DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/21/23. These drawings are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11 and 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayes et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0298682), hereinafter, Hayes.
Regarding claim 1, Hayes discloses a patient support apparatus (Fig. 1 regarding patient support apparatus 20) comprising: a support surface (28, see: par. 0101) adapted to-support a patient thereon); a plurality of force sensors (36, see: par. 0107) adapted to detect downward forces exerted on the support surface [(28) [see: para, (0137)] regarding load cells 36; par. [0154] regarding flexible pressure sensing array), a transceiver (132) see: para: [0155] regarding transceivers incorporated into patient support apparatus); and a controller (56) adapled to analyze outputs from the plurality of force sensors (Para: [0137] regarding controller 56; see: para. [0155] regarding controller (56) to determine if a load added to the support surface: corresponds to a patient or an object (Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold...changes as being due to the patient's weight of an object being added or removed from patient Support surface; (see: para. [0155]) regarding communicate via near field communication with near field tags in-that tag to identify the equipment), and if the load corresponds to an object, to send a message wirelessly via the transceiver to the object to attempt to establish communication with at least one of the object or an electronic tag coupled to-the object (see: para. [0155] regarding one or more near field transceivers incorporated into patient support apparatus 20 or 20a that are able to communicate via near field communication with near field tags worn by patients or caregivers, or which are attached to equipment use the ID in that tag to identify the equipment, and therefore use that identification in the weight-event lag) [see: par. 0155].
Regarding Claim 2, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1 wherein; if the load corresponds toa patient, the controller is adapted to not send the message via the transceiver (Para. [0155] regarding are able to communicate...use the ID in that tag to identify the equipment, and therefore use that identification In the weight event log: and therefore the controller is adapted to not-send the message. as well);
Regarding Claim 3, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1 wherein the controller is further adapted io determine if the load added to the support surface corresponds toa patient or an-object by comparing a magnitude of the load to-a threshold (Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold...changes ‘as being due to the patient's weight...an object being added or removed from patient support surface), and if the load is greater than the threshold, concluding the load corresponds.to a patient, and if the load is less than the threshold, concluding the load corresponds to an object (Para. (0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings representing change in weight greater thar a-weight threshold...changes as being due to-the patient's weight...an object being added or removed from-patient support surface);
Regarding claim 4, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a display in communication with the controller (Para. [0109] regarding display), and wherein, if the load corresponds to-an object, the controller is further adapted to determine a location of the object and to display the location on the display (Para. [0124] regarding display 64 will display a-different screen shot, weight change of object being removed or added; Para. (0244) regarding that is applied-at different locations of support surface 28).
Regarding Claim 5, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 4 wherein the display is a touchscreen (Para: (0121) regarding touchscreen), and the controller is further adapted to display patient support apparatus Icon and an-object icon on the display (Para. [0128] regarding Weight log screen shot 94 provides two different types of weight changes-those associated with patient weight changes and those associated with object removals or additions), and wherein the controller is still further adapted to display additional information about the object in response to a user pressing on the object icon.(Para, [0128] regarding Weight-log screen shot 94 provides two different types of weight changes-those associated with patient weight changes and those associated with object removals or-additions: Para. (0129] regarding caregiver presses and holds).
Regarding Claim 6, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of. claim: 5 wherein. the additional information includes-at least one of the following: a weight of the object, a time when the abject was added to the patient support apparatus; a day when the object was added to the patient support apparatus, a coordinate location of the object, or an identification. of the object (Para. (0728) regarding weight log...changes; Para. [0129].
Regarding claim 11, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1 turner comprising a camera having a field of view-aimed to encompass the support-surface, and wherein the controller is further adapted to instruct the camera to capture: an image of the object after the object has-been added to the support surface (Para. [0166] regarding sub step...This another characteristic is determined by one of more additional sensors that are in communication with controller 56...other sensors could include a video camera; Para. [0243] regarding.one. or more cameras that are positioned to-record visual Images of the person supported on surface analysis).
Regarding Claim 13, Stryker Corporation (682) discloses the patient support apparatus. of claim 1 wherein the message-is sent to the electronic tag coupled to the object (Para: [0155] regarding one of more near field transceivers incorporated into patient support apparatus 20 or 20a that are able.to communicate via near field communication with near field tags worn by patients or caregivers, of which are attached to equipment: use the ID In that tag to identify the equipment, and therefore use that identification in the weight event log).
Regarding Claim 14, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 13,wherein the message is adapted to prompt the electronic tag to respond to the message (Para. [0155] regarding one or more near field transceivers incorporated into patient support apparatus 20 or 20a that are able to communicate via near field communication with near field tags worn by patients or caregivers, or which are attached to equipment use the ID in that tag to identify the equipment, and therefore use that identification in the weight event-log).
Regarding claim 15, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 13, wherein the message is adapted to prompt the electronic tag to respond with identification information identifying the object [Para. (0155)] regarding one or mare near field transceivers incorporated into patient support apparatus 20 or 20a that are able to communicate via near field communication with near field tags wort by patients of caregivers or which are attached to-equipment...use the ID in that tag to identify the equipment, and therefore use that identification in the weight event. lag):
Regarding claim 16, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 7 further comprising a camera having-a field of view aimed to-encompass the support surface (Para. [0166 regarding camera; Para, [0243.regarding one or more cameras), and wherein if the load corresponds to an object, the controller is adapted to instruct the camera to capture an image of the object after the object has been added to the support surface, and the controller is further adapted to analyze the image in order to determine a first location estimate of the object relative to the patient support apparatus (Para. [0166] regarding substep...This another characteristic is determined by one or more additional sensors that are In communication with controller 56...other sensors could include’ a video-camera; Para. [0243] regarding one or more Cameras that-are positioned to record visual images of the person supported on surface analysis).
Regarding claim 17, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 16 wherein the controller is further adapted to analyze cutouts from the force sensors to determine a second location estimate of the object (Para. [0112] regarding the force. sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine-the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0196] regarding detected by the measurement subsystem: Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the. retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight-threshold changes being due to the patient's weight an object being added or removed ‘from patient support surface).
Regarding claim 18, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1/7 wherein the. controller is further adapted to compare the first location to estimate of the object to the second location estimate of the-object (Para. (0172] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined: and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0196] regarding detected by the measurement subsystem).
Regarding claim 19, Stryker Corporation ('682) discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 18 wherein the controller is further adapted to issue a notification if the first location estimate differs from the second location estimate by more than a threshold (Para, [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and-used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell...alert; Para. [0196] regarding detected by the measurement subsystem).
Regarding claim 20, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a touchscreen (Para: [0121] regarding touchscreen) and wherein, if the load corresponds to an object, the controller Is further adapted to. perform the-following: display a location-selection icon and a patient support apparatus icon on the-touchscreen (Para. [0128] regarding Weight log screen shot 94 provides two different types of weight changes-those associated with patient weight changes and those associated with-object removals or additions), the location selection icon being movable by-a user with respect to the patient support apparatus icon; determine a location of the location selection icon with respect to the patient support apparatus icon. after the user has moved the location selection icon (Para, [0128] regarding Weight log-screen shot 94 provides two different types of weight changes-those associated with patient weight changes and those associated with object. removals or additions: Para. [0129] regarding caregiver presses and holds); and use the location of the location selection icon with respect to the patient support apparatus icon as the actual location of the object with respect to the patient support apparatus (Para. [0128] regarding Weight log screen shot 94 provides two different types of weight changes-those associated with patient weight changes and those associated with-object removals or additions; Para. [0129] regarding. caregiver presses and holds).
Regarding Claim 21, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 7 wherein, if the load corresponds to an object; the controller is further adapted to determine a center of gravity change between a first center of gravity calculation made before the object was added and a second center of gravity calculation made after the object' was added (Para. [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell), to determine if the-center- of gravity change can be-accounted for solely by the addition of the object to the support surface and; if not, to issue-a notification to. a user (Para, [01 12] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used; in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell alert; Para. [0196] regarding detected. by the measurement subsystem).
Regarding Claim 22, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 21 wherein the controller is further adapted to calculate a location of the object if the center of gravity change can be accounted for solely by the addition of the object (Para: [0112] regarding the force sensed. by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center-of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold changes as being done to the patient's weight...an object being added or removed from patient support surface).
Regarding claim 23, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus. of claim 22 wherein the controller is configured to determine if the center of gravity change can be accounted for solely by the addition of the object to the support surface by performing the following: determining a weight of the object: determining a ratio of the weight of the object toa weight measured prior to the addition of the object to the support surface (Para.[0112] regarding the force sensed.by each load cell is determined and used, in-combination: with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0137] regarding controller-56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold changes as being-due to the patient's weight...an-object being added or removed from patient support surface); using the ratio to determine a theoretical location where the object would have to be placed to account-for-the center of gravity change (Para. [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load-cell, io determine the. center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold...changes as being due to the patient's weight of an object being added or removed from patient support surface); determining if the theoretical location is inside or outside of a boundary (Para; [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than a weight threshold...changes as being due to the patient's weight...an object being added or removed from patient. support surface); and concluding the center of gravity change can be accounted for solely by the addition-of the object if the theoretical location is inside of the boundary (Para. [0112] regarding the force Sensed by each load cell is. determined and used, in combination. with the location-of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para-(0737] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent change in weight greater than 4 weight threshold...changes as being due to the patient's weight an object being added or removed from patient‘s support surface).
Regarding claim 24, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 23 wherein the boundary corresponds to a perimeter of the support surface (Para. [0154] regarding flexible pressure sensing array, Para. [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in-combination with the location of each load ceil, to determine the center of gravity. of the forces-exerted on-the load cell: Para. [0196] regarding detected by the measurement subsystem; Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a-change in weight greater than a weight threshold changes as being due to the patient's weight...an object being added or removed from patient support surface).
Regarding claim 25, Hayes discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 24, wherein the controller is configured to conclude that the center of gravity change cannot be accounted for solely by the addition-of the object if the theoretical location is outside of the boundary (Para, [0112] regarding the force sensed by each load cell is determined and used, in combination with the location of each load cell, to determine the center of gravity of the forces exerted on the load cell; Para. [0196] regarding detected by the Measurement subsystem Para. [0137] regarding controller 56 examines the retrieved weight readings to determine if the weight readings represent a change in weight greater than-a weight threshold changes as being due to the patient's weight...an object being added. or removed from patient support surface).
Conclusion
/JACQUES M SAINT SURIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855