DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 14-18, and 20, the “preferably” and “in p[articular” language does not make clear what the intended metes and bounds of the claims are intended to be, as it is unclear whether the associated limitations are required or not.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 19, these claims are dependent on at least one of the above claims and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama (US 2006/0001331) in view of Funakubo (US 2008/0030101).
With respect to claim 1, Nagahama discloses a watch, in particular wristwatch (Fig 9, paragraph 34), comprising: a clock generator arrangement (item 91), which comprises a clock generator, wherein the clock generator comprises a piezoelectric oscillation crystal and electrodes (Paragraph 75), wherein the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, and a width each of at least 1 mm, preferably of at least 1.5 mm (Paragraph 76), and a watch case, in which the clock generator arrangement is arranged (Fig 9).
Nagahama is silent with respect to the height of the piezoelectric element and therefore does not disclose that the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, a width, and a height each of at least 1 mm, preferably of at least 1.5 mm.
Funakubo teaches a piezoelectric element in which the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, a width, and a height each of at least 1 mm, preferably of at least 1.5 mm (Paragraph 49).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the piezoelectric element dimensions taught by Funakubo with the piezoelectric device of Nagahama as it has been held that a mere change in relative dimensions is obvious (Gardner v. TEC Systems Inc., 220 USPQ 777).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch of claim 1. Nagahama discloses that the watch has a transparent region and the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is formed and arranged in the watch such that the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is visible through the transparent region of the watch, so that the piezoelectric oscillation crystal serves as a gemstone of the watch (Fig 9). In addition, this merely describes a cosmetic design choice, which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it has been held that a mere rearrangement of parts is obvious (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo disclose the watch according to claim 1,wherein the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has in its oscillation direction an oscillation frequency, which has a value, which has only the number 8 or only the number 8 and the number 0, wherein the oscillation frequency is in particular 8888 Hz, 88888 Hz, 888888 Hz, 8888888 Hz, 8 kHz, 88KHz, 888 KHz or 8888 KHz (wherein this language merely refers to the frequency of operation and does not further limit the structural features of the device), preferably wherein the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is a tourmaline oscillation crystal, in which the oscillation frequency is 888888 Hz or 888 kHz, the length, the width and the height are each 8.88 mm and which weighs 8.88 carats (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has in its oscillation direction an oscillation frequency, which can be brought to a desired frequency, in particular of 1 Hz or 8 Hz, by multiple halving (wherein this language merely refers to the frequency of operation and does not further limit the structural features of the device), wherein the watch preferably comprises a frequency divider, which is set up to bring the oscillation frequency of the clock generator to the desired frequency, in particular of 1 Hz or 8 Hz (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1. Nagahama discloses an oscillation circuit (Fig 6), which is set up to excite the piezoelectric oscillation crystal to oscillate (Paragraphs 94-96), wherein the oscillation circuit preferably comprises a trimming capacitor, particularly preferably a capacitance diode, for setting the oscillation frequency of the piezoelectric oscillation crystal by setting a capacitance of the trimming capacitor, particularly preferably of the capacitance diode, via an electrical signal, wherein a control unit is set up to set the electrical signal depending on a temperature of the clock generator and/or a temperature of the watch in the surroundings of the clock generator (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1. Nagahama discloses that the watch further comprises a gear train (Fig 9) and wherein the clock generator arrangement further comprises an electromechanical device (item 91), which is movable by using a useful signal based on the oscillation frequency of the piezoelectric oscillation crystal (Fig 6, paragraphs 94-96), whereby the electromechanical device directly or indirectly engages with the gear train in a clocked manner (Fig 9), preferably wherein the electromechanical device engages indirectly with the gear train, wherefore the watch comprises an escapement, which is in engagement with the gear train and is drivable with the electromechanical device, wherein in particular the electromechanical device is formed as an actuator, preferably wherein the actuator has a magnet armature and a magnet coil, which is set up to move the magnet armature by using the useful signal or preferably wherein the electromechanical device is formed as a stepper motor (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1. Nagahama discloses that the clock generator arrangement comprises a useful signal generating device for generating a useful signal based on the oscillation frequency of the piezoelectric oscillation crystal (Fig 6, paragraphs 94-96), preferably wherein the useful signal generating device has a pulse counter for counting a clock signal of the clock generator or a signal based on a clock signal of the clock generator and is set up to generate the useful signal, when a count value of the counted clock signal of the clock generator or the counted signal based on the clock signal of the clock generator is equal to a predetermined count value, wherein a control unit is preferably set up to correct the predetermined count value depending on a temperature of the clock generator and/or a temperature of the watch (100) in the surroundings of the clock generator (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1, wherein the electrodes are attached to the piezoelectric oscillation crystal or wherein the clock generator comprises an electrode arrangement, which has an electrode holder, to which the electrodes are attached (Fig 5, paragraph 75).
With respect to claim 20, Nagahama discloses a method for manufacturing a watch, in particular a wristwatch (Fig 9, paragraph 34), comprising the following steps: providing a clock generator arrangement, which comprises a clock generator (item 91), wherein the clock generator comprises a piezoelectric oscillation crystal and electrodes (Paragraph 75), wherein the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, and a width each of at least 1 mm, preferably at least 1.5 mm (Paragraph 76), and arranging the clock generator arrangement in a watch case (Fig 9).
Nagahama is silent with respect to the height of the piezoelectric element and therefore does not disclose that the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, a width, and a height each of at least 1 mm, preferably of at least 1.5 mm.
Funakubo teaches a piezoelectric element in which the piezoelectric oscillation crystal has a length, a width, and a height each of at least 1 mm, preferably of at least 1.5 mm (Paragraph 49).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the piezoelectric element dimensions taught by Funakubo with the piezoelectric device of Nagahama as it has been held that a mere change in relative dimensions is obvious (Gardner v. TEC Systems Inc., 220 USPQ 777).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Funakubo and Motieian Najar et al. (US 2023/0311161).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Nagahama and Funakubo discloses the watch according to claim 1.
Nagahama does not disclose that the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is a natural tourmaline oscillation crystal, which has an L-axis, three TA-axes and three TS-axes, preferably wherein the tourmaline oscillation crystal is formed from a tourmaline raw crystal, which has a trigonal or hexagonal structure.
Motieian Najar et al. teaches a piezoelectric element in which the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is a natural tourmaline oscillation crystal (Paragraph 41), which has an L-axis, three TA-axes and three TS-axes (this is merely a statement of the existence of an axis system without stating any limitations relative to the axis system), preferably wherein the tourmaline oscillation crystal is formed from a tourmaline raw crystal, which has a trigonal or hexagonal structure (wherein the “preferably” clause does not positively further limit the features of the claim).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the tourmaline of Motieian Najar et al. with the piezoelectric device of Nagahama as it has been held that the selection of a material based on an art-recognized suitability for an intended purpose is obvious (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Nagahama, Funakubo, and Motieian Najar et al. discloses the watch according to claim 1. Motieian Najar et al. discloses the piezoelectric oscillation crystal is a natural tourmaline oscillation crystal (Paragraph 41), which is formed from a tourmaline raw crystal, which has a structure between a trigonal structure and a hexagonal structure (wherein this crystal structure is inherent to tourmaline).
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837