DETAILED ACTION
Claim 15 has been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/21/2023. Claims 1-14 and 16 through 20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites in the preamble “a method for processing a connection between user equipment (UE) and remote equipment within a communication network”. The preamble must be written as “a method for processing a connection between a user equipment (UE) and a remote equipment within a communication network”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites in the preamble “a method for controlling connection between user equipment (UE) of communication network and remote equipment …”. The preamble must be written as “a method for controlling a connection between user equipment (UE) of a communication network and remote equipment …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites in the preamble “a processing device for processing a connection between user equipment and remote equipment within a communication network…”. The preamble must be written as “a processing device for processing a connection between a user equipment and a remote equipment within a communication network…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites in the preamble “a control device for controlling a connection established between user equipment of a mobile communication network and remote equipment …”. The preamble must be written as “a control device for controlling a connection established between a user equipment of a mobile communication network and a remote equipment …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted step is:
In response to detecting an under-utilization of a data rate, obtaining padding data.
Claim 2-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the retransmitted packets”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as reciting “a data rate” limitation as recited in claim 1. It is not clear whether the two “a data rate” limitations are the same or not.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as reciting “a connection” limitation as recited in the claim 1. It is not clear whether the two “a connection” limitations are the same or not.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted step are
detecting an under-utilization of a data rate allocated over the wireless link to the connection; and
obtaining padding data in response to a request from…
Claim 8-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependency from claim 7.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the data stream”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The at least omitted step is:
In response to detecting an under-utilization of a data rate, obtaining padding data.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependency from claim 12.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The at least omitted step are
detecting an under-utilization of a data rate allocated over the wireless link to the connection; and
obtaining padding data in response to a request from…
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because it is not clear why the padding data is obtained and transmitted.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependency from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruttik et al. (US 2018/0007736 A1) in view of in view of Abdel Shahid et al. (US 2021/0152278 A1-hereafter Abdel).
For claim 1 Ruttik teaches a method for processing a connection between user equipment (UE) and remote equipment within a communication network, the user equipment being attached to a wireless access network of the communication network via a wireless link, wherein the method is implemented by a processing device (see paragraphs 2, 4 “communication network includes base stations and terminals (UEs) and remote radio head (remote equipment)”, paragraph 35 and fig. 2 “adaptation unit 200”) and comprises:
detecting an under-utilization of a data rate allocated over the wireless link to the connection (paragraph 3 “utilization rate of resource capacity is low and unused racecourses cannot be shared”);
obtaining padding data, the data being stored in a memory accessible within the communication network (see paragraph 13 “The communication module may be configured to access a memory residing in the base station for retrieving (obtaining) padding data stored in the memory in response to the detection that the at least one scheduled data packet is missing. The communication module may be configured to select the padding data to be retrieved from the memory at least partly on basis of radio configuration used in communication”); and
transmitting the padding data obtained over the wireless link (see paragraph 38 “the adaptation unit 200 may be configured to operate transmitting the padding data”).
Ruttik does not explicitly teach detecting under-utilized a data rate allocated over the wireless link to the connection.
However, Abdel teaches the RAN can request the user device report in response to determining that the current data connection is being under-utilized (i.e., the current data connection is transmitted data to and from the user device at a bandwidth below what the network and the current data connection can support) (see Abdel: paragraph 17). In addition, Abdel teaches the RAN can determine, based on the connection metric, that the data connection is under-utilized or can support additional network services… the RAN can determine that the data connection is under-utilized based on a bandwidth and/or the data transmission rate associated with the data connection. Additionally, if the bandwidth and/or the data transmission rate is less than a data threshold and/or an optimal data transmission rate determined based on the connection metric, the data connection is under-utilized. Accordingly, the RAN can be configured to determine, based on the connection metric, that the data connection can be modified to provide improved network services and/or increased data transmission to the user device (see Abdel: paragraph 42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abdel in the under-utilized data rate of Ruttik in order to determine, based on the connection metric, that the data connection can be modified to provide improved network services and/or increased data transmission to the user device (see Abdel: paragraph 42).
For claim 2 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the method for processing a connection, wherein the detection of an under-utilization of a data rate comprises detecting a loss of data packets over another link of the access network implemented by the connection and wherein the padding data are obtained then transmitted following (see Ruttik: paragraph 36 “the adaptation unit 200 may be configured to detect missing data (loss of data packets)” and paragraph 38 “the adaptation unit 200 may be configured to operate transmitting the padding data” and Abdel: paragraph 17 “in at least one embodiment, the RAN can request the user device repot in response to determining that the current data connection is being under-utilized (i.e., the current data connection is transmitted data to and from the user device at a bandwidth below what the network and the current data connection can support)”) a request for retransmission of lost packets and prior to receipt of the retransmitted packets (see Ruttik: paragraphs 15 and 47-48 “request for transmission of packets and missing packets”).
For claim 3 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the method for processing a connection, wherein the detection of an under-utilization of a data rate comprises detecting an establishment and/or re-establishment of the connection (see Abdel: paragraph 65 “At 508, the user device 102 and the 5G RAN 106 can establish a data connection for transmitting user device data between the user device 102 and the network 506” and wherein the padding data are obtained then transmitted during a period of convergence of a congestion control (see Ruttik: paragraph 3 “traffic fluctuation reduces the utilization rate” and paragraph 13 “retrieving padding data stored in the memory is configurable”, and Abdel: paragraph 17 “in at least one embodiment, the RAN can request the user device repot in response to determining that the current data connection is being under-utilized (i.e., the current data connection is transmitted data to and from the user device at a bandwidth below what the network and the current data connection can support)”, paragraph 65, and Fig. 5 “establish data connection 508”).
For claim 5 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the method for processing a connection, wherein the padding data are transmitted over a control channel and/or over a user channel of the wireless link, the channel used for the transmission being determined by a type of the padding data (see Ruttik: paragraph 36 “padding data sent over a communication channel… wherein, padding data type is function of frame type that may consists of zeros, symbols, or any other symbol string”).
For claim 6 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the method for processing a connection, wherein the padding data are inserted into a data stream of the connection (see Ruttik: paragraph 18 “inserting, by the communication module, padding data to the buffer module in response to a detection that the at least one data packet is missing” and paragraph 36 “the padding data is input in a data flow (stream)”).
For claim 7 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a method for controlling a connection between user equipment (UE) of a communication network and remote equipment, the user equipment being attached via a wireless link to a wireless access network of the communication network, wherein the method is implemented by a controlling device (see Abdel: paragraph 65, Fig. 5 “establish data connection 508”, paragraph 73 “establishing an additional data connection with the user device 102”, and as discussed in claim 1) and comprises:
obtaining padding data intended to be transmitted via the connection in response to detection of an under-utilization of the resources allocated to this connection by the wireless access network (see Ruttik: paragraph 13 “The communication module may be configured to access a memory residing in the base station for retrieving padding data stored in the memory in response to the detection that the at least one scheduled data packet is missing” and as discussed in claim 1); and
transmitting the padding data obtained to a memory accessible within the communication network, for storage (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 8 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the control method, wherein the padding data are transmitted to the memory in at least one data stream of the connection (see Ruttik: paragraph 55 “data stream”, paragraph 36 “padding data transmitted in a data flow to a queue” and as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 9 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the control method, wherein the method comprises obtaining information relating to a congestion control of the data stream and the padding data depending at least on the information obtained (Ruttik: paragraph 12 “in response to a detection that the at least one data packet is missing the communication module is configured to insert padding data to the buffer module” and paragraph 13 “communication module may be configured to select the padding data to be retrieved from the memory from at least partly on basis of radio configuration used in communication” and Abdel: paragraphs 37 and 48 “access the stored information via a database (table)”).
For claim 11 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches the control method, wherein the method furthermore comprises obtaining information, coming from the user equipment, relating to a state of at least one cache memory of the user equipment and selecting padding data adapted to the user equipment depends on the information obtained (see Ruttik: paragraph 12 “buffer module includes padding data”, pargraph 35 “buffer module may comprise different data queues”, and paragraph 36 “be configured to gather data on missing data packets and to deliver the data, or any indication on it, for example to the BBU 115 in order to provide feedback information to be used in a control of processing in the BBU.”).
For claim 12 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a processing device for processing a connection between user equipment and remote equipment within a communication network, the user equipment being attached to a wireless access network of the communication network via a wireless link, wherein the processing device comprises:
at least one processor (see Ruttik: paragraph 35 “a computer program code to be executed with at least one processor in cooperation with one or more memories”); and
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor (see Ruttik: paragraph 35 “a computer program code to be executed with at least one processor in cooperation with one or more memories”) configure the processing device to:
detect an under-utilization of a data rate allocated over the wireless link to the connection (as discussed in claim 1); and
obtain padding data, the data being stored in a memory accessible within the communication network (see Ruttik: paragraph 13 “the communication module may be configured to access a memory residing in the base station for retrieving padding data stored in the memory in response to the detection that the at least one scheduled data packet is missing” and as discussed in claim 1); and
transmit the padding data obtained over the wireless link (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 13 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a control device for controlling a connection established between user equipment of a mobile communication network and remote equipment, the user equipment being attached to a wireless access network of the communication network (as discussed in claim 1), wherein the control device comprises:
at least one processor (see Ruttik: paragraph 35 “a computer program code to be executed with at least one processor in cooperation with one or more memories”); and
at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor (see Ruttik: paragraph 35 “a computer program code to be executed with at least one processor in cooperation with one or more memories”) configure the control device to:
obtain padding data (see Ruttik: paragraph 12 “in response to a detection that the at least one data packet is missing the communication module is configured to insert padding data to the buffer module”) intended for the at least one connection (this portion is not considered for examination because it is for intended use); and
transmit the padding data to a memory (see Ruttik: paragraph 12 “in response to a detection that the at least one data packet is missing the communication module is configured to insert padding data to the buffer module” and paragraph 38 “transmitting the padding data”) accessible within the communication network for storage data (this portion is not considered for examination because it is for intended use).
For claim 14 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a satellite of the wireless access network of the communication network, to which the user equipment is attached via the wireless link wherein the satellite comprises the processing device as claimed in claim 12 and the memory which is configured for storing the padding data (as discussed in claim 12 and the satellite is not considered for examination because it is within the preamble).
For claim 16 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a ground station of the wireless access network of the communication network to which the user equipment is attached via the wireless link wherein the ground station comprises the control device as claimed in claim 13 and a data table comprising information on congestion and on data losses relating to previous connections (see Ruttik: paragraph 3 “as number of terminals connections increase the utilization rate fluctuate (traffic jam (congestion))”, paragraph 12 “buffer has missing data packets”), paragraphs 48, 51, 57 “statistical information regarding missing packets”, and as discussed in claim 13 and the ground station is not considered for examination as it is within the preamble).
For claim 17 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising program code instructions for implementing the method as claimed in claim 1, when the instructions are executed by a processor of the processing device (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 18 Ruttik in view of Abdel teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising program code instructions for implementing the method as claimed in claim 7, when the instructions are executed by a processor of the controlling device (as discussed in claim 7).
7. Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruttik et al. (US 2018/0007736 A1) in view of in view of Abdel Shahid et al. (US 2021/0152278 A1-hereafter Abdel) further in view of Muramoto (US 2011/0243130 A1).
For claim 4 Ruttik in view of in view of Abdel does not explicitly teach the method for processing a connection, wherein the method comprises obtaining information relating to the connection and predicting a quantity of the padding data to be requested, by application of a predetermined prediction model to the information obtained.
However, Muramoto teaches the reorder condition analyzing section (prediction model) estimates a predicted normal packet length from the number of reorder and reception bandwidth if reorder occurs (see Muramoto: paragraph 17).
In addition, Muramoto teaches a transmitter terminal of the invention includes a data generating section that generates a packet, a padding request accepting section that receives a padding request packet for making a padding request, the padding request packet being transmitted from a receiver terminal, and a packet padding section that pads (quantity of padding) the packet generated by the data generating section so that a packet length of the packet becomes a specific length (the specific packet length depends on based on the quantity of padding) or more based on the padding request from the padding request accepting section, and transmits the packet to a network (see Muramoto: paragraphs 12-13, claims 1 and claim 5).
In addition, Muramoto teaches a transmitter terminal of the invention includes a data generating section that generates a packet, a reorder predicting section that calculates a packet length of the packet to prevent reorder based on information of a transmission data amount of the packet generated by the data generating section and the number of burst transmission of the packet, and a packet padding section that pads the packet in accordance with the packet length calculated by the reorder predicting section and transmits the packet to a network and also generates information of the number of burst transmission and supplies the information to the reorder predicting section (see Muramoto: paragraph 20 and claims 1 and 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abdel in the combined under-utilized data rate of Abdel and Ruttik in order to pad the packet in accordance with the packet length calculated by the reorder predicting section and transmits the packet to a network and also generates information of the number of burst transmission and supplies the information to the reorder predicting section (see Muramoto: paragraph 20 and claims 1 and 4).
For claim 10 Ruttik in view of in view of Abdel further in view of Muramoto teaches the control method, as claimed in claim 9, wherein the method comprises obtaining at least one prediction model for padding data using the information contained in the data table and transmitting the model in the wireless access network to a processing device configured for detecting an under-utilization of resources allocated to the connection over a wireless link between the user equipment and the access network, predicting padding data to be used for the connection based on the prediction model and transmitting the predicted padding data over the wireless link (as discussed in claim 4 and claim 16).
Conclusion
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415