DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites that “the fan is detachably installed in the installation portion through the installation port”. However, the specification fails to currently include support for the originally filed limitation. Support for the claim should be provided in the specification. Applicant should take care to ensure no incorporation of new matter in providing said support within the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lippera (EP3020319A1).
As to claim 1, Lippera discloses a dishwasher (abstract) comprising an air curtain device comprising: a fan (Fig.7 see ref 43 of ref 41) and an air curtain assembly (Fig.2 refs 7 & 8), the air curtain assembly being provided with an air inlet (Fig.4 ref 22) and an air outlet (Fig.3 ref 14), and the fan being configured to supply wind into the air curtain assembly through the air inlet [0069-0070 & 0073], wherein the air curtain assembly further includes: a first shell (one of Fig.4 ref 8a or 8b, alternatively one of Fig.6 ref 7a or Fig.6 ref 7b, alternatively one of Fig.5 ref 7 or Fig.3 ref 8); a second shell (another of Fig.4 ref 8a or 8b, Fig.5 ref 7; or Fig.3 ref 8 different from the one selected as the first shell; e.g., ref 8b if ref 8a is first shell, ref 8 if ref 7 is first shell, ref 7b is ref 7a is first shell and vice versa), matching with the first shell to form the air curtain assembly; and a chamber (see Fig.4 or Fig.6), being formed by recessing in a direction away from the other shell, the air inlet being in communication with the chamber and wherein the chamber is extended toward the air outlet from the air inlet to for an air path (see Figs.4 & 6).
As to claim 2, Lippera teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising: an installation portion (see Figs.6-7) formed on one or both shells by recessing (see refs 31 & 35) in a direction away from each other, wherein the installation portion is provided for installing the fan (see Figs.7-12); and the air inlet is located on a side downwardly recessed, of the installation portion (see Fig.6), and an air inlet end of the fan corresponds to the air inlet (see Figs.10-12 & [0069]).
As to claim 3, Lippera teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the air curtain assembly is provided with an installation port (i.e., see Fig.7 opening in which ref 41 fits into recess defined by ref 35; wherein the installation portion is extended toward the installation port (see Fig.7), and is in communication with an outside of the air curtain assembly (e.g., air from the tub through ref 22); and the fan is detachably installed in the installation portion through the installation port (see Fig.7).
As to claim 4, Lippera teaches the device of claim 2 further comprising bracket (ref 42) detachably installed in the installation portion for fixing the fan in the installation portion via a fixing portion (see [0056] disclosing screws or other mechanical attachment) that is arranged on the installation portion and matching with the bracket in order to fix the bracket to the installation portion via the fixing portion.
As to claim 5, Lippera teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the air curtain assembly further comprises a guide rib (ref 14a) arranged in a recess and protruded toward an inside of the air curtain assembly for evenly guiding the wind to the air outlet.
As to claim 8, Lippera teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a cross section of the air curtain assembly is increased in a direction perpendicular to the air outlet with an increase in a distance from the air outlet (see Fig.3 showcasing increased thickness of duct as distance from outlet increases).
As to claim 9, Lippera teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a supporting part provided on at least one of the shells away from the air outlet and protruded towards the other shell, such that when the shells are fitted together the supporting part of the shell contacts the other shell in order to support the first and second shell (i.e. supporting part is sidewalls of each shell that contact one another in the case of refs 7a/7b or 8a/8b being the first and second shell and supporting part is refs 10/16b & 15 in the case of ref 7 being one shell and ref 8 being another).
As to claim 11, Lippera teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the installation port is located away from the air inlet [0070] and on a sidewall (e.g., port defined by extending side wall ref 35) adjacent to a side of the air curtain assembly with the air inlet (see Figs.5-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lippera (EP3020319A1) in view Corrias (WO2015107474A1).
As to claims 6 & 12, Lippera teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the guide rib is close to the air outlet (see Fig.4). Lippera shows that the element in which the rib is disposed does reduce in cross section as it gets closer to the outlet (see Fig.3). Lippera does not disclose the guide rib being inclined from one end close to the air outlet to the air inlet, and the guide rib having an arc shape. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of Corrias.
Corrias discloses an art related dishwasher (abstract) and air curtain system (see Figs.1-6), wherein it is shown that a wall separating outlets and guiding the flow of air (Fig.6 ref 9a) can have an arc shape. Corrias further showcases that the rib exists in the portion of the duct which decreases in height from the fan to the air outlet (see Figs.6-7). The configuration of Corrias enables better management of the air flow exiting the duct [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lippera to provide the arc shaped rib extending along the duct portion, including the increasing/reducing height portion, in order to better manage air flow (Corrias [0039]). Such a modification would merely provide a change in shape/configuration of the rib, and it is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known rib shape/configuration in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lippera (EP3020319A1) in view Hildenbrand (US20090038661A1) and Jadhav (US20140150286A1).
As to claim 7, Lippera teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the air inlet and the air outlet are arranged in a staggered manner (see Figs.3-4 & 6), and a plurality of guide ribs is arranged at intervals in the recess along a direction perpendicular to the orientation of the air inlet (see Fig.4). It is noted that Lippera desires the dehumidification [0010 & 0059] of air recognizes that condensation of liquid may occur in the duct [0094]. Lipper does not disclose the guide ribs having a stepped distribution such that as a distance from the air inlet increases, the ribs are provided closer to the outlet. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of Jadhav and Hildenbrand.
Jadhav discloses an art related dishwasher (abstract), wherein it is known to provide ribs (Figs.3-4 ref 228) along an air flow path in order to condense water from the air in order to drain the condensed water [0043]. The ribs are provided in a stepped manner such that they gradually become closer to the outlet as the distance from an inlet increases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lippera implement a plurality of ribs along the length of the air flow path, as disclosed by Jadhav, in order to condense water and drain said condensed water to achieve the desired dehumidified air (Jadhav [0043]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lippera (EP3020319A1) in view of Ryu (US20170150868A1).
As to claim 10, Lippera discloses a dishwasher (abstract) comprising an air curtain device, the air curtain device provided on an upper wall of an inner container (see Fig.1 & [0033 & 0071]) to form an air curtain above a door (see Figs.1-2 & [0072]). The air curtain device includes a connecting piece (Fig.3 ref 13) detachably connected with the upper wall of the inner container of the dishwasher for fixing the air curtain device of the dishwasher [0039]; the air curtain assembly comprising: a fan (Fig.7 see ref 43 of ref 41) and an air curtain assembly (Fig.2 refs 7 & 8), the air curtain assembly being provided with an air inlet (Fig.4 ref 22) and an air outlet (Fig.3 ref 14), and the fan being configured to supply wind into the air curtain assembly through the air inlet [0069-0070 & 0073], wherein the air curtain assembly further includes: a first shell (one of Fig.4 ref 8a or 8b, alternatively one of Fig.6 ref 7a or Fig.6 ref 7b, alternatively one of Fig.5 ref 7 or Fig.3 ref 8); a second shell (another of Fig.4 ref 8a or 8b, Fig.5 ref 7; or Fig.3 ref 8 different from the one selected as the first shell; e.g., ref 8b if ref 8a is first shell, ref 8 if ref 7 is first shell, ref 7b is ref 7a is first shell and vice versa), matching with the first shell to form the air curtain assembly; and a chamber (see Fig.4 or Fig.6), being formed by recessing in a direction away from the other shell, the air inlet being in communication with the chamber and wherein the chamber is extended toward the air outlet from the air inlet to for an air path (see Figs.4 & 6). Lippera does indicate that the air duct assembly can be utilized with a dishwasher construction having an upper wall of a cabinet [0031 & 0075], but Lippera does not explicitly disclose the presence of an upper wall housing and the air curtain device between the upper wall of the housing and the upper wall of the inner container. However, such a construction is known in the art, as seen by Ryu.
Ryu discloses an art related dishwasher (abstract), having an air curtain device (abstract), wherein it is shown that the air curtain device can be provided between an upper wall of a tub (Fig.2 ref 60) and an upper wall of a cabinet (Fig.2 ref 20, also [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lippera to provide the air curtain between a cabinet upper wall and the tub upper wall, as such is a known construction in the art (Ryu Fig.2 & [0053]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an air curtain in a known positional configuration in a dishwasher with a reasonably expectation of success. Such a modification would allow for the inclusion of the air curtain device in dishwashers that are provided with a cabinet surrounding the tub.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711