DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on April 22nd, 2026 has not been entered. Claims 1, 10, 12-13 and 43-44 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 12-21 and 43-44 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 43 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 2023/0328636 A1) in view of Parekh et al. (US 11,337,131 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Fu et al. teach a cell reselection method, performed by
user equipment (UE) and comprising (Fig. 1, [0056], at S210, a terminal device performs cell selection or cell reselection),
Fu et al. teach determining a candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0285], the terminal device uses the first criterion to perform cell selection or reselection, and the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion satisfy the slicing condition),
Fu et al. teach determining a target cell of the UE according to slice information supported by the candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0350-0351], perform the cell selection or cell reselection according to a first criterion, the first criterion indicating to perform the cell selection or cell reselection based on the slice information of the terminal device and/or the slice information of the network device. determine, when the result of the cell selection or reselection based on the first criterion satisfies the third condition, a target cell for cell selection or reselection from candidate cells determined according to the first criterion),
Fu et al. teach and performing cell reselection according to the target cell (Fig. 4, [0362-0363], the target cell for cell selection or reselection may satisfy at least one of the following conditions: having channel quality higher than a second cell selection or reselection threshold, having highest channel quality, having a largest number of beams, corresponding to a frequency point having a highest priority, supporting slicing, supporting slice information required by the terminal device, or supporting slice information matching the slice information required by the terminal device).
Fu et al. teach wherein determining the target cell of the UE according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell comprises (Fig. 2, [0242], when the channel quality of the cell does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, the terminal device can make a selection based on the slice information. For example, from the candidate cells having channel quality that does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, a cell that supports slicing, or supports the slice required by the terminal device, or supporting a slice that matches the slice required by the terminal device, can be selected as the target cell, so as to satisfy the slicing requirement of the terminal device),
Fu et al. teach determining one or more selection parameters in the slice information (Fig. 4, [0313-0318], the slice information supported by the network device may include at least one of: a slice identifier corresponding to a slice supported by the network device; a slice group identifier corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a frequency point priority corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; or a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device),
Fu et al. teach and determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Fig. 4, [0313, ], a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device.
When the cell selection or reselection is further performed to determine the target cell from the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion, at least one of the channel quality of the candidate cells, the number of beams, the frequency point priorities, or the slice information of the candidate cells may be considered).
Regarding claim 2, Fu et al. teach wherein determining the candidate cell comprises: determining the candidate cell according to slice-specific network configuration information in a case that the slice-specific network configuration information is obtained; or determining the candidate cell based on a signal quality parameter of a cell in a case that the slice-specific network configuration information is not obtained; wherein the slice-specific network configuration information is carried by at least one of :a broadcast system message or dedicated signaling (Fig. 4, [0210, 0216,0228], if the candidate cells do not satisfy the slicing condition (that is, Condition 3.2 is established), but the channel quality of the cell is high (that is, Condition 3.1 is not established), then the terminal device can fall back to the second criterion to perform cell selection or reselection. For condition 3.1, the channel quality of the cell may include channel quality of a serving cell and/or channel quality of a neighboring cell. For Condition 3.2, the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion not satisfying the slicing condition. The indication information may be transmitted via at least one of system information or dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Fu et al. teach wherein the network configuration information comprises one or more configuration parameters, and determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: using a cell meeting the one or more configuration parameters at the same time as the candidate cell, wherein the configuration parameter comprises at least one of a slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold, a number of slice-specific cells or a slice- specific signal quality deviation value, and wherein the configuration parameter can be configured for at least one slice or at least one slice group (Fig. 4, [0123, 0232], parameters corresponding to the slices supported by the network device are at least partially the same as the parameters corresponding to the slices required by the terminal device. If the candidate cells support slicing, or the candidate cells support the slice required by the terminal device, or the slices supported by the candidate cells match the slice required by the terminal device, and the channel quality of the candidate cells is higher than or equal to the first cell selection or reselection threshold corresponding to the slice of the network device, or the channel quality of the candidate cells is higher than or equal to the first cell selection or reselection threshold corresponding to the slice of the network device for a time length greater than or equal to the first time length, but the candidate cells do not support the first criterion, in this case the terminal device may fall back to the second criterion to perform cell selection or reselection).
Regarding claim 7, Fu et al. teach wherein the network configuration information comprises the a number N of slice-specific cells, wherein determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: obtaining a first sorting of signal quality parameters of cells by sorting the cells according to the signal quality parameters; and using top N cells in the first sorting as the candidate cells (Fig. 3, [0104, 0118-0119, 0121, 0240], the slices supported by the network device including all the slices required by the terminal device may include slice identifiers corresponding to the slices supported by the network device include slice identifiers corresponding to all the slices required by the terminal device. Parameters corresponding to the slices supported by the network device include parameters corresponding to all the slices required by the terminal device. The terminal device may select a cell having the highest channel quality among the candidate cells having channel quality higher than the second cell selection or reselection threshold as the target cell).
Fu et al. is teaching of determining of target cell according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell. Fu et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining target cell from candidate cell based on selection parameter. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Parekh et al. teach determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Figs. 1 and 3, [18, ], obtaining a plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells, comparing the plurality of candidate cells based on the plurality of cell parameters and selecting a target cell in the compared list of the plurality of candidate cells as a target cell for the handover. The plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells. Receiving unit (302) to obtain plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells. In some example, the plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells (108a, 108b). Further, the comparator unit (308) can be configured to compare the plurality of candidate cells (108a, 108b) based on the plurality of cell parameters. Further, the cell selection unit (314) can be configured to select the target cell (e.g., 108a/108b) among the compared plurality (e.g., within the compared list) of candidate cells).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hwang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters. The motivation is to support an improved method for real-time handover to a target cell (see [4]).
Regarding claim 43, Fu et al. teach a communication device, comprising: a
transceiver; a memory; and a processor, connected with the transceiver and the memory respectively and configured to control wireless signal transceiving of the transceiver by executing a computer executable instruction on the memory and enable the communication device to (Fig. 8, [0400-0402], communication device 600 includes transceiver 630, a memory 620 and processor 610. The processor 610 can invoke and execute a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in the embodiment of the present disclosure),
Fu et al. teach a cell reselection method, performed by user equipment (UE) and comprising (Fig. 1, [0056], at S210, a terminal device performs cell selection or cell reselection),
Fu et al. teach determine a candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0285], the terminal device uses the first criterion to perform cell selection or reselection, and the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion satisfy the slicing condition),
Fu et al. teach determine a target cell of the communication device according to slice information supported by the candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0350-0351], perform the cell selection or cell reselection according to a first criterion, the first criterion indicating to perform the cell selection or cell reselection based on the slice information of the terminal device and/or the slice information of the network device. determine, when the result of the cell selection or reselection based on the first criterion satisfies the third condition, a target cell for cell selection or reselection from candidate cells determined according to the first criterion),
Fu et al. teach and perform cell reselection according to the target cell (Fig. 4, [0362-0363], the target cell for cell selection or reselection may satisfy at least one of the following conditions: having channel quality higher than a second cell selection or reselection threshold, having highest channel quality, having a largest number of beams, corresponding to a frequency point having a highest priority, supporting slicing, supporting slice information required by the terminal device, or supporting slice information matching the slice information required by the terminal device).
Fu et al. teach wherein determining the target cell of the communication device according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell comprises (Fig. 2, [0242], when the channel quality of the cell does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, the terminal device can make a selection based on the slice information. For example, from the candidate cells having channel quality that does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, a cell that supports slicing, or supports the slice required by the terminal device, or supporting a slice that matches the slice required by the terminal device, can be selected as the target cell, so as to satisfy the slicing requirement of the terminal device),
Fu et al. teach determining one or more selection parameters in the slice information (Fig. 4, [0313-0318], the slice information supported by the network device may include at least one of: a slice identifier corresponding to a slice supported by the network device; a slice group identifier corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a frequency point priority corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; or a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device),
Fu et al. teach and determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Fig. 4, [0313, ], a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device.
When the cell selection or reselection is further performed to determine the target cell from the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion, at least one of the channel quality of the candidate cells, the number of beams, the frequency point priorities, or the slice information of the candidate cells may be considered).
Fu et al. is teaching of determining of target cell according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell. Fu et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining target cell from candidate cell based on selection parameter. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 43, Parekh et al. teach determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Figs. 1 and 3, [18, ], obtaining a plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells, comparing the plurality of candidate cells based on the plurality of cell parameters and selecting a target cell in the compared list of the plurality of candidate cells as a target cell for the handover. The plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells. Receiving unit (302) to obtain plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells. In some example, the plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells (108a, 108b). Further, the comparator unit (308) can be configured to compare the plurality of candidate cells (108a, 108b) based on the plurality of cell parameters. Further, the cell selection unit (314) can be configured to select the target cell (e.g., 108a/108b) among the compared plurality (e.g., within the compared list) of candidate cells).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hwang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters. The motivation is to support an improved method for real-time handover to a target cell (see [4]).
Regarding claim 44, Fu et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable
storage medium, wherein the computer storage medium stores a computer executable instruction, and the computer executable instruction, after being executed by a processor of user equipment (UE), causes the UE to (Fig. 9, [0406-0407], a chip 700 includes a memory 720 and a processor 710. The processor 710 can invoke and execute a computer program from a memory to implement the method in the embodiment of the present disclosure),
Fu et al. teach a cell reselection method, performed by
user equipment (UE) and comprising (Fig. 1, [0056], at S210, a terminal device performs cell selection or cell reselection),
Fu et al. teach determining a candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0285], the terminal device uses the first criterion to perform cell selection or reselection, and the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion satisfy the slicing condition),
Fu et al. teach determining a target cell of the UE according to slice information supported by the candidate cell (Fig. 4, [0350-0351], perform the cell selection or cell reselection according to a first criterion, the first criterion indicating to perform the cell selection or cell reselection based on the slice information of the terminal device and/or the slice information of the network device. determine, when the result of the cell selection or reselection based on the first criterion satisfies the third condition, a target cell for cell selection or reselection from candidate cells determined according to the first criterion),
Fu et al. teach and performing cell reselection according to the target cell (Fig. 4, [0362-0363], the target cell for cell selection or reselection may satisfy at least one of the following conditions: having channel quality higher than a second cell selection or reselection threshold, having highest channel quality, having a largest number of beams, corresponding to a frequency point having a highest priority, supporting slicing, supporting slice information required by the terminal device, or supporting slice information matching the slice information required by the terminal device).
Fu et al. teach wherein determining the target cell of the UE according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell comprises (Fig. 2, [0242], when the channel quality of the cell does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, the terminal device can make a selection based on the slice information. For example, from the candidate cells having channel quality that does not satisfy the first cell selection or reselection threshold, a cell that supports slicing, or supports the slice required by the terminal device, or supporting a slice that matches the slice required by the terminal device, can be selected as the target cell, so as to satisfy the slicing requirement of the terminal device),
Fu et al. teach determining one or more selection parameters in the slice information (Fig. 4, [0313-0318], the slice information supported by the network device may include at least one of: a slice identifier corresponding to a slice supported by the network device; a slice group identifier corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; a frequency point priority corresponding to the slice supported by the network device; or a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device),
Fu et al. teach and determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Fig. 4, [0313, ], a cell selection parameter or a cell reselection parameter corresponding to the slice supported by the network device.
When the cell selection or reselection is further performed to determine the target cell from the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion, at least one of the channel quality of the candidate cells, the number of beams, the frequency point priorities, or the slice information of the candidate cells may be considered).
Fu et al. is teaching of determining of target cell according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell. Fu et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining target cell from candidate cell based on selection parameter. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 44, Parekh et al. teach determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters (Figs. 1 and 3, [18, ], obtaining a plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells, comparing the plurality of candidate cells based on the plurality of cell parameters and selecting a target cell in the compared list of the plurality of candidate cells as a target cell for the handover. The plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells. Receiving unit (302) to obtain plurality of cell parameters of the plurality of candidate cells. In some example, the plurality of cell parameters comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and physical resource blocks (PRB) utilization value for each of the candidate cells (108a, 108b). Further, the comparator unit (308) can be configured to compare the plurality of candidate cells (108a, 108b) based on the plurality of cell parameters. Further, the cell selection unit (314) can be configured to select the target cell (e.g., 108a/108b) among the compared plurality (e.g., within the compared list) of candidate cells).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hwang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters. The motivation is to support an improved method for real-time handover to a target cell (see [4]).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 2023/0328636 A1) in view of Parekh et al. (US 11,337,131 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2019/0174406 A1).
Fu et al. and Parekh et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Fu et al. and Parekh et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the network configuration information comprises a slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold, wherein determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: determining a cell with a signal quality parameter being greater than or equal to the slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold as the candidate cell; regarding claim 6, further comprising: configuring first signal quality parameter thresholds for a same slice respectively based on different cells supporting the same slice, wherein the first signal quality parameter thresholds corresponding to the different cells are the same or not; regarding claim 8, wherein the network configuration information comprises a slice-specific signal quality deviation value, and determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: determining a standard signal quality parameter of a cell ranking first in a first sorting of signal quality parameters of cells by sorting the cells according to the signal quality parameters; and obtaining a difference between a signal quality parameter of any cell and the standard signal quality parameter, and determining the candidate cell in response to the difference being less than or equal to the deviation value.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang et al. teach wherein the network configuration information comprises a slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold, wherein determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: determining a cell with a signal quality parameter being greater than or equal to the slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold as the candidate cell (Figs. 4-5, [0053, 0070, 0122, 0232, 0239], a transmission/reception scenario between a network unit and a terminal (UE) in an NR system supporting a plurality of services (slices), the UE may support a service (slice) A and a service (slice) B. At this time, the UE may desire to select the cell (re)selection for reasons of mobility or the like. For this, the base stations may transmit a reference signal (or a synchronization signal) to the UE, and the UE may perform the cell (re)selection by measuring the quality or strength of the reference signal. The UE may compare the signal strength with a predetermined threshold value (S-criterion). Then, the UE may designate, as a suitable cell, cells that satisfy a condition that the signal strength is greater than the predetermined threshold value. A “downlink transmission signal” used by the terminal for cell search, measurement and selection may be a cell-specific reference signal, a slice-specific reference signal, a cell-specific synchronization signal, a slice-specific synchronization signal. The UE may differently apply, for each service/slice, a threshold value (S-criteria) to be compared with the reference signal strength and used for determining a suitable cell. The UE may apply criteria for the UE to select a slice for performing the cell selection operation, to select the target cells, and to select a cell to perform the access from among the selected target cells by considering at least one of RSRP (reference signal received power) or RSRQ (reference signal received quality) (best cell) of a downlink signal, a cell supporting a slice which the UE desires to transmit/receive first).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang et al. teach further comprising: configuring first signal quality parameter thresholds for a same slice respectively based on different cells supporting the same slice, wherein the first signal quality parameter thresholds corresponding to the different cells are the same or not (Figs. 4-6, [0116-0117, 0136, 0139, 0150, ], may update the target cell information and thereby reconfirm whether to select a cell, The UE may determine (identify) service (slice) information supported by the UE. The UE may receive the SI (system information) only from the cells (base stations) whose ranked signal quality (level) is higher than the threshold value x. The threshold value x may be set as the number of next best cells to be considered as the target cell on a particular frequency band. The UE may determine (identify) service (slice) information supported by the UE. If the information on the slice/service supported by the target cell is identical to the service(s) requested by the UE, the UE may select the target cell at step 580. Then, the UE may camp on the target cell and monitor the paging signal).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang et al. wherein the network configuration information comprises a slice-specific signal quality deviation value, and determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: determining a standard signal quality parameter of a cell ranking first in a first sorting of signal quality parameters of cells by sorting the cells according to the signal quality parameters; and obtaining a difference between a signal quality parameter of any cell and the standard signal quality parameter, and determining the candidate cell in response to the difference being less than or equal to the deviation value (Fig. 4, [0053, 0071, ], a “downlink transmission signal” used by the terminal for cell search, measurement and selection may be a cell-specific reference signal, a slice-specific reference signal, a cell-specific synchronization signal, a slice-specific synchronization signal. The UE may support a service (slice) A and a service (slice) B. At this time, the UE may desire to select the cell (re)selection for reasons of mobility or the like. For this, the base stations may transmit a reference signal (or a synchronization signal) to the UE, and the UE may perform the cell (re)selection by measuring the quality or strength of the reference signal. The UE may determine or select a slice for measuring the signal strength. For this purpose, the UE may measure different signals for each slice according to each of the above cases. The UE may determine a specific slice for the cell selection operation and the network may inform the UE about a specific slice to perform the cell selection operation. When a difference between the received signal level from the best cell and the received signal level from the currently selected (ranked) target cell is smaller than the threshold value x, the UE may receive the SI only from the corresponding cell (base station).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. with Parekh et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hwang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining the candidate cell according to the slice-specific network configuration information comprises: determining a cell with a signal quality parameter being greater than or equal to the slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold as the candidate cell, wherein the network configuration information comprises a slice-specific first signal quality parameter threshold for a same slice respectively based on different cells supporting the same slice, wherein the first signal quality parameter thresholds corresponding to the different cells are the same or not, and determining a standard signal quality parameter of a cell ranking first in a first sorting of signal quality parameters of cells by sorting the cells according to the signal quality parameters; and obtaining a difference between a signal quality parameter of any cell and the standard signal quality parameter, and determining the candidate cell in response to the difference being less than or equal to the deviation value. The motivation is to support an improved method for a wireless connection of a terminal in a next generation wireless communication system (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 2023/0328636 A1) in view of Parekh et al. (US 11,337,131 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0353772 A1).
Fu et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, Fu et al. teach wherein the one or more selection parameters comprises at least one of: a slice priority, or the number of slices (Fig. 3, [0105], when the cell selection or reselection is performed based on the first criterion, the priority of slicing may be higher than that of channel quality. For example, cells that support the slice information required by the terminal device may be selected with a high priority, and further, from the cells that support the slice information required by the terminal device, the cell selection or reselection may be performed according to channel quality information of the cells).
Regarding claim 14, Fu et al. teach wherein determining the target cell from the candidate cell based on the one or more selection parameters of the first slice and the second slice comprises: obtaining a first target slice with the highest priority in the first slice based on the slice priority, and determining a candidate cell supporting the first target slice as a candidate target cell; or intersecting the first slice and the second slice, obtaining second target slices with the greatest number of slices in the intersection, and determining the candidate cell supporting the second target slices as a candidate target cell; and determining the target cell based on the candidate target cell (Fig. 4, [0236, 0238], when the cell selection or reselection is further performed to determine the target cell from the candidate cells determined according to the first criterion, at least one of the channel quality of the candidate cells, the number of beams, the frequency point priorities, or the slice information of the candidate cells may be considered. having channel quality higher than a second cell selection or reselection threshold, having highest channel quality, having a largest number of beams, corresponding to a frequency point having a highest priority, supporting slicing, supporting slice information required by the terminal device, or supporting slice information matching the slice information required by the terminal device).
Fu et al. and Parekh et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the slice information supported by the candidate cell is carried by at least one of : a broadcast system message or dedicated signaling; regarding claim 15, wherein determining the target cell based on the candidate target cell comprises: determining the candidate target cell as the target cell in a case that the number of candidate target cells is 1; or determining the target cell based on signal quality parameters of the candidate target cells in a case that the number of candidate target cells is greater than 1; or determining the target cell based on a signal quality parameter of a cell in a case that the number of candidate target cells is 0.
Regarding claim 10, Li et al. teach wherein the slice information supported by the candidate cell is carried by at least one of : a broadcast system message or dedicated signaling (Fig. 1, [0096, 0102], in the case that the number of the candidate cells is greater than one, the terminal device determines that the cell with the largest number of optimal beam reference signal reception parameters among the candidate cells is the target cell for cell reselection. The beam reference signal receiving parameter includes: beam RSRP and/or beam RSRQ. The first parameter and the network slice information supported by the neighboring cell may be carried in the same system broadcast message, or may be carried in different system broadcast messages.
Regarding claim 15, Li et al. teach wherein determining the target cell based on the candidate target cell comprises: determining the candidate target cell as the target cell in a case that the number of candidate target cells is 1; or determining the target cell based on signal quality parameters of the candidate target cells in a case that the number of candidate target cells is greater than 1; or determining the target cell based on a signal quality parameter of a cell in a case that the number of candidate target cells is 0 (Fig. 1, [0074, 0112], in the case that the number of the candidate cells is greater than one, the terminal device determines that the cell with the largest number of optimal beam reference signal reception parameters among the candidate cells is the target cell for cell reselection. In the case where the number of the candidate cell is one, the candidate cell is a target cell for cell reselection).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. with Parekh et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Li et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of supporting the slice information by the candidate cell is carried by at least one of : a broadcast system message or dedicated signaling, and determining the target cell of the UE according to the slice information supported by the candidate cell comprises: determining one or more selection parameters in the slice information; and determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters, and determining the candidate target cell as the target cell in a case that the number of candidate target cells is 1. Wherein the slice information supported by the candidate cell is carried by at least one of :a broadcast system message. The motivation is to support an improved method to a cell reselection (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 2023/0328636 A1) in view of Parekh et al. (US 11,337,131 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 20230035046 A1).
Fu et al. and Parekh et al. disclose the claimed limitation as described in paragraphs 4 and 9. Fu et al. and Parekh et al. do expressly disclose the following features: Regarding claim 12, wherein determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters comprises: obtaining a first slice supported by the UE and a second slice supported by the candidate cell; and determining the target cell from the candidate cell based on one or more selection parameters of the first slice and the second slice.
Regarding claim 12, You et al. teach wherein determining the target cell from the candidate cell according to the one or more selection parameters comprises: obtaining a first slice supported by the UE and a second slice supported by the candidate cell; and determining the target cell from the candidate cell based on one or more selection parameters of the first slice and the second slice (Fig. 1, [0071-0073], the terminal device may further preferably select, based on a priority of the at least one network slice, duration corresponding to a network slice with a high priority as the duration corresponding to the expected network slice. For example, a network slice 1 corresponds to duration 1, a network slice 2 corresponds to duration 2, the network slice 2 is the expected network slice, and a priority of the network slice 1 is higher than a priority of the network slice 2. In this case, the terminal device determines the duration 1 as duration corresponding to the network slice 2. The terminal device selects the target cell during running of the first timer includes: When a first candidate cell does not support the expected network slice, the terminal device selects the target cell by using a cell selection process or a cell reselection process, where the first candidate cell is a cell that meets a cell selection condition or a cell reselection condition before the target cell is selected).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fu et al. with Parekh et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Li et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of obtaining a first slice supported by the UE and a second slice supported by the candidate cell; and determining the target cell from the candidate cell based on one or more selection parameters of the first slice and the second slice. The motivation is to support an improved method or re-selecting a cell and its device (see [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 12-21 and 43-44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 6/26/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473