Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that A. Tang does not disclose or suggest annealing during an intermediate state of repeated swaging processing.
The process of swaging reshapes/resizes the dimensions of an element using dies. Tang discloses pressure processing by conducting multi-pass rotary forging, conducting drawing processing by using different specifications of wire drawing dies, and repeating the drawing for several times to obtain wire rods having different specifications and diameters. See at least [0092], [0157], [0184], [0194], [0204].
Tang then describes that the rods are also subjected to annealing; see [0093], [0158], [0175], [0185], [0195], [0205]. This annealing is done so as to ensure the drawing process occurs smoothly. In order to bridge the gap of Tang’s disclosure, Examiner has provided an updated grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment, to teach the annealing occurs at an intermediate step. Please see below for the updated grounds of rejection.
Thus, Examiner has not found Applicant’s argument (A.) persuasive.
Applicant argues that B. The intermediate annealing during swaging materially affects the structure and durability of Applicant’s wire. Applicant details that the instant specification describes that when annealing causes recrystallization, existing voids move to grain boundaries, i.e. altering the porosity of the wire.
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s citations, respectfully points out that the recrystallization steps are not recited in the apparatus claim, but also directs Applicant to paragraphs [0076-0082] of Schaffer which does take into consideration grains and recrystallization. Examiner has taken full consideration of Applicant’s newly recited product by process limitations and addressed them below.
Applicant argues that C. Tang does not suggest modifying its rotary-forging process to include the claimed intermediate annealing. Applicant also argues that D. The manufacturing limitation further distinguishes the claimed wire from the wire relied upon in Tang.
Given that the argument is directed towards newly recited subject matter, Examiner kindly directs Applicant to the updated grounds of rejection provided below which addresses the intermediate annealing step(s).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites, inter alia, a metal wire comprising tungsten or a tungsten alloy, combined with testing parameters which are correlated with physical properties, i.e. the capabilities of the wire to withstand the recited fatigue stress. Given that the statutory category of the claimed invention is an apparatus (i.e. a metal wire), Examiner has carefully reviewed the specification in order to determine what physical characteristics a tungsten or tungsten alloy wire has in order to meet the claimed invention. In essence, while a prior art may not explicitly state the fatigue test results in accordance with Japanese Industrial Standard (JIS) C6821, a prior art wire having the same characteristics as those described within the specification would read onto the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation, and in light of the specification. Examiner referenced the following paragraphs for clarification: [0015-0022], [0025], [0026], [0052], [0066], [0101]. Examiner has provided the prior art rejections below in light of these considerations. Please also refer to the table provided in the response to Arguments section above regarding the properties disclosed by the prior art and the properties disclosed by the instant Specification.
Examiner also notes that the IDS submitted on 5/18/2026 was considered and mailed on 7/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20230374634) in view of Schaffer (US 20230272578).
Regarding claim 1, Tang (US 20230374634) teaches of a metal wire comprising:
tungsten or a tungsten alloy (see Abstract, as well as [0057], [0061-0062], wherein tungsten may be present in the content of 95-99.9 wt %; wherein [0064] discloses an alloy which may include rhenium), wherein when a fatigue test is conducted on the metal wire at a maximum stress of 4400 MPa in accordance with Japanese Industrial Standard (JIS) C6821, a total number of cycles required to break the metal wire is at least 20,000 cycles (wherein [0045] teaches the diameter is less than or equal to 40 μm, tensile strength is greater than 4800 Mpa; wherein [0046] also teaches wire diameter is equal to or less than 25 μm, with a tensile strength greater than 5,000 MPA; [0049]: wire diameter may be uniform; [0061-0064]: content of potassium is less than 80 parts per million, content of tungsten is 97.0-99.5 wt %, allow may be rhenium; [0094]: the wire rods after drawing can be subjected to electrolytic polishing and cleaning, so as to make the surface of the wire rods smooth; [0087-0094] discloses the manufacturing steps; wherein Tang discloses that sintering is preferably conducted at a temperature of 1,800-2,400° C in [0089], in addition to electrolytic polishing and cleaning so as to smooth the surface of the rods; Examiner also notes herein that a push-pull toughness testing device is shown in Figure 1);
the metal wire is manufactured by repeatedly performing swaging processing (wherein [0092] discloses pressure processing, and multi-pass rotary forging, and drawing is repeated several times; see also [0157], [0174], [0164],[0184], [0194], [0204]; wherein under broadest reasonable interpretation swaging includes altering the dimensions of an element using dies and pressure, i.e. the description of the cited portions of Tang); and
annealing processing (see annealing in [0093], [0158], [0175], [0185], [0195], [0205]).
However, while Tang describes that annealing is performed so as to conduct multi-pass drawing processing smoothly (see at least [0185], [0195]), it is not clear if the annealing takes places during an intermediate process of the swaging processing, i.e. between the repeated pressure processing steps.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Schaffer teaches annealing processing during an intermediate process of working a wire (see at least [0067-0068], wherein the outer diameter of the wire is reduced while elongating the material, and annealing is performed, then drawing is performed on the wire; this drawing and annealing of the material is performed iteratively; see also [0077]).
While Tang describes that annealing is performed so as to conduct multi-pass drawing smoothly, i.e. it is implied that in order to perform the multi-pass drawing process, annealing is also performed, Tang is silent regarding an intermediate step therebetween comprising annealing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the annealing steps within the multi-pass die drawing process (i.e. swaging) as taught by Schaffer, into the invention of Tang. One would be motivated to do so in order to ensure the multi-pass drawing occurs in a smooth manner, as stated by Tang in at least [0185], and in order to impart desired mechanical properties to the finished wire product, including strength and stiffness (see [0067] of Schaffer), and to relieve internal stresses stored in the material (see [0077] of Schaffer).
Examiner notes herein that this rejection is in view of the explanation provided in the Claim Interpretation section above, as the structure of the metal wire as taught by Tang reads onto the structure of the metal wire which enables a metal wire to behave as recited. Please see the table comparison replicated below for clarification purposes. Furthermore, the claimed invention recites product by process limitations directed towards swaging and annealing. MPEP 2113 (I.) states:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regardless, in earnest consideration of Applicant’s amendments and efforts, Examiner has addressed the product by process limitations in the above prior art combination.
Instant Application Wire
(Relying on Specification)
Wire of Tang
Tungsten or tungsten alloy material:
[0015]: tungsten or tungsten alloy, comprising at least 90-99.99 wt% tungsten content
[0016]: rhenium is at most 10 wt %, at least 1 wt %, at least 3 wt %, or at least 5 wt %
[0018]: other contemplated metals for the alloy include osmium, ruthenium, or iridium
[0120]: The content of tungsten may also be greater than 95 wt%, and 95-99.5 wt%
[0061]: content of tungsten may be 97.0-99.9 wt%, and the content of the rate earth oxide is 0.1-3.0 wt%
At least [0010], [0064], [0112], [0328] disclose rhenium within the range disclosed by the instant specification
Shape and diameter:
[0019]: substantially constant diameter, circular cross-sectional shape, and diameter is 10-100 μm.
[0052] discloses a diameter of approximately 37 μm
[0021]: diameter is at least 5 μm
[0049]: wire diameter uniformity
[0045]: the diameter is less than or equal to 40 μm with a tensile strength greater than 4,800 MPa
[0046]: wire diameter is equal to or less than 25 μm, with a tensile strength greater than 5,000 MPA
Tensile Strength:
[0022]: tensile strength of at least 4800 MPa (4.8 GPa). Can be measured using JIS H 4460 8 but disclosing the tensile strength ‘may’ be measured by JISH 44608 leaves the tensile strength determination method open (and not critical)
0045]: the diameter is less than or equal to 40 μm with a tensile strength greater than 4,800 MPa
[0046]: wire diameter is equal to or less than 25 μm, with a tensile strength greater than 5,000 MPA
Abrasive Particles:
[0025]: abrasive electrodeposited or plated, can be particles of diamond or CBN
[0369]: electroplating of abrasive particles comprising diamonds on the alloy wire rod
Porosity:
[0066]: 0.25% or less
[0063]: Calculated by observing a cross-sectional image of the metal wire produced by using a scanning electron microscope (SEM)
*see also below regarding potassium content, which effects porosity*
See combination statement as applied below to claim 3, i.e. the variables which affect the porosity of the wire.
[0347], [0349] disclose measuring the properties by employing an electron microscope
Manufacturing Considerations:
[0069-0070]:
A mixture of tungsten powder and metal powder (for example, rhenium powder) is mixed in a predetermined proportion
Swaging processing is performed, i.e. the tungsten ingot is press-forged from its periphery and extended. Instead of swaging, the tungsten may be subjected to rolling processing by repeatedly applying the swaging processing.
Annealing is performed intermediately.
[0072]: Wire drawing at a temperature at, for example, 1000 ° C
[0073]: Electrolytic polishing is performed after drawing
[0101]: Metal wire may be doped with a minute amount of potassium (at most 0.01 wt%), and similar effects can be obtained with other substances such as cerium or lanthanum
[0019-0022], [0087]: alloy powder and powder mixing
[0087-0092]: powder preparation and mixing, sintering and cogging at temperatures greater than 1000° C, rolling by the multi-roll mill and multi-pass rotary forging, then drawing processing
[0093]: alloy wire rods can be subjected to annealing within 1000 ° C
[0144]: obtaining a tungsten powder doped with a lanthanum salt
[0117]: cerium oxide at a low wt%
[0094], [0159]: wire rods after drawing can be subjected to electrolytic polishing
[0152]: powder mixing machine
[0336]: the tungsten wires are subjected to annealing treatment
[0113]: content of potassium is less than 80 ppm, wherein [0064] discloses that rhenium is an alternative to potassium
Regarding claim 2, Tang in view of Schaffer teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tang further teaches wherein when the fatigue test is conducted on the metal wire at a maximum stress of 4400 MPa in accordance with Japanese Industrial Standard (JIS) C6821, a total number of cycles required to break the metal wire is at least 60,000 cycles (please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as provided above, as well as the claim interpretation section; see also [0045], [0049], [0061-0064], [0087-0094] of Tang).
Regarding claim 3, Tang in view of Schaffer teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Tang does not explicitly teach a specific porosity for the tungsten, i.e. wherein a porosity that is a percentage of voices included in the metal wire is at most 0.25%.
However, Tang does describe distributing metal material at grain boundaries of the tungsten matrix phase (see [0056], [0164]). Furthermore, Tang also describes temperature at which processes take place, including sintering at a temperature of 1,800-2,400° C ([0154-0155]), i.e. temperatures at which tungsten recrystallization takes place, and also describes additional processes which serve to smooth the surfaces of wire rods ([0094]). The temperatures at which operations take place, combined with the consideration of how the material matrixes are formed, directly affects the porosity of the device, and thus porosity is recognized as a result effective variable. The porosity also alters the behavior of the wire rod, wherein the ultimate goal of Tang is to achieve a wire rod having an improved strength and toughness ([0164]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the wire rod of Tang to have a porosity within the claimed range, as it involves adjusting preexisting parameters which are already adjusted and contemplated by Tang. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tang to have a porosity as claimed, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Tang in view of Schaffer teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tang further teaches wherein the metal wire has a tensile strength of at least 4.8 Gpa (see at least [0045-0046] disclosing a tensile strength of at least 4800 MPa, or 5000 MPa).
Regarding claim 5, Tang in view of Schaffer teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Tang further teaches a saw wire comprising: the metal wire according to claim 1 (please refer to the rejection as applied to claim 1 above); and
abrasive particles electrodeposited on a surface of the metal wire ([00369]: wherein electroplated diamond particles can be provided on the alloy wire rod for cutting materials).
Conclusion
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723