DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 20, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0185756).
Claim 1, Cirik discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (par [0074], and See Fig. 4), comprising: a memory (Fig. 4, item 409); and at least one processor (Fig. 4, item 408) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive a set of beam failure detection reference signals (par [0361] “performed by the partial beam failure may be detected by the wireless device 3302, for example, by monitoring and/or measuring at least one BLER of a CSI-RS and/or a SS block”; and transmit a beam report indicating a partial beam failure when a radio link quality of at least a first beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals is less than a quality threshold and a radio link quality of at least a second beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals is greater than or equal to the quality threshold (par [0360] “disclosed which the partial beam failure may occur, for example, if the wireless device 3302 detects a beam failure on one or more serving beams, but at least one serving beam has a RSRP higher than a threshold (and/or has a BLER lower than a threshold, which may be different from the threshold for RSRP, and further disclosed in par [0363] wherein one or more UL resources for reporting a partial beam failure recovery (e.g., for a partial beam failure recovery procedure initiated by the wireless device 3302) may be semi-statically and/or dynamically configured by the base station 3301. The failed beam information may be sent, to the base station 3301, and further disclosed in Fig. 34 which is a partial beam failure recovery request 3403”).
Claim 2, 16, Cirik further discloses t3he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam report includes an index value identifying the first beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals (par [0363] “The base station 3301 may semi-statically and/or dynamically configure the wireless device 3302 with at least one association between the failed beam index, the RS ID, a preamble, and/or a BFR-PRACH”).
Claim 10, 20, Cirik further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam report includes a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) containing a field for indicating the partial beam failure (par [0135] “a partial function of the NR MAC (e.g., the High NR MAC 1406) may be in a CU, and the other partial function of the NR MAC”).
Claim 12, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the field for indicating the partial beam failure is associated with a component carrier (par [0333] “the base station may transmit, to the wireless device, a first MAC CE comprising: a BWP identifier field indicating the first BWP”).
Claim 13, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam report includes a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and wherein the MAC-CE is transmitted in an uplink data channel allocated to the apparatus in a serving cell (par [0324] “the UL BWP on which the wireless device may transmit an uplink signal, and by receiving an activation/deactivation MAC CE”).
Claim 15, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 22, Cirik discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (Fig. 4, item 409); and at least one processor (Fig. 4, item 408) coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit a set of beam failure detection reference signals (par [0361] “performed by the partial beam failure may be detected by the wireless device 3302, for example, by monitoring and/or measuring at least one BLER of a CSI-RS and/or a SS block”); and receive, from a user equipment (UE) (par [0361] “the partial beam failure may be detected by the wireless device 3302”), a beam report indicating a partial beam failure when a radio link quality of at least a first beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals is less than a quality threshold and a radio link quality of at least a second beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals is greater than or equal to the quality threshold (par [0360] “disclosed which the partial beam failure may occur, for example, if the wireless device 3302 detects a beam failure on one or more serving beams, but at least one serving beam has a RSRP higher than a threshold (and/or has a BLER lower than a threshold, which may be different from the threshold for RSRP, and further disclosed in par [0363] wherein one or more UL resources for reporting a partial beam failure recovery (e.g., for a partial beam failure recovery procedure initiated by the wireless device 3302) may be semi-statically and/or dynamically configured by the base station 3301. The failed beam information may be sent, to the base station 3301, and further disclosed in Fig. 34 which is a partial beam failure recovery request 3403”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11, 14, 17-19, 21, 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record either alone or in combination fail to disclose the claim limitations of wherein the beam report further includes a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) containing a first field and a second field, wherein a first value in the first field indicates whether the radio link quality of at least the first beam failure detection reference signal is less than the quality threshold and the radio link quality of at least the second beam failure detection reference signal is greater than or equal to the quality threshold, and wherein the second field includes the index value identifying the first beam failure detection reference signal in the set of beam failure detection reference signals when the radio link quality of at least the first beam failure detection reference signal is less than the quality threshold.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a set of new beam identification reference signals, wherein the beam report includes a first index value identifying a new beam identification reference signal in the set of new beam identification reference signals when a radio link quality of the new beam identification reference signal exceeds at least one of the radio link quality of the first beam failure detection reference signal or the radio link quality of the second beam failure detection reference signal by an amount greater than or equal to a difference threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0300645) discloses methods and apparatus for beam failure recovery.
/PHUOC H DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646