DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of Claims as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed March 12, 2026:
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 23-26, 30-31, 33, and 38 were pending. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 16, 17, 23, 24, 25, 26, 33, and 38, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAHN (US 20130322325 A1). Claim(s) 9 and 31 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of CAI (US 20110080891 A1). Claim(s) 8, 20, and 30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of YING (US 20200128447 A1). Claim(s) 13 and 18 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1). Claim(s) 14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of CHENG (US 20240007922 A1).
Applicants’ response to the Non-Final Rejection
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-17, 20, 23, 25-26, 30-31, 33, and 38 are pending. Claim(s) 2, 12, 18, and 24, have been cancelled. Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations found in cancelled claim 2. Independent Claim 11 has been amended to incorporate limitations of cancelled claim 12. Independent 16 has been amended to incorporate limitations of cancelled claim 18. Additionally, in light of the amendments to the independent claims, Applicants have argued that the amended independent claims overcome the prior art rejections in the Non-Final Rejection. The arguments are addressed below.
Claim 1
As previously stated, independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations found in cancelled claim 2. Applicants argue that the HAHN does not anticipate the features of the amended claim 1. It is agreed that the HAHN does not anticipate amended claim 1. The rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1, See “Notice of References Cited” mailed March 12, 2026), the new ground of rejection being necessitated by amendments to claim 1. Further with respect to the arguments, Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim 11
As previously stated, independent claim 11 has been amended to incorporate limitations found in cancelled claim 12. Applicants argue that the HAHN does not anticipate the features of the amended claim 11. It is agreed that the HAHN does not anticipate amended claim 11. The rejection of claim(s) 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is withdrawn.
Claim 16
As previously stated, independent claim 16 has been amended to incorporate limitations found in cancelled claim 18. Applicants argue that the HAHN does not anticipate the features of the amended claim 18. Applicants additionally argue that the combination of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) fail to render obvious amended claim 16/cancelled claim 18. It is agreed that the HAHN does not anticipate amended claim 11. However, the examiner does not agree that the combination of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) fails to render obvious amended claim 16.
More specifically with respect to the arguments, the Applicants argue that the HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) fail to render obvious claim 16, because neither HAHN nor RAAF teach or suggest a feature wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 16.
In the Non-Final Rejection, HAHN was found to be deficient on the feature in question. RAAF was relied upon in order to remedy the deficiency. See the cited portion of the Non-Final Rejection below.
“In regards to claim 18, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) teaches a group handover feature where in a case where the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, one of the UEs 501, a measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, S502 2. Msmt Reports from UEs 501, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, where a trigger event comprises a request, S501 1. Msmt Control, from other intra-group member terminals, RN 101 (See, RAAF [Fig. 5A – 5B] which illustrate a measurement performed as part of a group handover process for a group comprising UEs 501 and RN 101, from a source eNBr 502 to a target eNBr 502. Also read [Par. 165 – Par. 197] which describe the group handover process of [Fig. 5A – Fig 5B] with particular attention to “[0172] During the exchange of packet data 506 RN 101 sends in step S501a measurement control message (Msmt Control) to the UE 501. Furthermore, the RN 101 sends a L1/L2 signalling message UL allocation (Up-Link allocation) to the UE 501. [0173] The measurement control message initiates a measurement in the UE 501, in order to identify actual configuration parameter of the network. [0174] Based on the measurement results of the measurement conducted by UE 501 in step S502, which results the mother eNBr 502 is getting in step S503 from the RN 101, and also other conditions such as energy saving settings and load-balancing communication from neighbouring cells, the mother eNB 502 (source eNB) decides in step S504 to handover the RN 101 to another eNBr 503.”, which describes the measurement process. Furthermore read the following which teach performing the measurement(s) process, periodically, “[0065] The way of reacting to certain determined situation may be stored in rules on the Deploying Apparatus. In other words, the Deploying Apparatus may monitor the network configuration, e.g. by measurements and may conduct a network planning method. The output of the network planning method may be an amended network configuration. [0066] The Deploying Apparatus may comprise a Planning Device which may be adapted for executing the network planning function. The Deploying Apparatus, e.g. by continuously or periodically monitoring the network, may have an actual view or overview of/over the actual or the current network configuration, in particular over the association of individual RNs with Deploying Apparatuses, over the actual activation status (activated or deactivated) of the RNs and/or over the actual load of Network Apparatuses such as RNs or Deploying Apparatuses. [0067] The monitoring may happen in certain periods, the duration and/or chronological distance of which may be able to be predefined.”).”
Applicants disagree with the conclusion that RAAF remedies the deficiencies of HAHN with respect to amended claim 16. Applicants argue that RAAF fails to teach or suggest at least a feature where “…in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals…” as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 16, this feature being referred to as “feature (b)”. See Remarks [Page(s) 16] which recites the following
“…Specifically, the Examiner cites paragraphs [0173] and [0174] of RAAF, and it seems that he/she considers these two paragraphs disclose feature (b) of claim 18, which is currently incorporated into claim 16…”
More specifically Applicants argue that RAAF does not teach a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals. See Remarks [Page(s) 16 - 17] which recites the following:
“According to paragraphs [0173] and [0174] of RAAF, it can be known that: Msmt Reports at most includes a measurement result from UE 501, which can be seen as a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal. But RAAF fails to disclose that the measurement report message further comprises a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, i.e., a measurement result from RN 101. Even though RN 101 sends Msmt Control to UE 501, the control message is not used to initiates a measurement in the RN 101. No evidence has been provided to indicate that measurement is performed on RN 101.”
In response to Applicants argument that the combination of HAHN in view of RAAF fails to teach or suggest “feature (b)” because RAAF fails to disclose that the measurement report message further comprises a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, it is first noted that in addition to RAAF [Paragraph(s) 173 – Par. 174], [Fig. 5A – Fig. 5B] were also cited in order to support said feature. See where the Non-Final Rejection at least recites,
“RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) teaches a group handover feature where in a case where the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, one of the UEs 501, a measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, S502 2. Msmt Reports from UEs 501, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, where a trigger event comprises a request, S501 1. Msmt Control, from other intra-group member terminals, RN 101 (See, RAAF [Fig. 5A – 5B] which illustrate a measurement performed as part of a group handover process for a group comprising UEs 501 and RN 101, from a source eNBr 502 to a target eNBr 502. Also read [Par. 165 – Par. 197] which describe the group handover process of [Fig. 5A – Fig 5B]”
[Fig. 5A] illustrates multiple UEs 501 (Look at the multiple boxes for the UEs in the Figure). This can be clearly seen when comparing and contrasting the UEs 501 in [Fig. 5A] with the UE 501 illustrated in [Fig. 6A], the UE 501 in [Fig. 6A] illustrated with a single box. Furthermore, with respect to the multiple UEs 501 illustrated in [Fig. 5A], the figure further illustrates the multiple UEs 501 transmitting a “2. Msmnt Reports”. These facts when taken together were regarded as RAAF suggesting features analogous to that of claimed feature (b). Furthermore, in addition to what is illustrated in [Fig. 5A] one can further look to where RAAF [Par. 62] which recites the following
“[0062] The Deploying Apparatus may use measurements gathered from the UEs, from the RNs or from the Deploying Apparatuses for monitoring the demand. Thus, for example traffic demands, service degradations or interferences may be determined.”
Thus, for the reasons explained, RAAF is believed to suggest “…in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals…”, and the combination of HAHN in view of RAAF is believed to render obvious method of amended claim 16.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 depends on claim 12, however claim 12 has been cancelled. It appears that Claim 14 should instead depend on claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 23, 25, and 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1)
In regards to claim 1, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a method for group handover, applied to a source network device, comprising: performing a handover decision (See [Fig. 8 A] source network device, serving DeNB, performs a handover decision, HO decision S303); and after determining to perform the group handover, transmitting a handover request message to a target network device wherein the handover request message carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group ([Fig. 8A] also shows the serving DeNB, transmitting a handover request message, Handover Request (UE List) S304, to a target network device, target eNB, wherein the Handover Request, carries first indication information that indicates a terminal group, UE List );
The group handover feature of HAHN differs from that of claim 1, in that HAHN Is silent on wherein the first indication comprises one or more of the following a group identifier; identification information of an intra-group relay terminal; and identification information of an intra-group remote terminal. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) teaches a group handover feature, where a group handover request message comprises a group identifier, used to distinguish between different groups of UEs (“[0080] FIG. 5 is a signal diagram 500 of an example group handover preparation phase of an X2 handover procedure. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, a source eNB 504 may decide to hand over a group of WTRUs (508). Upon its decision to hand over the group of WTRUs to a target eNB 506, the source eNB 504 may send a handover indication message 510 to the target eNB 506, which may allow the target eNB 506 to prepare and allocate resources for the incoming WTRUs. The handover indication message 510 may provide information about the WTRUs that the source eNB has decided to hand over to the target eNB 506. The information may include, for example, one or more of a group identifier assigned to the group of WTRUs (e.g., group ID or RNTI)….”).
Thus based upon the teachings of TAMAKI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN, such that the first indication comprises one or more of the following a group identifier; identification information of an intra-group relay terminal; and identification information of an intra-group remote terminal, as similarly seen in TAMAKI, to thus arrive at claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to facilitate management of different groups of UEs, through use of group identifiers to distinguish between the different groups.
In regards to claim 23, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) is believed to suggest a source network device, comprising: a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under a control of the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the source network device to perform the method of claim 1, for substantially the same reasons provided to motivate the HAHN inv view of TAMAKI to arrive at claim 1. Furthermore regarding the remaining structural elements of claim 23, see HAHN ( HAHN [0220 - 0221] teach a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under control of a processor, implementing the proposed functions and methods, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor cause the source network device, serving DeNB, to perform the method of claim 1, “[0220] A mobile relay node or a serving DeNB 900 may include a processor 910, a memory 920 and a RF unit 930. The processor 910 may be configured to implement proposed functions, procedures and/or methods described in this description. Layers of the radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 910. The memory 920 is operatively coupled with the processor 910 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 910. The RF unit 930 is operatively coupled with the processor 910, and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. [0221] The processor 910 may include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), another chip set, a logical circuit, and/or a data processing unit. The RF unit 920 may include a baseband circuit for processing radio signals. In software implemented, the aforementioned methods can be implemented with a module (i.e., process, function, etc.) for performing the aforementioned functions. The module may be performed by the processor 910.”, ).
In regards to claim 3, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) suggest the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a measurement report message from a terminal, and performing the handover decision based on the measurement report message (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, which is received by the serving DeNB, and the serving DeNB, performing HO Decision 303, based on measurement reports S302).
In regards to claim 25, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI suggest the device of claim 23, wherein the operation further comprises: receiving a measurement report message from a terminal, and performing the handover decision based on the measurement report message(HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, which is received by the serving DeNB, and the serving DeNB, performing HO Decision 303, based on measurement reports S302).
In regards to claim 4, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI suggest the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving a measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; or, receiving a measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; transmitting a measurement configuration only to the intra-group relay terminal; or, transmitting a measurement configuration to all or part of the intra-group member terminals, and allowing only the intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report; wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, the method further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration to each intra-group member terminal that is required to perform the measurement report; receiving the measurement report message transmitted from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
In regards to claim 26, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI suggest the device of claim 25, wherein the operation further comprises: receiving a measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal; or, receiving a measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result only from the intra-group relay terminal, the operation further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration only to the intra-group relay terminal; or, transmitting a measurement configuration to all or part of the intra-group member terminals, and allowing only the intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report; wherein in case of receiving the measurement report result from all or part of the intra-group member terminals, the operation further comprises: transmitting a measurement configuration to each intra-group member terminal that is required to perform the measurement report; wherein the operation further comprises: receiving the measurement report message transmitted from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal or the intra-group member terminals, and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals(HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
Claim(s) 16, 17 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1).
In regards to claim 16, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) teaches a method for group handover, applied to a terminal, comprising: transmitting a measurement report message to a source network device based on a received measurement configuration (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches a terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301)
HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) differs from the method of claim 16 in that HAHN is silent on wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) teaches a group handover feature where in a case where the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, one of the UEs 501, a measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, S502 2. Msmt Reports from UEs 501, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, where a trigger event comprises a request, S501 1. Msmt Control, from other intra-group member terminals, RN 101 (See, RAAF [Fig. 5A – 5B] which illustrate a measurement performed as part of a group handover process for a group comprising UEs 501 and RN 101, from a source eNBr 502 to a target eNBr 502. Also read [Par. 165 – Par. 197] which describe the group handover process of [Fig. 5A – Fig 5B] with particular attention to “[0172] During the exchange of packet data 506 RN 101 sends in step S501a measurement control message (Msmt Control) to the UE 501. Furthermore, the RN 101 sends a L1/L2 signalling message UL allocation (Up-Link allocation) to the UE 501. [0173] The measurement control message initiates a measurement in the UE 501, in order to identify actual configuration parameter of the network. [0174] Based on the measurement results of the measurement conducted by UE 501 in step S502, which results the mother eNBr 502 is getting in step S503 from the RN 101, and also other conditions such as energy saving settings and load-balancing communication from neighbouring cells, the mother eNB 502 (source eNB) decides in step S504 to handover the RN 101 to another eNBr 503.”, which describes the measurement process. Furthermore read the following which teach performing the measurement(s) process, periodically, “[0065] The way of reacting to certain determined situation may be stored in rules on the Deploying Apparatus. In other words, the Deploying Apparatus may monitor the network configuration, e.g. by measurements and may conduct a network planning method. The output of the network planning method may be an amended network configuration. [0066] The Deploying Apparatus may comprise a Planning Device which may be adapted for executing the network planning function. The Deploying Apparatus, e.g. by continuously or periodically monitoring the network, may have an actual view or overview of/over the actual or the current network configuration, in particular over the association of individual RNs with Deploying Apparatuses, over the actual activation status (activated or deactivated) of the RNs and/or over the actual load of Network Apparatuses such as RNs or Deploying Apparatuses. [0067] The monitoring may happen in certain periods, the duration and/or chronological distance of which may be able to be predefined.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN by adopting use of a measurement process in making a determination of performing a group handover as similarly seen in RAAF to thus arrive at wherein: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group relay terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group remote terminal, the measurement report message comprises a measurement result from the intra-group remote terminal and a measurement result from other intra-group member terminals, wherein the measurement result from other intra-group member terminals is obtained through a direct communication interface periodic interaction or an event-triggered interaction, and other intra-group member terminals measure that a signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher that a threshold, in order to provide a benefit of use of measurement to support making a group handover determination.
In regards to claim 38, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) suggest a terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under a control of the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform the method of claim 16, for substantially the same reasons provided to motivate the combination of HAHN with RAAF to arrive at the method of claim 16. Further with respect to the remaining structural elements of claim 38, See HAN Par 220 – Par. 221 ( HAHN [0220 - 0221] teach a processor, a memory storing a computer program, and a transceiver transmitting and receiving data under control of a processor, implementing the proposed functions and methods, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor cause the terminal, mobile relay node, to perform the method of claim 16, “[0220] A mobile relay node or a serving DeNB 900 may include a processor 910, a memory 920 and a RF unit 930. The processor 910 may be configured to implement proposed functions, procedures and/or methods described in this description. Layers of the radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 910. The memory 920 is operatively coupled with the processor 910 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 910. The RF unit 930 is operatively coupled with the processor 910, and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. [0221] The processor 910 may include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), another chip set, a logical circuit, and/or a data processing unit. The RF unit 920 may include a baseband circuit for processing radio signals. In software implemented, the aforementioned methods can be implemented with a module (i.e., process, function, etc.) for performing the aforementioned functions. The module may be performed by the processor 910.”, ).
In regards to claim 17, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) suggest the method of claim 16, wherein in case that the measurement configuration only allows an intra-group relay terminal to perform measurement report, the transmitting the measurement report message to the source network device comprises: in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, transmitting the measurement report message to the source network device (HAN [Fig. 8A] teaches an intra-group relay terminal, mobile relay node, transmitting a measurement report, measurement reports S302, based on a received measurement configuration, Measurement Control S301).
Claim(s) 8 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) in view of YING (US 20200128447 A1).
In regards to claim 8, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) is silent on the method of claim 3, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 3, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN.
In regards to claim 30, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) is silent on the device of claim 25, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at the device of claim 25, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN.
Claim(s) 9 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) in view of CAI (US 20110080891 A1).
In regards to claim 9, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. CAI (US 20110080891 A1) teaches a group handover feature where a handover request message, HO Request 710, further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal, the intra-group relay terminal is changed from SRN 102 to TRN 402 (See, [Fig. 7] and [Par 43 – Par. 56]).
Thus, based upon the teachings of CAI (US 20110080891 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1), by adopting the relay handover feature seen in the group handover feature of CAI (US 20110080891 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to select a most effective relay for providing the desired group communication.
In regards to claim 31, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1) is silent on the device of claim 23, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; wherein the operation further comprises: after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover. CAI (US 20110080891 A1) teaches a group handover feature where a handover request message, HO Request 710, further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal, the intra-group relay terminal is changed from SRN 102 to TRN 402 (See, [Fig. 7] and [Par 43 – Par. 56]).
Thus, based upon the teachings of CAI (US 20110080891 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of TAMAKI (US 20120302240 A1), by adopting the relay handover feature seen in the group handover feature of CAI (US 20110080891 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message further comprises third indication information that changes an intra-group relay terminal; or, the handover request message further comprises a measurement result from intra-group member terminals for a target cell; after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to an intra-group relay terminal and other intra-group member terminals, respectively; or, after receiving a handover request acknowledgement message transmitted from the target network device, notifying other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal through a source intra-group relay terminal in case that an intra-group relay terminal is changed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to select a most effective relay for providing the desired group communication.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) in view of YING (US 20200128447 A1).
In regards to claim 20, HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1) is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device; or, in case that the intra-group relay terminal is changed and a source intra-group relay terminal notifies other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal, receiving the new intra-group relay terminal notified by the source intra-group relay terminals, releasing a direct communication connection with the source intra-group relay terminals, and establishing a direct communication connection with the new intra-group relay terminal; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, after completing random access to a target network device or transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message to a target network device, transmitting seventh indication information to other intra-group member terminals, wherein the seventh indication information is used for indicating other intra-group member terminals to transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network device through the intra-group relay terminal. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving group handover.
YING teaches a group handover feature that involves sending information, handover information, in a measurement report, handover request, initiated based on the measurement report, that indicates a handover type that is expected to be performed, and handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover (“[0180] Operation S301. A source eNB determines, based on a measurement report of relay UE and depending on whether there is remote UE communicating with the source eNB by using the relay UE, whether to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to a target eNB… [0182] Operation S302. When determining to hand over both the relay UE and the remote UE to the target eNB, the source eNB sends handover information of the relay UE and handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB, to initiate handover to the target eNB, where the handover information of the relay UE includes a context of the relay UE, and the handover information of the remote UE includes a context of the remote UE… [0184] The handover information is basic information that is of to-be-handed-over UE and that is necessary for a handover procedure when the source eNB initiates the handover to the target eNB. For example, the handover information of the relay UE may include: the context of the relay UE, an identifier of the relay UE, and an association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the relay UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the relay UE. Similarly, the handover information of the remote UE may include: the context of the remote UE, an identifier of the remote UE, and the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE. The identifier of the remote UE or the association relationship between the relay UE and the remote UE may alternatively be a part of the context of the remote UE. [0185] In addition, when sending the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a specific message, the source eNB may further add handover type indication information to the message, where the handover type indication information is used to indicate whether a requested handover type is group handover (that is, handover of both the relay UE and the remote UE) or common handover. It should be noted that a manner of carrying the handover type indication information is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, the handover type indication information may be carried in a newly added information element in the message, or may be directly carried in a message type information element in an original message header. [0186] Specifically, the source eNB may send the handover information of the relay UE and the handover information of the remote UE to the target eNB by using a handover request message.”).
YING also teaches receiving, by an intra-group member terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device (See [Fig. 9A – Fig 9B] where a source network device, source eNB, transmits a RRC reconfiguration message, S3092 Forward the third RRC reconfiguration message, to an intra-group member terminal, remote UE, through an intra-group relay terminal, relay UE. Also see [Par. 44 – Par. 45] which further describes where the source eNB transmits the third RRC configuration to the remote UE via the relay UE).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YING (20200128447 A1) it would’ve been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the group handover feature of HAHN (US 20130322325 A1) in view of RAAF (US 20110249558 A1), by indicating a handover type when sending signaling for performing a handover as seen in the group handover feature of YING (20200128447 A1), to thus arrive at the method of claim 16, wherein the measurement report message comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a handover type that is expected to be performed, and the handover type comprises group handover and single terminal handover; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted from the source network device; or, in case that the intra-group relay terminal is changed and a source intra-group relay terminal notifies other intra-group member terminals of a new intra-group relay terminal, receiving the new intra-group relay terminal notified by the source intra-group relay terminals, releasing a direct communication connection with the source intra-group relay terminals, and establishing a direct communication connection with the new intra-group relay terminal; or, in case that the terminal is an intra-group relay terminal, after completing random access to a target network device or transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message to a target network device, transmitting seventh indication information to other intra-group member terminals, wherein the seventh indication information is used for indicating other intra-group member terminals to transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network device through the intra-group relay terminal, in order to accommodate a single terminal handover feature in addition to the group handover feature of HAHN in view of RAAF and to also provide access information to an intra-group member terminal during handover through communication of a RRC reconfiguration message.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14 and 33 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476