Pursuant to communications filed on 12/21/2023, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 1-6, 9-18 and 21-24 are currently pending in the instant application.
-. It is noted that claims 7-8, and 19-20 have been cancelled.
-. It is noted that claims 4-6, 9-10, 13-15 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the word “form” in line 2 – It should be replaced with the word “from”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case:
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the hydraulic pump" in line3, and recites “the pneumatic compressor” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because claim 5 is a dependent from claim 2, and should be dependent from claim 4.
Claim 17 recites the limitations "the electric motor" in line3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriated correction is earnestly requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldassare et al (CA 2975767 – from IDS), hereinafter “Baldassare”.
Regarding claim 1, Baldassare discloses a mobile power system for powering a plurality of implements (e.g., see figure 2; see page 1, lines 8-9: a power system that is able to provide energy for, electrical, hydraulic, and pneumatic systems. See page 2, line 14-16: People often use electric, pneumatic, and hydraulic tools for industrial projects. In areas where power cannot be provided by the electrical grid, mobile power units are commonly used.) the mobile power system comprising:
a controller (figure 1: Neuro electronic control module);
a battery assembly communicably connected to the controller (see figure 2 "Lithium-Ion Battery Pack"; page 4, lines 21-22, "the battery bank delivers the power to the input of the control module");
a plurality of distribution modules communicably connected to the controller and electrically connected to the battery assembly, the plurality of distribution modules being configured to selectively provide power to at least one corresponding implement of the plurality of implements (see figs 1-2; page 3, lines 8-10 The ECM is able to recognize when additional equipment is plugged into the present invention, supplying power where necessary.), the plurality of distribution modules comprising:
an electric distribution module configured to distribute electric power from the battery assembly to at least one electric implement of the plurality of implements connected thereto (see Figure 1, "Electrical Subsystem"; Figure 2);
a hydraulic distribution module configured to convert electric power from the battery assembly into hydraulic power and distribute said hydraulic power to at least one hydraulic implement of the plurality of implements connected thereto (see Figure 1, "Hydraulic Subsystem"; Figure 2); and
a pneumatic distribution module configured to convert electric power from the battery assembly into pneumatic power and distribute said pneumatic power to at least one pneumatic implement of the plurality of implements connected thereto (Figure 1, "Pneumatic Subsystem"; Figure 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Baldassare discloses further comprising (claim 2) an electric motor communicably connected to the controller and powered by the battery assembly, and wherein at least one of the distribution modules uses the electric motor to convert the received electric power; and (claim 3) wherein the hydraulic distribution module and the pneumatic distribution module receive mechanical power from the electric motor (see page 3, line 14 - page 5, line 4: The electrical subsystem of the present invention further comprises a motor; page 4, lines 25 The ECM or Neuro controller enables and disables the motive propulsion unit by CAN commands in relation to the work to be performed. This function conserves prime battery energy because the AC three phase motor is active only when there is a demand for power which works out to be approximately sixty to seventy minutes per work day. Furthermore, the ECM or Neuro is mounted on a support plate. The control module may comprise a liquid cooled heat exchanger designed to lower the temperature of the unit during extensive operation. The motive force electric propulsion unit comprises of an AC three phase motor, capable of driving all the sub-systems such as the electro mechanical clutch screw compressor, the clutch hydraulic pump and the clutch driven heating and cooling thermo-pump unit. The motor is equipped with a shaft mounted fan or with a liquid coolant to a heat exchanger to cool the motor and the ECM.).
Regarding claim 4, Baldassare discloses wherein: the hydraulic distribution module comprises a hydraulic pump operatively connected to the electric motor; the hydraulic pump is configured to receive mechanical power from the electric motor during operation; the pneumatic distribution module comprises a pneumatic compressor operatively connected to the electric motor; the pneumatic compressor is configured to receive mechanical power from the electric motor during operation (see page 5, lines 1-4: comprises of an AC three phase motor, capable of driving all the sub-systems such as the electro mechanical clutch screw compressor, the clutch hydraulic pump and the clutch driven heating and cooling thermo-pump unit. The motor is equipped with a shaft mounted fan or with a liquid coolant to a heat exchanger to cool the motor and the ECM. and see page 5, lines 11-16: The climate control unit of the present invention further comprises a thermos pump compressor, an air condition unit, and a heating unit. A plurality of heating systems may be integrated into the present invention including but not limited to tapping into the excess heat generated by the motor. A resistive heater comprising of a circulating pump, heat exchanger, a variable speed fan, and a control thermostat. The climate control system reverses the thermo-pump compressor.; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Baldassare discloses wherein the electric motor is a double-ended shaft brushless motor comprising a rotor, rotation of the rotor along a rotation axis causing concurrent actuation of the hydraulic pump and the pneumatic compressor (see page 4, line 1; page 5, lines 3-4; Figure 2, "propulsion motor").
Regarding claim 6, Baldassare discloses wherein: the battery assembly is a DC battery assembly configured to generate a DC electric current; the mobile power system comprises a DC-AC power inverter electrically connected to the battery assembly; and the electric motor is a tri-phase electric motor receiving tri-phase electric power from the DC-AC inverter (see Figure 2; page 4, line 27, “three phase motor").
7.-8. (canceled)
Regarding claim 9, Baldassare discloses wherein: the mobile power system is mounted on a service vehicle; and the service vehicle includes one of a construction truck, an autonomous mobile robot, a service trailer, a van, a medium duty truck, a heavy duty truck and a pick-up truck (see page 3, line 30- page 4, line 1, "mobile service vehicle"; page 1, lines 13-18).
Regarding claim 10, Baldassare discloses wherein: the mobile power system is mounted on a service vehicle; the service vehicle is an electric service vehicle comprising a vehicle operation-dedicated battery; and the mobile power system further comprises: an adapting device configured to provide electric power from the vehicle operation-dedicated battery to the plurality of distribution modules such that the plurality of distribution modules receives electric power from the vehicle operation-dedicated battery (see page 1, lines 21-30; page 2, line 20; page 4, lines 7-23; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Baldassare discloses wherein: each distribution module comprises at least one power outlet for connecting the corresponding at least one implement; and the mobile power system further comprises at least one load sensor communicably connected to the controller and respectively disposed at the at least one power outlet to detect presence of one implement connected at said power outlet (see page 4, lines 3-6; Figure 3, "Outlets" and "Load Sense Auto Start-Stop").
Regarding claim 12, Baldassare discloses wherein the controller is configured to adapt a transfer of electric power from the battery assembly to the plurality of distribution modules based on data provided by the at least one load sensors (see page 4, lines 3-6; Figure 3, "Outlets" and "Load Sense Auto Start-Stop").
19.-20. (canceled)
Regarding claim 21, Baldassare discloses wherein the electric distribution module comprises at least one converter to provide electric power to at least one corresponding implement connected thereto with at least one corresponding voltage values (see page 3, line 15, "converter"; Figure 2, "DC Converter").
Regarding claim 22, Baldassare discloses wherein: the hydraulic distribution module and the pneumatic distribution module are housed in a same mechanical distribution module; and the mechanical distribution module comprises an acoustic and heat insulated housing (see page 2, lines 22-30).
Regarding claim 23, Baldassare discloses wherein the electric distribution module comprises: a first power outlet for delivery of DC electric current; a second power outlet for delivery of 240V AC electric current; and a third power outlet for delivery of 120V AC electric current (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 24, Baldassare discloses wherein the first power outlet comprises: a first DC power outlet for delivery of 12V DC electric current; a second DC power outlet for delivery of 24V DC electric current; and a third DC power outlet for delivery of 48V DC electric current (see Figures 2 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656