DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/572,744, amendment and remarks, dated 06/24/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 25, 27-30 and 32-33 pending.
Claims 4, 12-24, 26 and 31 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 25, 27-30 and 32-33 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Applicant in page 7-8 of remarks argues regarding the amended claim 1 that “the UE measures all configured neighbor cells, rather than "selecting" a second cell from a plurality of first cells. Zhang does not describe the UE "selecting" a specific second cell from a plurality of cells to be measured. The identification of "candidate neighboring cells" in Zhang ([0026]) is performed by the network node based on the L3 measurement report received from the UE, not by the UE selecting a second cell from a plurality of first cells. Specifically, in Zhang, after receiving the L3 report, the network node "select[s] 210 one or more cells as candidate cells" ([0032]). The entity performing the selection is the network node, not the UE”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., UE "selecting" a specific second cell from a plurality of cells to be measured) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 1 recited “the second cell being a cell selected from the plurality of first cells, wherein measurement of the second cell is to be stopped”.
It is reminded that the claim 1 does not require that “the UE selecting a specific second cell from a plurality of cells to be measured”. In contrary it is required to stop the second cell measurement, “wherein measurement of the second cell is to be stopped; stopping the measurement of the second cell”.
Furthermore, the claim 1 recited limitation “the second cell being a cell selected from the plurality of first cells”, it may be implemented by BS or UE according to claim 1, in other words, claim 1 does not limiting to a UE performing the selection of the second cells.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses implementing “selecting a specific second cells from a plurality of cells”, Zhang figure 1 shows selecting the specific second cells (cell ID; 4-7) from a plurality of cells (cell ID; 1-7), wherein measurement of the second cell (cell ID; 4-7) is to be stopped and the UE stops the measurement of the second cell (stopping L1/L3 measurement). (see ¶25 of Zhang; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells).
Furthermore, implementing the same function/operation/limitation “selecting the specific second cells from a plurality of cells” as disclosed by Zhang in the BS vs. UE or UE vs. BS does not constitute an invention and does not depart from the essence and scope of the Zhang’s invention.
Furthermore, Zhang in exemplary ¶34 discloses the UE selecting cells to be disabled and the UE stopping measurement and reporting on the specific disabled (second cells) from a plurality of cells (In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222).
Applicant in page 8 of remarks argues that “In claim 1, the "second cell" is a cell selected by the UE from a plurality of first cells as a cell for which measurement is to be stopped - i.e., a cell that the UE determines does not need to be measured further. In other words, the "second cell" in claim 1 is a "cell not to be measured".
Zhang figure 1 shows selecting the second cells (cell ID; 4-7) from a plurality of cells (cell ID; 1-7), wherein measurement of the second cell (cell ID; 4-7) is to be stopped and the UE stops the measurement of the second cell (stopping L1/L3 measurement). (See exemplary ¶25 of Zhang; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells).
Furthermore, Zhang in exemplary ¶34 discloses the UE selecting cells to be disabled and the UE stops the measurement and reporting on the specific disabled (second cells) from a plurality of cells (In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222).
Applicant in pages 8-9 of remarks argues that “Furthermore, Zhang does not teach or suggest the feature "stopping the measurement of the second cell" in claim 1. In Zhang, the UE performs L3 measurements for all configured neighbor cells and never "stops" measurement of any cell according to Zhang, the UE "perform[s] L3 measurement and report[s] on those L3 measurements" ([0029]), and "the UE only needs to perform the L3 measurement for the configured measurement objects in the MeasConfig information element" ([0030]). There is no disclosure in Zhang that the UE ever "stops" measurement of a particular cell”.
Zhang figure 1 shows selecting the second cells (cell ID; 4-7) from a plurality of cells (cell ID; 1-7), wherein measurement of the second cell (cell ID; 4-7) is to be stopped and the UE stops the measurement of the second cell (stopping L1/L3 measurement). (See exemplary ¶25 of Zhang; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells).
Furthermore, Zhang in exemplary ¶26 discloses the UE stops/restrains the physical layer (L1) measurement of the other neighboring cells (second cell; Fig. 1, cell-IDs 4-7) (In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation).
Applicant in page 8 of remarks argues that “In Zhang, the UE "may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells" ([0026]). However, "not performing L1 measurements" is not the same as "stopping measurement of the cell." In claim 1, "stopping the measurement of the second cell" means that the UE no longer performs any measurements (including both L3 and L1 measurements) for that cell. In contrast, in Zhang, the UE still performs L3 measurements for all neighbor cells, and only refrains from L1 measurements for non-candidate cells.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the UE no longer performs any measurements (including both L3 and L1 measurements) for that cell) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant in page 8 of remarks argues that “Furthermore, Zhang does not teach or suggest the feature "reporting a cell identification (ID) of the second cell, wherein the cell ID of the second cell is configured to trigger a base station to update the first cells of the UE" in claim 1. In Zhang, the UE reports an L3 measurement report, not the "ID of the cell for which measurement is stopped".
Zhang discloses the UE performing L3 measurement and L3 measurement reporting, for the neighboring cells, the neighboring cells are identified by the cell-IDs 1-7 in figure 1. Similarly when the UE reports the L3 measurements of the neighboring cells to the network node 204, shown by the element 220 in Fig. 2, the L3 measurement report inherently includes cell IDs of the neighboring cells, in order to enable the network node 204 to distinguish the L3 measurement reports of the neighboring cells and to identify the cell IDs for which measurement is stopped (See exemplary ¶29; In a first step, the UE 202 may perform L3 measurement and report on those L3 measurements. The measurements and reporting may be based on Layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) or Layer 3 Signal to Noise and Interference Ratio (L3-SINR) or Layer 3 Reference Signal Received Quality (L3-RSRQ). The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218)).
Furthermore, Zhang in exemplary ¶37 discloses the UE reporting the physical cell IDs of the enabled or disabled cells (the second cell) for which the measurement is stopped (In some embodiments, the UE 202 may determine enabling or disabling for report configurations for neighbor cells. For example, the enabled or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to neighbor cells or physical cell IDs can be reported by UE 202. The L3 report 220 may comprise the enabled or disabled status. In some embodiments, the enabled or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig can be reported by a MAC CE).
Applicant in page 9 of remarks argues that “In addition, the "enable/disable" mechanism in Zhang is different from the "triggering the base station to update the first cells" in claim 1
Zhang in exemplary ¶32 discloses triggering the network node to update the list of neighboring cells (cell-IDs 1-7; Fig. 1) according to L3 measurement report provided by the UE is step 220 in Fig. 2 (The network node 204 may receive the L3 report 220 and select 210 one or more cells as candidate cells based on the l3 report 220. The network node 204 may enable the candidate cells or enable a report configuration for L1 measurement for the candidate cells. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may configure the report configuration directly with the UE via higher layer signaling).
Furthermore, Zhang in exemplary ¶34 discloses triggering the network node to update the list of neighboring cells (cell-IDs 1-7; Fig. 1) according to L3 measurement report provided by the UE is step 220 in Fig. 2 (In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222).
In other words, Zhang discloses the UE reports the L3 measurement reports of the cells including the cell IDs in step 220 of the Fig. 2, the UE indicates to the network node (Fig. 2, el. 204) the cells which the UE stops to measure (stopping measuring cell-IDs 4-7; ¶25; ¶29; ¶36), trigger the network node (Fig. 2, el. 204) to update the list of cell to be measured and allow the base station to exclude the reported second cell ID (Fig. 1, cell-IDs 4-7) from the updated first cell list (Fig. 1, cell-IDs 1-3) (In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefine; ¶36).
Applicant in page 11 of remarks regarding claim 3, argues that “None of the cited paragraphs disclose "consecutive measurement values" or the criterion that L consecutive values must all be less than a threshold. Zhang merely discloses performing L3 measurements ([0029]) without any analysis of consecutive measurement values”.
Zhang in exemplary ¶24 discloses that “the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements)”.
In other words, the UE measures the periodic reference signals of the cells 1-7 shown in Fig. 1. The measurement of the periodic reference signals is consecutive measurements and includes L consecutive values.
Furthermore, see Rattner for consecutive measurement values (Fig. 3 shows L consecutive measurement of signal strength in dBm of a cell over a period of time).
Zhang in exemplary ¶36 discloses that the UE compares the periodic reference signals/the L consecutive measurements with a threshold (less than a threshold), to stop measuring the cells 4-7 of figure 1 and to exclude the cells 4-7 from the updated cell list to be measured (In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefine; ¶36).
Applicant in page 11 of remarks regarding claim 3, further argues that Zhang involves a threshold used as a condition for "enabling" CSI-reportConfig - enabling when the measurement value is greater than the threshold ([0036]). The "non-measurement threshold" in the present invention is a threshold for determining whether to "stop measurement" - when the measurement value is less than this threshold, the UE stops measurement. The Examiner's cited paragraph [0036] merely discusses a threshold for enabling CSI-reportConfig, not a threshold for stopping measurement. The functions are opposite. Therefore, Zhang fails to disclose the technical features of claim 3”.
Zhang in exemplary ¶36 discloses For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled.
In other words, Zhang discloses if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is less than a (non-measurement) threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be disabled.
Applicant in page 12 of remarks regarding claim 5, argues that “In contrast, in claim 5, the timer is started after determining that the cell is the second cell (signal difference/far distance), and measurement is stopped during this period. Therefore, Rattner fails to disclose the technical features of claims 5-6”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the timer is started after determining that the cell is the second cell) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Rattner in the same field of endeavor, cell measurement in exemplary ¶42 discloses stopping the measurement of the second cell within a timing range of a (non-measurement) timer (stopping the measurement of the cell signal strength within the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired); In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1).
Applicant in page 12 of remarks regarding claim 9 argues that “Zhang does not disclose a "non-measurement threshold value" - i.e., a threshold for determining whether to "stop measurement." Moreover, Zhang does not involve a "distance threshold value" at all. Zhang does not disclose any content based on location information or distance for selecting cells.
Zhang in exemplary ¶25 disclose a distance threshold value for determining the second cell (non-measurement cells; Fig. 1, cell-IDs: 4-7) (However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells)
Applicant in page 12 of remarks argues that “Zhang does not disclose any "non-measurement timer." In Zhang, the UE's measurement behavior is entirely controlled by network-side configuration (enabling/disabling CSI-reportConfig), not by a local timer of the UE”.
Zhang in exemplary ¶24 discloses that “the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements)”.
In other words, the UE measures the periodic reference signals of the cells 1-7 shown in Fig. 1. The UE's measurement behavior is controlled by a local timer of the UE in order to perform the measurement of the periodic reference signals of the cells 1-7 shown in Fig. 1.
Furthermore, Rattner in the same field of endeavor, cell measurement in exemplary ¶42 discloses the UE stops the measurement of the second cell during a timing range of the (non-measurement) timer (stopping the measurement of the cell signal strength within the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired); In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0180078 A1) in view of Zetterberg et. al. (US 2021/0160744 A1).
Claim 1, Zhang discloses a cell measurement (a user equipment (UE) may need to measurement the downlink reference signals from neighbor cells; abstract) method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 1, el. 102), comprising:
determining a second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from a plurality of first cells (cells 1-7; Fig.1), wherein the plurality of first cells are cells to be measured for the UE to perform mobility management (inter-cell mobility and inter-cell multi-TRP operation; abstract), the second cell being a cell selected from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1), wherein measurement of the second cell is to be stopped; and stopping the measurement of the second cell (stopping the measurements of the second cells 4, 5, 6, 7; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25); and
reporting a cell identification (ID) of the second cell, wherein the cell ID of the second cell is configured to trigger a base station to update the first cells of the UE (updating the first cells of the UE by limiting cells to the potential candidate cells by reporting the cell identification (ID) of the second cell (disabling/enabling cells); In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may receive the L3 report 220 and select 210 one or more cells as candidate cells based on the l3 report 220. The network node 204 may enable the candidate cells or enable a report configuration for L1 measurement for the candidate cells. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may configure the report configuration directly with the UE via higher layer signaling; ¶32; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34).
Furthermore, Zetterberg in the same filed of endeavor, updating neighbor list (abstract) discloses reporting a cell identification (ID) of a second cell, wherein the cell ID of the second cell is configured to trigger a base station to update the first cells of the UE (Fig. 4 shows UE 31 reporting the cell ID 19 of the cell B to the serving cell A and the serving cell A updates its neighbor list; FIG. 4 schematically illustrates a first comparative example including a conventional SI-based ANR function for a 3GPP LTE RAN 30, e.g., according to the 3GPP TS 36.300, version 15.1.0. In a step 1), the UE 31 transmits a measurement report to the serving eNB 32, containing the PCI of cell B served by eNB 33. The eNB 32 then instructs the UE 31 to read an Enhanced Cell Global Identity (ECGI), a Tracking Area Code (TAC) and all available one or more Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifiers (IDs) of the cell B. The neighbor cell B, i.e., the eNB 33, broadcasts its PLMN IDs, TAC etc. in the SIB1 message. After measuring these values, the UE 31 reports the detected ECGI to the serving eNB 32, and the eNB 32 decides to add this neighbor relation between the eNBs 32 and 33 to its list of neighbor relations; ¶106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to report a cell identification (ID) of a second cell, wherein the cell ID of the second cell is configured to trigger a base station to update the first cells of the UE, as taught by Zetterberg to modify Zhang’s method and system in order to update an neighbor list (abstract).
Claims 2, 29, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses wherein determining the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells comprises at least one of:
selecting the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) according to L consecutive reference signal measurement values of each first cell, wherein L is a positive integer (cells 4, 5, 6, 7 selected from cells 1-7 according to the N*M periodic reference signal measurements; To support L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell multi-TRP operation, a UE may need to measure downlink reference signals from neighbor cells. For example, the UE may measure Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Channel-State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) from neighbor cells. The UE is then able to use the cells and beams with the strongest signals; ¶17; the UE 102 may perform a lot of measurements if all of the neighboring cells and beams are to be measured. For example, there can be N, e.g. N=6, candidate neighbor cells, and there may be M, e.g. M=64, beams for each cell. If the UE 102 where to measure all of the beams, the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements). This number of measurements may cause the UE 102 to use a significant amount of power. Additionally, if the UE 102UE needs to measure neighbor cell reference signals; ¶24; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; In a first step, the UE 202 may perform L3 measurement and report on those L3 measurements. The measurements and reporting may be based on Layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) or Layer 3 Signal to Noise and Interference Ratio (L3-SINR) or Layer 3 Reference Signal Received Quality (L3-RSRQ). The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29); or
selecting a first cell having a distance with the UE greater than a distance threshold value as the second cell, according to location information of the plurality of first cells and location information of the UE (selecting cells having a greater distance threshold and according to the cell and the UE location in formations; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25).
Claims 3, 30, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses wherein selecting the second cell (cells 4, 5, 6, 7 selected from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) from the plurality of first cells (selecting cells 4, 5, 6, 7 from cells 1-7; Fig. 1) according to the L consecutive reference signal measurement values of each first cells comprises at least one of:
determining a first cell whose L consecutive reference signal measurement values are all less than a non-measurement threshold value as the second cell; or determining a first cell whose reference signal measurement value obtained by a latest measurement is less than the non-measurement threshold value and whose L consecutive reference signal measurement values show a descending trend as the second cell (determining cells with periodic/consecutive RS measurements meeting a criterial threshold to be selected according to the periodic/consecutive RS measurement values; the UE 102 may perform a lot of measurements if all of the neighboring cells and beams are to be measured. For example, there can be N, e.g. N=6, candidate neighbor cells, and there may be M, e.g. M=64, beams for each cell. If the UE 102 where to measure all of the beams, the UE 102 may need to measure N*M periodic reference signals for neighbor cell beam discovery (e.g. 384 measurements). This number of measurements may cause the UE 102 to use a significant amount of power. Additionally, if the UE 102UE needs to measure neighbor cell reference signals; ¶24; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; In a first step, the UE 202 may perform L3 measurement and report on those L3 measurements. The measurements and reporting may be based on Layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) or Layer 3 Signal to Noise and Interference Ratio (L3-SINR) or Layer 3 Reference Signal Received Quality (L3-RSRQ). The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claim 7, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses reporting a measurement result and a cell ID of a first cell whose reference signal measurement value is greater than or equal to a report threshold value, wherein the report threshold value is greater than the non-measurement threshold value (reporting a measurement result and the cell ID of the cell whose reference signal measurement value is greater than or equal to a report threshold value in order to be selected and being included in the candidate cells and performing L1 measurement and reporting on the selected candidate cells; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may receive the L3 report 220 and select 210 one or more cells as candidate cells based on the l3 report 220. The network node 204 may enable the candidate cells or enable a report configuration for L1 measurement for the candidate cells. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may configure the report configuration directly with the UE via higher layer signaling; ¶32; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claim 8, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses receiving a measurement configuration (UE receiving measurement configuration; Fig. 2, el. 214), wherein the measurement configuration comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration comprises, at least one of: a threshold configuration and/or a timing configuration, wherein the threshold configuration is configured to determine the second cell, and the timing configuration is configured to determine a time period during which the measurement of the second cell is stopped (configuration comprising a threshold configuration wherein the threshold configuration is configured to determine the second cell (selecting the candidate cells and enabled or disable measurement of the cells, require the measurement to meet a threshold criterial to be configured in the UE and network node); In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claim 9, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses wherein the threshold configuration indicates at least one of a non-measurement threshold value and/or a distance threshold value for determining the second cell; and the timing configuration indicates timing information of a non-measurement timer, wherein the UE stops the measurement of the second cell during a timing period of the non-measurement timer (the threshold configuration indicating a non-measurement threshold value and/or a distance threshold value for determining the second cell (meeting a threshold criterial to select the candidate cells and enable or disable measurement of the cells); selecting cells having a distance threshold; However, some measurements may be unnecessary. For example, the signal strength of the neighboring cells that are further from the UE 102 will likely be less than those closer to the UE 102. Thus, cell 4 110, cell 5 112, cell 6 114, and cell 7 116 would be unlikely to be selected to support the UE 102. Accordingly, to reduce power consumption and resources used, the UE may not perform all of the measurements on these distant neighboring cells. Instead, the UE would focus measurements on the closer cells that are actually potential candidate cells; ¶25; threshold to select the candidate cells; In some embodiments, to determine the potential candidate cells the UE 102 may perform layer 3 (L3) measurements for each of the neighboring cells. Those measurements may be used by the UE 102 or a network node to determine which cells have the strongest signal strength. These cells with strong signal strength may be grouped into a set of potential candidate cells. The UE 102 may then perform L1. measurements for the candidate cells and may restrain from performing L1 measurements for the other neighboring cells. This measurement configuration may be referred to as a L3+L1 measurement configuration. The UE 102 first performs L3 measurements and then performs L1 measurements on a subset of the cells associated with the L3 measurements measured. By limiting the number of L1 measurements, the UE 102 may conserve power and reduce system performance degradation; ¶26; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29; In another set of embodiments, the enabled and/or disabled status for a CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the neighbor cells can be determined based on how the reported L3 measurements compare to a threshold. For example, in some embodiments, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from a neighbor cell is larger than a threshold, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may also be used in combination with measurements from the current serving cell. For example, if the L3 measurements (e.g., RSRP or SINR or RSRQ) from the neighbor cell is larger than a threshold plus L3-RSRP, or L3-SINR, or L3-RSRQ measurement from current serving cell, the corresponding CSI-reportConfig can be enabled. The threshold may be configured by higher layer signaling, reported by UE, or predefined; ¶36; In some embodiments, an additional condition for L3 measurement may be introduced for UE 202 to send the MAC CE request. For example, the UE 202 may compare the L3 measurement to a threshold or to a threshold plus an L3 measurement from the current serving cell. In some embodiments, the status report (e.g., MAC CE) may be carried by Uplink Control Information (UCI) or RRC signaling; ¶39).
Claims 10, 28, Zhang in view of Zetterberg discloses wherein the measurement configuration further comprises: a second configuration (UE measurement configuration; The network node 204 may be a serving cell for the UE 202. The network node 204 may transmit a configuration message 214 to the UE 202. The configuration message 214 may be used to configure the UE 202 to perform neighbor cell beam discovery based on an L3 first L1 second (L1+L3) measurement scheme; ¶28; The network node 204 may provide several measurement objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements for intra-frequency and inter-frequency for neighbor cell measurement. These measurement objects may be configured for neighbor cell measurement in a measurement configuration (MeasConfig) information element and multiple Channel-State Information report configurations (CSI-reportConfig) information elements with neighbor cell reference signals configured in CSI-resourceConfig information element by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (e.g., RRC message 216 and 218); ¶29);
wherein the second configuration comprises a cell list, and the cell list comprises cell IDs of the plurality of first cells (configuration comprising a cell list/candidate cells comprising the cell IDs of set of the cells; For example, in some embodiments after receiving the L3 report 220, a CSI-reportConfig associated with neighbor cell RS can be enabled. The network node 204 may enable the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to a candidate cell based on higher layer signaling 222, (e.g. Medium Access Control control element (MAC CE) or RRC). In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) may include component carrier (CC) ID or a CC list to support cross-CC activation. In some embodiments, the higher layer signaling 222 (e.g., MAC CE) can include a set of enabled physical cell ID and/or disabled physical cell ID. The enabled physical cell ID set and the disabled physical cell ID set may be where the CSI-reportConfig corresponding to the physical cell ID can be enabled or disabled. In some embodiments, the network node 204 may only include enabled physical cell ID set in the higher layer signaling 222, and CSI-reportConfig associated with the rest physical cell IDs should be considered by the UE 202 to be “disabled.” In another embodiment, both an enabled and a disabled physical cell ID set are included in the higher layer signaling 222; ¶33-¶34).
Claim 11, analyzed with respect to claims 1, 4, 8 and 10.
Claim 25, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 25 disclosed by Zhang, a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 1, el. 102), comprising: a processor (network controller circuitry 414; Fig. 4; ¶73), a transceiver (one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM); Fig. 4; ¶73), and a memory (memory circuitry 408; Fig. 4; ¶73) having programs stored executable by the processor, stored thereon, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor (FIG. 4 illustrates an example of infrastructure equipment 400 in accordance with various embodiments. The infrastructure equipment 400 may be implemented as a base station, radio head, RAN node, AN, application server, and/or any other element/device discussed herein. In other examples, the infrastructure equipment 400 could be implemented in or by a UE. The infrastructure equipment 400 includes application circuitry 402, baseband circuitry 404, one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM), memory circuitry 408, power management integrated circuitry (shown as PMIC 410), power tee circuitry 412, network controller circuitry 414, network interface connector 420, satellite positioning circuitry 416, and user interface circuitry 418. In some embodiments, the device infrastructure equipment 400 may include additional elements such as, for example, memory/storage, display, camera, sensor, or input/output (I/O) interface. In other embodiments, the components described below may be included in more than one device. For example, said circuitries may be separately included in more than one device for CRAN, vBBU, or other like implementations. Application circuitry 402 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI, I.sup.2C or universal programmable serial interface module, real time clock (RTC), tinier-counters including interval and watchdog timers, general purpose input/output (I/O or IO), memory card controllers such as Secure Digital (SD) MultiMediaCard (MMC) or similar, Universal Serial Bus (USB) interfaces, Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces and Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) test access ports. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 402 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 400. In some implementations, the memory/storage elements may be on-chip memory circuitry, which may include any suitable volatile and/or non-volatile memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, EPROM, EEPROM, Flash memory, solid-state memory, and/or any other type of memory device technology, such as those discussed herein; ¶72-¶73).
Claim 27, Zhang discloses a base station, comprising: a processor (network controller circuitry 414; Fig. 4; ¶73); a transceiver (one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM); Fig. 4; ¶73); and a memory (memory circuitry 408; Fig. 4; ¶73) having programs executable by the processor stored thereon, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to perform the cell measurement configuration processing method of claim 11 (FIG. 4 illustrates an example of infrastructure equipment 400 in accordance with various embodiments. The infrastructure equipment 400 may be implemented as a base station, radio head, RAN node, AN, application server, and/or any other element/device discussed herein. In other examples, the infrastructure equipment 400 could be implemented in or by a UE. The infrastructure equipment 400 includes application circuitry 402, baseband circuitry 404, one or more radio front end module 406 (RFEM), memory circuitry 408, power management integrated circuitry (shown as PMIC 410), power tee circuitry 412, network controller circuitry 414, network interface connector 420, satellite positioning circuitry 416, and user interface circuitry 418. In some embodiments, the device infrastructure equipment 400 may include additional elements such as, for example, memory/storage, display, camera, sensor, or input/output (I/O) interface. In other embodiments, the components described below may be included in more than one device. For example, said circuitries may be separately included in more than one device for CRAN, vBBU, or other like implementations. Application circuitry 402 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI, I.sup.2C or universal programmable serial interface module, real time clock (RTC), tinier-counters including interval and watchdog timers, general purpose input/output (I/O or IO), memory card controllers such as Secure Digital (SD) MultiMediaCard (MMC) or similar, Universal Serial Bus (USB) interfaces, Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces and Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) test access ports. The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 402 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the infrastructure equipment 400. In some implementations, the memory/storage elements may be on-chip memory circuitry, which may include any suitable volatile and/or non-volatile memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, EPROM, EEPROM, Flash memory, solid-state memory, and/or any other type of memory device technology, such as those discussed herein; ¶72-¶73).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0180078 A1) in view of Zetterberg et. al. (US 2021/0160744 A1) and Rattner et. al. (US 2015/0230157 A1).
Claims 5, 32, Rattner in the same field of endeavor, cell measurement and pruning a spurious cell discloses wherein stopping the measurement of the second cell comprises: stopping the measurement of the second cell within a timing range of a non-measurement timer (stopping the measurement of the candidate cell signal strength within the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired); In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1; ¶42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to stop the measurement of the second cell that comprises stopping the measurement of the second cell within a timing range of a non-measurement timer, as taught by Rattner to modify Zhang’s method and system in view of Zetterberg in order to perform cell measurement and to prune a spurious cell (title; abstract).
Claims 6, 33, Rattner discloses determining that the non-measurement timer has expired and no updated first cell is received, and restoring the measurement of the second cell (the timer range (TTT set and TTT expired) and no pruning occurred to receive updated candidate cell list by UE and restoring to perform the cell measurement; In FIG. 3, a solid line 307 represents a cell energy threshold as defined by the network, and dashed lines 309 and 311 represent a hysteresis window defined by a hysteresis parameter provided by the network. As the UE 210 measures the signal strength of a candidate cell, a timer for Event 3C associated with the candidate cell (e.g., Event 3C TTT) is set (or gets started) when the Event 3C reporting condition is first satisfied at T0; that is, when the candidate cell's energy meets or exceeds the threshold plus half the hysteresis window size at K1. For each subsequent measurement by the UE 210, the Event 3C TTT remains set until one of two conditions occurs: (i) the Event 3C TTT timer expires at T1; and (ii) the candidate cell's energy dips below the threshold minus half the hysteresis K0. When the condition (i) occurs (e.g., the Event 3C TTT expires), the UE 210 reports Event 3C to the network via a Measurement Report message. When the condition (ii) occurs, the UE 210 resets or clears the Event 3C TTT timer and stops evaluating the candidate cell for Event 3C reporting. In this case, the UE 210 may not restart Event 3C evaluation unless a future measurement occurs where the candidate cell's energy meets the threshold plus half the hysteresis widow at K1; ¶42).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471