicated through the HARQ feedback timing indicator field of the DCI and/or the PUCCH resource indicator field of the DCI or may be indicated through a MAC-CE of a MAC layer; ¶267; ¶268; Alternatively, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be dynamically indicated through a MAC-CE and may be indicated for each HARQ process in the form of a bitmap. In other words, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be dynamically indicated through the MAC-CE and may be indicated for each HARQ process by a bitmap included in the MAC-CE; ¶271; Proposal 3 (Report/Request of UE for HARQ Feedback-Enabled/Disabled); ¶272; Alternatively, when activation/deactivation of the HARQ process is indicated through the DCI for activating the SPS PDSCH, a specific HARQ process enable field may be newly defined or configured in the DCI. In other words, the SPS PDSCH may be enabled through one DCI, and activation/deactivation of the HARQ process may be indicated through the specific HARQ process enable field newly defined in the one DCI; ¶300; ¶302; In the case of the second indication method, a separate HARQ enable field may be newly defined in and/or added to SPS-Config defined in Table 18 (see TS 38.331). When SPS is configured, HARQ feedback enabled SPS and HARQ feedback disabled SPS may be configured through the HARQ enable field. That is, in the case of the second indication method, HARQ feedback-enabled or HARQ feedback-disabled may be indicated with respect to each SPS configuration through SPS configuration information (or a separate field included in an SPS-Config parameter) received from higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) of the gNB (or NTN); ¶304; Referring to FIG. 16, the BS may transmit configuration information to the UE (M105). That is, the UE may receive the configuration information from the BS. For example, the configuration information may include configuration information related to an NTN, configuration information for UL transmission and reception (e.g., PUCCH-config and/or PUSCH-config), a HARQ process-related configuration (e.g., HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled and/or the number of HARQ processes), a CSI report-related configuration (e.g., CSI report configuration, CSI report quantity, and/or CSI-RS resource configuration), described in the above proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). For example, the configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer (e.g., RRC or MAC CE) signaling. Alternatively, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured for each cell group. Alternatively, HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled may be configured through information in the form of a bitmap. Alternatively, the configuration information may include an SPS-related configuration (e.g., SPS-config). Alternatively, the SPS-related configuration may include information about HARQ feedback-enabled/disabled; ¶319; ¶321; ¶325; ¶327; ¶340; ¶344);
the receiving circuitry (RF transceiver(s); Fig. 21, el. 106) configured to receive signaling that comprises second information to indicate a timing offset for the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) and/or corresponding HARQ feedback (indicating timing offsets of the NPDSCH and the HARQ (PDSCH-to-HARQ timing indicator and K1 value); For example, a first process (process 1 or HARQ process 1) may be enabled and a second process (process 2 or HARQ process 2) may be disabled. Alternatively, the first process may be configured to enable HARQ feedback through RRC signaling, and the second process may be configured to disable HARQ feedback through RRC signaling. In this case, when the first process 1 is indicated by DCI, information related to a PUCCH may be indicated by a TPC command field for a scheduled PUCCH, a PUCCH resource indicator field, and a HARQ feedback timing indicator (or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator) field, included in the DCI; ¶259; In contrast, when the second process is indicated by the DCI (indicated as being disabled); ¶260; Alternatively, the slot interval may be configured as a specific value. For example, the slot interval may be configured based on or in correspondence to a PDSCH decoding/processing time of the UE. (the number of OFDM symbols required for UE processing from the end of PDSCH reception to the earliest possible start of corresponding HARQ-ACK transmission from the perspective of the UE); ¶262; For example, when a numerical value (e.g., K1 value) is indicated by the HARQ feedback timing indicator (or PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator) field, HARQ may be enabled. In other words, when the numerical value (e.g., K1 value) is indicated by the HARQ feedback timing indicator (or PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator) field of the DCI, the UE may interpret the DCI as indicating HARQ-enabled. In this case, since HARQ feedback operates, a PUCCH resource may be indicated by the TPC command for the scheduled PUCCH and/or the PUCCH resource indicator field. In other words, when the HARQ feedback timing indicator has the numerical value (when HARQ feedback-enabled is indicated), the UE may acquire or is configured with information about the PUCCH resource through the TPC command field for the scheduled PUCCH and/or the PUCCH resource indicator field, included in the DCI; ¶268; ¶320; ¶326);
the receiving circuitry (RF transceiver(s); Fig. 21, el. 106) configured to receive the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the configuration and/or the second information (receiving the NPDSCH according to the NPDSCH configuration and the timing offsets of the NPDSCH and the HARQ; Various embodiments provide a method for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) by a terminal in a wireless communication, and a device therefor. Disclosed are a method and a device therefor, the method comprising the steps of: receiving semi-persistent scheduling configuration information; receiving first downlink control information (DCI) for activating an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information; receiving the PDSCH on the basis of the SPS configuration; and determining, on the basis of the SPS configuration, whether to perform hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) feedback of an HARQ process for the PDSCH; abstract; The present disclosure relates to a method for a user equipment (UE) to determine a hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) procedure is performed by receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a wireless communication system and an apparatus therefor; ¶2; ¶18; The UE may perform NR NTN or LTE NTN transmission and reception of one or more physical channels/signals based on at least one of Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, or Proposal 5 described above; ¶308; The UE may receive the DL data/DL channels until all configured/indicated DL data/DL channels are received, and when all DL data/DL channels are received, the UE may determine whether transmission of feedback information for the received DL data/DL channels is needed (M47 and M48). If it is necessary to transmit the feedback information, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback and, if not, the UE may end the reception operation without transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback (M49). Whether the feedback information needs to be transmitted and/or a field configuration included in the DCI may be configured based on Proposals 1 to 5 described above; ¶310; Next, the BS may transmit DL data/DL channels (or a PDSCH) to the UE (M215). That is, the UE may receive the DL data/DL channels from the BS. The DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described configuration information. Alternatively, the DL data/DL channels may be transmitted/received based on the above-described proposed methods; ¶330; FIG. 18 is a diagram illustrating a method for a UE to receive a PDSCH from an NTN; ¶333; ¶341);
transmitting circuitry (RF transceiver(s); Fig. 21, el. 106) configured to transmit the HARQ feedback based on the configuration and the first information and the second information (UE transmitting the HARQ feedback based on the NPDSCH configuration, the communicated enabled/disabled HARQ process information and the timing offsets of the NPDSCH and the HARQ; the method comprising the steps of: receiving semi-persistent scheduling configuration information; receiving first downlink control information (DCI) for activating an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information; receiving the PDSCH on the basis of the SPS configuration; and determining, on the basis of the SPS configuration, whether to perform hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) feedback of an HARQ process for the PDSCH; abstract; ¶2; ¶18; The UE may perform NR NTN or LTE NTN transmission and reception of one or more physical channels/signals based on at least one of Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, or Proposal 5 described above; ¶308; The UE may receive the DL data/DL channels until all configured/indicated DL data/DL channels are received, and when all DL data/DL channels are received, the UE may determine whether transmission of feedback information for the received DL data/DL channels is needed (M47 and M48). If it is necessary to transmit the feedback information, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback and, if not, the UE may end the reception operation without transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback (M49). Whether the feedback information needs to be transmitted and/or a field configuration included in the DCI may be configured based on Proposals 1 to 5 described above; ¶310; Next, the BS may receive HARQ-ACK feedback from the UE (M220). That is, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback to the BS. HARQ-ACK feedback may be enabled/disabled based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). Alternatively, when HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled, HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted and received based on the above-described proposed methods (e.g., Proposal 1, Proposal 2, Proposal 3, Proposal 4, and/or Proposal 5). Alternatively, HARQ-ACK feedback may include ACK/NACK information about the DL channels/DL data transmitted from the BS. For example, HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted through a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH; ¶331; ¶342; ¶343); and
a processor (processor (s); Fig. 21, el. 102) configured to flush a data buffer of the NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH) based on the first information (UE deleting the NPDSCH data buffer received from the BS based on the communicated enabled/disabled HARQ process after processing (resource de-mapping, demodulation, decoding) of the NPDSCH data by the UE; To this end, at least a part of various configuration information configuring processes, various signal processing processes (e.g., channel encoding/decoding, modulation/demodulation, and resource mapping/demapping), and resource allocating processes, for transmitting/receiving radio signals, may be performed based on the various proposals of the present disclosure; ¶362).
Claims 2, 4, Park discloses wherein the receiving circuitry is configured to receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying a downlink control information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) which is different from a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI), a Semi-Persistent Scheduling C-RNTI (SPS-C-RNTI), a System Information RNTI (SI-RNTI), a Pre-configured Uplink Resource RNTI (PUR-RNTI), a GERAN RNTI (G-RNTI), a Single Cell RNTI (SC-RNTI), a Paging RNTI (P-RNTI) and a Random Access RNTI (RA-RNTI) (UE receiving PDCCH carrying a DCI with CRC scrambled by a cs-RNTI which is different from an RNTI (alternative of using a SC-RNTI for scrambling CRC of the DCI); If the CRC of a corresponding DCI format is scrambled with the CS-RNTI provided by the RRC parameter cs-RNTI, and a new data indicator field for an enabled transport block is set to 0, the UE validates, for scheduling activation or scheduling release, a DL SPS assignment PDCCH or a configured UL grant Type 2 PDCCH; ¶124; see also 3GPP TSG RAN WG2#112-e, R2-2010320 discloses a DCI with CRC scrambled by a c-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI).
Claim 3, limitation of claim 3 analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 3 disclosed by Park, A base station (gNB) (BS/NTN; Fig. 21, el. 200), comprising transmitting circuitry (transceiver(s); Fig. 21, 206), receiving circuitry (transceiver(s); Fig. 21, 206), a processor (processor(s); Fig. 21, 202) (According to an embodiment, a BS or an NTN may include the processor(s) 202 and/or the transceiver(s) 206. The processor(s) may transmit SPS configuration information, transmit first DCI that activates an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information, and transmit the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration, by controlling the transceiver(s) 106 or an RF transceiver, and determine whether to receive feedback information for a HARQ for the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration. The processor(s) 202 may perform operations based on the memory(s) 204 including at least one program capable of performing the operations related to the embodiments described with reference to FIGS. 10 to 19; ¶371).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471