DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 04/10/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 11 and 12 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the title of invention and claims have overcome each and every objection in the specification and claims, respectively, previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Examiner notes that a certified English translation filed on 04/10/2026 for the certified copies CHINA 202110781875.X filed on 07/09/2021, has been provided which the applicant made claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11 and 12 in a reply filed 04/10/2026 regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1” recited in claims 11-12 includes a logical channel with a highest priority level (e.g., level 1) compared to another logical channel with a lower priority level (e.g., level 2). Therefore, a logical channel with a highest priority level is considered a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1 (LEE - [0163] when data of a logical channel having a higher priority (e.g., priority 1 > priority 2) enters buffer; [0252] a BSR may be transmitted for only an LCG (LCG includes logical channel(s) according to [0248];) having the highest priority).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI et al. (US 20240049327 A1, claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202110049294.7 filed Jan. 14, 2021, hereinafter, CAI) in view of LEE et al. (US 20160183239 A1, hereinafter, LEE).
Regarding claim 11, CAI discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5B – remote terminal device; Fig. 18; [0110] In addition, for ease of understanding, remote UE and relay UE are used below for description. “Remote UE” described below may be replaced with a “first terminal device”, “relay UE” or “relay UE 1” described below; [0434] FIG. 18 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a communication apparatus according to an embodiment of this application. The communication apparatus 1800 may be the first terminal device or a chip system of the first terminal device in any one of the embodiment shown in FIG. 4 to the embodiment shown in FIG. 17, and is configured to implement the method corresponding to the first terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 18 – processor 1801); and
a memory (Fig. 18 – memory 1802) in communication with the processor and storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 18 – instructions 1804; [0436] the communication apparatus 1800 includes one or more memories 1802, configured to store instructions 1804. The instructions 1804 may be run on the processor, so that the communication apparatus 1800 performs the method described in the foregoing method embodiments), cause the UE to:
initiate a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure (Fig. 5B – S514 – S515; [0153] To perform RRC reestablishment, the remote UE needs to send an RRC reestablishment request message to the second network device corresponding to the selected first cell. The RRC reestablishment request message includes shortMAC-I. Therefore, the remote UE needs to determine the value of shortMAC-I. For example, the remote UE may determine the value of shortMAC-I based on an identifier of the first cell (for example, an ID of the first cell); [0158] The remote UE may suspend the SRB 1 in S504. To perform RRC reestablishment, the remote UE needs to send the RRC reestablishment request message to the second network device corresponding to the selected first cell. After receiving the RRC reestablishment request message, the second network device needs to send an RRC reestablishment message to the remote UE. The RRC reestablishment message is transmitted through the SRB 1. Therefore, the remote UE needs to resume the SRB 1 before receiving the RRC reestablishment message), in which a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) is re-established for a Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) (Fig. 5B – S510; [0154] S510: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes a PDCP entity of a first SRB. In embodiments of this application, the first SRB is, for example, an SRB 1, or may be another SRB. In this embodiment of this application, an example in which the first SRB is the SRB 1 is used);
in a case that no sidelink (SL) Radio Link Control (RLC) entity is associated with the SRB1 (Fig. 5A- S504; [0142] S504: The remote UE suspends all RBs other than a second SRB. The RB suspended by the remote UE is a Uu RB. In embodiments of this application, the second SRB is, for example, an SRB 0, or may be another SRB. In this embodiment of this application, an example in which the second SRB is the SRB 0 is used; [0143] For example, the remote UE may further release an SL RLC bearer of the suspended RB; (hence there is currently no SL RLC associated with the SRB1 after S504)), establish a new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 (Fig. 5B – S511; [0155] S511: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes an SL RLC bearer of the SRB 1), otherwise, in a case that an SL RLC entity is associated with the SRB1 ([0142] S504: The remote UE suspends all RBs (including SRB1 according to [0158] The remote UE may suspend the SRB 1 in S504) other than a second SRB... the second SRB is, for example, an SRB 0, or may be another SRB), release the SL RLC entity ([0143] the remote UE may further release an SL RLC bearer of the suspended RB (including SRB1 according to [0158])) and establish a new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 ([0154] S510: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes a PDCP entity of a first SRB; [0155] S511: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes an SL RLC bearer of the SRB 1);
apply a default configuration of the new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 ([0156] S512: The remote UE applies a default configuration of the SRB 1. The default configuration may be specified in a protocol; [0190] the remote UE may resume the SRB 1... The remote UE may apply an SL RLC default configuration or a specified configuration of the SRB 1. The default configuration or the specified configuration may be specified in a protocol); and
resume the SRB1 (Fig. 5B – S513; [0157] S513: The remote UE resumes the SRB 1).
CAI does not explicitly disclose the default configuration indicates that a value of an RLC entity mode is an acknowledged mode (AM), that a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1, and that a value of a logical channel group number is 0.
However, LEE discloses a value of an RLC entity mode is an acknowledged mode (AM) (Table 3 - set to the values defined in the default RLC configuration for SRB1 in 9.2.1.1 or for SRB2 in 9.2.1.2. RLC AM is the only applicable RLC mode for SRB1 and SRB2), that a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1 ([0162] Condition that Triggers a Regular BSR [0163] when data of a logical channel having a higher priority (e.g., 1> 0) enters buffer; [0252] a BSR may be transmitted for only an LCG (LCG includes logical channel(s) according to [0248];) having the highest priority), and that a value of a logical channel group number is 0 ([0206] When a BSR for D2D communication is transmitted in a long BSR format (b), buffer sizes may be sequentially configured based on the order of logical channel groups or the order of D2D connections. That is, buffer size #0 may include the buffer size information of logical channel group #0).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the default configuration of CAI to include the value of the RLC entity mode is the AM, that the value of the priority of the logical channel is 1, and that the value of the logical channel group number is 0 as taught by LEE in order to improve the reliability of the communication by establishing an AM (LEE – Table 3... RLC AM... mode for SRB1 and SRB2; CAI - [0390] the remote UE may send acknowledgment information to the relay UE. The acknowledgment information is used to acknowledge that RRC reestablishment is to be performed through the relay UE) and prioritization (LEE – [0252] a BSR may be transmitted for only an LCG having the highest priority).
Regarding claim 12, CAI discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5B – remote terminal device; Fig. 18; [0110] In addition, for ease of understanding, remote UE and relay UE are used below for description. “Remote UE” described below may be replaced with a “first terminal device”, “relay UE” or “relay UE 1” described below), the method ([0434] FIG. 18 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a communication apparatus according to an embodiment of this application. The communication apparatus 1800 may be the first terminal device or a chip system of the first terminal device in any one of the embodiment shown in FIG. 4 to the embodiment shown in FIG. 17, and is configured to implement the method corresponding to the first terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments) comprising:
initiating a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure (Fig. 5B – S514 – S515; [0153] To perform RRC reestablishment, the remote UE needs to send an RRC reestablishment request message to the second network device corresponding to the selected first cell. The RRC reestablishment request message includes shortMAC-I. Therefore, the remote UE needs to determine the value of shortMAC-I. For example, the remote UE may determine the value of shortMAC-I based on an identifier of the first cell (for example, an ID of the first cell); [0158] The remote UE may suspend the SRB 1 in S504. To perform RRC reestablishment, the remote UE needs to send the RRC reestablishment request message to the second network device corresponding to the selected first cell. After receiving the RRC reestablishment request message, the second network device needs to send an RRC reestablishment message to the remote UE. The RRC reestablishment message is transmitted through the SRB 1. Therefore, the remote UE needs to resume the SRB 1 before receiving the RRC reestablishment message), in which a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) is re-established for a Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) (Fig. 5B – S510; [0154] S510: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes a PDCP entity of a first SRB. In embodiments of this application, the first SRB is, for example, an SRB 1, or may be another SRB. In this embodiment of this application, an example in which the first SRB is the SRB 1 is used);
in a case that no sidelink (SL) Radio Link Control (RLC) entity is associated with the SRB1 (Fig. 5A- S504; [0142] S504: The remote UE suspends all RBs other than a second SRB. The RB suspended by the remote UE is a Uu RB. In embodiments of this application, the second SRB is, for example, an SRB 0, or may be another SRB. In this embodiment of this application, an example in which the second SRB is the SRB 0 is used; [0143] For example, the remote UE may further release an SL RLC bearer of the suspended RB; (hence there is currently no SL RLC associated with the SRB1 after S504)), establishing a new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 (Fig. 5B – S511; [0155] S511: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes an SL RLC bearer of the SRB 1), otherwise, in a case that an SL RLC entity is associated with the SRB1 ([0142] S504: The remote UE suspends all RBs (including SRB1 according to [0158] The remote UE may suspend the SRB 1 in S504) other than a second SRB... the second SRB is, for example, an SRB 0, or may be another SRB), releasing the SL RLC entity ([0143] the remote UE may further release an SL RLC bearer of the suspended RB (including SRB1 according to [0158])) and establish a new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 ([0154] S510: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes a PDCP entity of a first SRB; [0155] S511: The remote UE establishes or reestablishes an SL RLC bearer of the SRB 1);
applying a default configuration of the new SL RLC entity for the SRB1 ([0156] S512: The remote UE applies a default configuration of the SRB 1. The default configuration may be specified in a protocol; [0190] the remote UE may resume the SRB 1... The remote UE may apply an SL RLC default configuration or a specified configuration of the SRB 1. The default configuration or the specified configuration may be specified in a protocol); and
resuming the SRB1 (Fig. 5B – S513; [0157] S513: The remote UE resumes the SRB 1).
CAI does not explicitly disclose the default configuration indicates that a value of an RLC entity mode is an acknowledged mode (AM), that a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1, and that a value of a logical channel group number is 0.
However, LEE discloses a value of an RLC entity mode is an acknowledged mode (AM) (Table 3 - set to the values defined in the default RLC configuration for SRB1 in 9.2.1.1 or for SRB2 in 9.2.1.2. RLC AM is the only applicable RLC mode for SRB1 and SRB2), that a value of a priority of a logical channel is 1 ([0162] Condition that Triggers a Regular BSR [0163] when data of a logical channel having a higher priority (e.g., priority 1 > priority 2) enters buffer; [0252] a BSR may be transmitted for only an LCG (LCG includes logical channel(s) according to [0248];) having the highest priority), and that a value of a logical channel group number is 0 ([0206] When a BSR for D2D communication is transmitted in a long BSR format (b), buffer sizes may be sequentially configured based on the order of logical channel groups or the order of D2D connections. That is, buffer size #0 may include the buffer size information of logical channel group #0).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the default configuration of CAI to include the value of the RLC entity mode is the AM, that the value of the priority of the logical channel is 1, and that the value of the logical channel group number is 0 as taught by LEE in order to improve the reliability of the communication by establishing an AM (LEE – Table 3... RLC AM... mode for SRB1 and SRB2; CAI - [0390] the remote UE may send acknowledgment information to the relay UE. The acknowledgment information is used to acknowledge that RRC reestablishment is to be performed through the relay UE) and prioritization (LEE – [0252] a BSR may be transmitted for only an LCG having the highest priority).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418