DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) the International Preliminary Report on patentability for International Patent Application No. PCT/EP2022/068119 did not find lack of unity. This is not found persuasive because lack of unity has been established and each case is evaluated on its own merits. The claims lack unity for the reasons set forth in the restriction mailed 5/5/2026.The Examiner reminds Applicant that should the product claims subsequently be found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-11 and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/14/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statement filed 12/21/2023 is acknowledged.
OBJECTION
3. Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 depends on a claim that is withdrawn. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “high molecular weight” PEGDE. The term “high” in is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “high” is a subjective term. The same issues applies to claims 2 and 3. Claim 3 further recites “low molecular weight” which is also a subjective term as to what constitutes being low. The dependent claims do not cure the deficiency of claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the term “preferably” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the lidocaine is a limitation of the claim or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al. WO 2019/005848 and Zhang et al. “Controllable properties and Microstructure of Hydrogels Based on Crosslinked Poly(ethylene glycol) Diacrylates with Different Molecular Weights”as evidenced by Monticelli et al. “Chemical Characterization of Hydrogels Crosslinked with Polyethylene Glycol Soft Tissue Augmentation”.
Altman et al. WO 2019/005848 (hereinafter Altman et al.) disclose a
biocompatible tissue filler composition comprising a glycosaminoglycan, hyaluronic acid
and lidocaine (anesthetic). Hyaluronic acid is crosslinked with a polyfunctional epoxy
compound polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (PEGDE) having an average Mn of 500,
1000, 2000, 6000 (page 1, lines 28-31, page 3, lines 15-31 to page 4, line 13). The average molecular weight of PEGDE correlates and overlaps with the average number of repetitive units (n) as claimed. The molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid can be between 5kDa and 5MDa. The hyaluronic acid is included at about 10 mg/ml. Altman et al. disclose the degree of crosslinking of the cross-linked HA is between about 1 % and 100 %.
Altman et al. does not explicitly state high and low molecular weight PEDGE however, as evidenced by Monticelli et al. “Chemical Characterization of Hydrogels Crosslinked with Polyethylene Glycol Soft Tissue Augmentation” disclose that commercially available PEGDE shows an average molar mass of 500 g/mol and is a mixture of several where n ranges from 2 to 15. The effective crosslinker ratio is 1 when all of the PEG is crosslinked among two HA chains.
With regards to claim 12, it is noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on the process of manufacturing. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe.
Altman et al. does not disclose weight ratio of high molecular weight PEG-DE crosslinker to the second low molecular weight PEGDE crosslinker of 95:5 to 5:95.
Zhang et al. “Controllable properties and Microstructure of Hydrogels Based on Crosslinked Poly(ethylene glycol) Diacrylates with Different Molecular Weights” (hereinafter Zang et al.) teach that the mechanical properties and cell viability of PEGDA hydrogels can be tailored and that changing the ratio of the low and high molecular weight components in a polymer blend can control the mechanical properties of the matrix. A 20/80 blend of the high to low molecular weight PEGDA provided a balance of mechanical strength and cell viability.
Zhang et al. disclose that PEGDE with blends of high and low molecular weight with different ratios and among them, equilibrium water contents, hydrophilicity, and mesh size of the hydrogels increased while the elastic moduli decreased when increased the PEGDA MW or the content of higher MW PEGDA in the blends. These results show the properties of PEGDA hydrogel could be easily adjusted by varying PEGDA MW or the ratios of low- and high-MW macromers in the composites. Zang et al. teach that the EWC of hydrogel decreased with increasing content of lower MW PEGDA macromers in blend where the PEGDA 400/2000 ratio was 10/50. The microstructure and properties such as water-absorbent ability, wetting property, mechanical property and transparency of the hydrogel were investigated, and were found to be dependent on the molecular weight and the weight ratio of the macromers in the composite. The higher the molecular weight or/and the higher ratio of the bigger macromer the hydrogel has, the lower the crosslinking density it gets, and then the lower the elastic modulus, the higher equilibrium water content and hydrophilicity are presented.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the ratio of the high and low molecular weight PEGDE. One would have been motivated to do so because the higher the molecular weight or/and the higher ratio of the bigger macromer the hydrogel has, the lower the crosslinking density it gets and then the lower the elastic modulus.
CORRESPONENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615