DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the grip members are “indirectly exposed” by the foam. It is unclear what is meant by “indirectly”, as the grip members are within the foam and in direct contact with the foam.
The term “and/or” in this claim renders it indefinite, as it is unclear how the foam would both indirectly expose the grip members in a second foam configuration upon application of pressure (as recited in claim 1) in combination with wetting of the foam.
Claim 2 recites “upon wetting of the foam”, wherein it is unclear what structure/property is being claimed, as the originally filed specification lacks any other description of “wetting.” Since a foam material is normally understood to absorb/ wick fluid, it is unclear how the foam would perform a “wetting” function (wherein the term “wetting” is normally used to refer to the act of a fluid spreading on a surface of a solid material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2015/0142023 (Tannhauser et al.).
Tannhauser discloses a composite implant comprising a mesh (70) including a first face and a second face opposite the first face (Fig. 1; [0037]) in combination with a plurality of grip members (20) attached to a first face of the mesh, and a compressible foam (80) covering the entire length of the plurality of grip members in a first configuration (see description of containment member formed of foam at [0032]).
In the first foam configuration, each of the plurality of grip members includes a body (legs 30) extending between a first end (tips 50) attached to the mesh (the legs 30 and piercing points 50 are embedded within and fixed to the first face of the mesh via compressible material 80) and a second end (cross-piece 40) free of the mesh (the second end being the cross-member 40). As best shown in Figure 1B, the second end (cross-piece 40) is considered to be covered by the foam (80) since it is positioned in a recessed portion (92) of the foam (80). Tannhauser further explains that the entire length of the grip member (20) can be contained within the foam (80) without a cavity (90) [0036]. The compressible foam (80) transitions from a first foam configuration having a first thickness (Figure 1C) to a second foam configuration having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness upon the application of pressure thereto (see Figure 1D; [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Tannhauser discloses the grip members (20) are concealed within the compressible foam (80) and in an inactive gripping configuration in the first foam configuration (Fig. 1C) and are exposed by the compressible foam (80) and in an active configuration in the second foam configuration (compressed Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 3, Tannhauser discloses each of the following:
(a) the compressible foam (80) in the first configuration further covers the body of each of the plurality of grip members (the body being the legs between the tips 50 and cross piece 40)
(b) the first thickness of the foam (80) is greater than or equal to a length of the body of each of the plurality of grip members (the body being the legs 30 between the tips 50 and cross piece 40; see esp. Fig 1B)
(c) the compressible foam (80) in the first configuration covers only a portion of the body of each of the plurality of grip members (wherein the cross-piece 40 may be considered to be part of the body that is not covered by the foam 80 in the first configuration; see esp. Figure 1B)
(d) the first thickness of the foam (80) is smaller than a length of each of the plurality of grip members (since the cross-piece of Figure 1B is exposed in the first configuration, the first thickness of the foam is less than the total length of the grip member 20).
Regarding claim 6: the plurality of grip members (20) are concealed within the compressible foam and in an inactive gripping configuration in the first foam configuration of Figure 1B & C) and the grip members are directly exposed in an active gripping configuration in the second foam configuration (Figure 1D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2015/0142023 (Tannhauser et al.) in view of USPAP 2011/0238094 (Thomas et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Tannhauser fails to disclose the mesh has a slit, opening or both. Regarding claim 7: Tannhauser fails to disclose a flap mesh extending across the slit and overlapping a first portion of the first mesh face. Thomas discloses a mesh (320b) having a slit (360) [0059], and a mesh flap (320a) that overlaps the slit (360) and a portion (380) of the mesh (see Figure 3A-3B). Thomas teaches that grip members (330) are moved to an activated configuration of Fig. 3B to attach the flap mesh (320a) to the mesh having a slit (320b) [0059-0060]. Thomas teaches that the tissue patch having a flap is an alternative to a patch without a slit/opening (Figure 1A). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute the mesh of Tannhauser with the mesh having a flap taught by Thomas, as the modification merely involves a substation of one mesh shape for another that obtains a predictable result of treating varying patient anatomy.
Since Thomas teaches that the flap mesh (320a) comprises grip members (330) that penetrate the mesh (320b), it would have been further obvious to configure the plurality of grip members of modified Tannhauser to extend from one of the first portion of the first mesh face or the first portion of the second flap face, in order to provide fixation of overlapping edges of the mesh portions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8114100 discloses the concept of a tissue anchor with a compressible foam that covers the piercing tip in a first uncompressed configuration.
/SARAH W ALEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774