DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0056] states in part “The widening optic 11…thus, reducing the divergence”. The examiner believes that the widening optics would increase the divergence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0252741) in view of Townsend et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0059145) and Hirose et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0222399) as evidenced by Rossbach et al. (DE 102017119778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer et al. disclose: a semiconductor laser (photonic crystal surface emitting laser) (Fig. 1a, [0031]), a widening optic (diffractive structure of photonic crystal widens output from active layer) (see Rossbach, Fig. 1, page 7 of translation) wherein: the semiconductor laser is configured to generate a light beam with diffraction-limited divergence by a laser process (Fig. 3, [0068]-[0070]).
Meyer et al. do not disclose: a housing, an optical element, arranged along a common optical axis within the housing, a recollimation optic, so that the light beam is substantially collimated at the optical element.
Townsend et al. disclose: an optical element (118), arranged along a common optical axis, a recollimation optic (114), so that the light beam is substantially collimated at the optical element (Fig. 2, [0059]-[0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer by adding recollimation optic (micro-lens) directly on the photonic crystal surface emitting laser and also adding an optical element (diffractive optical element) in order to shape the coherent beam outputted by the photonic crystal surface emitting laser.
Meyer as modified do not disclose: a housing, arranged along a common optical axis within the housing.
Hirose et al. disclose: housing for laser device (Fig. 1b, [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer as modified by forming a housing around the laser and optical elements in order to protect the laser and optical elements. The device as modified disclose: arranged along a common optical axis within the housing.
Fig 1(a) of Meyer
Fig. 2 of Townsend
Fig. 1b of Hirose
Regarding claim 2, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the semiconductor laser is free of collimating optics (semiconductor laser of Meyer does not contain collimating optics) (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the semiconductor laser comprises a photonic crystal surface emitting semiconductor diode, PCSEL (Meyer, Fig. 1A, [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the optical element is configured to pattern the light beam emitted by the semiconductor laser such that a known pattern is projectable onto an external object (Townsend, Fig. 2, [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the optical element comprises a non-zero distance from the semiconductor laser, or wherein the optical element is mounted directly on the semiconductor laser (optical element 118 formed at a non-zero distance from the semiconductor laser) (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the widening optic is integrated in the semiconductor laser (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the recollimation optic (116) is integrated in the optical element (Townsend, Fig. 2, [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the recollimation optic (116) is integrated on a front side or a rear side of the optical element and mounted on the semiconductor laser (Townsend, Fig. 2, [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein a height of the housing is substantially determined by the distance between the optical element and the semiconductor laser (implicitly taught by the device of claim 1, housing covers the semiconductor laser and optical element).
Regarding claim 15, the apparatus of claim 1 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the widening optic is manufactured in a common process with the semiconductor laser (widening optic is part of the semiconductor laser) (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, Meyer as modified disclose: wherein the recollimation optic is arranged downstream of the widening optic in the light beam (see the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0252741) in view of Townsend et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0059145), Hirose et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0222399) and Jiang et al. (US 5,966,399) as evidenced by Rossbach et al. (DE 102017119778 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer as modified do not disclose: wherein the semiconductor laser comprises an aperture, through which the light beam of the semiconductor layer is emitted, and the beam divergence at half-width of the light beam is substantially less than 0.1° despite diffraction at the aperture.
Jiang et al. disclose: wherein the semiconductor laser comprises an aperture, through which the light beam of the semiconductor layer is emitted (Fig. 3, col. 7, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer as modified by forming an aperture on the top layer of the semiconductor laser in order to reduce current spreading and beam divergence.
Meyer as modified do not disclose: the beam divergence at half-width of the light beam is substantially less than 0.1° despite diffraction at the aperture.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a semiconductor laser comprising an aperture and emitting a beam having a beam divergence at half-width. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the beam divergence at half-width by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, Meyer as modified do not disclose: wherein the optical element is integrated in the semiconductor laser.
Jiang et al. disclose: optical element (diffractive lens) is integrated in the semiconductor laser (col. 7, lines 35-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer as modified by integrating the diffractive lens with the semiconductor laser in order to reduce the size of the optoelectronic component.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0252741) in view of Townsend et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0059145), Hirose et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0222399) and Shin et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0169060) as evidenced by Rossbach et al. (DE 102017119778 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Meyer as modified do not disclose: wherein the widening optic is mounted on the semiconductor laser.
Shin et al. disclose: diffractive optical element mounted on a laser device (Fig. 2, [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer as modified by mounting the widening optics on the semiconductor laser in order to be able to adjust the number/type of elements that interact with the output beam.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0252741) in view of Townsend et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0059145), Hirose et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0222399) and Hooker et al. (US 6,327,520) as evidenced by Rossbach et al. (DE 102017119778 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Meyer as modified do not disclose: wherein the optical element and the semiconductor laser are arranged in a first chamber within the housing, and the housing comprises a second chamber, in which an optical detector is arranged.
Hooker et al. disclose: semiconductor laser are arranged in a first chamber within a housing, and the housing comprises a second chamber, in which an optical detector is arranged (col. 2, lines 29-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meyer as modified by adding a detector and forming the housing with separate chambers for the laser and detector in order to monitor the output from the laser device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagatomo et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0201528) disclose: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser includes an active layer between a first reflector and a second reflector and at least either the first reflector or the second reflector includes a two-dimensional photonic crystal. The two-dimensional photonic crystal has a structure 106 showing an ununiform effective refractive index distribution in the plane of the reflector to realize both a high reflectivity and transverse mode control at the same time (Abstract). Ikuta (US PG Pub 2012/0093188) discloses: there is provided a surface emitting laser allowing a direction of a far-field pattern (FFP) centroid to be inclined from a normal direction of a substrate providing the surface emitting laser, comprising: a substrate; a lower reflecting mirror, an active layer, an upper reflecting mirror stacked on the substrate; and a surface relief structure located in an upper portion of a light emitting surface of the upper reflecting mirror, the surface relief structure being made of a material allowing at least some beams emitted from the surface emitting laser to be transmitted therethrough, a plurality of regions having a predetermined optical thickness in a normal direction of the substrate being formed in contact with other region in an in-plane direction of the substrate, and a distribution of the optical thickness in the in-plane direction of the substrate is asymmetric to a central axis of the light emitting regions (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828