DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 365(a)-(c) are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 12/21/2023 has/have been considered. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are objected to because they use the term “centreline”, however, the U.S. spelling of the term should be “centerline”.
Claim(s) 11 is/are objected to because it appears to be claiming “a trailing edge” when “a trailing edge” was already introduced in the newly amended claim 1. The “a trailing edge” part of claim 11 should likely be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 5-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6299270 to Merrill (hereinafter “Merrill”).
With respect to claim 1, Merrill discloses a nozzle plate for a droplet ejection device (50), the nozzle plate comprising: a first, media facing surface (media facing surface of 50) and, opposing it, a second, back surface (back surface of 50); and at least one nozzle (60); wherein the nozzle plate further comprises a leading edge and a trailing edge (50); wherein said at least one nozzle passes through the nozzle plate from the second surface to the first surface (FIG.s 3-5); wherein said at least one nozzle comprises an exit bore having an exit bore centreline and wherein the exit bore centreline is inclined at an acute inclination angle θ to the first surface (axis 62); and wherein the exit bore centreline is inclined in a direction towards said trailing edge and is adapted such that, in use, one or more droplets are ejected from the nozzle at an acute inclination angle θ to the first surface (62 FIG.s 3D-3F).
With respect to claim 5, Merrill discloses wherein at least a portion of the exit bore along the exit bore centreline has a circular cross-section (FIG.s 3-5).
With respect to claim 6, Merrill discloses wherein the nozzle plate comprises a plurality of said nozzles (“arrays of nozzles” FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 7, Merrill discloses wherein the exit bore centrelines of the plurality of said nozzles are parallel to each other (“arrays of nozzles” FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 8, Merrill discloses wherein the plurality of said nozzle exit bores are substantially identical to each other (“arrays of nozzles” FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 9, Merrill discloses wherein the nozzle plate comprises one or more arrays of nozzles (“arrays of nozzles” FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 10, Merrill discloses A droplet ejection device comprising the nozzle plate according to claim 1 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 11, Merrill discloses wherein the trailing edge of the droplet ejection head is parallel to the trailing edge of the nozzle plate (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 12, Merrill discloses wherein said droplet ejection device comprises at least one fluid chamber, located adjacent to and fluidically connected to said at least one nozzle, and adapted so as, in use, to supply fluid to be ejected through said at least one nozzle (“ink chamber” FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 13, Merrill discloses wherein the nozzle plate comprises a plurality of said nozzles, and wherein each of said plurality of nozzles is fluidically connected to a respective fluid chamber (“ink chamber” FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 14, Merrill discloses , and a deposition media movement apparatus (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 15, Merrill discloses wherein the deposition media movement apparatus is arranged such that, in operation, at least a portion of the deposition media is positioned parallel to the first surface while it is moved by the deposition media movement apparatus (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 16, Merrill discloses wherein said droplet ejection apparatus is arranged as a single-pass printer (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 17, Merrill discloses comprising ejecting droplets from the at least one nozzle at the acute inclination angle θ to the first surface (FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 19, Merrill discloses wherein the apparatus has a width in a y-direction and droplets are ejected from a plurality of nozzles extending in the y direction and wherein a standard deviation of landing positions of the ejected droplets on the deposition media in the y-direction is less than 8.3 (“arrays of nozzles” FIG.s 1-5).
With respect to claim 20, Merrill discloses wherein the droplet ejection apparatus is operating in a single-pass printing mode (col 2, Lines 30-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
1. Claim(s) 3, 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6299270 to Merrill (hereinafter “Merrill”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130288183 to Ishikawa et al. (hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
With respect to claim 3, Merrill discloses the acute inclination angle θ.
However, Merrill fails to specifically disclose:
wherein the acute inclination angle θ is between 74° and 68°.
Ishikawa discloses:
wherein the acute inclination angle θ is between 74° and 68° ([0050] the inclination can be preferably 20 degrees to the normal, this is equal to 70 degrees acute angle to the nozzle plate surface.).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific angle as disclosed by Ishikawa with the method/apparatus of Merrill. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the control of the image forming positions and drop ejections. ([0050] of Ishikawa).
With respect to claim 4, Merrill in view of Ishikawa discloses wherein the acute inclination angle θ is between 72° and 70° ([0050] the inclination can be preferably 20 degrees to the normal, this is equal to 70 degrees acute angle to the nozzle plate surface.).
With respect to claim 18, Merrill in view of Ishikawa discloses wherein the acute inclination angle θ is between 74° and 68° ([0050] the inclination can be preferably 20 degrees to the normal, this is equal to 70 degrees acute angle to the nozzle plate surface.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, whether or not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100134561 to Sugahara discloses figures 8A-8E.
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853