DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Linev (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110274242).
[The following rejection coincides, at least in part, with the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority dated 09/20/22].
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0274242
As per claim 1, Linev discloses an x-ray inspection system comprising:
a plurality of detector elements (5) for detecting x-rays, the detector elements being positioned to detect x-rays from an inspection area, the plurality of detector elements being provided in at least one detector assembly;
a control logic module (22), the control logic module being mounted in a control assembly (21) of the system, the control assembly being separate from the at least one detector assembly, wherein the control logic module comprises:
an x-ray source (2) interface for providing and receiving first control signals with an x-ray source to cause the x-ray source to illuminate an object to be inspected by the x-ray inspection system (Figs shown above; see also para [0042]); and
a detector element interface (5) for providing second control signals to a plurality of detector elements separate from the control logic module, wherein the control logic module is configured to provide said control signals (SYNCHRONIZATION SIGNAL) to synchronize operation of the detector elements with operation of the x-ray source, the control logic module being configured to control operation of the detector elements and an x- ray source for the acquisition of x-ray inspection data (see Figs shown above; see also para [0042]).
As per claims 2-3, Linev discloses an inspection system wherein the at least one control assembly is arranged to communicate real-time control signals from the control assembly to the detector assembly (see Figs shown above; see also para [0042]).
As per claim 4, Linev discloses an inspection system wherein the at least one detector assembly is secured to a gantry (1) about said inspection area, and connected to the control assembly via a wiring harness secured to said gantry (see for example, Figs shown above).
As per claim 5, Linev discloses an inspection system comprising a filter operable to provide selective attenuation of illumination from the x-ray source, wherein the control logic module is connected to synchronize operation of the filter with operation of the detector elements (see for example, para. [0041]; filter (19)).
As per claims 6-8, Linev discloses an inspection system comprising an external synchronization interface, for communication of a synchronization signal with a remote device separate from the x-ray inspection system, wherein the control logic module is connected to the external synchronization interface, and configured to operate in one of a master mode and a slave mode, wherein in the master mode the control logic module provides the synchronization signal to the external synchronization interface for controlling operation of said remote device; and in the slave mode the control logic module obtains said synchronization signal from the external synchronization interface and synchronizes operation of the detector elements and the x-ray source based on said synchronization signal (note electrical interfaces (9, 10, 11, 12, 23) in Fig. 5 shown above, connecting to control block (21); contrast with disclosure of instant application (see U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240302296, paras. [0092-0093]).
As per claims 9-17 and 19, Linev discloses a control logic comprising:
an x-ray source (2) interface for providing and receiving first control signals with an x-ray source to cause the x-ray source to illuminate an object to be inspected by the x-ray inspection system; and
a detector element (5) interface for providing second control signals to a plurality of detector elements separate from the control logic module,
wherein the control logic module (22) is configured to be mounted in a control assembly (21) of the system, wherein the plurality of detector elements are configured to be provided in at least one detector assembly, wherein the control assembly is separate from the at least one detector assembly, wherein the control logic module is configured to provide said control signals (SYNCHRONIZATION SIGNAL) to synchronize operation of the detector elements with operation of the x-ray source (see Figs shown above; see also para [0042]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY D THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884