DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/572,744, dated on 12/26/2023.
Claims 1-12, 25, and 27-33 pending.
Claims 13-24 and 26 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0180078 A1).
Claim 1, Zhang discloses a cell measurement (a user equipment (UE) may need to measurement the downlink reference signals from neighbor cells; abstract) method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 1, el. 102), comprising:
determining a second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from a plurality of first cells (cells 1-7; Fig.1), wherein the plurality of first cells are cells to be measured for the UE to perform mobility management (inter-cell mobility and inter-cell multi-TRP operation; abstract), the second cell being a cell selected from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1), wherein measurement of the second cell is to be stopped; and stopping the measurement of the second cell (stopping the measurements of the second cells 4, 5, 6, 7; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25).
Claims 2, 29, Zhang discloses wherein determining the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells comprises at least one of:
selecting the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) according to L consecutive reference signal measurement values of each first cell, wherein L is a positive integer (cells 4, 5, 6, 7 selected from cells 1-7 according to the N*M periodic reference signal measurements; To support L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell multi-TRP operation, a UE may need to measure downlink reference signals from neighbor cells. For example, the UE may measure Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Channel-State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) from neighbor cells. The UE is then able to use the cells and beams with the strongest signals; ¶17; the UE 102 may perform a lot of measurements if all of the neighboring cells and beams are to be measured. For example, there can be N, e.g. N=6, candidate neighbor cells, and there may be M, e.g. M=64, beams for each cell. If the UE 102 where to measure all of the beams, the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements). This number of measurements may cause the UE 102 to use a significant amount of power. Additionally, if the UE 102UE needs to measure neighbor cell reference signals; ¶24; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; In a first step, the UE 202 may perform L3 measurement and report on those L3 measurements. The measurements and reporting may be based on Layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) or Layer 3 Signal to Noise and Interference Ratio (L3-SINR) or Layer 3 Reference Signal Received Quality (L3-RSRQ). The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29); or
selecting a first cell having a distance with the UE greater than a distance threshold value as the second cell, according to location information of the plurality of first cells and location information of the UE (selecting cells having a greater distance threshold and according to the cell and the UE location in formations; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25).
Claims 3, 30, Zhang discloses wherein selecting the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7 selected from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) according to the L consecutive reference signal measurement values of each first cells comprises at least one of:
determining a first cell whose L consecutive reference signal measurement values are all less than a non-measurement threshold value as the second cell; or determining a first cell whose reference signal measurement value obtained by a latest measurement is less than the non-measurement threshold value and whose L consecutive reference signal measurement values show a descending trend as the second cell (determining cells with periodic/consecutive RS measurements meeting a criterial threshold to be selected according to the periodic/consecutive RS measurement values; the UE 102 may perform a lot of measurements if all of the neighboring cells and beams are to be measured. For example, there can be N, e.g. N=6, candidate neighbor cells, and there may be M, e.g. M=64, beams for each cell. If the UE 102 where to measure all of the beams, the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements). This number of measurements may cause the UE 102 to use a significant amount of power. Additionally, if the UE 102UE needs to measure neighbor cell reference signals; ¶24; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; In a first step, the UE 202 may perform L3 measurement and report on those L3 measurements. The measurements and reporting may be based on Layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) or Layer 3 Signal to Noise and Interference Ratio (L3-SINR) or Layer 3 Reference Signal Received Quality (L3-RSRQ). The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claims 4, 31, Zhang discloses reporting a cell identification (ID) of the second cell, wherein the cell ID of the second cell is configured to trigger a base station to update the first cells of the UE (updating the first cells of the UE by limiting cells to the potential candidate cells by reporting the cell identification (ID) of the second cell (disabling/enabling cells); In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may receive the L3 report 220 and select 210 one or more cells as candidate cells based on the l3 report 220. The network node 204 may enable the candidate cells or enable a report configuration for L1 measurement for the candidate cells. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may configure the report configuration directly with the UE via higher layer signaling; ¶32; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34).
Claim 7, Zhang discloses reporting a measurement result and a cell ID of a first cell whose reference signal measurement value is greater than or equal to a report threshold value, wherein the report threshold value is greater than the non-measurement threshold value (reporting a measurement result and the cell ID of the cell whose reference signal measurement value is greater than or equal to a report threshold value in order to be selected and being included in the candidate cells and performing L1 measurement and reporting on the selected candidate cells; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may receive the L3 report 220 and select 210 one or more cells as candidate cells based on the l3 report 220. The network node 204 may enable the candidate cells or enable a report configuration for L1 measurement for the candidate cells. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may configure the report configuration directly with the UE via higher layer signaling; ¶32; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claim 8, Zhang discloses receiving a measurement configuration (UE receiving measurement configuration; Fig. 2, el. 214), wherein the measurement configuration comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration comprises, at least one of: a threshold configuration and/or a timing configuration, wherein the threshold configuration is configured to determine the second cell, and the timing configuration is configured to determine a time period during which the measurement of the second cell is stopped (configuration comprising a threshold configuration wherein the threshold configuration is configured to determine the second cell (selecting the candidate cells and enabled or disable measurement of the cells, require the measurement to meet a threshold criterial to be configured in the UE and network node); In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the threshold configuration indicates at least one of a non-measurement threshold value and/or a distance threshold value for determining the second cell; and the timing configuration indicates timing information of a non-measurement timer, wherein the UE stops the measurement of the second cell during a timing period of the non-measurement timer (the threshold configuration indicating a non-measurement threshold value and/or a distance threshold value for determining the second cell (meeting a threshold criterial to select the candidate cells and enable or disable measurement of the cells); selecting cells having a distance threshold; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25; threshold to select the candidate cells; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claims 10, 28, Zhang discloses wherein the measurement configuration further comprises: a second configuration (UE measurement configuration; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29);
wherein the second configuration comprises a cell list, and the cell list comprises cell IDs of the plurality of first cells (configuration comprising a cell list/candidate cells comprising the cell IDs of set of the cells; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34).
Claim 11, analyzed with respect to claims 1 and 8.
Claim 12, analyzed with respect to claims 4 and 10.
Claim 25, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 25 disclosed by Zhang, a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 1, el. 102), comprising: a processor (network controller circuitry 414; Fig. 4; ¶73), a transceiver (one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM); Fig. 4; ¶73), and a memory (memory circuitry 408; Fig. 4; ¶73) having programs stored executable by the processor, stored thereon, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor (FIG. 4 illustrates an example of infrastructure equipment 400 in accordance with various embodiments. The infrastructure equipment 400 may be implemented as a base station, radio head, RAN node, AN, application server, and/or any other element/device discussed herein. In other examples, the infrastructure equipment 400 could be implemented in or by a UE. The infrastructure equipment 400 includes application circuitry 402, baseband circuitry 404, one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM), memory circuitry 408, power management integrated circuitry (shown as PMIC 410), power tee circuitry 412, network controller circuitry 414, network interface connector 420, satellite positioning circuitry 416, and user interface circuitry 418. In some embodiments, the device infrastructure equipment 400 may include additional elements such as, for example, memory/storage, display, camera, sensor, or input/output (I/O) interface. In other embodiments, the components described below may be included in more than one device. For example, said circuitries may be separately included in more than one device for CRAN, vBBU, or other like implementations. Application circuitry 402 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI, I.sup.2C or universal programmable serial interface module, real time clock (RTC), tinier-counters including interval and watchdog timers, general purpose input/output (I/O or IO), memory card controllers such as Secure Digital (SD) MultiMediaCard (MMC) or similar, Universal Serial Bus (USB) interfaces, Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces and Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) test access ports. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 402 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 400. In some implementations, the memory/storage elements may be on-chip memory circuitry, which may include any suitable volatile and/or non-volatile memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, EPROM, EEPROM, Flash memory, solid-state memory, and/or any other type of memory device technology, such as those discussed herein; ¶72-¶73).
Claim 27, Zhang discloses a base station, comprising: a processor (network controller circuitry 414; Fig. 4; ¶73); a transceiver (one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM); Fig. 4; ¶73); and a memory (memory circuitry 408; Fig. 4; ¶73) having programs executable by the processor stored thereon, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to perform the cell measurement configuration processing method of claim 11 (FIG. 4 illustrates an example of infrastructure equipment 400 in accordance with various embodiments. The infrastructure equipment 400 may be implemented as a base station, radio head, RAN node, AN, application server, and/or any other element/device discussed herein. In other examples, the infrastructure equipment 400 could be implemented in or by a UE. The infrastructure equipment 400 includes application circuitry 402, baseband circuitry 404, one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM), memory circuitry 408, power management integrated circuitry (shown as PMIC 410), power tee circuitry 412, network controller circuitry 414, network interface connector 420, satellite positioning circuitry 416, and user interface circuitry 418. In some embodiments, the device infrastructure equipment 400 may include additional elements such as, for example, memory/storage, display, camera, sensor, or input/output (I/O) interface. In other embodiments, the components described below may be included in more than one device. For example, said circuitries may be separately included in more than one device for CRAN, vBBU, or other like implementations. Application circuitry 402 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI, I.sup.2C or universal programmable serial interface module, real time clock (RTC), tinier-counters including interval and watchdog timers, general purpose input/output (I/O or IO), memory card controllers such as Secure Digital (SD) MultiMediaCard (MMC) or similar, Universal Serial Bus (USB) interfaces, Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces and Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) test access ports. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 402 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 400. In some implementations, the memory/storage elements may be on-chip memory circuitry, which may include any suitable volatile and/or non-volatile memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, EPROM, EEPROM, Flash memory, solid-state memory, and/or any other type of memory device technology, such as those discussed herein; ¶72-¶73).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0180078 A1) in view of Rattner et. al. (US 2015/0230157 A1).
Claims 5, 32, Rattner in the same field of endeavor, cell measurement and pruning a spurious cell discloses wherein stopping the measurement of the second cell comprises: stopping the measurement of the second cell within a timing range of a non-measurement timer (stopping the measurement of the candidate cell signal strength within the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired); In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1; ¶42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to stop the measurement of the second cell that comprises stopping the measurement of the second cell within a timing range of a non-measurement timer, as taught by Rattner to modify Zhang’s method and system in order to perform cell measurement and to prune a spurious cell (title; abstract).
Claims 6, 33, Rattner discloses determining that the non-measurement timer has expired and no updated first cell is received, and restoring the measurement of the second cell (the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired) and no pruning occurred to receive updated candidate cell list by UE and restoring to perform the cell measurement; In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1; ¶42).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471