DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 10-11 are amended and claim 7 is canceled. Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 12/21/2023, is a 371 filing of PCT/JP2022/027175, filed 07/08/2022, which claims foreign priority to JP2021-120922, filed 07/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Rejections
were Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inaoka (US 20060030621 A1). Applicant’s amendments have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 10-11 now recite a “sugar alcohol”, which Applicant argues does not encompass glycerin (See response to arguments below). However, the instant specification provides no specific definition of a “sugar alcohol”, which means it is defined by its art recognized meaning. Wikipedia (“Sugar alcohol”, 2026, PTO-892) provides the following definition: Sugar alcohols (also called polyhydric alcohols, polyalcohols, alditols or glycitols) are organic compounds, typically derived from sugars, containing one hydroxyl group (−OH) attached to each carbon atom (p. 1, first paragraph). Common sugar alcohols include glycerol (p. 2, “Common sugar alcohols”). Cummings (Facts About: Sugar Alcohols, 2026, PTO-829) teaches that sugar alcohols are a reduced form of a sugar in which the aldehyde or ketone is replaced with an -OH, and sometimes referred to as polyols. The simplest sugar alcohol is glycerol, a reduced form of glyceraldehyde, the simplest aldo-sugar (p. 1, first paragraph). Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “sugar alcohol” includes glycerol.
Claim 11 defines a product-by-process. The product which results from the recited process results in a product that comprises all of the same components as defined in the product of claim 1. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the product resulting from the process defined in claim 11 is substantially the same as the product defined in claim 1 and will be examined as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lubrano, C., et al. (FR 3046352 A1, Espacenet translation used, 07/07/2021, on record), hereinafter Lubrano, as evidenced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 247, Betaine (on record), hereinafter NCBI, and Khurana, RK, et al. (2017). Exploring and validating physicochemical properties of mangiferin through GastroPlus® software. Future Sci OA. 3(1) (on record), hereinafter Khurana, and Dewey, J., (2024). Glycerol. EBSCO (PTO-892), hereinafter Dewey.
Lubrano discloses the cosmetic use of a eutectic solvent to improve the appearance of skin and a cosmetic composition comprising at least one eutectic solvent ([0001]).
Regarding claim 1: Lubrano teaches a cosmetic formulation comprising a low molecular weight betaine (i.e., betaine); a multivalent alcohol (i.e., glycerin); a skin condition improving ingredient (mangiferin in the form of Aphloia theiformis leaf extract); and water (p. 15, Example 8). Betaine, as taught in the examples of Lubrano, is also known as trimethyl glycine as evidenced by the NCBI. Glycerin is also known as glycerol and is an example of a sugar alcohol as evidenced by Dewey. Mangiferin is extracted from the leaf of Aphloia theiformis (p. 10, para. 2), and is an active ingredient which is applied to skin for its various cosmetic effects such as "softening the skin", "improving skin tone", and "improving the hydration of the epidermis" (p. 7, para. 3). The eutectic solvent mixture comprises glycerin/betaine/water (p. 6, para. 2, Example 1; claim 8), which reads on a deep eutectic solvent formed by a complex of the low molecular weight betaine and the multivalent alcohol.
Regarding claim 2: The cosmetic formulation of Lubrano comprises glycerin (i.e., glycerol).
Regarding claims 3 and 4: Betaine, also known as trimethyl glycine (NCBI), reads on the instantly claimed low molecular weight betaine and its structure, as evidenced by the instant specification (p. 7 of spec.).
Regarding claim 5: Lubrano teaches forming a eutectic solvent mixture which is used in the final cosmetic formulation. The "glycerin / betaine / water" eutectic solvent mixture is prepared at the molar ratio 2/1/1 (p. 6, para. 2, Example 1; claim 8). Thus, the molar ratio of betaine (i.e., component A) to glycerin (i.e., component B) in the final cosmetic formulation is 1/2 or 0.5, which falls within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 6: The cosmetic formulation incorporates betaine (i.e., component A) at 3.132% and glycerin (i.e., component B) at 1.154%. The total of the two is 4.286%, which falls within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 8: The logP of mangiferin (i.e., component C) is -0.59, as evidenced by the Khurana, which falls within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 11: Given the claim interpretation above, claim 11 is anticipated by the same teachings as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12: Since the composition anticipated by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubrano, C., et al. (FR 3046352 A1, Espacenet translation used, 07/07/2021, on record), hereinafter Lubrano.
The teachings of Lubrano are discussed above, as are the rejections of claims 1-6, 8, and 11-12.
Lubrano further teaches a method of preparing a eutectic solvent mixture by solubilizing 147g of betaine in a mixture composed of 230g of glycerin and 23g of demineralized water using a propeller stirrer (p. 12, Example 1). This step reads on mixing a low molecular weight betaine with a multivalent alcohol to obtain a complex, in the absence of the skin condition improving ingredient, as partially defined in claim 10. Lubrano then teaches that 0.1% of mangiferin (syn. aphloiol) is incorporated into the mixture (p. 12, Example 1). This step reads on adding a skin condition improving ingredient to the complex, as defined in claim 10. Lastly, Lubrano teaches a cosmetic formulation incorporating the base formulation above. Such a cosmetic formulation comprises water at 75.457%, in addition to the small amount of flower water used in the above eutectic solvent mixture (p. 15, Example 8). As such, “incorporating” the above base formulation into a final cosmetic formulation comprising water reads on the instantly claimed step of subsequently adding water in claim 10.
Lubrano also teaches that the eutectic solvent comprises at least one element chosen from a simple carbohydrate, an organic acid, a polyol (i.e., glycerin), and a nitrogen compound (i.e., betaine) (p. 5, para. 3). Lubrano then teaches that the eutectic solvent may also include a small amount of water. The small amount of water is sufficient to decrease the viscosity of the cosmetic formulation base (p. 5, para. 3).
The teachings of Lubrano differ from those of the instant invention in that Lubrano does not explicitly disclose mixing only the low molecular weight betaine and multivalent alcohol in the absence of water, as recited in claim 10.
Regarding claim 10, the only difference between the process as claimed and that of Lubrano is that the instantly claimed process defines the first mixing step in the absence of water while Lubrano teaches that small amounts of water are included. However, given Lubrano’s teaching that water is only added in small amounts to the eutectic solvent in order to decrease the viscosity, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add this portion of water at any point in the method, without affecting the eutectic nature of the solvent. Adjusting viscosity with water could have been done after the step of adding in the skin condition improving agent to result in substantially the same product. Generally, the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). One of ordinary skill in the art could have excluded the water of Lubrano from the initial blending step, and added the water following the addition of the skin condition improving agent to predictably generate the same final product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification since water is not an essential component of forming the eutectic of Lubrano.
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubrano, C., et al. (FR 3046352 A1, Espacenet translation used, 07/07/2021, on record), hereinafter Lubrano, as applied to claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 above, and further in view of Yasuno, R., et al. (US 20060263399 A1, 11/23/2006, on record), hereinafter Yasuno.
The teachings of Lubrano are discussed above, as are the rejections of claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12.
Lubrano teaches its cosmetic formulation to improve the appearance of the skin (abstract). Skin appearance improvement can be an improvement of at least one skin surface characteristic chosen from radiance, smoothness, softness, evenness of color and tone, and/or a prevention of the degradation of at least one of these characteristics (p. 7, para. 2).
The teachings of Lubrano differ from those of the instant invention in that Lubrano does not explicitly disclose a skin condition improving ingredient of claim 9.
Yasuno teaches preparations for external use on skin in which a water-soluble ascorbic acid can be stably dissolved by blending a low molecular weight betaine, a water-soluble ascorbic acid, and a glycol ether or a specific polyhydric alcohol. The preparations provide a moisturizing sensation and provide good fitness to the skin (abstract). In view of high safety with respect to the skin or mucosa and increased effects, L-ascorbic acid, L-ascorbyl monophosphoric esters, and L-ascorbyl-2-glucoside are particularly preferred actives ([0021]). Example 9 discloses a preparation comprising ascorbyl-2 glucoside, trimethyl glycine, diglycerol, and water ([0096], Ex. 9). L-ascorbyl-2 glucoside reads on the L-ascorbic acid glucoside of claim 9.
Regarding claim 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, to incorporate the ascorbyl-2 glucoside of Yasuno into the composition of Lubruno since such an ingredient is a known and routine cosmetic active in the art as taught by Yasuno. Both Lubruno and Yasuno teach formulations for stably solubilizing a cosmetic active by blending it with betaine (i.e., trimethyl glycine) and a multivalent alcohol (i.e., glycerin or diglycerol). Furthermore, both references teach their compositions as external cosmetic preparations for improving skin condition. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the ascorbyl-2 glucoside of Yasuno into the cosmetic formulation of Lubruno in order to predictable generate a composition that stably solubilizes the active ingredient for improving skin condition. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the above modification since both actives (i.e., mangiferin and ascorbyl-2 glucoside) are solubilized by a low molecular betaine and a multivalent alcohol in skin improving compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argues that the glycerin is not a sugar alcohol and therefore, the glycerin/betaine/ water composition of Example 8 of Lubrano does not anticipate the amended claims, nor do any of the other references remedy such a deficiency. Applicant also argues that when xylitol is used to form the complex solvent rather than dipropylene glycol and glycerin, the xylitol-containing complex exhibits behavior indicating promoted diffusion of the skin condition improving ingredient toward the skin.
As discussed above, the instant specification provides no specific definition of a “sugar alcohol”, which means it is defined by its art recognized meaning. Wikipedia (“Sugar alcohol”, 2026, PTO-892) provides the following definition: Sugar alcohols (also called polyhydric alcohols, polyalcohols, alditols or glycitols) are organic compounds, typically derived from sugars, containing one hydroxyl group (−OH) attached to each carbon atom (p. 1, first paragraph). Common sugar alcohols include glycerol (p. 2, “Common sugar alcohols”). Cummings (Facts About: Sugar Alcohols, 2026, PTO-829) teaches that sugar alcohols are a reduced form of a sugar in which the aldehyde or ketone is replaced with an -OH, and sometimes referred to as polyols. The simplest sugar alcohol is glycerol, a reduced form of glyceraldehyde, the simplest aldo-sugar (p. 1, first paragraph). Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “sugar alcohol” includes glycerol. Lastly, Dewey (Glycerol, 2024, PTO-892) defines glycerol as a sugar alcohol that is available in commercial and pharmaceutical forms under the name glycerin (p. 1, first paragraph).
Furthermore, claim 1 defines the multivalent alcohol as a sugar alcohol while dependent claim 2 further defines the multivalent alcohol as selected from a group including glycerol. As such, glycerol is explicitly defined by the claims as a sugar alcohol, and Applicant’s assertion that glycerin (i.e., glycerol) is not a sugar alcohol is unclear. Lastly, Applicant’s argument that an improvement occurs when xylitol is used is not commensurate with the claims since glycerol is still explicitly defined in the instant claims and a 102 rejection cannot be overcome by secondary considerations.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected.
No claims allowed.
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616