DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 23-26, 30-31, 33, and 38 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 16, 17, 23, 24, 25, 26, 33, and 38,is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAHN (US 20130322325 A1)
In regards to claim 1, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a method for group handover, applied to a source network device, comprising: performing a handover decision (See [Fig. 8 A] source network device, serving DeNB, performs a handover decision, HO decision S303); and after determining to perform the group handover, transmitting a handover request message to a target network device wherein the handover request message carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group ([Fig. 8A] also shows the serving DeNB, transmitting a handover request message, Handover Request (UE List) S304, to a target network device, target eNB, wherein the Handover Request, carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group, UE List ).
In regards to claim 23, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a source network device, comprising: a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under a control of the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the source network device to perform the method of claim 1 ( HAHN [0220 - 0221] teach a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under control of a processor, implementing the proposed functions and methods, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor cause the source network device, serving DeNB, to perform the method of claim 1, “[0220] A mobile relay node or a serving DeNB 900 may include a processor 910, a memory 920 and a RF unit 930. The processor 910 may be configured to implement proposed functions, procedures and/or methods described in this description. Layers of the radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 910. The memory 920 is operatively coupled with the processor 910 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 910. The RF unit 930 is operatively coupled with the processor 910, and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. [0221] The processor 910 may include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), another chip set, a logical circuit, and/or a data processing unit. The RF unit 920 may include a baseband circuit for processing radio signals. In software implemented, the aforementioned methods can be implemented with a module (i.e., process, function, etc.) for performing the aforementioned functions. The module may be performed by the processor 910.”, ).
In regards to claim 11, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a method for group handover, applied to a target network device, comprising: receiving a handover request message transmitted from a source network device, wherein the handover request message carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group ([Fig. 8A] also shows the serving DeNB, transmitting a handover request message, Handover Request (UE List) S304, to a target network device, target eNB, wherein the Handover Request, carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group, UE List ).
In regards to claim 33, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a target network device, comprising: a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under a control of the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the target network device to perform the method of claim 11 ( HAHN [219] teaches a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under control of a processor, implementing the proposed functions and methods, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor cause the source network device, serving DeNB, to perform the method of claim 11, “[0219] An target eNB 800 includes a processor 810, a memory 820, and an RF (radio frequency) unit 830. The processor 810 may be configured to implement proposed functions, procedures, and/or methods in this description. Layers of the radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 810. The memory 820 is operatively coupled with the processor 810 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 810. The RF unit 830 is operatively coupled with the processor 810, and transmits and/or receives a radio signal).
In regards to claim 16, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a method for group handover, applied to a terminal, comprising: transmitting a measurement report message to a source network device based on a received measurement configuration (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
In regards to claim 38, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under a control of the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform the method of claim 16 ( HAHN [0220 - 0221] teach a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under control of a processor, implementing the proposed functions and methods, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor cause the terminal, mobile relay node, to perform the method of claim 16, “[0220] A mobile relay node or a serving DeNB 900 may include a processor 910, a memory 920 and a RF unit 930. The processor 910 may be configured to implement proposed functions, procedures and/or methods described in this description. Layers of the radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 910. The memory 920 is operatively coupled with the processor 910 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 910. The RF unit 930 is operatively coupled with the processor 910, and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. [0221] The processor 910 may include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), another chip set, a logical circuit, and/or a data processing unit. The RF unit 920 may include a baseband circuit for processing radio signals. In software implemented, the aforementioned methods can be implemented with a module (i.e., process, function, etc.) for performing the aforementioned functions. The module may be performed by the processor 910.”, ).
In regards to claim 2, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first indication information comprises one or more of the following: a group identifier; identification information of an intra-group relay terminal; identification information of an intra-group remote terminal; and user equipment (UE) context information corresponding to intra-group member terminals ([Fig. 8A] also shows the serving DeNB, transmitting a handover request message, Handover Request (UE List) S304, to a target network device, target eNB, wherein the Handover Request, carries UE List that is context information corresponding to intra-group member terminals ).
In regards to claim 24, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the device of claim 23, wherein the first indication information comprises one or more of the following: a group identifier; identification information of an intra-group relay terminal; identification information of an intra-group remote terminal; and user equipment (UE) context information corresponding to intra-group member terminals([Fig. 8A] also shows the serving DeNB, transmitting a handover request message, Handover Request (UE List) S304, to a target network device, target eNB, wherein the Handover Request, carries UE List that is context information corresponding to intra-group member terminals ).
In regards to claim 3, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a measurement report message from a terminal, and performing the handover decision based on the measurement report message (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, which is received by the serving DeNB, and the serving DeNB, performing HO Decision 303, based on measurement reports S302).
In regards to claim 25, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the device of claim 23, wherein the operation further comprises: receiving a measurement report message from a terminal, and performing the handover decision based on the measurement report message(HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, which is received by the serving DeNB, and the serving DeNB, performing HO Decision 303, based on measurement reports S302).
In regards to claim 4, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving a measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; or, receiving a measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; transmitting a measurement configuration only to the intra-group relay terminal; or, transmitting a measurement configuration to all or part of the intra-group member terminals, and allowing only the intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report; wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, the method further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration to each intra-group member terminal that is required to perform the measurement report; receiving the measurement report message transmitted from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
In regards to claim 26, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the device of claim 25, wherein the operation further comprises: receiving a measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; or, receiving a measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal, the operation further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration only to the intra-group relay terminal; or, transmitting a measurement configuration to all or part of the intra-group member terminals, and allowing only the intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report; wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, the operation further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration to each intra-group member terminal that is required to perform the measurement report; wherein the operation further comprises: receiving the measurement report message transmitted from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals(HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
In regards to claim 17, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the method of claim 16, wherein in case that the measurement configuration only allows an intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report, the transmitting the measurement report message to the source network device comprises: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, transmitting the measurement report message to the source network device (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
In regards to claim 12, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein after receiving the handover request message transmitted from the source network device, the method further comprises any one of the following: performing group admission decision to determine that all intra-group member terminals are admissible, transmitting a handover request acknowledgement message to the source network device; performing group admission decision to determine that only part of intra-group member terminals are admissible, transmitting a handover request acknowledgement message to the source network device, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information is used for indicating identification information of admissible intra-group member terminals; and performing group admission decision to determine that only part of bearers of part of intra-group member terminals are admissible, transmitting a handover request acknowledgement message to the source network device, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message comprises fifth indication information, and the fifth indication information is used for indicating identification information of admissible intra-group member terminals and information of admissible bearers of the admissible intra-group member terminals (“[0108] The method described in FIG. 7 may be applied when a high speed train stops at a station in a high speed public transportation scenario. The UEs try to handover to the target eNB. The mobile relay forwards a handover request message containing the list of UEs toward the target eNB when it receives the measurement reports from a group of corresponding UEs. That is, during each predefined (subsequent) time period, the handover requests from multiple UEs are grouped into a single handover request for the same target eNB and the grouped handover requests are sent to the respective target eNBs on the time period basis. The number of the grouped handover request may be at least one. That is, a plurality of UEs may be grouped into a single group or a plurality of groups. When a target eNB receives the handover request message, it performs the admission control for the UEs. The target eNB then returns a handover request acknowledge message containing the list of admitted UEs for handover. If the plurality of UEs is grouped into the plurality of groups, the handover request acknowledge message may contain the list of admitted UEs for each group.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of CAI (US 20110080891 A1).
In regards to claim 9, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. CAI (US 20110080891 A1) teaches a group handover feature where a handover request message, HO Request 710, further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal, the intra-group relay terminal is changed from SRN 102 to TRN 402. WALLENTIN (US 2019/0239132) also teaches with respect to the group handover feature where after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message, HO Req ACK 720, transmitted from the target network device, TDeNB, notifying other intra-group member terminals, UE 110, of a new intra-group relay terminal, TRN 402, through a source intra-group relay terminal, SRN 102, in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed, by transmitting a RRC reconfig message (See, [Fig. 7] and [Par 43 – Par. 56]).
Thus, based upon the teachings of CAI (US 20110080891 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1), by adopting the relay handover feature seen in the group handover feature of CAI (US 20110080891 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to select a most effective relay for providing the desired group communication.
In regards to claim 31, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the device of claim 23, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; wherein the operation further comprises: after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. CAI (US 20110080891 A1) teaches a group handover feature where a handover request message, HO Request 710, further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal, the intra-group relay terminal is changed from SRN 102 to TRN 402. WALLENTIN (US 2019/0239132) also teaches with respect to the group handover feature where after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message, HO Req ACK 720, transmitted from the target network device, TDeNB, notifying other intra-group member terminals, UE 110, of a new intra-group relay terminal, TRN 402, through a source intra-group relay terminal, SRN 102, in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed, by transmitting a RRC reconfig message (See, [Fig. 7] and [Par 43 – Par. 56]).
Thus, based upon the teachings of CAI (US 20110080891 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1), by adopting the relay handover feature seen in the group handover feature of CAI (US 20110080891 A1), to thus arrive at the device of claim 23, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; wherein the operation further comprises: after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to select a most effective relay for providing the desired group communication.
Claim(s) 8, 20, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of YING (US 20200128447 A1).
In regards to claim 8, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 3, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 3, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN.
In regards to claim 30, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the device of claim 25, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at the device of claim 25, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN.
In regards to claim 20, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device; or, in case that the intra-group relay terminal is changed and a source intra-group relay terminal notifies other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal, receiving the new intra-group relay terminal notified by the source intra-group relay terminals, releasing a direct communication connection with the source intra-group relay terminals, and establishing a direct communication connection with the new intra-group relay terminal; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, after completing random access to a target network device or transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message to a target network device, transmitting seventh indication information to other intra-group member terminals, wherein the seventh indication information is used for indicating other intra-group member terminals to transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network device through the intra-group relay terminal. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
YING also teaches receiving, by an intra-group member terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device (See [Fig. 9A – Fig 9B] where a source network device, source eNB, transmits a RRC reconfiguration message, S3092 Forward the third RRC reconfiguration message, to an intra-group member terminal, remote UE, through an intra-group relay terminal, relay UE. Also see [Par. 44 – Par. 45] which further describes where the source eNB transmits the third RRC configuration to the remote UE via the relay UE).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at t the method of claim 16, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device; or, in case that the intra-group relay terminal is changed and a source intra-group relay terminal notifies other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal, receiving the new intra-group relay terminal notified by the source intra-group relay terminals, releasing a direct communication connection with the source intra-group relay terminals, and establishing a direct communication connection with the new intra-group relay terminal; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, after completing random access to a target network device or transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message to a target network device, transmitting seventh indication information to other intra-group member terminals, wherein the seventh indication information is used for indicating other intra-group member terminals to transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network device through the intra-group relay terminal, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN and to also provide access information to an intra-group member terminal during handover through communication of a RRC reconfiguration message.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1).
In regards to claim 13, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 11, wherein the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; the method further comprises: changing an intra-group relay terminal based on the measurement result. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) teaches a group handover feature comprising a method where a handover request message, handover request message, comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell, target eNB 503. The method further comprises changing an intra-group relay terminal based on the measurement result (See RAF [Fig. 7A] and [Par. 175 – Par. 176], “[0175] This handover decision is communicated in step S505 to the target eNBr 503. In this handover request message the mother eNB summarizes the total resources that are required to accommodate the RN 101 to be handed over and its associated users 501. [0176] The mother eNB 502 can at least indicate about overall (backhaul) traffic demands of the RN 101 and the RN's 101 cell with necessary UE contexts in details. It can also indicate the RN 101 location and RN 101 measurement reports about the target eNB 503 to the target eNB 503 so that the target eNB 503 can estimate the needed radio resources to accommodate the RN 101.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN by adopting use of a measurement process in making a determination of performing a group handover as similarly seen in RAAF to thus arrive at the method of claim 11, wherein the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; the method further comprises: changing an intra-group relay terminal based on the measurement result, in order to provide a benefit of use of measurement to support making a group handover determination.
In regards to claim 18, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) teaches a group handover feature where in a case where the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, one of the UEs 501, a measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, S502 2. Msmt Reports from UEs 501, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, where a trigger event comprises a request, S501 1. Msmt Control, from other intra-group member terminals, RN 101 (See, RAAF [Fig. 5A – 5B] which illustrate a measurement performed as part of a group handover process for a group comprising UEs 501 and RN 101, from a source eNBr 502 to a target eNBr 502. Also read [Par. 165 – Par. 197] which describe the group handover process of [Fig. 5A – Fig 5B] with particular attention to “[0172] During the exchange of packet data 506 RN 101 sends in step S501a measurement control message (Msmt Control) to the UE 501. Furthermore, the RN 101 sends a L1/L2 signalling message UL allocation (Up-Link allocation) to the UE 501. [0173] The measurement control message initiates a measurement in the UE 501, in order to identify actual configuration parameter of the network. [0174] Based on the measurement results of the measurement conducted by UE 501 in step S502, which results the mother eNBr 502 is getting in step S503 from the RN 101, and also other conditions such as energy saving settings and load-balancing communication from neighbouring cells, the mother eNB 502 (source eNB) decides in step S504 to handover the RN 101 to another eNBr 503.”, which describes the measurement process. Furthermore read the following which teach performing the measurement(s) process, periodically, “[0065] The way of reacting to certain determined situation may be stored in rules on the Deploying Apparatus. In other words, the Deploying Apparatus may monitor the network configuration, e.g. by measurements and may conduct a network planning method. The output of the network planning method may be an amended network configuration. [0066] The Deploying Apparatus may comprise a Planning Device which may be adapted for executing the network planning function. The Deploying Apparatus, e.g. by continuously or periodically monitoring the network, may have an actual view or overview of/over the actual or the current network configuration, in particular over the association of individual RNs with Deploying Apparatuses, over the actual activation status (activated or deactivated) of the RNs and/or over the actual load of Network Apparatuses such as RNs or Deploying Apparatuses. [0067] The monitoring may happen in certain periods, the duration and/or chronological distance of which may be able to be predefined.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN by adopting use of a measurement process in making a determination of performing a group handover as similarly seen in RAAF to thus arrive at the method of claim 16, wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold, in order to provide a benefit of use of measurement to support making a group handover determination.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20240007922 A1).
In regards to claim 14, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 12, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message comprises sixth indication information that indicates a new intra-group relay terminal, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message further comprises one or more of the following; configuration information of an end-to-end bearer between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; configuration information of a direct communication interface bearer between the intra-group member terminals and an intra-group relay terminal; configuration information of a Uu interface bearer between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, and a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; and a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. CHENG (US 20240007922 A1) teaches a feature for a group handover, where the group handover comprises handing over intra-group members to a new intra-group relay terminal, target L2 UE-to-network relay 420. Cheng further teaches transmitting a message to support the group handover, where the message comprises configuration information of a direct communication interface, PC5, bearer between the intra-group member terminals and an intra-group relay terminal; configuration information of a Uu interface bearer between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, PC5, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, and a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device (“[0111] At 450, the network may indicate a PC5-to-Uu bearer mapping to the target L2 UE-to-network relay 420. For example, the target base station 425 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message to the target L2 UE-to-network relay 420 indicating a PC5-to-Uu bearer mapping to support L2 relaying between the remote UE 405 and the target base station 425 based on the handover decision. The target L2 UE-to-network relay 420 may update a configuration with the PC5-to-Uu bearer mapping and, at 455, the target L2 UE-to-network relay 420 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to the target base station 425.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of CHENG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN by adopting use of the group handover features seen in CHENG, such as the configuration information of a direct communication interface, PC5 interface, and/or configuration information of a Uu interface, to thus arrive at the method of claim 12, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message comprises sixth indication information that indicates a new intra-group relay terminal, wherein the handover request acknowledgement message further comprises one or more of the following: configuration information of an end-to-end bearer between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; configuration information of a direct communication interface bearer between the intra-group member terminals and an intra-group relay terminal; configuration information of a Uu interface bearer between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, and a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; a mapping relationship between a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device; and a mapping relationship between a direct communication interface bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the intra-group relay terminal, a Uu interface bearer, which is between the intra-group relay terminal and the target network device, and an end-to-end bearer, which is between the intra-group member terminals and the target network device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide support handover of a group of terminals from a source relay to a target relay.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476