DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nomura (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0268834).
With regard to independent claim 1, Nomura teaches a projection lens arranged along a single optical axis from an object side to an image side (Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element 1) having a negative focal power (page 5, paragraph [0090]); a first glued lens (Figure 1, element C1) comprising a second lens (Figure 1, element 2) and a third lens (Figure 1, element 3), wherein the second lens is located between the first lens and the third lens (Figure 1), the second lens and the third lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof (Figure 1), and the first glued lens has a positive focal power (page 5, paragraph [0089]); a second glued lens (Figure 1, element C3) comprising a fourth lens (Figure 5, element 6) and a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 7), wherein the fourth lens is located between the third lens and the fifth lens (Figure 1), the fourth lens and the fifth lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof (Figure 1), and the second glued lens has a negative focal power (page 5, paragraph [0093]); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 8) having a positive focal power (page 5, paragraph [0093]); wherein the first lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 1), and a concave surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 2); the second lens has a concave surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 3), and a concave surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 4); the third lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 4), and a convex surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 5): the fourth lens has a concave surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 10), and a concave surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 11); the fifth lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 11), and a convex surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 12); the sixth lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 13), and a convex surface on a side facing the image side (page 5, Table 1, r-data for Surface 14).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a projection lens wherein the first lens is an aspheric lens; and/or the sixth lens is an aspheric lens (page 5, paragraph [0095]).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a projection lens further comprising: a stop provided between the first glued lens and the second glued lens (Figure 1, element S, positioned between element C1 and C3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0268834).
With regard to dependent claim 4, although Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Nomura fails to teach such a projection lens wherein the projection lens has a focal length of f, wherein 5.2 < f < 8.5. Nomura does teach such a projection lens such that f = 8.5 (page 6, Table 3), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the lens system, as taught by Nomura, since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
With regard to dependent claim 6, although Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Nomura fails to teach such a projection lens wherein the first lens is made of optical plastic material; and/or the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are made of optical glass. However, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a known alternate (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the lens system, as taught by Nomura, to construct the first lens of plastic for its ease of production and light weight.
With regard to dependent claim 8, although Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Nomura fails to teach such a projection lens having a display unit provided on a side of the sixth lens facing away from the second glued lens. Nomura does teach a lens system comprising an image plane (Figure 1, element I), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lens systems, as taught by Nomura, with a display position at the image plane, to provide a visual output for the image created by the lens system.
With regard to dependent claim 10, Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 8, further comprising: a transparent protective layer provided on a side of the [image plane] facing away from the sixth lens (Figure 1, element CG).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0268834) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Huang et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0099210).
With regard to dependent claim 9, although Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Nomura fails to teach such a projection lens further comprising: a right-angle prism provided between the sixth lens and the display unit. In a related endeavor, Huang et al teaches a projection lens arranged along a single optical axis from an object side to an image side (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element 10) having a negative focal power (page 1, paragraph [0017], lines 1-3); a first glued lens comprising a second lens and a third lens (Figure 1, element 20 comprised of elements 21 and 23), wherein the second lens is located between the first lens and the third lens, (Figure 1, element 21 is positioned after element 10 and before element 23) the second lens and the third lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof (page 1, paragraph [0018], lines 4-6), and the first glued lens has a positive focal power page 1, paragraph [0015], line 5); a second glued lens comprising a fourth lens and a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 31 and 33), wherein the fourth lens is located between the third lens and the fifth lens (Figure 1, wherein element 31 is positioned before element 33 and after element 23), the fourth lens and the fifth lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof (page 1, paragraph [0019], lines 6-7), and the second glued lens has a negative focal power page 2, Table 1 data for lenses defined by surfaces S6, S7 and S8); and a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 35) having a positive focal power (page 2, Table 1 data, lens defined by surfaces S9 and S10), further comprising: a right-angle prism provided between the sixth lens and the display unit (Figure 1, element 97), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lens system, as taught by Nomura, with the prism, as taught by Huang et al, to adjust the light path (page 2, paragraph [0027]).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Nomura teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 9, further comprising: a transparent protective layer provided on a side of the [image plane] facing away from the sixth lens (Figure 1, element CG).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper. Although the prior art teaches a projection lens arranged along a single optical axis from an object side to an image side, comprising: a first lens having a negative focal power; a first glued lens comprising a second lens and a third lens, wherein the second lens is located between the first lens and the third lens, the second lens and the third lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof, and the first glued lens has a positive focal power; a second glued lens comprising a fourth lens and a fifth lens, wherein the fourth lens is located between the third lens and the fifth lens, the fourth lens and the fifth lens are glued to each other on opposing surfaces thereof, and the second glued lens has a negative focal power; and a sixth lens having a positive focal power, wherein: the first lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side, and a concave surface on a side facing the image side; the second lens has a concave surface on a side facing the object side, and a concave surface on a side facing the image side; the third lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side, and a convex surface on a side facing the image side; the fourth lens has a concave surface on a side facing the object side, and a concave surface on a side facing the image side; the fifth lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side, and a convex surface on a side facing the image side; the sixth lens has a convex surface on a side facing the object side, and a convex surface on a side facing the image side, the prior art fails to teach such a projection lens wherein: the first lens has a focal length of f1, the first glued lens has a focal length of f2/3, the second glued lens has a focal length of f4/5, and the sixth lens has a focal length of f6, wherein, -15.5 < f1 < -9.5, 15.5 < f2/3 < 22.5, -80.5 < f4/5 < -52.5, 9.2 < f6 < 16.5, as claimed in dependent claim 3.
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
07 April 2026