CTFR 18/573,021 CTFR 85646 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s amendment, filed on 04/10/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 14-15, 17, 21, 27-30 are amended; claims 12-13 and 25-26 are cancelled and Claims 1-11, 14-24 and 27-30 remain pending. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/10/2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant amended the independent claims significantly, which necessitates the new ground rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 1-11 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites limitation “identify a parameter indicating when the UE is to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information relating to a physical downlink control channel communication ”. It’s not clear whether the “a physical downlink control channel communication” refer to “a physical downlink control channel communication” in the receiving step in the claim. Further clarification is required. Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason stated above. Claims 2-11, 28 are dependent claims of Claim 1 and 27 respectively, thus are rejected for the same deficiency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, 10-11, 14-20, 23-24, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, et al (US 2024/0171323 A1) in view of Huang et al (US 2022/0394548 A1) . Regarding claim 1, 27, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory ([0109]); and one or more processors ([0108]), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive a physical downlink control channel communication in a first resource (Fig. 4, receive DCI with TCI notification; it’s noted that DCI is received in physical downlink control channel), wherein the first resource is associated with a beam indication downlink control information ([0067], “The DCI may indicate a TCI for updating at least one beam of one or more UL/DL signals. The corresponding PDSCH reception (e.g., virtual PDSCH or other reference channel reception) can be determined according to a SLIV parameter (or other information) of the time domain resource parameter (or other parameters) for PDSCH (e.g., time domain resource allocation indication and/or TDRA field). The reference channel (e.g., the virtual PDSCH) can be in a same slot as the PDCCH reception (e.g., the DCI transmission)”, also see Fig. 4) with a time domain resource allocation field that indicates a virtual physical downlink shared channel ; and identify a parameter indicating when the UE is to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information relating to a physical downlink control channel communication, wherein the parameter is identified based on a value in the time domain resource allocation field ([0077], a value corresponding to downlink data to HACK-ACK (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK) may be determined/identified according to (or based on) one of: a function of the k1 and a k0 parameter in the TDRA field, and/or a (k1−k0) number of time units); transmit, in a physical uplink control channel, hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information in a second resource, wherein the second resource is based at least in part on the first resource and the parameter ([0071], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (e.g., the ACK) in a PUCCH transmission that is k1 number of time units (e.g., slot) after the end of the reference channel reception”, it’s noted that the reference channel is transmitted in the first resource stated above; also see Fig. 4). Gao doesn’t explicitly teach that a time domain resource allocation field indicate a virtual physical downlink shared channel. Huang teaches that a time domain resource allocation field indicate a virtual physical downlink shared channel ([0182] For type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook, a location for the ACK information in the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on a virtual PDSCH indicated by the TDRA field in the beam indication DCI, based on the time domain allocation list configured for PDSCH). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Goa’s beam indication DCI framework to have the TDRA field explicitly indicates a virtual PDSCH, as taught by Huang, because both references address the same problem of beam indication without actual PDSCH scheduling, and such modification would yield the predictable result of more explicitly signaling the virtual PDSCH reference channel to the UE for HARQ-ACK codebook determination purpose. Regarding claim 14, 28, Gao teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory([0109]); and one or more processors ([0108]), coupled to the memory, configured to: set a value in a time domain resource allocation field for identifying a parameter indicating when a user equipment is to transmit a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information relating to a physical control channel communication ([0077], “a value corresponding to downlink data to HACK-ACK (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK) may be determined/identified according to (or based on) one of: a function of the k1 and a k0 parameter in the TDRA field, and/or a (k1−k0) number of time units. The value corresponding to downlink data to HACK-ACK can be used for determining a location of the HARQ-ACK information in a HARQ-ACK codebook”, it’s noted that K1 and K0 is set in TDRA field); transmit the physical downlink control channel communication in a first resource (Fig. 4, transmit DCI in the PDCCH in a first resource; also see [0067]), wherein the physical downlink control channel includes a beam indication downlink control information with the time domain resource allocation field that indicates a virtual physical downlink shared channel ([0067], “The DCI may indicate a TCI for updating at least one beam of one or more UL/DL signals. The corresponding PDSCH reception (e.g., virtual PDSCH or other reference channel reception) can be determined according to a SLIV parameter (or other information) of the time domain resource parameter (or other parameters) for PDSCH (e.g., time domain resource allocation indication and/or TDRA field ). The reference channel (e.g., the virtual PDSCH) can be in a same slot as the PDCCH reception (e.g., the DCI transmission)”, also see Fig. 4); and receive, in a physical uplink control channel, the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information in a second resource, wherein the second resource is based at least in part on the first resource and the parameter ([0071], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (e.g., the ACK) in a PUCCH transmission that is k1 number of time units (e.g., slot) after the end of the reference channel reception”, it’s noted that the reference channel is transmitted in the first resource stated above; also see Fig. 4). Gao doesn’t explicitly teach that a time domain resource allocation field indicate a virtual physical downlink shared channel. Huang teaches that a time domain resource allocation field indicate a virtual physical downlink shared channel ([0182] For type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook, a location for the ACK information in the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on a virtual PDSCH indicated by the TDRA field in the beam indication DCI, based on the time domain allocation list configured for PDSCH). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Goa’s beam indication DCI framework to have the TDRA field explicitly indicates a virtual PDSCH, as taught by Huang, because both references address the same problem of beam indication without actual PDSCH scheduling, and such modification would yield the predictable result of more explicitly signaling the virtual PDSCH reference channel to the UE for HARQ-ACK codebook determination purpose. Regarding claim 2, 15, 28 and 30, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the physical downlink control channel communication is associated with a transmission configuration indicator state identifying a downlink configuration and an uplink configuration (Gao, [0067], “The DCI may indicate a TCI for updating at least one beam of one or more UL/DL signals”). Regarding claim 3, 16, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the downlink control information is associated with format without a downlink assignment (Gao, [0012], “enhanced to facilitate the usage of the DCI without DL assignment (e.g., without PDSCH scheduling)”). Regarding claim 4, 17, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the second resource is based at least in part on an end of a reception of the physical downlink control channel communication in the first resource (Gao, [0071], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (e.g., the ACK) in a PUCCH transmission that is k1 number of time units (e.g., slot) after the end of the reference channel reception”, it’s noted that the reference channel is transmitted in the first resource stated above; also see Fig. 4). Regarding claim 5, 18, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the second resource is based at least in part on a timing indicator field associated with the downlink control information (Gao, [0070], “The DCI transmission may indicate/provide/specify the k.sub.1 (e.g., via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field of the DCI transmission)”). Regarding claim 6, 19, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the second resource is based at least in part on a parameter identifying a timing associated with downlink data reception and uplink acknowledgement transmission (Gao, [0070], “The DCI transmission may indicate/provide/specify the k.sub.1 (e.g., via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field of the DCI transmission)”). Regarding claim 7, 20, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the parameter is associated with a value set to 0 in the time domain resource allocation field of the downlink control information (Gao, [0009], “In some embodiments, k0 may be equal to 0 , or the location of the reference channel can be in a same time unit as the DCI”; [0010], “In some embodiments, the Kz may be determined according to at least one of: a value (K0) of a k0 parameter of an indicated time domain resource assignment (TDRA) parameter, or a time-domain offset value (Q) associated with the TDRA parameter”). Regarding claim 9, 22, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the parameter is associated with a value based at least in part on a repetition number associated with the time domain resource allocation field of the downlink control information (Gao, [0103], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit the HARQ-ACK information without repetition (e.g., only sending the HARQ-ACK information). The wireless communication device may send the HARQ-ACK information without repetition (e.g., only sending the HARQ-ACK information) if a mode of PDSCH code block group transmission is enabled and/or at least one of: if the wireless communication device is configured with one serving cell and/or if the number of candidate PDSCH receptions, SPS PDSCH releases and/or reference channels corresponding to the DCI is one” and also see [0070]). Regarding claim 10, 23, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the parameter is associated with a value based at least in part on a slot that includes the virtual physical downlink shared channel (Gao, [0071], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (e.g., the ACK) in a PUCCH transmission that is k1 number of time units (e.g., slot) after the end of the reference channel reception”, it’s noted that the reference channel is transmitted in the first resource stated above; also see Fig. 4). Regarding claim 11, 24, Gao in view of Huang further teaches that the parameter is associated with a value based at least in part on a set of occasions for candidate physical downlink shared channel receptions (Gao, [0103], “the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate the HARQ-ACK information X times. The wireless communication device may send the HARQ-ACK information X times (e.g., via repetition) if a mode of PDSCH code block group transmission is enabled, if the wireless communication device is configured with more than one serving cell, and/or if a number of candidate PDSCH receptions, semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH releases and/or reference channels (corresponding to the DCI) is more than one”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al in view of Huang, further in view of Ying et al (US 2019/0254053 A1) . Regarding claim 8 and 21, Gao in view of Huang teaches all of the limitations as applied to the parent claim. However, Gao in view of Huang doesn’t explicitly teach that the parameter is associated with a value based at least in part on an aggregation factor for the physical downlink shared channel communication. Ying teaches the that the parameter is associated with a value based at least in part on an aggregation factor for the physical downlink shared channel communication ([0078], “When the UE 102 is configured with aggregation-factor-DL>1 (e.g., the number of PDSCH transmission (e.g., and/or PDSCH reception), and/or the number of slots for PDSCH transmission (e.g., and/or PDSCH reception)), the same symbol allocation may be applied across the aggregation-factor-DL consecutive slots not defined as UL by the slot format indication. The UE 102 may repeat PDSCH transmissions for the same TB in these aggregated slots”, also see Fig. 4, since PDSCH transmission are repeated four times, resources assigned for HARQ-ACK transmission might need to delay accordingly). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Ying in the system disclosed by Gao in view of Huang for the purpose of avoid transmission conflict of HARQ-ACKs. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SIMING LIU whose telephone number is (571)270-3859. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 8:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Derrick Ferris can be reached at 571-272-3123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SIMING LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 7 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/573,021 Page 8 Art Unit: 2411