RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicant's amendment, filed 09/18/2026, is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-22, 24, 27, 29, 33 and 37 are pending.
3. Applicant’s IDS, filed 09/09/2026, is acknowledged.
4. The following new grounds of rejection are necessitated by the amendment submitted 09/18/2026.
6. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-22, 24, 27, 29, 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11608380 in view of Hartley et al (Nature, (2018) 8:10479) and Anami and Tsuchikama (Antibody-Drug Conjugates: Methods in Molecular Biology, Ed. L. Nathan Tumey, ((MIMB,volume 2078)) 2019).
The `380 patent provides recombinant expression vectors capable of expressing a polypeptide comprising a heavy or light chain variable region of an anti-EGFRvIII antibody (See, H1H1863N2, SEQ ID NOs: 34 and 42 which comprise the claimed sequences) (see issued claims). For example, the present invention includes recombinant expression vectors comprising any of the nucleic acid molecules mentioned above, i.e., nucleic acid molecules encoding any of the HCVR, LCVR, and/or CDR sequences as set forth in Table 1. Also included within the scope of the present invention are host cells into which such vectors have been introduced, as well as methods of producing the antibodies or portions thereof by culturing the host cells under conditions permitting production of the antibodies or antibody fragments, and recovering the antibodies and antibody fragments so produced (see col., 6, lines 10+ and issued claims 1-11).
The `380 patent further teaches an anti-EGFRvIII antibody-drug conjugate inhibits tumor growth in in vivo EGFRvIII-positive breast cancer allograft models. Two different antibody-drug conjugates of the exemplary anti-EGFRvIII antibody H1H1863N2 were tested for their ability to inhibit tumor growth in vivo. A first ADC was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 to the maytansinoid toxin DM1 via a non-cleavable MCC linker to produce “H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1.” A second ADC was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 to a modified version of DM1 attached to a novel cleavable linker, referred to as “M0026” (also known as “compound 7” in WO2014/145090, the disclosure of which is incorporated by reference herein in its entirety), to yield “H1H1863N2-M0026.” When tested for cytotoxicity in vitro against MMT/EGFRvIII cells, H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1 exhibited an IC.sub.50 of 12 nM whereas H1H1863N2-7 exhibited an IC50 of 0.8 nM based on drug equivalents (see Example 12, col., 42, lines 15+). The `380 patent demonstrate superiority of the tumor growth inhibition induced by H1H1863N2-M0026 (i.e., cleavable linker).
The `380 patent teaches a first ADC was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 to the maytansinoid toxin DM1 via a non-cleavable MCC linker to produce “H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1.” A second ADC was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 to a modified version of DM1 attached to a novel cleavable linker, referred to as “M0026” (also known as “compound 7” in WO2014/145090, the disclosure of which is incorporated by reference herein in its entirety), to yield “H1H1863N2-M0026.” (example 12).
Alignment of claimed SEQ ID NO: 10 with issued SEQ ID NO: 42.
Qy 1 DIQLTQSPSFLSASVGDRVTITCWASQGINNYLAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYAASTLQTGVPS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIQLTQSPSFLSASVGDRVTITCWASQGINNYLAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYAASTLQTGVPS 60
Qy 61 RFSGSGSGTEFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQLNSYPLTFGGGTKVEIK 107
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 RFSGSGSGTEFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQLNSYPLTFGGGTKVEIK 107
Alignment of claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 with issued SEQ ID NO: 34.
Qy 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFPFSSYDMHWVRQATGKGLEWVSAIGTAGATYYP 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFPFSSYDMHWVRQATGKGLEWVSAIGTAGATYYP 60
Qy 61 GSVKGRFTISRENAKNSLYLQMNSLRAGDTAVYYCARGDYVWGTYRPLFDYWGQGTLVTV 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GSVKGRFTISRENAKNSLYLQMNSLRAGDTAVYYCARGDYVWGTYRPLFDYWGQGTLVTV 120
Qy 121 SS 122
||
Db 121 SS 122
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of that the antibody is conjugated to tesirine, wherein the heavy chain of the antibody or antigen-bidnign fragment thereof comprises an N297Q mutation and is aglycosylated at residue 297 in claims 1, 19, and 33.
Anami and Tsuchikama teach that microbial transglutaminase (MTGase) catalyzes transpeptidation between an exogenous primary amine and the side chain of glutamine 295 (Q295) within deglycosylated chimeric, huma nized, and human IgG1s, enabling site-specific conjugation of two linker units per mAb (Fig. 1a). This method provides a number of advantages in ADC construction as follows: (1) Linker and payload are installed onto the Fc moiety, minimizing the risk of impairment in binding affinity or specificity by the added compo nents. (2) Only removal of N-glycan chains from a mAb using peptide-N-glycosidase F (PNGase F) is required prior to mAb linker conjugation. Therefore, native antibodies can be used without genetic engineering. Recombinant engineering can empower MTGase-mediated transpeptidation in various ways. For example, mutation of asparagine 297 to alanine, serine, or gluta mine (N297A, N297S, or N297Q) allows omission of the deglycosylation step (Fig. 1b). N297Q mutation provides additional sites for linker conjugation, allowing for the installation of four linker units per mAb (page 72, 2nd ¶).
Hartley et al teach pre-clinical pharmacology and mechanism of action of SG3199 (aka tesirine), the pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD) dimer warhead component of antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine. Synthetic pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD) dimers, where two PBD monomers are linked through their aromatic A-ring phenolic C8-positions via a flexible propyldioxy tether, are highly efficient DNA minor groove cross-linking agents with potent cytotoxicity. PBD dimer SG3199 is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249), currently being evaluated in several ADC clinical trials. SG3199 was potently cytotoxic against a panel of human solid tumour and haematological cancer cell lines with a mean GI50 of 151.5 pM. Following intravenous (iv) administration to rats SG3199 showed a very rapid clearance with a half life as short as 8 minutes. These combined properties of cytotoxic potency, rapid formation and persistence of DNA interstrand cross-links and very short half-life contribute to the emerging success of SG3199 as a warhead in clinical stage ADCs (abstract).
Hartley et al teach a PBD dimer which is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249 Fig. 1A). is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249 Fig. 1A18). Rovalpituzumab tesirine (Rova-T) has completed a phase I clinical trial for the treatment of small cell lung can cer19 and several other ADCs incorporating payload tesirine have recently entered Phase I clinical trials including ADCT-30120, ADCT-40221, ADCT-401/MEDI3726 and ADCT-502. The current study reports the preclinical pharmacology and mechanism of action of SG3199, confirming the properties which contribute to its success as a novel ADC warhead (see page 2, 1st and 2nd ¶). SG3199 was potently cytotoxic in many cell lines and showed a multi-log differential activity. The 17 haematological cell lines were, in general, more sensitive to SG3199 than the 21 solid tumour cell lines. The solid tumour cell lines represented seven organ sites and sensitivity across all sites was observed (page 3, 2nd ¶).
Hartley et al teaches that several important properties of the mechanism of action and pharmacology of PBD dimer SG3199 contribute to its emerging clinical success as a warhead in next-generation ADCs. Firstly, it is potently cytotoxic, showing activity across a wide range of both solid tumour and haematological cancers. No clear differential sensitivity was observed and the two least sensitive tumour cell lines still had GI50 values of 1 nM. This is an important factor for the utility of an ADC warhead across multiple tumour pathologies and is in contrast to tubulin inhibitor-based warheads which are less effective against some tumor types. The high potency of SG3199 is also an important advantage in ADCs utilising payload tesirine being able to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets (see page 6, under Discussion).
Further Hartley et al teach that SG3199 has a very short half-life, an important property in the context of an ADC warhead. ADCs with the enzyme cleavable linker-containing payload tesirine, which employs SG3199, have been shown to have a significant bystander effect. This is an important advantage when targeting tumors with a heterogenous target antigen expression. The short half-life of the released SG3199 warhead, however, ensures that the bystander effect is restricted and that systemic accumulation of free drug, which could contribute to off-target toxicity, is limited. In addition, ADCs often have a very long half-life in circulation (10–14 days in the case of Rova-T in humans). The very short half-life of SG3199 ensures that any premature release in circulation would also not result in accumulation of SG3199 to levels that cause systemic toxicity. In summary, SG3199 has several properties which contribute to its success as an ADC warhead. It is the war head component of tesirine which is the payload of several ADCs including rovalpituzumab tesirine, ADCT 301, ADCT-402, ADCT-401/MEDI3726 and ADCT-502 currently in different stages of clinical development (see last ¶).
Those of skill in the art would have had reason to conjugate the tesirine (SG3249) of the Hartley to the H1H1863N2 antibody taught in `380 patent using MTGase-mdiated conjugation with N297Q mutation taught by Anami and Tsuchikama because, like the compounds taught in the `380 patent, tesirine (SG3249) is warhead/payload component to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets. Further, MTGase-mediated conjugation with N297Q mutation for up to four linkers per mAb, enabling site-specific attachment of up to four linkers per antibody and higher drug-to-antibody ratios (DARs). Substituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 421 (2007).
"[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result." KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007).
The claimed functional properties recited in claims 20-21 are considered inherent properties of the H1H1863N2-tesirine in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 12 and 14 are included because H1H1863N2 is fully antibody having human Fc derived from IgG1 (i.e., H1) comprising SEQ ID NOs: 18 and 22.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/18/2026, have been fully considered, but have not been found convincing.
Applicant submits that claim 33 is amended to incorporate the elements recited in original claim 34. Thus, amended claim 33 is also novel at least in view of the amendments.
This is not found persuasive because the rejection is modified to address the amended claim 33.
7. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-22, 24, 27, 29, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over t in view of Hartley et al (Nature, (2018) 8:10479) and Amani and Tsuchikama (Antibody-Drug Conjugates: Methods in Molecular Biology, Ed. L. Nathan Tumey, ((MIMB,volume 2078)) 2019).
The WO `090 publication teaches antibody-drug conjugates (ADC) was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 (fully antibody having human Fc derived from IgG1 (i.e., H1)) to the maytansinoid DM1 via a non-cleavable MCC linker to produce "H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1." A second ADC was produced by conjugating H1H1863N2 to 7 to yield "H1H1863N2-7." When tested for cytotoxicity in vitro against MMT/EGFRvlII cells using the assay format described in Example 14, H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1 exhibited an IC50 of 12 nM whereas H1H1863N2-7 exhibited an IC50 of only 0.8 nM. Thus, in vitro, the anti-EGFRvIII ADC H1H1863N2-7 exhibited much more potent tumor cell killing ability than the corresponding antibody conjugated to DM1 via an MCC linker [00250] See Table 3.
The WO `090 publication shows the cell viability results of HEK293/hEGFRvIII cells (HEK293 cells expressing exogenous hEGFRvIII) treated with compound 6, isotype control antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("isotype Control-711), anti-EGFRvIII antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("EGFRvIII-7"), and unconjugated anti-EGFRvIII antibody ("EGFRvIII"), Figure 4 [0025]. In HEK293/hEGFRvIII cells, expressing hEGFRvIII at 360 fold above isotype control binding, the maytansinoid conjugate EGFRvIII-7 possesses an IC50 value of 0.4 nM (Figure 4). The naked EGFRvIII antibody was devoid of any anti-proliferation activity.
Figure 5 shows the cell viability results of MMT/hEGFRvIII cells (MMT cells expressing exogenous hEGFRvIII) treated with compound 6, isotype control antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("Isotype Control-7"), anti-EGFRvIII antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("EGFRvIII-7"), and unconjugated anti-EGFRvIII antibody ("EGFRvIII") [0026]. In MMT/hEGFRvIII cells, expressing hEGFRvIII at 280 fold above isotype control binding, the maytansinoid conjugate EGFRvIII-7 possesses an IC50 value of 0.3 nM (Figure 5). The naked EGFRvIII antibody was devoid of any anti-proliferation activity [00242].
Figure 6 shows the cell viability results of U251 /hEGFRvIII cells (U251 cells expressing exogenous hEGFRvIII) treated with compound 6, isotype control antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("fsotype Control-7"), anti-EGFRvIII antibody conjugated to compound 7 ("EGFRvIII-7"), and unconjugated anti-EGFRvIII antibody ("EGFRvIII"). In U251/hEGFRvIII cells (glioblastoma cancer line), expressing hEGFRvIII at 165 fold above isotype control binding, the maytansinoid conjugate EGFRvIII-7 possesses an IC50 value of 0.3 nM (Figure 6). The naked EGFRvIII antibody was devoid of any anti-proliferation activity [00243].
The greatest tumor inhibition was observed in mice dosed with 5 mg/kg H1H1863N2-7, where regression of the initial tumor was observed. The tumor growth inhibition of 102% resulting from treatment with 5 mg/kg H1H1863N2-7 was significantly greater relative to that observed following treatment of tumor with 5 mg/kg H1H1862N2-MCC-DM1 (83%). The superiority of the tumor growth inhibition induced by H1H1863N2-7 compared to H1H1863N2-MCC-DM1 was maintained at the 1 mg/kg dose as well. No anti-tumor effect was observed in groups treated with Control ADC using MCC- DM1 or 7 [00253].
Finally, the `090 publication teaches that Biologically Active Molecules that can be used in the context of the present invention include pyrrolobenzodiazapines (PDBs) [0055].
Alignment of claimed SEQ ID NO: 2, 12-14-16 with Anti-EGFRvIII antibody H1H1863N2 heavy chain variable region, SEQ 1.
Qy 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFPFSSYDMHWVRQATGKGLEWVSAIGTAGATYYP 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFPFSSYDMHWVRQATGKGLEWVSAIGTAGATYYP 60
Qy 61 GSVKGRFTISRENAKNSLYLQMNSLRAGDTAVYYCARGDYVWGTYRPLFDYWGQGTLVTV 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GSVKGRFTISRENAKNSLYLQMNSLRAGDTAVYYCARGDYVWGTYRPLFDYWGQGTLVTV 120
Qy 121 SS 122
||
Db 121 SS 122
Alignment of claimed SEQ ID NO: 10, 12-14-16 with anti-EGFRvIII antibody H1H1863N2 light chain variable region, SEQ ID 5.
Qy 1 DIQLTQSPSFLSASVGDRVTITCWASQGINNYLAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYAASTLQTGVPS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIQLTQSPSFLSASVGDRVTITCWASQGINNYLAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYAASTLQTGVPS 60
Qy 61 RFSGSGSGTEFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQLNSYPLTFGGGTKVEIK 107
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 RFSGSGSGTEFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQLNSYPLTFGGGTKVEIK 107
The `090 publication teaches the term "human antibody" as used herein is intended to include antibodies having variable and constant regions derived from human immunoglobulin sequences (i.e., full antibody) [0044].
[00125] Administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition described herein may be effected in different ways, e.g., by intravenous, intraperitoneal, subcutaneous, intramuscular, topical, intradermal, intranasal, or intrabronchial administration.
The disclosure provides methods, wherein additional therapy is radiation therapy, chemotherapy, or a combination of both [00135], [0002].
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of that the antibody is conjugated to tesirine, wherein the heavy chain of the antibody or antigen-bidnign fragment thereof comprises an N297Q mutation and is aglycosylated at residue 297 in claims 1, 19, and 33.
Anami and Tsuchikama teach that microbial transglutaminase (MTGase) catalyzes transpeptidation between an exogenous primary amine and the side chain of glutamine 295 (Q295) within deglycosylated chimeric, huma nized, and human IgG1s, enabling site-specific conjugation of two linker units per mAb (Fig. 1a). This method provides a number of advantages in ADC construction as follows: (1) Linker and payload are installed onto the Fc moiety, minimizing the risk of impairment in binding affinity or specificity by the added compo nents. (2) Only removal of N-glycan chains from a mAb using peptide-N-glycosidase F (PNGase F) is required prior to mAb linker conjugation. Therefore, native antibodies can be used without genetic engineering. Recombinant engineering can empower MTGase-mediated transpeptidation in various ways. For example, mutation of asparagine 297 to alanine, serine, or gluta mine (N297A, N297S, or N297Q) allows omission of the deglycosylation step (Fig. 1b). N297Q mutation provides additional sites for linker conjugation, allowing for the installation of four linker units per mAb (page 72, 2nd ¶).
Hartley et al teach pre-clinical pharmacology and mechanism of action of SG3199 (aka tesirine), the pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD) dimer warhead component of antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine. Synthetic pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD) dimers, where two PBD monomers are linked through their aromatic A-ring phenolic C8-positions via a flexible propyldioxy tether, are highly efficient DNA minor groove cross-linking agents with potent cytotoxicity. PBD dimer SG3199 is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249), currently being evaluated in several ADC clinical trials. SG3199 was potently cytotoxic against a panel of human solid tumour and haematological cancer cell lines with a mean GI50 of 151.5 pM. Following intravenous (iv) administration to rats SG3199 showed a very rapid clearance with a half life as short as 8 minutes. These combined properties of cytotoxic potency, rapid formation and persistence of DNA interstrand cross-links and very short half-life contribute to the emerging success of SG3199 as a warhead in clinical stage ADCs (abstract).
Hartley et al teach a PBD dimer which is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249 Fig. 1A). is the released warhead component of the antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) payload tesirine (SG3249 Fig. 1A18). Rovalpituzumab tesirine (Rova-T) has completed a phase I clinical trial for the treatment of small cell lung can cer19 and several other ADCs incorporating payload tesirine have recently entered Phase I clinical trials including ADCT-30120, ADCT-40221, ADCT-401/MEDI3726 and ADCT-502. The current study reports the preclinical pharmacology and mechanism of action of SG3199, confirming the properties which contribute to its success as a novel ADC warhead (see page 2, 1st and 2nd ¶). SG3199 was potently cytotoxic in many cell lines and showed a multi-log differential activity. The 17 haematological cell lines were, in general, more sensitive to SG3199 than the 21 solid tumour cell lines. The solid tumour cell lines represented seven organ sites and sensitivity across all sites was observed (page 3, 2nd ¶).
Hartley et al teaches that several important properties of the mechanism of action and pharmacology of PBD dimer SG3199 contribute to its emerging clinical success as a warhead in next-generation ADCs. Firstly, it is potently cytotoxic, showing activity across a wide range of both solid tumour and haematological cancers. No clear differential sensitivity was observed and the two least sensitive tumour cell lines still had GI50 values of 1 nM. This is an important factor for the utility of an ADC warhead across multiple tumour pathologies and is in contrast to tubulin inhibitor-based warheads which are less effective against some tumor types. The high potency of SG3199 is also an important advantage in ADCs utilising payload tesirine being able to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets (see page 6, under Discussion).
Further Hartley et al teach that SG3199 has a very short half-life, an important property in the context of an ADC warhead. ADCs with the enzyme cleavable linker-containing payload tesirine, which employs SG3199, have been shown to have a significant bystander effect. This is an important advantage when targeting tumors with a heterogenous target antigen expression. The short half-life of the released SG3199 warhead, however, ensures that the bystander effect is restricted and that systemic accumulation of free drug, which could contribute to off-target toxicity, is limited. In addition, ADCs often have a very long half-life in circulation (10–14 days in the case of Rova-T in humans). The very short half-life of SG3199 ensures that any premature release in circulation would also not result in accumulation of SG3199 to levels that cause systemic toxicity. In summary, SG3199 has several properties which contribute to its success as an ADC warhead. It is the war head component of tesirine which is the payload of several ADCs including rovalpituzumab tesirine, ADCT 301, ADCT-402, ADCT-401/MEDI3726 and ADCT-502 currently in different stages of clinical development (see last ¶).
Those of skill in the art would have had reason to use the tesirine (SG3249) of the Hartley as a substitute for the Biologically Active Molecule taught in WO/2014/145090 using MTGase-mdiated conjugation with N297Q mutation taught by Anami and Tsuchikama because, like the compounds taught in WO/2014/145090, tesirine (SG3249) is warhead/payload component to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets. Further, MTGase-mediated conjugation with N297Q mutation for up to four linkers per mAb, enabling site-specific attachment of up to four linkers per antibody and higher drug-to-antibody ratios (DARs). Substituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 421 (2007).
"[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result." KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007).
The claimed functional properties recited in claims 20-21 are considered inherent properties of the H1H1863N2-tesirine in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 12 and 14 are included because H1H1863N2 is fully antibody having human Fc derived from IgG1 (i.e., H1) comprising SEQ ID NOs: 18 and 22.
It is noted claim 37 is constructed as product by process. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113. It is Applicant burden to show that the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/18/2026, have been fully considered, but have not been found convincing.
Applicant submits that without acquiescing to the merits of the rejection and solely in the interests of advancing prosecution to allowance, claim 1 is amended to recite "a heavy chain of the antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof comprises an N297Q mutation and is aglycosylated at residue 297."
The cited references, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest an ADC "comprising an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to EGFRvIII...and conjugated to tesirine," "wherein a heavy chain of the antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof comprises an N297Q mutation and is aglycosylated at residue 297," as recited in amended claim 1.
WO'090 does not teach any antibody or ADC comprising an N297Q mutation. Hartley studies pre-clinical pharmacology and mechanism of action of SG3199 only as a compound, and no ADC comprising SG3199 was studied. Hartley merely discloses cell-based assays to demonstrate the cytotoxicity of pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD). There is no teaching or suggestion in Hartley regarding conjugating tesirine with an anti-EGFRvIII antibody, let alone the antibody recited in the present claims and particularly conjugating tesirine with an anti-EGFRvIII antibody with an N297Q mutation.
The Office alleges that "[t]hose of skill in the art would have had reason to use the tesirine (SG3249) of the Hartley as a substitute for the Biologically Active Molecule taught in WO/2014/145090 because, like the compounds taught in WO/2014/145090, tesirine (SG3249) is warhead/payload component to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets." Office Action, at p. 7. The Office further asserts that "[s]ubstituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious." Id. However, in its introduction section, Hartley merely briefly mentions several ADCs with tesirine, i.e., Rova-T, ADCT-301, ADCT-402, ADCT-401, and ADCT-502, which target DLL3, CD25, CD19, PSMA, and HER2, respectively. See Hartley, at p. 2; see also, References 19-21 cited in Hartley. None of the ADCs mentioned in Hartley targets EGFRvIII. A person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to simply replace a component of an ADC with a component from another ADC targeting a different antigen, as suggested by the Office, with reasonable expectation of success. For example, ADCT-402 is among the ADCs mentioned in Hartley and described in Reference 21 cited in Hartley (i.e., Zammarchi et al., Blood, 2018, 131(10):1094-1105, "Zammarchi"). ADCT-402 targets CD19, not EGFRvIII, and Zammarchi does not disclose any anti-EGFRvIII antibodies. In fact, CD19 is a membrane glycoprotein whose expression is restricted to the various stages of B-cell development and differentiation and maintained in the majority of B-cell malignancies (see Zammarchi, Abstract). CD-19 has rapid internalization kinetics and is not easily shed into circulation, making it an ideal candidate for developing ADCs to treat B-cell malignancies (see id). In contrast, EGFRvIII is a deletion mutant of the epidermal growth factor receptor expressed on solid tumors such as glioblastoma (see Applicant's specification, at paragraphs [0004]- [0005]). Additionally, Zammarchi notes that hematological cancer cell lines have been shown to be generally more sensitive to PBD dimers than solid tumor cell lines (see Zammarchi, at p. 1100, first column). Thus, a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to apply the teachings of a CD19-targeted hematological ADC to an EGFRvIII-targeted solid tumor ADC, because the target biology, disease context, tumor microenvironment, and pharmacokinetic requirements are entirely different.
This is not found persuasive because those of skill in the art would have had reason to use the tesirine (SG3249) of the Hartley as a substitute for the Biologically Active Molecule taught in WO/2014/145090 using MTGase-mdiated conjugation with N297Q mutation taught by Anami and Tsuchikama because, like the compounds taught in WO/2014/145090, tesirine (SG3249) is warhead/payload component to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets. Further, MTGase-mediated conjugation with N297Q mutation for up to four linkers per mAb, enabling site-specific attachment of up to four linkers per antibody and higher drug-to-antibody ratios (DARs). Substituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 421 (2007). H1H1863N2 is internalizing anti-EGFRvIII antibody see US 20150259423 at [0040] making it an ideal candidate for developing ADCs to treat EGFRvIII tumor-specific.
Further, a person skilled in the art would have found no reasonable expectation of success in combining WO'090 with the teachings in Hartley, especially given that treating various types of malignancies with ADCs is an unpredictable art. The internalization kinetics of EGFRvIII- tesirine ADC was unknown prior to the filing of this application, making it an unobvious choice of ADC to treat glioblastoma and other cancers, e.g., ductal or intraductal breast carcinoma, non- small cell lung carcinoma, ovarian carcinoma, prostate cancer, and squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck. On the other hand, still taking ADCT-401 as an example, as mentioned in Zammarchi, CD19 is rapidly internalized in B-cell malignancies. See Zammarchi, Abstract. Such internalization is useful in developing CD19-tesirine ADCs to treat B-cell malignancies. See id.
However, US 20150259423 at [0040] and FIG. 4(a-b) shows the binding and internalization of anti-EGFRvIII antibody H1H1863N2(Fuc-) by B16F10.9 tumors or B16F10.9 tumors expressing EGFRvIII (B16F10.9/EGFRvIII) that were xenografted in severe combined immunodeficient (SCID) mice. Cell-surface bound (FIG. 4a) or cell-surface-bound plus internalized (FIG. 4b) anti-EGFRvIII antibody or isotype control antibody, was detected by allophycocyanin conjugated anti-human Fc (hFc-APC) antibody using flow cytometry. Mean fluorescent intensities (MIF) at 10 minutes (.quadrature.), 4 hours (), and 24 hours (.box-solid.), post-antibody injection, are shown also see [0147] and [0151].
More importantly, further illustrating the unpredictability, a side-by-side comparison of the example REGN3124-tesirine ADC and a comparator ADC, COMP-MMAF, is shown in Example 11. See, Applicant's specification, at paragraphs [00155]-[00158]. While REGN3124- tesirine exhibited clear anti-tumor activity in this study, at the single dose of 0.53 mg/kg ADC (7 pg/kg PBD payload dose), sustained regression was not observed in GBM tumors treated with 1 mg/kg COMP-MMAF. See Applicant's specification, at Table 16.
Applicant's specification demonstrates several unexpected results that are specific to the combination of the aglycosylated N297Q anti-EGFRvIII antibody (REGN3124) with tesirine. The N297Q aglycosylated variant REGN3124 achieved a DAR of 3.4 when conjugated to tesirine, compared to 2.4-2.6 for the glycosylated variant, REGN1076. See Applicant's specification, at paragraphs [00120]-[00123] (Example 2 and Table 4). This improved conjugation efficiency is specific to the tesirine payload and the N297Q modification, and is not disclosed or suggested in any of the cited references.
This is not found persuasive because the issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. There is nothing unextend in Applicants’ results because
N297Q mutation is a strategic modification that enables site-specific, homogeneous antibody–drug conjugates (ADCs) with improved pharmacology and reduced off-target effects. Using this specific Q297 site with a branched or dimeric linker. Instead of attaching one payload per amine-donor, a branched linker carrying two payload molecules is reacted with each Q297 residue (2 × 2 = 4). This yields a highly homogeneous ADC with a precise DAR of 4, ensuring predictable pharmacokinetics and optimized therapeutic index. It is noted that DAR can be tuned by the linkers (e.g., one linker, branched linkers, monofunctional linkers) so the molar ratio of linker to antibody during conjugation can fine-tune DAR.
Applicant submits that REGN3124-tesirine demonstrated potent bystander killing activity against EGFRvIII-negative U251MG parental cells in coculture with EGFRvIII-positive cells, with an IC50 value of 28 pM, whereas the comparator REGN1076-MMAF was weakly cytotoxic in U251 parental cells from the coculture with an IC50 value of 28 nM, representing an approximately 1000-fold improvement. See Applicant's specification, at paragraphs [00131]- [00132] and Table 6. Histological analysis of the brains from mice treated with REGN3124- tesirine in the heterogeneous EGFRvIII-expressing orthotopic GBM59 model did not identify any GBM59 cells at any timepoint. See Applicant's specification, at paragraph [00147]. And, as discussed above, REGN3124-tesirine at a single dose of 0.53 mg/kg (7 pg/kg PBD payload) achieved sustained regression of U251/EGFRvIII xenografts, whereas a comparator ADC (COMP-MMAF) required 5 mg/kg to achieve comparable activity. See Applicant's specification, at paragraph [00157] and Table 16. In orthotopically placed intracranial GBM59 PDX tumors, REGN3124-tesirine achieved 5/8 survival at Day 95 with median survival not reached, whereas COMP-MMAF at 5 mg/kg achieved 0/8 survival with a median survival of only 23.5 days. See Applicant's specification, at paragraph [00158] and Table 17. These results demonstrate that the specific combination of the N297Q anti-EGFRvIII antibody with tesirine produced unexpected and remarkable effects that could not have been predicted from the cited references.
This is not found persuasive because given that DAR dictates the potency and safety profile of the final ADC and N297Q mutation possesses two accessible glutamines (Q295 and Q297) on each of its two heavy chains, a standard MTGase reaction yields a strictly controlled, homogeneous DAR of 4. The homogenous DAR of 4 delivers a predictable, lethal payload dose directly to the cytosol of antigen-expressing tumor cells via endocytosis. Tesirine can traverse cell membranes post-lysis, killing neighboring antigen-negative tumor cells (bystander effect), helping eradicate heterogeneous tumors. Further, the N297Q mutation strips away the N-glycan, which drastically reduces binding to Fcγ receptors (FcγRs) on healthy immune cells. This minimizes off-target uptake and decreases systemic toxicity, widening the therapeutic window.
Applicant submits that the effects of using tesirine could not have been predictable from the teachings of the cited references. As discussed above, the N297Q modification produced an unexpected improvement in tesirine conjugation efficiency (DAR 3.4 versus 2.4-2.6 (see Applicant's specification, at Table 4), and REGN3124-tesirine produced a more durable anti-tumor effect relative to REGN1076-tesirine at equivalent dose levels (see Applicant's specification, at paragraph [00142]). These results are specific to the interplay between the N297Q modification and the tesirine payload, and could not have been predicted from WO'090 and Hartley, which are completely silent on N297Q modification. Thus, the pending claims are not obvious over WO'090 and Hartley.
This is not found persuasive because the argument that “using tesirine could not have been predictable from the teachings of the cited references” is merely attorney argument, unsupported by evidence of how those of skill in the art would have considered the efficacy and efficiency of tesirine conjugation efficiency. See Meitznerv. Mindick, 549 F.2d 775, 782 (CCPA 1977)
("Argument of counsel cannot take the place of evidence lacking in the record."). Applicants do not explain why one skilled in the art reading the relied upon references would predict that REGN3124-tesirine would not produce more durable anti-tumor effect relative to REGN1076-tesirine at equivalent dose levels.
8. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-22, 24, 27, 29, 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO/2014/145090 in view of Hartley et al (Nature, (2018) 8:10479) and Lhospice et al., (Innate Pharma, ADC Summit 2013) for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 06/23/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/18/2026, have been fully considered, but have not been found convincing.
Applicant submits that Lhospice fails to teach or suggest any anti-EGFRvIII antibody or tesirine, let alone any ADC comprising an anti-EGFRvIll antibody conjugated with tesirine. More importantly, Lhospice teaches that the N297Q mutation creates glutamine residues in an antibody as specific conjugation sites recognized by bacterial transglutaminase (BTG) for site-specific conjugation. See Lhospice, at Abstract. However, tesirine is conjugated to an antibody through cysteine residues (see e.g., Tiberghien, at p. 985, right col, 3rd para.), a mechanism completely different from the BTG-based method in Lhospice. Thus, a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to use the approach in Lhospice, e.g., introducing a N297Q mutation, to conjugate tesirine to an antibody.
This is not found persuasive because tesirine (SG3249) can be conjugated using glutamine residues in an engineered mutant antibody like N297Q. The N297Q mutation removes the native N-linked glycosylation site while introducing an accessible glutamine (Q) residue. The engineered glutamine along with Q295 serves as an acyl donor substrate for Microbial Transglutaminase (mTGase). mTGase catalyzes a site-specific transamidation reaction between the amine group of a functionalized linker on the payload (such as an amine-peg-linker attached to the pyrrolobenzodiazepine dimer in tesirine) and the glutamine side chain on the antibody. Applicant did not dispute this fact.
Further, the teachings of Lhospice suggest that introducing the N297Q mutations into ADCs did not improve the anti-tumor efficacy. See Lhospice, at Conclusion and Perspectives ("BTG-ADCs with DAR=4.0 show equivalent in vitro and in vivo efficacy compared to ADCETRIS® "). In contrast, as discussed above, the N297Q modification in an ADC comprising an anti-EGFRvIIII antibody conjugated to tesirine produced unexpected, more durable anti-tumor efficacy and improvement in tesirine conjugation efficiency, which could not have been predicted from WO'090, Hartley, or Lhospice. Thus, the pending claims are not obvious over WO'090, Hartley, and Lhospice.
This is not found persuasive because Lhospice et al teach that BTG-ADCs with a DAR of 4.0 showed similar in vitro potency and efficacy compared to ADCETRIS® as well as similar in vivo efficacy in a xenogeneic tumoral model. The in vivo efficacy shows both ADCETRIS and SGN30Q-sp1a-vcMMAE demonstrated complete and sustained tumor regression in the KARPAS 299 in vivo efficacy model, while the control groups failed to inhibit tumor growth (see Fig. below).
Applicant argues that the teachings of Lhospice suggest that introducing the N97Q mutations into ADCs did not improve the anti-tumor efficacy. Applicant submits that Lhospice concluded that BTG-ADCs with DAR=4.0 show equivalent in vitro and in vivo efficacy compared to ADCETRIS)
Contrary to applicant assertation Lhospice et al shows complete and sustained tumor regression in the KARPAS 299 in vivo efficacy model. Equivalent to in vitro to in vivo efficacy does not meant ADCs did not improve the anti-tumor efficacy. From the figures in the poster, both in vivo and in vitro show complete and sustained tumor regression. It is noted that ADCETRIS (brentuximab vedotin) is also an antibody-drug conjugate. It is not clear what would be improvement in the anti-tumor efficacy of complete and sustained tumor regression taught by Lhospice.
10. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-22, 24, 27, 29, 33 and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
(a) claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10738124.
(b) claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10047160.
(c) claims 1-9 of U. S. Patent No. 9475875; each in view of Hartley et al (Nature, (2018) 8:10479), Tiberghien (ACS Med Chem Lett. 2016;7(11):983–987) and Lhospice et al., (Innate Pharma, ADC Summit 2013) for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 06/23/2026.
Applicant submits that none of the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 10738124,
10047160, or 9475875 recites tesirine or the N297Q mutation. As discussed above regarding the
non-obviousness of the pending claims, none of Hartley, Tiberghien, or Lhospice teaches or
suggests conjugating an ADC "comprising an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that
binds specifically to EGFRvIII. and conjugated to tesirine," "wherein a heavy chain of the
antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises an N297Q mutation and is aglycosylated
at residue 297," as recited in claim 1. Thus, no claims of the reference patents, alone or in
combination with the secondary references, anticipate or render obvious any of the pending
claims. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections on the ground
of nonstatutory double patenting, and immediate allowance of the claims.
This is not found persuasive because the combined reference teachings arrive to the claimed conjugates.
It remains the Examiner position that those of skill in the art would have had reason to use the tesirine (SG3249) of the Hartley as a substitute for the cytotoxin taught in `124, `160 and `875 patents because, like the compounds taught in `124, 160 and 875 patents, tesirine (SG3249) is cytotoxin/warhead/payload component to treat tumors with low copy number antigen targets . Substituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 421 (2007).
Those of skill in the art would have had a reason to use tesirine taught by Tiberghien as a substitute for the warhead taught by the `124, `160 and `875 patents using the preparation of SG3249 antibody−drug conjugates procedures taught by Tiberghien et al because tesirine is potent antitumor activity with desirable physicochemical properties such as favorable hydrophobicity and improved conjugation characteristics.
11. No claim is allowed.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHER M HADDAD whose telephone number is (571)272-0845. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from7:00AM to 4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-0839. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
October 27, 2026
/MAHER M HADDAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644