DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a transmitter” in claim 1 line 2, where the disclosure provides the following corresponding structure: ([0013]-[0018]).
“a receiver” in claim 1 line 3, where the disclosure provides the following corresponding structure: ([0013]-[0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 11, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daburger et al. (EP1903519A2- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Daburger teaches a coffee bean grinding apparatus (Figure 2) including:
a transmitter (optical transmitter 14; Figure 2) for emitting a signal (“or at completely empty container 10, a light beam 17 of the transmitter 14 to the receiver 15”- see pg.);
a receiver (optical receiver 15; Figure 2) for receiving at least a portion of the signal (“or at completely empty container 10, a light beam 17 of the transmitter 14 to the receiver 15”- see pg. 4);
a hopper (coffee bean container 10; Figure 2) for containing coffee beans (while Daburger teaches the hopper containing coffee beans, coffee beans are a material worked upon by the apparatus and, therefore, do not provide patentable distinction, see MPEP 2115),
wherein at least a portion of the coffee beans contained by the hopper is located between the transmitter and receiver (see coffee beans 12 between optical transmitter 14 and optical receiver 15 in Figure 2);
a grinding mechanism (grinder 11; Figure 2) for grinding the coffee beans fed by the hopper (“Figure 2 schematically illustrates a bean container 10 above a grinder 11 of a coffee machine. The bean container 10 is still partially filled with coffee beans 12. You get the gravity following the funnel mouth 13 in the grinder 11 as soon as it is put into operation”- see pg. 4); and
a controller, in communication with the transmitter, the receiver and the grinding mechanism(“the Brühgetränkemaschine comprises a control device which converts the signals of at least one level sensor into information about the remaining number of cups and outputs on the display. Beyond the processing of the signals of the level sensors further information can be processed in a control device”- see pg. 2), configured to:
receive, from the receiver, a measurement indicative of a proportion of the signal received by the receiver (“a control device which converts the signals of at least one level sensor into information about the remaining number of cups and outputs on the display” and “so this emits a signal. Such a signaled residual amount of coffee beans 12 corresponds to a number of beverage cups still to be purchased”- see pg. 2 and pg. 4);
determine, based on the measurement, whether the hopper contains at least a threshold amount of coffee beans (“the remaining number of cups to the required service activity for cleaning and / or decalcification of the machines may be displayed”- see pg. 3); and
in response to determining that the hopper contains less than the threshold amount of coffee beans, perform one or more detection functions (“Again, as in the case of the water tank 1 of Figure 1, a plurality of transmitters 14 and receiver 15 are arranged one above the other and correlating with a certain remaining number of cups on the coffee bean container 10. The device in Figure 2 accordingly represents the simplest embodiment.”- see pg. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Daburger teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to any one of claims claim 1, wherein the coffee bean grinding apparatus includes a user feedback device, wherein the one or more detection functions include the controller controlling the user feedback device to provide an alert indicative of determining that the hopper contains less than the threshold amount of coffee beans (“The display panel 20 may, however, as a comfortable example beyond also also indicate the levels of the containers 22, 23, 24 continuously. The user thus receives a complete overview of the fill level of the respective containers 22, 23, 24.”- see pg. 4 and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Daburger teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter is an electromagnetic signal transmitting device configured to transmit an electromagnetic signal, and wherein the receiver is an electromagnetic signal receiving device configured to measure a received signal strength of the electromagnetic signal (“On an end wall of the funnel mouth 13 is an optical transmitter 14 and, opposite to it, an optical receiver 15 as a light barrier. They are both connected to an electrical power source 16. Meets at almost empty - corresponding to a distance B of the light barrier over the grinder - or at completely empty container 10, a light beam 17 of the transmitter 14 to the receiver 15, so this emits a signal. Such a signaled residual amount of coffee beans 12 corresponds to a number of beverage cups still to be purchased”- see pg. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Daburger teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the electromagnetic signal transmitting device is a visible light emitting device, the electromagnetic signal is a visible light signal, and the receiver is a photodetector (Abstract: “which are provided for continuously measuring the filling level and designed as photo sensor” and “Meets at almost empty - corresponding to a distance B of the light barrier over the grinder - or at completely empty container 10, a light beam 17 of the transmitter 14 to the receiver 15, so this emits a signal. Such a signaled residual amount of coffee beans 12 corresponds to a number of beverage cups still to be purchased”- see pg. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Daburger teaches the coffee grinding apparatus according to claim 1, further including a plurality of transmitters and a plurality of receivers (“Again, as in the case of the water tank 1 of Figure 1, a plurality of transmitters 14 and receiver 15 are arranged one above the other and correlating with a certain remaining number of cups on the coffee bean container 10. The device in Figure 2 accordingly represents the simplest embodiment.”-see pg. 4), wherein the controller is configured to:
receive from each receiver a plurality of measurements indicative of a proportion of a plurality of signals received, the plurality of signals being emitted by the plurality of transmitters and
determine, based on the plurality of measurements, whether the hopper has at least the threshold amount of coffee beans contained therein (“a control device which converts the signals of at least one level sensor into information about the remaining number of cups and outputs on the display” and “so this emits a signal. Such a signaled residual amount of coffee beans 12 corresponds to a number of beverage cups still to be purchased”- see pg. 2 and pg. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Daburger teaches an espresso machine having an integrated grinding apparatus integrated, wherein the grinding apparatus is configured according to claim 1 (“Most coffee machines prepare different amounts of beverage, depending on whether an espresso or coffee, for example, is desired”, “Figure 1 shows a schematic view of a water tank 1 of a coffee machine. It can be filled directly or from the coffee machine through the filling opening 2”… “Figure 2 schematically illustrates a bean container 10 above a grinder 11 of a coffee machine”- see pg. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US20180055288), and further in view of Tan et al. (US20170215451).
Regarding claim 1, Rose teaches a coffee bean grinding apparatus (portable grinder 100 and sensing base 101; Figure 1) including:
a sensor (distance sensor 702; Figure 11) for emitting and receiving at least a portion of a signal ([0156] the sensing lid may employ a distance sensor 702, such as an ultrasonic rangefinder, infrared reflectivity distance sensor, or other means of sensing the height of the beans in a container);
a hopper (hopper 202; Figure 1) for containing coffee beans ([0036] A hopper holding the beans can be isolated from the surrounding environment to ensure that coffee bean emissions can be accurately detected and analyzed; while Rose does teach the hopper containing coffee beans, coffee beans are a material worked upon by the apparatus and, therefore, do not provide patentable distinction, see MPEP 2115),
wherein at least a portion of the coffee beans contained by the hopper is located between the sensor (sensor 702 has a space in between the sensors as shown in annotated Figure 11 below such that any coffee beans within the annotated space would make the coffee grinding apparatus capable of having at least a portion of the coffee beans contained by the hopper located between the sensor);
a grinding mechanism (grind adjustment element 102; Figure 1) for grinding the coffee beans fed by the hopper ([0037] The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings. To start the grinding process, the user can push the dosing timer knob 104 to activate a grinding mechanism. When a set time on the timer has expired, the grinder 100 stops the grinding mechanism to complete the grinding cycle. A cup 103 can be removed from the grinder 100 to access the fresh grounds); and
a controller (controller 209; Figure 3), in communication with the sensor and the grinding mechanism ([0049] The dosing timer can activate the motor 208 via communication through a controller 209. When the set time on the timer has expired, the controller 209 stops the motor 208 and the grinding is complete and [0050] The dosing functionality can also be accomplished by sensing the quantity of the beans, rather than by setting a timer. In such an embodiment, a feedback loop can exist between the controller 209 and a sensor that detects the quantity of grind), configured to:
receive, from the sensor, a measurement indicative of a proportion of the signal received by the sensor;
determine, based on the measurement, whether the hopper contains at least a threshold amount of coffee beans ([0041] In some embodiments, the display window 107 can include a screen (e.g., a digital screen) capable of displaying information, including one or more of the following statuses: bean quantity, bean freshness, grind fineness setting, battery charge or charging state, error conditions, maintenance notifications, or device status information. , [0050] In such an embodiment, a feedback loop can exist between the controller 209 and a sensor that detects the quantity of grinds. The sensor may, in some embodiments, measure the mass of the grinds as they accumulate in the catch cup 103. In other embodiments, the sensor may sense the volumetric quantity of the grounds by using a contactless distance sensor, such as an infrared or ultrasonic rangefinder, or by using a resistive or conductive contact-based sensor, to measure the height of the beans in the hopper 202, and [0164] In other embodiments, the event at block 904 can be coffee beans reaching a minimum level so the user can refill the coffee grinder); and
in response to determining that the hopper contains less than the threshold amount of coffee beans, perform one or more detection functions ([0165] At block 906, the coffee grinder can respond to detection of the event. A user can select event triggers. An event notification can be sent to a user via instant messenger, email, visual or audible alert, or the like. In one embodiment, the coffee grinder sends an event notification to remote server, which then communicates with a user's remote device).
However, Rose fails to explicitly teach the sensor comprises a transmitter for emitting the signal and a receiver for receiving at least a portion of the signal such that at least a portion of the coffee beans contained by the hopper is located between transmitter and receiver and the controller is in communication with the transmitter and receiver to measure a proportion of the signal received by the receiver.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to coffee grinding apparatuses, Tan teaches a sensor comprising:
a transmitter (transmitter 122; Figure 1) for emitting a signal ([0044] The transmitter 122 of the sensor arrangement 120 is typically arranged to transmit a signal 121 towards the coffee beans 10); and
a receiver (receiver 124; Figure 1) for receiving at least a portion of the signal ([0049] the receiver 124 may be arranged to detect a single signal pulse transmitted by the transmitter 122 or may be arranged to detect a series of signal pulses transmitted by the transmitter 122);
wherein that at least a portion of the coffee beans contained by the hopper is located between transmitter and receiver (see annotated Figure 2a and Figure 2b below) and the controller (controller 130; Figure 1) is in communication with the transmitter and receiver to measure a proportion of the signal received by the receiver ([0051] the sensor arrangement 120 may include a signal transducer and/or signal processor performing the necessary signal conversions and/or calculations, resulting in the provision of a control signal to the controller 130 that is indicative of this volume or volume change. This control signal may be provided to the controller 130 in any suitable form).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the sensor of Rose comprise a transmitter and a receiver, as taught by Tan, to achieve the predictable result of sensing the coffee beans within the hopper. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the sensor of Rose to have a transmitter and receiver, since the sensor of Rose performs a measurement by emitting a signal and subsequently receiving a signal ([0006] A processor can analyze signals from the sensor to monitor changes in the beans to determine grind settings for producing grounds (e.g., high-quality grounds), [0019] In another embodiment, a method includes receiving signals from a sensor of a coffee grinder and identifying a signal that satisfies a predetermined condition, and [0050] The sensor may sense the volumetric quantity of the grounds by using a contactless distance sensor, such as an infrared or ultrasonic rangefinder, or by using a resistive or conductive contact-based sensor, to measure the height of the beans in the hopper 202), and a transmitter and receiver would be structure required to generate and receive such signals. Further, both Rose and Tan teach the use of infrared and ultrasonic sensors (Tan teaches in [0050] “An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume but may be relatively expensive to realize, whereas an acoustic signal such as an ultrasound signal can be produced more cheaply but may be less accurate than an optical signal”). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would look to the sensors of Tan to determine the structural components necessary to operate the sensors of Rose.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the sensor is located within the hopper ([0050] The number and types of sensors can be selected based on the desired monitoring. Contact based sensors can be positioned along the wall of the hopper 202 or the lid 108. Sensors for measuring the mass of accumulated grinds in the catch cup can be located along a surface of the grinder that supports the catch cup).
Further, Tan teaches the transmitter and the receiver is located within the hopper (see transmitter 122 and a receiver 124 within compartment 110 in Figure 1), such that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the transmitter and receiver of Rose modified with Tan located within the hopper to achieve the predictable result of sensing the level of coffee beans within the hopper. Placing the sensor within the hopper has a known benefit of having the sensor placed near the beans themselves to provide more accurate measurements (see [0160] of Rose).
Regarding claim 4, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to any one of claims claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the coffee bean grinding apparatus includes a user feedback device, wherein the one or more detection functions include the controller controlling the user feedback device to provide an alert indicative of determining that the hopper contains less than the threshold amount of coffee beans ([0050] In such an embodiment, a feedback loop can exist between the controller 209 and a sensor that detects the quantity of grinds. The sensor may, in some embodiments, measure the mass of the grinds as they accumulate in the catch cup 103 and [0165] At block 906, the coffee grinder can respond to detection of the event. A user can select event triggers. An event notification can be sent to a user via instant messenger, email, visual or audible alert, or the like. In one embodiment, the coffee grinder sends an event notification to remote server, which then communicates with a user's remote device).
Regarding claim 8, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the hopper includes a cover assembly extending inwardly from an outlet of the hopper, wherein the sensor is mounted to the cover assembly (see annotated Figure 11 in the rejection of claim 9 below).
Regarding claim 9, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the cover assembly includes a shoulder structure which extends from a neck structure, wherein the sensor is mounted to an underside surface of the shoulder structure (see annotated Figure 11 below).
Regarding claim 10, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim1 .
Further, Rose teaches wherein the transmitter is an electromagnetic signal transmitting device configured to transmit an electromagnetic signal, and wherein the receiver is an electromagnetic signal receiving device configured to measure a received signal strength of the electromagnetic signal ([0050] In such an embodiment, a feedback loop can exist between the controller 209 and a sensor that detects the quantity of grinds. The sensor may, in some embodiments, measure the mass of the grinds as they accumulate in the catch cup 103. In other embodiments, the sensor may sense the volumetric quantity of the grounds by using a contactless distance sensor, such as an infrared or ultrasonic rangefinder, or by using a resistive or conductive contact-based sensor, to measure the height of the beans in the hopper 202. The number and types of sensors can be selected based on the desired monitoring. Contact based sensors can be positioned along the wall of the hopper 202 or the lid 108).
Regarding claim 13, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the electromagnetic signal transmitting device is an infra-red emitting device, the electromagnetic signal is an infra-red signal, and the receiver is an infra-red sensor.
Further, Rose teaches the sensor is an infrared sensor, and Tan also teaches an infrared signal is generated and received (Tan teaches in [0050] “The signal 121 may be any suitable signal, such as an optical signal, an acoustic signal or any other suitable type of electromagnetic signal. An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal”).
Regarding claim 14, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches an ultrasonic sensor (Rose teaches in [0050] the sensor may sense the volumetric quantity of the grounds by using a contactless distance sensor, such as an infrared or ultrasonic rangefinder) and Tan teaches wherein the transmitter is an audio signal transmitting device configured to transmit an audio signal, and wherein the receiver is a transducer device configured to measure a received signal strength of the audio signal (Tan teaches in [0050] The signal 121 may be any suitable signal, such as an optical signal, an acoustic signal or any other suitable type of electromagnetic signal. An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume but may be relatively expensive to realize, whereas an acoustic signal such as an ultrasound signal can be produced more cheaply but may be less accurate than an optical signal).
Regarding claim 15, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 14.
Further, Rose teaches an ultrasonic sensor (Rose teaches in [0050] the sensor may sense the volumetric quantity of the grounds by using a contactless distance sensor, such as an infrared or ultrasonic rangefinder) and Tan also teaches wherein the audio transmitting device is an ultrasonic transmitter, the audio signal is an ultrasonic signal, and the transducer device is an ultrasonic transducer ([0050] An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume but may be relatively expensive to realize, whereas an acoustic signal such as an ultrasound signal can be produced more cheaply but may be less accurate than an optical signal).
Regarding claim 16, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the controller is configured to: control the sensor to obtain a baseline measurement whilst the sensor is not transmitting the signal; and determine a difference between the measurement and the baseline measurement, wherein the controller performs the one or more detection functions in response to determining that the difference is equal to or exceeds a difference threshold stored in memory of the controller ([0019] In another embodiment, a method includes receiving signals from a sensor of a coffee grinder and identifying a signal that satisfies a predetermined condition. An event associated with the satisfied predetermined condition is then determined. At least one action can be performed based on the event, [0154] The memory 515 can be coupled to the processor 513 and can store data, including executable instructions, collected data about coffee beans and/or grounds, and other information. The memory 515 can store instructions for monitoring coffee beans, detecting events, commanding components, and/or communicating with a system. In some embodiments, the memory 515 contains programs discussed in connection with the cloud service 501. For example, the memory 515 can include dosing algorithms, freshness algorithms, bean quantity algorithms, and [0165] At block 906, the coffee grinder can respond to detection of the event. A user can select event triggers. An event notification can be sent to a user via instant messenger, email, visual or audible alert, or the like. In one embodiment, the coffee grinder sends an event notification to remote server, which then communicates with a user's remote device).
Regarding claim 17, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the controller is mounted to the grinding mechanism (see controller 209 mounted on grinder in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Further, Rose teaches wherein the hopper includes a carbon dioxide sensor (gas sensor 703 in Figure 11; [0057] Additional sensors may detect relevant gases, such as carbon dioxide, ethanol, benzene, ketones, or other gases identified as indicators of bean deterioration) and a humidity sensor (humidity sensor 709; Figure 11), in electrical communication with the controller, for measuring a freshness of the coffee beans contained within the hopper (Abstract: The grinder can be a portable, rechargeable electric coffee grinder configured to monitor the freshness of the coffee beans),
wherein the controller is configured to:
compare at least one of a measured level of carbon dioxide and/or a measured humidity level within the hopper against one or more thresholds stored within memory of the controller; and perform one or more freshness detection functions based on the comparison ([0019] In another embodiment, a method includes receiving signals from a sensor of a coffee grinder and identifying a signal that satisfies a predetermined condition. An event associated with the satisfied predetermined condition is then determined. At least one action can be performed based on the event, [0154] The memory 515 can be coupled to the processor 513 and can store data, including executable instructions, collected data about coffee beans and/or grounds, and other information. The memory 515 can store instructions for monitoring coffee beans, detecting events, commanding components, and/or communicating with a system. In some embodiments, the memory 515 contains programs discussed in connection with the cloud service 501. For example, the memory 515 can include dosing algorithms, freshness algorithms, bean quantity algorithms, and [0165] At block 906, the coffee grinder can respond to detection of the event. A user can select event triggers. An event notification can be sent to a user via instant messenger, email, visual or audible alert, or the like. In one embodiment, the coffee grinder sends an event notification to remote server, which then communicates with a user's remote device).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US20180055288) and Tan et al. (US20170215451), and further in view of Dumbre et al. (“Data Transmission through Inductive Coupled System” International Research Journal of Engineering and Technology (IRJET), 2017, vol. 4, pg. 669-672- see attached).
Regarding claim 5, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
While Rose teaches the sensor is configured to inductively charge an internal power supply of the grinder ([0053]), Rose fails to teach wherein the coffee bean grinding apparatus further includes: a first inductive coil in electrical communication with the controller; and a second inductive coil in electrical communication with the transmitter; wherein the controller is configured to generate a first electrical current in the first inductive coil which passively induces a second electrical current in the second inductive coil, wherein in response to the second electrical current being induced in the second inductive coil the transmitter transmits the signal.
In the field reasonably pertinent to the problem of wireless power transmission in electrical devices, Dumbre teaches a first inductive coil in electrical communication with a power source via a first electrical current, and the first electrical current passively induces a second electrical current in a second inductive coil (see inductive power link in Figure 1 on pg. 669 and below). Wireless energy transmission can eliminate the need for cables and connectors in any equipment, which provides space saving measures (“energy transmission can eliminate the need for cables and connectors in any equipment. It is the ideal solution when little board space is available”- see pg. 669).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coffee bean grinding apparatus of Rose modified with Tan further include a first inductive coil in electrical communication with the controller and a second inductive coil in electrical communication with the transmitter, as taught by the wireless power transmission system of Dumbre, such that the controller is configured to generate a first electrical current in the first inductive coil which passively induces a second electrical current in the second inductive coil, wherein in response to the second electrical current being induced in the second inductive coil the transmitter transmits the signal, for the benefit of providing energy wirelessly to operate the transmitter. Wireless energy transmission has a known benefit of eliminating the need for cables and connectors in any equipment, which provides space saving measures.
Regarding claim 6, Rose modified with Tan teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 1.
Rose teaches wherein the grinding mechanism includes a first electrical contact (connection assembly 203; Figure 3) in electrical communication with an electrical power source (internal power supply 207 in Figure 3; [0045] A driver 208 can be mechanically coupled to the grinding element 201 via, for example, a connection assembly 203. The driver 208 can be a drive motor, an electric motor, a stepper motor, or another drive device powered by an internal power supply 207). Further, Rose teaches the hopper includes a second electrical contact in electrical communication with the sensor ([0156] The sensing lid also contains a power supply 707, microcontroller 704, and network interface 705, such as a Wi-Fi chip).
However, Rose fails to teach the transmitter is powered by electrical power received from the electrical power source via the first electrical contact in electrical communication with the second electrical contact.
In a separate embodiment where the sensor is located in a base of the coffee been grinding apparatus, Rose teaches electrical connections in the sensing base can contact corresponding electrical connections in the grinder to recharge the power supply of the grinder, and a controller connection in the sensing base can enable communication and coordination between the functions of the grinder and the functions of the sensing base ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the transmitter of Rose modified with Tan be powered by electrical power received from the electrical power source via the first electrical contact in electrical communication with the second electrical contact, since Rose teaches the sensor can be located in the hopper lid and further teaches a separate embodiment where the grinder can be powered by electrical power received from an electrical power source via a first electrical contact of a sensing base in electrical communication with the second electrical contact of the grinder, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to making an electrical connection between the sensor in the hopper and the grinder. Further, wireless energy transmission has a known benefit of eliminating the need for cables and connectors in any equipment, which provides space saving measures.
Regarding claim 7, Rose modified with Tan and Dumbre teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 6.
However, Rose fails to teach wherein the first and second electrical contacts are spring contacts that are biased into electrical communication together when the hopper is releasably coupled to the grinding mechanism.
In a separate embodiment, Rose teaches a sensor base and grinding mechanism are biased into electrical communication together when the sensor base and grinding mechanism are coupled together ([0054]).
Further, Dumbre teaches inductive power links are based on two inductive coupled coils (see pg. 669 of Dumbre).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second electrical contacts of Rose modified with Tan and Dumbre be biased into electrical communication together when the hopper is releasably coupled to the grinding mechanism, since Rose teaches the sensor can be located in the hopper lid and further teaches a separate embodiment where the grinder can be powered by electrical power received from an electrical power source via a first electrical contact of a sensing base in electrical communication with the second electrical contact of the grinder, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to making an electrical connection between the sensor in the hopper and the grinder. Further, wireless energy transmission has a known benefit of eliminating the need for cables and connectors in any equipment, which provides space saving measures.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daburger et al. (EP1903519A2- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Van Os et al. (US20120024160) .
Regarding claim 12, Daburger teaches the coffee bean grinding apparatus according to claim 11. However, Daburger fails to teach wherein the visible light emitting device is a light emitting device (LED).
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a food grinding apparatus, Van Os teaches wherein the visible light emitting device is a light emitting device (LED) ([0118] The metering chamber, when having a transparent or translucent outer wall as shown in FIG. 6, may be governed by optical sensor detection means 539, also referred to as a first sensor or first sensor means, such as a cooperating light emitting diode (LED) and an infrared (IR) sensor).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the visible light emitting device of Daburger be a light emitting device (LED), as taught by Van Os, to achieve the predictable result of emitting and detecting light. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the visible light emitting device of Daburger to be a LED, since both Daburger and Van Os teach light emitting devices and Van Os teaches a LED is specific example of a light emitting device.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743