DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Θ13, Θ14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 4, lines 3-4, it is unclear as to how “the first flute further comprises a fourth region positioned between the first region and the second region” when a third region has not been introduced or disclosed in either independent claim 1 or dependent claim 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hecht (US 8,696,262 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hecht discloses a cutting insert (24; Figs. 5-6) extending from a front end (FE) toward a rear end (RE) along a central axis (CA), the cutting insert (24) comprising a cutting portion (CP) positioned at a side of the front end (FE) and comprising a cutting edge (56) positioned at the front end (FE), and a main body portion (MBP) positioned closer to the rear end (RE) than the cutting portion (CP), wherein the main body portion (MBP) comprises an upper surface (48) comprising a first flute (FF), the first flute (1F) having a V-shape (pg. 4, lines 21-25) extending along the central axis (CA), and a lower surface (50) positioned on a side opposite from the upper surface (48), and comprising a second flute (2F), the second flute (2F) having a V-shape extending along the central axis (CA), wherein the first flute (1F) comprises a first region (1R) positioned at a side of the rear end (RE), and a second region (2R) positioned closer to the front end (FE) than first region (1R), wherein an opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the first region (1R) is smaller than an opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the second region (2R), and wherein an opening angle of the second flute (2F) is constant in a direction (L) along the central axis (CA).
Regarding claim 2, Hecht discloses wherein the first flute (1F) further comprises a third region (3R) positioned closer to the front end (FE) than the second region (2R), and wherein an opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the third region (3R) is smaller than the opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the second region (2R).
Regarding claim 3, Hecht discloses wherein the opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the third region (3R) is the same as the opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the first region (3R).
Regarding claim 5, Hecht discloses wherein a length of the second region (2R) is greater than a length of the first region (1R), in a direction (L) along the central axis (CA).
Regarding claim 6, Hecht discloses wherein the opening angle of the second flute (2F) is the same as the opening angle of the first flute (1F) in the second region (2R).
[AltContent: textbox (2F)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2F)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CA)][AltContent: textbox (RE)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (FE)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CP)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (MBP)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1R)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2R)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (3R)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht (US 8,696,262 B2) in view of Sakai (JP 2015-188949 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hecht discloses a holder () comprising a pocket () positioned at the first end, the cutting insert of claim 1 with the cutting insert () being positioned in the pocket.
Hecht, however, does not disclose the following: the holder comprising a rod shape extending from a first end to a second end; a method for manufacturing a machined product, the method comprising: rotating a workpiece; bringing the cutting tool according into contact with the workpiece being rotated; or separating the cutting tool from the workpiece.
Sakai discloses a cutting tool (101; Fig. 7) comprising a holder (105) having a rod shape extending from a first end to a second end. Sakei also discloses manufacturing a machined product (201; Fig. 12) by rotating (see Fig. 10) a workpiece (201), bringing (Fig. 11) a cutting tool (101) into contact with the workpiece (201) being rotated, and separating (Fig. 12) the cutting tool (10) from the workpiece (201).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cutting tool of Hecht with a holder comprising a rod shape extending from a first end to a second end, to manufacture a machined product by rotating a workpiece, bringing the cutting tool of Hecht according into contact with the workpiece being rotated, and separating the cutting tool from the workpiece, in light of the teachings of Sakai, in order to stably hold a cutting tool while cutting a rotating workpiece.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show cutting inserts.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
March 11, 2026