DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group would necessarily encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining group…MPEP §803…”. This is not found persuasive because the Applicant is making an argument that is only proper under US Restriction practice. The instant application is a 371 application, and therefore subject to Unity of Invention rules (see MPEP §1850).Therefore, as Applicant has not argued about the presented Unity of Invention analysis, and instead relies on US Restriction practice arguments, the presented arguments are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
In the instant application, the claim limitations that invoke an interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) are “first snap-in formation means” and “second snap-in formation means”. Accordingly, to the specification, the structure of these elements is interpreted as ribs and grooves, respectively, as well as equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, lines 4-5 recites “the thread formation” which examiner believe should read --the screw thread formation-- to maintain consistent wording throughout the claims.
Claim 15, line 5 recites “the thread formation” which examiner believe should read --the screw thread formation-- to maintain consistent wording throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 recite “a first outer zone” and “a second inner zone” which renders the scope of the claim indefinite. It is unclear how two zones on an outer surface could be inner and outer. There is also not a first “inner” zone, thus the use of “second” adds to the lack of clarity. Furthermore, the claim lacks a reference point to delineate the scope of “outer” and “inner”, thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim 9 is rejected as depending from a rejected indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rawdon et al US Patent Application Publication 2020/0049188 hereinafter referred to as Rawdon.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Rawdon discloses a fastener assembly (Abstract; Fig 3, 5) for securing a first member or assembly (202) to a second member or assembly (204), the fastener assembly including a pin, stud or bolt (210) with a screw thread formation on a shaft portion (216), the thread formation being cooperable with a threaded nut member (230), the fastener assembly further including a cup shaped cover member (250) with a continuous wall structure having an internal surface defining an internal space (see Fig 3, 5), the continuous wall structure having an open mouth region with a continuous peripheral edge zone (as shown on the Figures), said internal surface of said cover member having first snap-in formation means (264) cooperable with second snap-in formation means (282) on an outer surface region of the threaded nut member to secure said cover member to said threaded nut member [0138, 0140], and in use when so secured, said continuous peripheral edge zone is positioned closely adjacent to a first region surrounding said threaded nut member (see Fig 3), said first and said second snap-in formation means being configured to either prevent rotation of said outer cover member relative to said threaded nut member, or if relative rotation is possible, said first and said second snap-in formation means remain engaged upon such relative rotation (as the first and second snap-in formation are positively engaged and based on their shape, it is considered that they remain engaged upon relative rotation); said first snap-in formation means being configured such that when engaged with said second snap-in formation means, said continuous seal means (260) is operable, in use, to seal said internal space (see Fig 3 - sealing against item 206).
Regarding claim 3, Rawdon discloses an internal space is filled with blocking filler material [0131].
Regarding claim 4, the recitation in claim 1 that the fastener assembly is “for securing a first member or assembly to a second member or assembly” is merely an intended use. Applicants’ attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Given that Rawdon discloses all of the claimed structure, this intended use is met by the prior art.
Regarding claims 5-9, Rawdon discloses wherein the threaded nut member (230) includes an outer surface region (as shown) that is capable of being engaged with a tool member, or hexagonal tooth member, to rotate it. Furthermore, the taper of the outer surfaces read on the different transverse sizes (as shown on the figures). Given the grooves on the first outer zone, the size of the first outer zone is smaller than the second outer zone.
Regarding claims 10-15, the recitation in the claims that the fastener assembly is for a “treatment apparatus” or “a multi jackbolt tensioner assembly” is merely an intended use. Applicants’ attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Given that Rawdon discloses all of the claimed structure, this intended use is met by the prior art.
Conclusion
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676