DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Species A, in the reply filed on 1/8/26 is acknowledged. Claims 14 and 18 are withdrawn without traverse from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite an apparatus with structural limitations and material worked upon by the apparatus. While there is nothing wrong with claiming the material worked upon, such limitations are only given weight to the extent that they limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115. See In re Rishoi (94 USPQ 71), In re Smith (3 USPQ 315), and In re Young (25 USPQ 69).
In Rishoi, a film of liquid was claimed as part of an apparatus, it being clear that the liquid film is only present during use of the apparatus. It was held that the liquid film is not a structural limitation and therefore cannot impart patentability to those claims which are otherwise unpatentable. It was further stated that there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.
In Smith, a particular web material having an extra length of carbons was claimed as part of an apparatus. The web material is worked upon by the apparatus. The court considered the possibility of combining the specified web with an old machine to provide a patentable combination, but it was held that a person may not patent a combination of a device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.
In Young, a concrete structure upon which an apparatus works was claimed as part of the apparatus. It was held that the inclusion of the material worked upon may not lend patentability to the apparatus.
In view of the cited cases and MPEP 2115, the claimed material worked upon has only been given weight to the extent that such limitations indicate structural limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the adhesive layer is placed on a peripheral portion of the protective membrane, and a ratio L2/L1 of a length L2 of a portion of a shortest line segment of line segments extending from a center of the protective membrane to a perimeter of the protective membrane to a length Li of the shortest line segment is 0.5 or less, the portion lying over the adhesive layer.” limitation is entirely unclear for several reasons. First, it's entirely unclear what "length" or "segment" L1 represents. Second, it's unclear what "line segments" refer to in the limitation "shortest line segment of lines segments." Because it's entirely unclear what "line segments" represent, it's impossible for the examiner to determine which line segment of the "line segments" is the shortest. Finally, based on fig 1C of the specification, L2 and L1 appear to represent a width and a portion of a width, respectively, rather than lengths as claimed. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) ---------1-5, 9-13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki et al. (US 2011/0138762) in view of Wunn et al (US 2015/0007721).
**The object, and any structure associated with the object is considered material to be worked upon and interpreted as discussed in section 2 above.**
As to claims 1 and 17, Ueki discloses a member supplying sheet comprising: a substrate sheet 1; and at least one protective cover member placed on the substrate sheet, wherein the protective cover 2/3 is configured to be placed on a face of an object, the face having an opening, the protective cover member comprising a laminate 2/3, wherein the laminate includes: a protective membrane 3 having a shape configured to cover the opening when the protective cover member is placed on the face (para 34-39 fig 1a-2b, 8a-9d; and an adhesive layer 2 (para 34-39), and when a portion, of the protective membrane, coinciding with the adhesive layer when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a principal surface of the protective membrane is defined as a fixed portion of the protective membrane (para 34-45 fig 1a-2b, 8a-9d, see below), an exposed surface of the protective membrane (entire upper surface of 3) on a side opposite to a side, of the protective membrane, facing the adhesive layer has a region A overlapping the fixed portion when viewed in the perpendicular direction, said region having a water/oil repellent surface surface (para 34-45, 55-60, fig 1a-2b, 8a-9d, see below).
Ueki does not expressly disclose region A having a contact angle of 55 degrees or more for methanol.
However, Wunn discloses that it is known and adventurous to maximize the contact angle for protective membrane surfaces (para 17-24) including contact angles above 55 deg with respect to methanol (para 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ueki such that region A has a contact angle of 55 degrees or more for methanol as taught by Wunn as it is known to maximize the contact angle in order to keep liquid contaminants from passing through the membrane (para 17-20).
As to claim 2, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ueki such that the entire exposed surface of the fixed portion on the opposite side has a contact angle of 55 degrees or more for methanol as taught by Wunn above as such achieves the advantages detailed above.
As to claim 3, Ueki discloses the fixed portion is positioned in a peripheral portion of the protective membrane when viewed in the perpendicular direction (see above fig)
As to claim 4, Ueki discloses the adhesive layer is in contact with the protective membrane (see above fig)
As to claim 5, Ueki discloses the adhesive layer is capable of being positioned on a side of placement of the protective cover member on a face of the object with respect to the protective membrane (see above fig).
As to claim 9, Ueki discloses the adhesive layer is placed on a peripheral portion of the protective membrane, and a ratio L2/L1 of a length L2 of a portion of a shortest line segment of line segments extending from a center of the protective membrane to a perimeter of the protective membrane to a length Li of the shortest line segment is 0.5 or less, the portion lying over the adhesive layer (fig. 1a-2b, 8a-9d).
As to claim 10, Ueki disclosed the protective membrane has gas permeability in a thickness direction of the protective membrane (para 34-45, 55-60, fig 1a-2b).
As to claim 11, both Ueki (para 59) and Wunn (para 21) disclose the protective membrane includes a porous membrane or a microporous membrane, and Wunn discloses the porous membrane and the microporous membrane each have an average pore diameter of 0.01 μm or more and less than 3 μm (para 21).
As to claim 12, Ueki discloses the protective membrane includes a polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (para 18).
As to claim 13, while Ueki does not expressly disclose the protective membrane has an area of 175 mm2 or less, para 64-68 discloses the area is design choice. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have achieved an area of 175 mm2 or less as such is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, varying the dimensions is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2114.04.
As to claim 15-16, the protective is capable of being placed and used inside a micro electro mechanical system (MEMS) (para 34-45, 55-60, fig 1a-2b).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki and Wunn, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoneyama et al. (US 2016/0326403).
As to claim 6, While neither Ueki nor Wunn expressly disclose the adhesive layer includes a layer formed of a thermosetting adhesive agent composition. Yoneyama discloses a protective cover with an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layers can be selected from several types of adhesives, including thermosetting (para 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ueki and Wunn such that the adhesive layer includes a layer formed of a thermosetting adhesive agent composition as taught by Yoneyama as such has a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 7-8, Yoneyama discloses the protective cover member according to claim 6, wherein the thermosetting adhesive agent composition has a storage modulus of 1.0×103 Pa or more at 130 to 170° C and 1.0×108 Pa or less at 130 to 170° C after thermal curing (para 110, table 1, claims 5, 9).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746