Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over GB 984,109. No distinction is seen between the composition and method disclosed by Gb 984,109, and that recited in claims 1-4, 9, 10, 14 and 15. GB 984,109 discloses a fertilizer comprising 43% wax and 2-35% rosin on page 14, col. 1, line 27 to col. 2, line 69. The wax in the composition of GB 984,109 would constitute a “cutter”. In any event, it would have been obvious to provide a coating of wax and rosin in the composition of GB 984,109, since GB 984,109 would suggest such combination of components at the aforementioned passage.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 984,109. GB 984,109 is relied upon as discussed hereinbefore.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, it would have been obvious to employ a vegetable wax as the wax in the composition of GB 984109, since GB 984109 does not provide any limits as to the type of wax that can be used.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, GB 984109 discloses in Example IV on page 22 that the components are agitated in a mixing tank and the wax is heated to 240 F. It would have been obvious from such disclosure to mix the components in a steam jacketed static mixer, since the reference teaches that the mixing tanks must be heated, and it is well-known to employ steam jacketed vessels to provide such heating. It would also have been obvious to heat the components to 260 F, since GB 984,109 teaches in Example IV that the wax should be molten.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it would have been obvious to mix the components of GB 984109 in a blending tank, since GB 984109 discloses on page 2, lines 2-16 that the fertilizer particles are coated by mixing the particles with the wax.
Claims 5, 6, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 984109 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gonzalez Leon (US 2022/0055958). It would have been further obvious from Gonzalez Leon to include soybean oil or natural alcohol bottoms as components in the coating composition of GB 984109. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Gonzalez Leon discloses soybean oil and oils of renewable origin such as a distillate in Paragraphs [0027] and [0031], and the compositions of GB 984109 and Gonzalez Leon are analogous in that both are directed to coating of granular material. (See the Abstract of Gonzalez Leon.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 14-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 02/090295 A1. WO 02/090295 A1 discloses a coating agent for fertilizers comprising 5-50 wt% wax and 0-60 wt% rosin. (See the Abstract and page 7, lines 4-9.) The difference between the composition disclosed by WO 02/090295 A1, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that applicant’s claims require rosin as the resin. It would have been obvious to employ rosin as the resin in the compositions of WO 02/090295 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since WO 02/090295 A1 establishes the equivalence between resins and rosin in disclosing on page 1, lines 9-12 that the conditioning agent comprises wax, oil “resin/rosin”, and so on.
Regarding claim 5, WO 02/090295 A1 discloses on page 5, liners 8 and 9 that the composition can include corn oil or sunflower oil.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 18 and 19, it would have been obvious from page 5, lines 16-18 of WO 02/090295 A1 to employ mixtures of the disclosed waxes, one of which has a flash point above 250 F and another of which has a flash point below 250 F.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 02/090295 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Gonzalez Leon. It would have been further obvious from Gonzalez Leon to include natural alcohol bottoms as components in the coating composition of WO 02/090295 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Gonzalez Leon discloses oils of renewable origin such as a distillate in Paragraphs [0027] and [0031], and the compositions of WO 02/090295 A1 and Gonzalez Leon are analogous in that both are directed to coating of granular material. (See the Abstract of Gonzalez Leon.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 02/090295 A1 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of GB 984109.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, It would have been obvious from GB 984109 to mix the components of WO 02/090295 A1 in a steam jacketed static mixer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since GB 984109 discloses on page 2, lines 2-16 that the fertilizer particles are coated by mixing the particles with the wax, with a further disclosure in Example IV on page 22 that the components are agitated in a mixing tank and the wax is heated to 240 F. It would have been obvious to employ a steam jacketed mixing means to mix such components since the reference teaches that the mixing tanks must be heated, and it is well-known to employ steam jacketed vessels to provide such heating. It would also have been obvious to heat the components to 260 F, since GB 984,109 teaches in Example IV that the wax should be molten.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it would have been further obvious to mix the components of WO 02/090295 A1 in a blending tank, since GB 984109 discloses on page 2, lines 2-16 that the fertilizer particles are coated by mixing the particles with the wax.
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gonzalez Leon. No distinction is seen between the composition disclosed by Gonzalez Leon, and that recited in claim 1. Gonzalez Leon disclose a coating composition for fertilizers which can include a vegetable oil such as soybean oil (see Paragraph [0031]), and further disclose in Paragraph [0085] that rosin acids can be included as a rheology modifier. Accordingly Gonzalez Leon anticipates claim 1. In any event, it would have been obvious to include rosin and soybean oil as a coating composition of Gonzalez Leon, since Gonzalez Leon would suggest such combination of components at the aforementioned passages.
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over BOZZELLI ET AL (US 3,252,786). No distinction is seen between the composition and method disclosed by BOZZELLI ET AL, and that recited in claims BOZZELLI ET AL disclose a composition comprising 10% rosin and wax for coating fertilizers. (See Fig. 5 and the description thereof. ) The wax disclosed by BOZZELLI ET AL would constitute a “cutter”.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, BOZZELLI ET AL disclose at col. 2, lines 17 and 18 that the fertilizer particles are encased in wax. Accordingly the particles are coated with the wax-rosin composition.
Claims 7, 8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOZZELLI ET AL. BOZZELLI ET AL is relied upon nas discussed hereinbefore. It would have been obvious to provide a wax having a flash point below 250 F in the composition of BOZZELLI ET AL , or a mixture of waxes one of which has a flash point above 250 F and the other of which has a flash point below 250 F, since BOZZELLI ET AL teach in the paragraph bridging columns 13 and 14 that the types of wax which can be used are paraffin wax and microcrystalline wax.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOZZELLI ET AL as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of GB 984109. It would have been further obvious from GB 984109 to mix the components of BOZZELLI ET AL in a steam jacketed static mixer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since GB 984109 discloses on page 2, lines 2-16 that the fertilizer particles are coated by mixing the particles with the wax, with a further disclosure in Example IV on page 22 that the components are agitated in a mixing tank and the wax is heated to 240 F. It would have been obvious to employ a steam jacketed mixing means to mix such components since the reference teaches that the mixing tanks must be heated, and it is well-known to employ steam jacketed vessels to provide such heating. It would also have been obvious to heat the components to 260 F, since GB 984,109 teaches in Example IV that the wax should be molten.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it would have been further obvious to mix the components of BOZZELLI ET AL in a blending tank, since GB 984109 discloses on page 2, lines 2-16 that the fertilizer particles are coated by mixing the particles with the wax.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 5 and 16, the recitation of “like” renders the scope of the claims vague and indefinite, since it is unclear whether the limitations following the word “like” is positively recited, or whether such limitations are merely examples of the broader genus.
In claim 8, the recitation of “anyone of claim 1” is ungrammatical and therefore indefinite.
Campbell et al ‘677 (US 3,331,677) is made of record for disclosing particulate fertilizer coated with a urea-wax adduct.
Campbell ‘728 (US 3,306,728) is made of record for disclosing a slow release fertilizer comprising urea and petroleum waxes.
Hess (US 3,285,733) is made of record for disclosing a slow release fertilizer comprising urea, wax and natural resin.
Schaafsma et al (US 8,506,671) is made of record for disclosing a biomass composition for coating on fertilizer particles comprising solid biomass particles and mineral oil, wax or fat. (See col. 1, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 4-25.)
Belak et al (US 3,458,303) is made of record for disclosing a method for preparing wax coated slow release fertilizers.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736