DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not appear to disclose that the roaming restriction easer eases the restriction on roaming connection “proactively during normal time independent of any network degradation condition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al (WO 2021/007,447; hereinafter Qiao) in view of Mariyani et al (US 12,160,747; hereinafter Mariyani) further in view of Dhanda et al (US 2013/0,095,863; hereinafter Dhanda).
Regarding claim 1, 10, and 11, Qiao disclose a communication control apparatus (AMF/SMF 1) comprising at least one processor (para. [00213]), method, and computer readable medium (pg. 87, line 23-25) storing a control program (para. [00230]) causing a computer to perform:
by a roaming restriction area setter, setting a roaming restriction area in which roaming connection is restricted during normal time and roaming connection is allowed during emergency (during a disaster/overload condition in the second PLMN, the AMF 1 may determine allowed roaming service information, e.g. an allowed service location area and allowed service type allowed to wireless devices of the visitor/second PLMN/disaster PLMN when the wireless device(s) access to the first PLMN, wherein when there is no disaster (i.e. normal time), wireless devices of the second PLMN are not configured to access the first PLMN, and the first PLMN is not included in a roaming list of the wireless devices of the second PLMN; paras. [00151], [00208]); and
by a roaming restriction easer, easing the restriction on roaming connection during normal time for a specific communication cell included in the roaming restriction area to allow roaming connection to the specific communication cell, wherein the normal time is a time period other than during the emergency (the allowed service location area may indicate location area allowed for the wireless device(s) of the second PLMN when the wireless device(s) access to the first PLMN in a condition, e.g. in a temporary network overload or network traffic congestion, and/or the like, e.g. temporary network technical hardware/software issue which is not considered a disaster or emergency condition, e.g. a tsunami, earthquake, fire or flood situations, the location area may be a geographic area, tracking area, a cell area, etc.; the AMF 1 send a configuration message to indicate one or more cells supporting the second PLMN, e.g. supporting a wireless device of the second PLMN accessing to the one or more cells of the first PLMN; paras. [00148], [00151], [00155]). Qiao do not explicitly disclose allow roaming connection to a specific cell in a normal time. In the same field of endeavor, Mariyani teach a user device in normal time, i.e. when there’s no emergency, requesting access to a desired requested network service, e.g. PSTN call, voice over LTE call, voice over new radio, data, etc., and when it is determined that one or more key performance indicators (KPI) has degraded more than a threshold amount during a period of time, the one or more KPI may be at least one of a peak data rate, peak spectral efficiency, user-experienced data rate, area traffic capacity, latency in the user plane, connection density, average spectral efficiency, bandwidth, call drop rate, call failure rate, and other related performance factors that impact a wireless network's ability to provide desirable service to a legitimate user device, or when traffic utilization at a particular location, e.g. cell node, geographic area, etc., has increased, the user device may communicate an attach request or a data connection to a radio access network (RAN) which may be a visiting or roaming network, i.e. a non-home network access, and the user device is temporary authorized access to the requested network service if there is no access restriction on the requested user device (col 6, line 54 – col 7, line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to permit the user device access to a non-home network if the quality of the network service has degraded even when there’s not an emergency situation. Qiao and Mariyani do not disclose wherein the easing is performed during normal time before an emergency occurs. In the same field of endeavor, Dhanda disclose wherein the easing is performed during normal time before an emergency occurs (restriction is eased when the current state is not congested which is before an emergency/congested state occurs; paras. [0099]-[0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to allow communication channel access when the state of congestion is not congested or before an emergency/congested state occurs.
Regarding claim 2, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roaming restriction area includes a plurality of communication cells (the AMF 1 send a configuration message to indicate one or more cells supporting the second PLMN, e.g. supporting a wireless device of the second PLMN accessing to the one or more cells of the first PLMN; Qiao, para. [00155]).
Regarding claim 5, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roaming restriction easer eases the restriction on roaming connection during normal time for a communication cell included in the roaming restriction area that uses a specific radio access technology (radio access technology (RAT) type or allowed service type related to the allowed service location area that has the restriction ease, e.g. cell, having base station (e.g. radio access network, RAN 1) of the first PLMN; Qiao, paragraphs [0010], [0075], [00150]-[00151], [00154]).
Regarding claim 6, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roaming restriction area setter sets the roaming restriction area in units of tracking area (allowed service location area may include one or more tracking areas; Qiao, paragraphs [00154]-[00155], [00208]).
Regarding claim 7, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor performs, by a restriction easing information provider, providing restriction easing information that can identify the specific communication cell for which the restriction on roaming connection during normal time has been eased by the roaming restriction easer, to the network providing connection before roaming (providing information on one or more cells, e.g. the AMF 1 may send to the network providing connection, the radio access network (RAN 1) of the first PLMN, a configuration message to indicate one or more cells supporting the second PLMN, e.g. supporting a wireless device of the second PLMN accessing the one or more cells of the first PLMN; Qiao, paras. [00153]-[00155], [00142]; Dhanda, ¶ [0101]).
Regarding claim 14, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor performs: by a connection controller, determining whether to connect a communication device to the specific communication cell based on: a determination that a current time is during normal time; and a determination that communication quality of a home cell belonging to a home network of the communication device is insufficient for the communication device (Mariyani; col 6, line 54 - col 7, line 5).
Regarding claim 15, 16, and 17, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus, method, and non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 1, 10, and 11 respectively, wherein the roaming restriction easer eases the restriction on roaming connection proactively during normal time independent of any network degradation condition (restriction is eased when the current state is not congested; Dhanda; paras. [0099]-[0102]).
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (WO 2021/007,447) in view of Mariyani et al (US 12,160,747) in view of Dhanda et al (US 2013/0,095,863) further in view of Edge (US 2023/0,362,640).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 2 and 1 respectively, wherein Qiao disclose the roaming restriction area includes a terrestrial communication cell provided on the ground by a terrestrial base station installed on the ground (the coverage of the affected one or more base stations (e.g. (R)AN 1) of the first PLMN may be close to the failed network location of the second PLMN, e.g. the AMF 1 may determine affected/associated one or more base stations (e.g. (R)AN 1) based on the overloaded network location of the second PLMN, the allowed service location area may indicate location area allowed for the wireless device(s) of the second PLMN when the wireless device(s) access to the first PLMN in a condition, e.g. in an overload condition, the location area may be a cell area (paragraphs [00150]-[00151]). Qiao and Mariyani do not disclose the roaming restriction area includes a non-terrestrial communication cell provided on the ground by a flying non-terrestrial base station, and the roaming restriction easer eases the restriction on roaming connection during normal time for the non-terrestrial communication cell included in the roaming restriction area. In the same field of endeavor, Edge disclose the roaming restriction area includes a non-terrestrial communication cell provided on the ground by a flying non-terrestrial base station, and the roaming restriction easer eases the restriction on roaming connection during normal time for the non-terrestrial communication cell included in the roaming restriction area while maintaining the restriction on roaming connection during normal time for the terrestrial communication cell (the AMF determines if roaming service can be provided based on the current location, the coverage information can be provided to a UE to enable the UE to know when there will be coverage at a particular location for one or more RATs for Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTNs) having satellite cells and possibly Terrestrial Networks (TNs); paragraphs [0031], [0035], [0374], [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide for coverage area(s) of the satellite(s) may be desirable to improve UE operation with satellite-based communications and may enable more efficient use of network resources and better communication service to UEs (Edge; ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Qiao, Mariyani, Dhanda, and Edge disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the non-terrestrial base station is a communication satellite flying in outer space (a UE, e.g., may access a satellite via a satellite cell instead of a terrestrial base station; Edge, paras. [0032], [0035]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (WO 2021/007,447) in view of Mariyani et al (US 12,160,747) Dhanda et al (US 2013/0,095,863)
further in view of Vamanan et al (US 2022/0,264,275; hereinafter Vamanan).
Regarding claim 9, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roaming restriction area setter sets the roaming restriction area in which roaming connection is prohibited during normal time, and the roaming restriction easer lifts the prohibition of roaming connection during normal time for a specific communication cell included in the roaming restriction area (the wireless device may be not configured to access the first PLMN when there is no network condition or emergency event, e.g. the first PLMN may be not included in a roaming list of the wireless device during normal time, the AMF 1 may send to the (R)AN 1 a configuration message to indicate a wireless device of the second PLMN may access the PLMN 1 in a geographic area for 2 hours , paras. [00208], [00155]). Qiao do not explicitly disclose a prohibited roaming connection area. In the same field of endeavor, Vamanan disclose a forbidden roaming connection area (paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to block or exclude the wireless device from accessing the other network considering limited resources available of the other network which are allocated to service the wireless devices that are in its home PLMN, or due to an operator of the home PLMN of the UE not having a service agreement in place that allows UE 110 to operate on the forbidden PLMN (Qiao, ¶ [00155], Vamanan, ¶ [0030]).
Claim 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al
(WO 2021/007,447) in view of Mariyani et al (US 12,160,747) Dhanda et al (US 2013/0,095,863) further in view of Arora et al (US 9,204,373; hereinafter Arora).
Regarding claim 8, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the restriction easing information provider provides the restriction easing information to the network providing connection before roaming during normal time (providing to the network providing connection, e.g. first PLMN, status information of a second PLMN and to enable a wireless device of the second PLMN to access to the first PLMN, e.g. when there is a temporary network glitch or traffic overload in the second PLMN, the AMF 1 may send to the (R)AN 1 a configuration message to indicate one or more cells supporting the second PLMN, e.g. supporting a wireless device of the second PLMN accessing to the one or more cells of the first PLMN, e.g. the AMF 1 may send to the network providing connection, the radio access network (RAN 1) of the first PLMN, a configuration message to indicate a wireless device of the second PLMN may access the PLMN 1 in a geographic area for 2 hours, e.g. considering the resource condition of the PLMN 1; Qiao, paragraphs [00153]-[00155], [00142]; Dhanda, ¶ [0101]). Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda do not explicitly disclose the restriction easing information provider provides the restriction easing information to the network providing connection before roaming during normal time. In the same field of endeavor, Arora disclose the restriction easing information provider provides the restriction easing information to the network providing connection before roaming during normal time (claim 16, claim 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to enable expedited call re-establishment using a neighbor cell system information that was collected before an emergency/congested state occurs to prepare ahead in case a failure event of a call in the serving cell occurs (Arora, clm. 20).
Regarding claim 12, Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda disclose the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor performs, by a restriction easing information provider, providing restriction easing information identifying the specific communication cell to a network providing connection before roaming, during normal time before an emergency occurs (Dhanda; ¶ [0101]). Qiao, Mariyani, and Dhanda do not explicitly disclose the at least one processor performs, by a restriction easing information provider, providing restriction easing information identifying the specific communication cell to a network providing connection before roaming, during normal time before an emergency occurs. In the same field of endeavor, Arora disclose providing an identified neighbor cell that is accessible and neighbor cell system information for call re-establishment in the event of failure of the call using the identified cell system information obtained prior to failure of the call, the system information comprises a set of parameters that enable a mobile station to establish a connection to the neighbor cell in the event a connection to the serving cell is lost; claim 16, claim 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to enable expedited call re-establishment using a neighbor cell system information that was collected before an emergency/congested state occurs to prepare ahead in case a failure event of a call in the serving cell occurs (Arora, claim 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Gandhi et al (US 7,228,134) disclose method of minimizing reverse channel interference caused by an abnormally high number of access attempts in a wireless communications system
- Sauter et al (US 2004/0,209,623) discloses a network comprising a base station and a plurality of mobile subscribers and the base station broadcasts signalization to all subscribers comprising selected access classes which are barred from access to the network upon receipt of the signalization, the load condition of the network is checked in regular time periods, and the number of barred access classes is increased or decreased dependent on a load threshold value
- Hashmi et al (US 2026/0,032,560) disclose a method and apparatus for controlling radio access technologies restrictions in wireless networks
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648