Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 2/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claim8-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in particular.
Claim 3 recites in particular
Claim 14 recites in particular
The phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05.Claims 2-7, 13-18 are rejected on the basis of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Siepmann (US 6363036)
With regard to claim 1 Siepmann discloses a watch, in particular wristwatch, (column 3 lines 20-25) comprising:
a timer arrangement with an oscillation system (title, abstract – measures time by having light…), wherein the oscillation system comprises:
a light wave guide arrangement with a light wave guide (10 figure 1),
an electro-optical converter adapted to feed a clocked light signal into the light wave guide arrangement (20 figure 1),
and an opto-electrical converter receiving the light signal from the light wave guide and adapted to generate an electrical signal based on the received light signal (26 figure 1),
a wherein the timer arrangement comprises an electronic usage signal generating device configured to generate a usage signal based on a frequency of the electrical signal (326 and associated components figure 4; to get from the raw data to the output and results the information must be processed, i.e. see counter 326 figure 4), and
a watch display device adapted to display the time based on the usage signal (display - column 3 lines 20-24).
See also the other embodiments such as figure 4.
With regard to claim 2 Siepmann discloses the watch according to claim 1, wherein the oscillation system comprises an optical signal path (figures 1, 4) in the light wave guide arrangement from the electro-optical converter to the opto-electrical converter (figures 1, 4) and an electrical signal path from the opto-electrical converter to the electro-optical converter (figures 1, 4), wherein the electro-optical converter is controllable based on the electrical signal of the opto-electrical converter (figures 1, 4; as previously detailed the signal is created, it follows a path, it is received and converted to an electrical signal, said signal is processed into time information. See figures and abstract. See in particular the electrical pathway between the return and the output shown in figures 4, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepmann (US 6363036).
With regard to claim 3 (depends from claim 2) Siepmann does not disclose the claimed: comprising an electrical amplifier, in particular a transimpedance amplifier, for amplifying the electrical signal between the opto-electrical converter and the electro-optical converter.Siepmann discloses a signal 28 from 26 to 28 depicted in figure 1 – column 5 lines 8-20.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann’s system to comprise: electrical amplifier for amplifying the electrical signal between the opto-electrical converter and the electro-optical converter. The reason for doing so would have been to amplify the signal of sufficient strength to render a proper driving signal to the downstream line. Maintaining proper signal strength and signal quality is an essential skill and ability required in order to be one having ordinary skill in the art in the electrical arts.
With regard to claim 13 (depends from claim 1) Siepmann discloses the watch according to claim 1, comprising a data unit comprising a modulator to modulate the input signal of the electro-optical converter (controller modulates… claim 19).
Siepmann does not disclose: based on a data set.
Siepmann discloses the counter or the light pulse detector may have the capability of amplifying the light pulse, when necessary, as it travels the closed loop pathway. Optionally the controller may have the capability of amplifying the light pulse or modulating the light pulse amplifier, when necessary, as the light pulse travels the closed loop pathway. Again a controller may be utilized as an interface between any or all the devices which are a part of the light clock or between a user and any or all the devices which are a part of the light clock – column 4 lines 5-15.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann’s system to comprise: a data unit comprising a modulator to modulate the input signal of the electro-optical converter based on a data set. The reason for doing so would have been to know when to implement the modulation. It cannot know when to implement the operation without data understanding or predicting the operation requirement as set forth.
With regard to claim 14 Siepmann discloses the watch according to claim 13, comprising:
a memory unit for storing a data set (counter which may include a controller – 326 figure 3; see also claims 17-20 which detail a controller. A controller must inherently comprise a memory either rewritable or read only to facilitate the modification as well as the features expressly disclosed), and/or
an input unit for inputting a data set, and/or
a read-out unit for reading out the data set from the modulated output signal of the opto-electrical converter , and in particular an output unit for outputting information based on the read-out data set. (326 figure 3; claims 17-20).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepmann (US 6363036) in view Brust (US 4902963).
With regard to claim 4 (depends from claim 2) Siepmann does not teach the claimed: comprising a trigger and a monoflop, wherein the trigger is configured to drive the monoflop by means of the electrical signal from the opto-electrical converter and the monoflop is configured to generate an output pulse for controlling the electro-optical converter.
Brust teaches a method and arrangement for recording periodic signals with a laser probe -title. Brust teaches: It is therefore advantageous to only store the value of the measured signal g(t) when a trigger signal CLK is also present. This is achieved in accordance with the present invention in that the arrangement according to FIG. 1 is expanded by a circuit portion composed of an AND gate AND connected at its output side to the control input of the gate circuit SH and of a monoflop MF1 receiving on its input the trigger signal CLK (see FIG. 4). The time constant of the monoflop MF1 is thereby selected such that it is lower than the chronological spacing of successive laser pulses. Thus the time constant assures that only laser pulses (represented by the isochronically occurring signal SDA at the input of the gate AND) that chronologically immediately follow the trigger signal CLK activate the gate circuit SH.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann system to comprise a trigger and a monoflop, wherein the trigger is configured to drive the monoflop by means of the electrical signal from the opto-electrical converter and the monoflop is configured to generate an output pulse for controlling the electro-optical converter, as taught by Brust. The reason for doing so would have been to improve the improve the signal handling of a light and/or laser system to improve the reliability and quality of the operation thereof as taught by Brust.
Claim(s) 7, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepmann (US 6363036) in view Tombez (US 2019/0187624).
With regard to claim 7 (depends from claim 2) Siepmann does not teach the claimed:
a Schmitt trigger configured to convert the electrical signal into a square wave signal.
Tombez teaches a timepiece mechanical oscillator associated with a regulation system – title, abstract. The regulation system provides superior time keeping to a mechanical time base. Paragraph 82 – “Preferably, the electromagnetic assembly 29 also partly forms the measuring device. This measuring device further comprises a bidirectional counter CB and a comparator 64 (of the Schmidt trigger type). The comparator receives at one input the induced voltage signal Ui(t) and at the other input a threshold voltage signal Uth the value whereof is positive in the example given.”Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann system to comprise a Schmitt trigger configured to convert the electrical signal into a square wave signal, as taught by Tombez. The reason for doing so would have been to process the signal to allow it to function as part of a mechanical time base correction protocol as taught by Tombez. Siepmann’s system is taught of being high quality and Tombez system allows utilization in a common timepiece configuration to facilitate improved user interaction.
With regard to claim 15 (depends from claim 1) Siepmann does not teach the claimed:
a crystal oscillator with a predetermined crystal oscillator oscillation frequency,
wherein the usage signal generating device is adapted to compare the frequency of the electrical signal with the crystal oscillator oscillation frequency to generate an actual comparison value, and to generate the usage signal based on the frequency of the electrical signal and the actual comparison value.
Tombez discloses – paragraph 82 – “this clock signal being derived from the auxiliary oscillator which supplies a digital reference signal defining a reference frequency. The auxiliary oscillator comprises a clock circuit CLK serving to excite the quartz resonator 58 and supply in return the reference signal which is composed of a succession of pulses corresponding respectively to the oscillation periods of the quartz resonator”. Tombez teaches a timepiece mechanical oscillator associated with a regulation system – title, abstract. The regulation system provides superior time keeping to a mechanical time base. Paragraph 82 – “Preferably, the electromagnetic assembly 29 also partly forms the measuring device. This measuring device further comprises a bidirectional counter CB and a comparator 64 (of the Schmidt trigger type). The comparator receives at one input the induced voltage signal Ui(t) and at the other input a threshold voltage signal Uth the value whereof is positive in the example given.”
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann system to comprise a crystal oscillator with a predetermined crystal oscillator oscillation frequency, wherein the usage signal generating device is adapted to compare the frequency of the electrical signal with the crystal oscillator oscillation frequency to generate an actual comparison value, and to generate the usage signal based on the frequency of the electrical signal and the actual comparison value, as taught by Tombez. The reason for doing so would have been to process the signal to allow it to function as part of a mechanical time base correction protocol as taught by Tombez. Siepmann’s system is taught of being high quality and Tombez system allows utilization in a common timepiece configuration to facilitate improved user interaction. A reason for doing so would have been to provide stability and electrical control of the functions and controls to facilitate high quality control of the other timekeeping features to leverage the best advantages of the electrical system, mechanical system, and optical system as taught by the combination of references.
With regard to claim 17 (depends from claim 1) Siepmann does not teach the claimed:
wherein: the timer arrangement further comprises an electromechanical device; and
the watch further comprises a gear train, a drive device for driving the gear train, and a watch display device connected to the gear train and being movable by the gear train,
wherein the electromechanical device is movable by means of the usage signal generated by the electronic usage signal generating device, whereby the electromechanical device directly or indirectly engages the gear train in a clocked manner.
Tombaz teaches a timepiece with an electromechnical device (abstract, figure 1-2) comprising a gear train (figures 1) a drive (figure 1, abstract), indicators (paragraph 16) and the electromechnical parts control the operation of the mechanical – abstract.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann system to comprise the timer arrangement further comprises an electromechanical device; and the watch further comprises a gear train, a drive device for driving the gear train, and a watch display device connected to the gear train and being movable by the gear train,
wherein the electromechanical device is movable by means of the usage signal generated by the electronic usage signal generating device, whereby the electromechanical device directly or indirectly engages the gear train in a clocked manner, as taught by Tombaz. The reason for doing so would have been to indicate time in a known and common way using the improvement in measurement and stability taught by Siepmann.
With regard to claim 18 (depends from claim 1) Siepmann does not teach the claimed:
a gear train,
a drive device for driving the gear train, and
a watch display device connected to the gear train and movable through the gear train,
wherein the drive device is controllable by means of the usage signal.
Tombaz teaches a timepiece with an electromechnical device (abstract, figure 1-2) comprising a gear train (figures 1) a drive (figure 1, abstract), indicators (paragraph 16) and the electromechnical parts control the operation of the mechanical – abstract.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Siepmann system to comprise a gear train, a drive device for driving the gear train, and
a watch display device connected to the gear train and movable through the gear train, wherein the drive device is controllable by means of the usage signal, as taught by Tombaz. The reason for doing so would have been to indicate time in a known and common way using the improvement in measurement and stability taught by Siepmann.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. [This statement pertains to the merits of 35 USC 102 and 103 only.]
Conclusion
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844