DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/JP2022/025179, filed 06/23/2022, which claims priority to JAPAN 2021104448, filed 06/23/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified untranslated copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been filed in this application on 12/21/2023.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
The earliest possible priority for the instant application is 06/23/2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See p 2, para 4. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the algae are microalgae belonging to Chlorella sp..” For the sake of clarity, it is recommended the limitation be amended to “wherein the algae are microalgae belonging to the genus Chlorella” or “wherein the algae are Chlorella sp..” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “woody solid acid catalyst” (line 7), which is not defined in the specification and is not a routinely used term in the art. In the absence of a definition, it is unclear what is encompassed by the term “woody solid acid catalyst,” rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-12 are included in the rejection because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “added factors for serum-free culture” (line 2), which is not defined in the specification and is not a routinely used term in the art. In the absence of a definition, it is unclear what is encompassed by the term “added factors for serum-free culture,” rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-5 recite the phrase “substantially free of,” which renders the claims indefinite. The specification defines “substantially free of” as “containing substantially none of the substance in question, but it does not mean containing absolutely none of the substance” (p 11, para 34). However, this definition uses the relative term “substantially” to define “substantially free of”; the metes and bounds of the limitation “substantially none of the substance” in the definition is unclear. The specification does not offer further guidance on what is meant by “substantially free of.” Example 1 provides two examples of nutrient-deficient media, one containing 0 mg/L of glucose and pyruvic acid (p 20, para 64) and another containing 0 mg/L of amino acids (p 21, para 65), but this appears to contradict the second portion of the definition.
Claim 10 is drawn to “The method according to claim 1, wherein step (1) is carried out at 60°C to 200°C.” Step (1) of claim 1 comprises “mixing algae with a solid acid catalyst and heating the mixture to obtain an algae extract.” It is unclear whether the entirety of step (1) of claim 1 is to be carried out at 60°C to 200°C, or whether claim 10 should be interpreted as “mixing algae with a solid acid catalyst and heating the mixture to 60°C to 200°C to obtain an algae extract.” For the sake of compact prosecution, the latter interpretation is used for the purpose of examination.
Claim 11 is drawn to “The method according to claim 1, wherein step (1) is carried out for 2 hours to 24 hours.” Step (1) of claim 1 comprises “mixing algae with a solid acid catalyst and heating the mixture to obtain an algae extract.” It is unclear whether the entirety of step (1) of claim 1 is to be carried out for 2 hours to 24 hours, or whether claim 11 should be interpreted as “mixing algae with a solid acid catalyst and heating the mixture for 2 hours to 24 hours to obtain an algae extract.” For the sake of compact prosecution, the latter interpretation is used for the purpose of examination.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the preamble “A method for producing a composition for culturing animal cells” in line 1. The phrase “for producing a composition for culturing animal cells” in the preamble is a recitation of purpose or intended use, which does not impart additional limitation to the method as claimed, and is therefore not given patentable weight. See (II).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “woody solid acid catalyst” (line 7), which is not defined in the specification and is not a routinely used term in the art. For the purpose of examination, “woody solid acid catalyst” is interpreted as a wood-derived solid acid catalyst.
Claims 3-5 recite the phrase “substantially free of,” which is defined in the specification as “containing substantially none of the substance in question, but it does not mean containing absolutely none of the substance” (p 11, para 34). As set forth above, this definition fails to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the limitation “substantially free of,” and contradicts the examples provided in the specification. For the purpose of examination, in light of the guidance provided in the specification (e.g., para 64-65), the limitation “substantially free of” is interpreted as being inclusive of zero.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the algae are microalgae belonging to the order Chlorococcales.” The specification gives Chlorococcum littorale as an example of a species belonging to the order Chlorococcales (p 11, para 36). However, the taxonomy appears to have been updated following the filing of the instant application, and Chlorococcum littorale is now classified in the order Volvocales (see AlgaeBase, “Chlorococcum littorale”). For the purpose of examination, the limitation in claim 9 is interpreted as “wherein the algae are microalgae formerly belonging to the order Chlorococcales.”
Claim 12 is a product-by-process claim. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the MPEP 2111.02 manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the instant case, the method steps of claim 1 do not clearly impart additional structural limitations to the product of claim 12. Furthermore, the phrase “for culturing animal cells” is recitation of purpose or intended use, which does not impart a structural limitation to the product as claimed, and is therefore not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02(II). Therefore, claim 12 is interpreted as “A composition comprising algae extract and animal cell culturing medium.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (Biotechnology Progress, 2019, 36(2): e2941; cited in IDS 02/14/2024), in view of Jeong (Algal Research, 2020, 51:102044; cited in IDS 03/12/2026) and Kitano (JP5528036B2).
Citations to Kitano (JP5528036B2), which is in Japanese, is made to the English machine translation, which is attached to this Office Action.
Okamoto teaches a method of cultivating mammalian cell using nutrients extracted from microalgae (Abstract). Okamoto teaches extracting nutrients from microalgae using the hydrolysis method, wherein sulfuric acid (reads on acid catalyst) was added to dried algae and water, and heated (claim 1) between 20–180°C for 10–1,440 minutes (claims 10-11), then neutralized using hydrochloric acid or sodium hydroxide (Section 2.2). The microalgae used in Okamoto include Chlorococcum littorale and Chlorella vulgaris (Section 2.1) (claims 7-9).
The algae extract was added to FBS- and nutrient-deficient Dulbecco's Modified Eagle's Media (DMEM) (Section 2.3, para 1) (claims 1-2, 6, 12). The nutrient-deficient DMEM included the following two compositions: (i) Glucose-free DMEM containing 15 types of proteinogenic amino acids (arginine, cysteine, glutamine, glycine, serine, tyrosine, histidine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, tryptophan, and valine) and eight types of vitamins (vitamin B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, and B9, choline, and inositol), and (ii) Glucose- and glutamine-free DMEM containing the 14 proteinogenic amino acids except for glutamine, and the eight vitamins (claims 3-5) (Section 2.3, para 2).
The acid catalyst taught in Okamoto is a liquid acid catalyst. Okamoto does not teach the use of a solid acid catalyst to obtain an algae extract.
Jeong teaches a method for hydrolysis of microalgae Chlorella sp. using a solid acid catalyst to obtain fermentable sugars (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Okamoto by using a solid acid catalyst, as taught in Jeong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Jeong teaches that solid catalysts offer advantages including ease of separation and reusability in the product solution (p 3, col 1, para 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of making this modification because Jeong teaches that a solid acid catalyst can be used to hydrolyze microalgae.
The solid acid catalyst taught in Jeong is Purolite CT269DR, which is a polymeric macroreticular-type resin with sulfonic acid functionality (p 2, col 1, para 4). Okamoto, in view of Jeong, does not teach the use of a solid acid catalyst obtained by introducing a sulfo group into a carbide derived from a wood-based raw material, as required by claim 1.
Kitano teaches a carbon-based solid acid catalyst derived from a cellulose-containing raw materials, including timber, construction waste wood, and sawdust (p 4, para 3). Kitano teaches that an incomplete carbide obtained from cellulose-containing raw materials is brought into contact with sulfur trioxide or a sulfonating agent containing sulfur trioxide to obtain a sulfonated product carbide (p 3, para 7, 19; p 4, para 6) (reads on woody solid acid of claim 1). Kitano teaches that cellulose-containing raw materials for the acid catalyst are low cost, and can be procured easily and in large quantities (p 2, para 8, 12; p 4, para 3). Kitano teaches that the solid acid catalyst taught therein can be used as a catalyst for a hydrolysis reaction (p 3, para 1, 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Okamoto, in view of Jeong, by using a wood-derived solid acid catalyst, as taught in Kitano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kitano teaches that wood-derived solid acid catalysts are cost effective, as they are derived from cellulose-containing raw materials that are low cost, easy to procure, and available in large quantities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of making this modification because Jeong teaches that a solid acid catalyst can be used to hydrolyze microalgae, and Kitano teaches that the solid acid catalyst taught therein can be used to catalyze a hydrolysis reaction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-20 and 22-25 of copending Application No. 19/398,846 in view of Kitano (JP5528036B2; citations are to the English machine translation) and Jeong (Algal Research, 2020, 51:102044).
Regarding claims 1 and 12: Copending claim 25 is drawn to a composition for culturing animal cells, wherein the composition is obtained by (1) subjecting algae to acid hydrolysis and (2) neutralizing the hydrolysate to obtain an algal extract, and (3) mixing the algal extract with cell culturing mediu, wherein the cell culturing medium contains substantially no L-glutamine. Copending claim 13 is drawn to a cell culturing method, using the composition recited in claim 25.
The copending claims do not require the use of a woody solid catalyst, as required by instant claim 1.
Kitano teaches a carbon-based solid acid catalyst derived from a cellulose-containing raw materials, including timber, construction waste wood, and sawdust (p 4, para 3). Kitano teaches that an incomplete carbide obtained from cellulose-containing raw materials is brought into contact with sulfur trioxide or a sulfonating agent containing sulfur trioxide to obtain a sulfonated product carbide (p 3, para 7, 19; p 4, para 6) (reads on woody solid acid of claim 1). Kitano teaches that cellulose-containing raw materials for the acid catalyst are low cost, and can be procured easily and in large quantities (p 2, para 8, 12; p 4, para 3). Kitano teaches that the solid acid catalyst taught therein can be used as a catalyst for a hydrolysis reaction (p 3, para 1, 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a wood-derived solid acid catalyst as the catalyst in the acid hydrolysis reaction of copending claims 13 and 25. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kitano teaches that wood-derived solid acid catalysts are cost effective, as they are derived from cellulose-containing raw materials that are low cost, easy to procure, and available in large quantities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of making this modification because Kitano teaches that the solid acid catalyst taught therein can be used to catalyze a hydrolysis reaction. Thus, copending claims 13 and 25, in view of Kitano, renders obvious instant claims 1 and 12.
Regarding claims 3-10: Following the discussion for copending claims 13 and 25, copending claim 17 renders obvious instant claim 2; copending claim 15 renders obvious instant claim 4; copending claim 16 renders obvious instant claim 5; copending claim 14 renders obvious instant claim 6; copending claims 18-20 render obvious instant claims 7-9; and copending claim 22 renders obvious instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 11: The copending claims do not specify a duration of 2 hours to 24 hours for the hydrolysis reaction, as required by instant claim 11.
Jeong teaches hydrolysis of Chlorella sp. using Purolite CT269DR, a solid acid catalyst, at 160 °C for 0–80 min (p 2, col 1, para 4; Section 2.4). Jeong teaches that to minimize the byproduct formation and maximize sugar formation, reaction factors, such as catalyst type and concentration, reaction temperature and time, and biomass amounts, need to be optimized (Introduction, para 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the duration of the hydrolysis reaction in copending claim 13 based on factors such as catalyst type and concentration, reaction temperature, and biomass amounts, to arrive at the conditions recited in instant claim 11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/RISA TAKENAKA/Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632